Cane toads

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:42
ThreadID: 39368 Views:21571 Replies:18 FollowUps:10
As the cane toad is in epidemic proportions can any members advise their method of eradication of these toads .. I know the old golf club trick ,freezing etc but what are the sprays etc that we are not meant to use on them as they are not classed as a humane way to kill these pests. Any feed back would be appreciated and I am sure most people who have been up north would have a cane toad story to tell.

Greenant

Reply By: Tim@Stratford - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:56

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 18:56
When a mate was up Qld way in the Army the best way was with a bayonet - All picket duties (guard duties) were issued rifles (no ammo) and a bayonet - best 'score' was 13 for memory....May not go down well with the do gooder's.

An equally cheap method would be an air rifle (if out of town) loaded with chook pellets - cheap shoot'n

Tim - Stratford
AnswerID: 204456

Reply By: Richard D - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:25

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:25
Hi Greenant,

One Queenslanders remedy.

'Dettol' in a spray bottle. That and a torch. Get close at night, give 'em a spray, and hey presto, next morning, cane toads as stiff as a board. (if you can find them) They certainly bolt after a good spray. Might be expensive in terms of Dettol, but it works.

Might be classed a cruel by some, but I just cannot tolerate these pests. They even get into the pets water buckets.

Just be careful not to run the corpse over with a lawnmower when mowing the grass later on. I can pretty well guarantee if you do, that you will be 'speaking to God on the big white telephone'.

AnswerID: 204466

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:23

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:23
I can second the Dettol spray.

At Bramwell Station this year a few of us went on a toad hunt armed with dettol - when hit, they hop like mad for 20 yards or so, then stop and expire.

The next day the poor old backpackers had to pick up all the dead ones so the dogs wouldn't eat them, and they wouldn't stink the place out.

We were made to promise not to do it again when we stayed again on the return journey!!
FollowupID: 464398

Reply By: Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:32

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:32
Have read about a person on the WA/NT border training up dingoes to hunt them.

Also read about the native spotted Quoll, once thought extinct in southern QLD has been found again in small areas. It appears that some of them have developed resistance to the poison. In areas where foxes and cats have been destroyed the Quolls are surviving. Maybe whatever causes them to be resistant can be bred into future Quoll populations?

In terms of what you can do to get rid of them, well if people knew that i suppose they would control them. Whatever kills them do it. Spray them directly with DDT if you have to.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 204467

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:36

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 19:36
Have heard Detol in a spray bottle.
Not certain how it works, but I did a quick google and many sites come up with it - seems quick and highly effective............................Keith
AnswerID: 204469

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:06

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:06
Give Em a football and send off to play the Cockroaches in a State of Origin.
But for an honest answer from an ex-Queenslander, go buy your self a really good water pistol and fill it with neat DETTOL and your garanteed to have a ball, aim for the neck,it will knock em rotten.

Doug

AnswerID: 204483

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:15

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:15
Dettol DEFINITELY works.

The best way to administer it is to mix it 50/50 with washing up detergent and put the mix into a water pistol. This way you hit them accurately and with the detergent added it sticks like Napalm.

Good sport LOL.
AnswerID: 204487

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:44

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:44
sport?....how long before they get to adelaide......maybe i can get in some practice in for the state pistol champs coming up soon...hahahaha
FollowupID: 464389

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:19

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:19
If there's a slight shower of rain they will come out and sit on the road. Being very careful of traffic, run over em.
We used to be infected with them in plague proportions. Squishing them became a local sport.
Must have done some good, they moved northwest. Now we only have a few around.
AnswerID: 204491

Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:34
Spent a year in Katherine a couple of years ago and half dettol, half water and a wurth pump up spray bottle...Works a treat..Have ran over them with the victa and spat them out and they bounce away..Almost as annoying as mother in laws
AnswerID: 204498

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:45

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:45
your mother in law got an email address...she might like to read that remark
FollowupID: 464390

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:33

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 16:33
oops and you were online when I sent the reply......grin
FollowupID: 464495

Reply By: Members-Neil & Margie-Cairns - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:14

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:14
Dettol works well , salt on their back as well , or mix a strong salt and water mix in a spray bottle ,, make sure you can find them otherwise ,, phew ,, bit on the nose !!

Neil ..

AnswerID: 204514

Reply By: porl - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:58
if you have an air rifle, even a BB gun will do this - and i have disposed of hundreds maybe thousands this way - between their eyes is a soft skin patch that is different texture to the rest of the body, it's only a few mm in width. One pellet there and they die instantly. Even my first BB gun that could not even pierce my bro's skin from 10m away will kill them first shot. After i moved to .177's it was a foregone conclusion.

I suppose a thin stick pucnturing would do the same. Never once got sprayed because they just died straight away as opposed to semi torture tricks where the appeared to be dead but had recovered and hopped away during the night.

Also, to find them there are two excellent measures:

1. Listen, when the breed they emit the equivalent of a human going quietly "poo poo" - hard to onomatopy that sound but without the "no. 2" eqivocation, more a pursing of the lips.

2. Binoculors and spotlight. Their eyes appear as red dots. At least when i was tracking them this way and eradicating them my phd student zoologist housemate assured me that no animal in Australia active at night time had red eyes when looked at through binoculors and using a spotlight. Can this way spot them up to a couple hundred meters away. They don't hop very fast.
AnswerID: 204529

Follow Up By: porl - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:59

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:59
might add that my bro is now a fairly senior officer in the army, guess he didn't like being shot and would rather be on the other end.
FollowupID: 464297

Reply By: MartyB - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:07

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:07
Dig a hole, put a bucket in the hole, put some dettol in the bucket, mount a light above the bucket. The theory is the light attracts insects, the toads are attrached to the insects, fall into the bucket & can't get out.
It's not very nice to empty out in the morning, but is effective.

Marty.
AnswerID: 204533

Follow Up By: Angler - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:33

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:33
Unfortunately this also works for native frogs.
FollowupID: 464311

Follow Up By: Angler - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34
I use a wood golf stick about every third evening and usually get two or three.
FollowupID: 464314

Follow Up By: MartyB - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:05

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:05
Angler,
I disagree, it doesn't seem to catch frogs. I don't know why,might be because the toads are more ground dwelling where the frogs are normally on a tree or potplant on something.
Hockey sticks are also useful.

Marty.
FollowupID: 464537

Reply By: nissnut - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:11

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:11
31 x 10.5 x 15
AnswerID: 204564

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:45

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:45
I think you're on to something there.
FollowupID: 464550

Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:28

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:28
If you are going to use Dettol, kick them onto the concrete first, the Dettol will also kill the lawn!!!

eerfree
AnswerID: 204566

Reply By: Member - Tim - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:32

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:32
We use the plastic bag and freezer method. Have heard stories about them not actually being killed by the dettol from my sister who used to use it. The ones you can't find in the morning are probably still alive.

We spot them with torches and grab them with a bag over the hand, turn the bag inside out over them and tie the top. Chuck them in the freezer and then in the bin when it is about to be picked up.

We started doing this only last year and reduced the population in our garden dramatically without much effort and fairly quickly. Bagged the first one of the year a couple of nights ago so I daresay it is about to start again :).

Tim.
AnswerID: 204567

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:25

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:25
Harpic works well, too.

AnswerID: 204623

Reply By: Diesel Power - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:56

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:56
Dettol does work well but can be a bit expensive. I have found that the acid i use in my saltwater pool to be very effective and cheap!!
AnswerID: 204642

Reply By: Joom - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:32

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:32
I reckon train all the cats to eat them
2 birds with one stone ay?
seriously White King bleach set on stream in a squirt bottle around the head/mouth area sorts them out & is cheaper than dettol, they buck around for a few seconds & then go toes up.
AnswerID: 204704

Reply By: Member - beachbum - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:40

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:40
Gooday greenant and we find the most effective way to flatten the things is to fill a cheap spray bottle with full strength Dettol or one of the other strong disinfectants and just walk up close enough to give them a spray on the back of the head and they go about fifteen feet and stop. Forever. We rarely see them any more but have done over dozens of them by this method and keep the spray bottle handy to the back door. Perhaps they will return in numbers if we ever get a real wet season again.
AnswerID: 204706

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:26

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:26
I agree with anlger

Graphite shaft No 2 or 3 driver ...2 birds 1 stone ?

get rid of pest and Improve your swing !!!!

J.B.
FollowupID: 464546