Global warming??

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:31
ThreadID: 39374 Views:3544 Replies:22 FollowUps:56
I'm sick of hearing about global warming and Co2 emmissions..
If you're into reading, then try visiting www.junkscience.com

Someone is making a lot of money on this...what a scam !!

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:43

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:43
Any intelligent person would consider all information and take a balanced view.

Me, I'm not sure the global warming thing is 100% right. Equally, I'm not sure it is wrong.

The amount of chit we pump out must have some effect, somehow.

Beware of Andrew Bolt, mad right wing attitudes in the press are as dangerous as wild left wing ones.

It's not a scam, be well advised. The scientists who have opinions on this, generally have no agenda other than their concern for the planet.

ATB,

AnswerID: 204502

Follow Up By: Wetty - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:49

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:49
it's not the amount of CHIT we pump out, it's what we take out of the planet that is causing the drama. . . . don't we run oil in our engines to cool them? Don't we run water in our engines to cool them? We need to find alternatives to these so that we can let the planet have it's cooling system be, or we will all just dissapear. . . .
Just my view.
A.J
FollowupID: 464264

Follow Up By: Off-track - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:44

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:44
Wetty- water is not really a concern because you cannot get rid of it. Yes you can polute it and it may be found in lesser quantities in some areas but essentially water cannot be exhausted.
FollowupID: 464349

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:36

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:36
The Earth will survive. It has survived several mass extinctions in the past. It may take thousands of years to recover, but it will recover. It's humans that I'm worried about. The world will become a gradually hotter, dirtier, smellier and uglier place.

For example, sea temperatures are rising which is damaging the barrier reef. Just that in itself is enough reason to be concerned.

We CAN change the way we do things. It is possible and it won't send us broke. It's the future direction and as any good businessman knows you have to prepare for the future.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464359

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:47
Yep, agreed.
AnswerID: 204505

Follow Up By: Wetty - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:50
and why wouldn't. . . .sorry shouldn't we be concerned for the bleeping plant????? It is where MOST of us live isn't it?
FollowupID: 464265

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:56

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:56
Absolutely, I feel it's been blown out of all proportion though and of course the almighty $ comes first even if it means our ruin.
FollowupID: 464267

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:50

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:50
Go to Post 39032 for a lively discussion on this subject.....lol
AnswerID: 204506

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 20:58
No offence, but if you dont believe in the pollution/resource problems of our planet you have to be an idiot. The scientists dont have an agenda, but the people pushing this information around most definetly do.
AnswerID: 204509

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:05

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:05
I reckon that offence would have to be taken with this comment.

Scientists always have an agenda. They start with one every time they set up research or test a theory. A theory is a type of agenda.

The bigger agenda scientist have though is funding and recognition. Both are very strong pressures and often lead them to focus one way or another.

You will notice that most 'breakthroughs' be it in medicine or any other area are often related to a funding request or looking for someone to take up the project.

All of this of course is not to say that the pollution/resource problems don't exist. What they are, how they effect us, who are causing them, what we can do about it, are unfortunately very complex and sadly none of the science is any where near 'proven'... only likely.

This is what the scientists say.
FollowupID: 464334

Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:09

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:09
G'day Kev, yeah! you might be sick of hearing about it, reading about it. Look around something is happening. No I don't know what it is but lately I've seen Iceland becoming more exposed, chunks of ice breaking away from the south pole.
Can you tell me where all the Co2 emmissions go, if they can't escape into space do they stay in our upper atmosphere? Do they build up against the upper atmosphere, gradually working their way into the lower atmosphere then gathering in the clouds then raining down on us as acid rain. Something is happening, I live outside a major city and I depend on the rain for my water, our water is becoming tainted and we need filters. In years gone bye my water was very pure compared to today, now I can't and will not prove this coclusively but I know!!.
So, yeah I'm sick of hearing all about global warming and Co2's but be aware!
There is certainly something happening

andy
AnswerID: 204513

Follow Up By: porl - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:34
Agreed. Wake up, read and be educated. There are opinions on all sides, but the tide is rapidly turning and the evidence is amounting and it is disturbing. The Andrew Bolts of the world are increasingly diminishing and looking very very stupid.
FollowupID: 464282

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:38
>I live outside a major city and I depend on the rain for my water,

Are you serious with that statement
FollowupID: 464285

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:09

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:09
Yeah, Yeah! ok, but mine does not go through all the treatment you city folks get.
But I see your point, I'm not quite as pedantict as some!

andy
FollowupID: 464335

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:16

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:16
Yep Sorry Andy, reading it a bit slower I see what you're getting at.
FollowupID: 464337

Follow Up By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:24

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:24
Hey Mad Dog, No worries.....been there, done that

andy
FollowupID: 464342

Reply By: Nick R - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:37

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:37
ABC had a good documentary on tonight which put it in perspective to a degree, many changes have happened in the past and will continue into the future. We just have to learn to adapt.
That is all I am saying on this topic this time.
good night,
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 204523

Reply By: SunWizard - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:40

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:40
if you look and read the science you could not help but believe global warming and the ramifications. never been a period like we are currently experiencing in the last 1,000 years. never been so little rain. look to the last 10 years records and if that does not change your mind to the affirmative nothing will.
AnswerID: 204525

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:14

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:14
Sorry SunWizard. It's not that simple.

A politician used the 1,000 year quote last week. It was quickly knocked on the head as records [for oz] are only a couple of hundred years old and only for a few areas.

If you do read the science, then you would understand that global warming is a natural occurence and that the current worry is whether humans are adding to it.

Then the question is: What are the ramifications? At the moment, the fashion is to look at the negatives. Good outcomes may be just as likely. It's just not the focus at the moment, because it is seen as a 'bad' thing that humans may have a hand in it.

The 10 year records are too short to make a decision on. At the moment things are dry. But historically it's only a little bit drier than other dry periods, which are a regular thing in Oz.

If the next 10 years are wet, will we blame global warming?

Real science talks about 'indications', 'evidence pointing to or supporting'. Unfortunately, it will be 50 years before we can look back and really find out if it was all true, and if it is as bad as some say.

FollowupID: 464336

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:03

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:03
The problem with this type of thinking is that by the time we have rock solid proof that the climate is changing it will be too late.

I believe there is a problem and the indications are becoming clearer each day.
And its not just the weather ,but the diminishing fish stocks with northern fishing fleets now looking below the equator and the worlds forests being cleared at an astronomical rate.
Fresh water becoming a scarce commodity,dead pools in the ocean around polluted cities where no living things exist getting bigger.There were more than 30 at last count.

Maybe the next 10 years will be wet but what if it was in the form of the most devastating floods ever seen brought about by cyclones coming further south than ever before?

As for scientists hanging out for research money ,well they do have to eat.
Scientists are also the harshest critics of each others work.
Producing work that is highly regarded by their peers is often the highest accolade a scientist can achieve.
Not too many scientists are rolling in money uness they invent something that is highly marketable
Which is more than you can say about the faceless corporations who have a vested interest into pumping pollutants into our enviroment.
FollowupID: 464351

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:54

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:54
Ross, I agree with your second paragraph and would go on to say that even if it is arguable that global warming is caused by humans, all the environmental issues are major problems in their own right which need addressing anyway. But instead of getting on with the job, they're all arguing about global warming....

FollowupID: 464482

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:36

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:36
I dont see the scientists all argueing about global warming,99% are in agreeance that something is wrong and it must be addressed.
The other 1% work for industries that pollute and are employed to argue against other scientists ,the same way tobacco companies hired doctors to say smoking was harmless.

The big us oil companies spent $60 million on propaganda they knew was false to convince the US voters there was nothing wrong and the greenhouse effect was a scare tactic dreamt up by the crazy greenies.
Sadly ,many Americans still believe it is a conspiracy by enviromentalists.
FollowupID: 464548

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:00

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:00
Agreed, Ross.

I wasn't refering to the scientists, but the world community, as informed as they are by the media, politicians and 'vested interests'.
FollowupID: 464556

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:17

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:17
The problem is however that we could end up getting into just as much trouble panicking over theories that are quite likely to be true, but are none the less theories.

The panicking can lead to poor decisions.

I am sure that most people would agree that cutting emissions and reducing pollutants is essential, whether human effects on the Earth's temperature are there or not.

Again... the problem is that the "Global Warming" hysteria is just too easy to blame for everything. People, companies, pressure groups, politicians are using it to hit each other over the head with. Meanwhile day to day planning decisions are not always being put into place either to fix the problem or adapt to it, perhaps due in part to this gigantic argument.
FollowupID: 464661

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 21:58
Well I'm sick of hearing about war, terrorism, rape, murder, etc. But my being sick of it doesn't mean it's not happening.

You want to find web sites that 'disprove' commonly head beliefs? There are plenty of suckers why or taken in by them. It's fun to postulate on some of these. With some of them, in a couple of hundred years, it won't really matter what the truth is:

The Holocaust didn't happen
The CIA killed President Kennedy
The American's didn't land on the moon
9/11 was an American plot to get support for their planned war on Islam
Elvis is still alive
Man is doing no damage to our planet through his excesses.
Global warming is made up by the Greenies to get attention and funding for their cause

Need I go on. Which ones will be important in a couple of hundred years.

My final rant. The risk of getting it wrong and trying to do something about global warming (even if it DOESN'T exists) is largely a financial cost.

The risk of getting it wrong and doing nothing about global warming (if it DOES exist) is that we will destroy this planet for future generations.

Which risk should we take???
AnswerID: 204530

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:13

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:13
Human greed doesn't allow us to do anything about it, get used to it, there will be token measures taken but if we really are frickin up the planet then it's a done deal. Hopefully there'll be a few humans left to carry on and populate the planet after it's all sorted. The rest of us good people will be having a good time in heaven.

Aint life grand
FollowupID: 464304

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:34
Mmmmm, pretty defeatist attitude Mad Dog. I'm a glass half full guy myself.

It won't be easy, but with the right leadership (not likely to be from politicians), I'm of the view that enough can be done to rescue or descendants from our past and present excesses.

In the late 1700s, a fellow by the name of Edmund Burke said ' All that is necessary for evil to succeed is for good men to do nothing'.

While it might need a little adjusting to fit this debate, I'm sure you get the drift. If enough of us believe nothing can be done (so do nothing), then bleep will surely follow.
FollowupID: 464312

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:37

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:37
I'm a realist Norm, we are driven by greed.
FollowupID: 464316

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:41

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:41
What made me laugh last week when the pollies were talking about the drought i think it was beatty or some one up here in QLD (this is the worse drought in a thousand yrs) i did not know that white man was here in Oz that long ago to take records & i don't know if the Natives took or cared about records to this effect either.
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 464322

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:19

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:19
hahha, 10 earth years = 1000 political years. That's why they get such good super
FollowupID: 464338

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:22
"My final rant. The risk of getting it wrong and trying to do something about global warming (even if it DOESN'T exists) is largely a financial cost. "

The financial cost to Australia of some measures might be a very big social cost due to unemployment, and the death of some towns. Having said that though.... there are heaps of inexpensive things to do. How about solar collectors on every north facing roof? Water tanks for every house? Kinda expensive, but with the economies of scale and savings not too bad...

"The risk of getting it wrong and doing nothing about global warming (if it DOES exist) is that we will destroy this planet for future generations. "

Unfortunately the stuff we have done already will be effecting future generations for a very long time. The things we CAN do will only slow down the human inputs to the system. WE can do a few things, but how will you make the rest of the world follow suit. Okay we have to try, but meanwhile get on with life. I don't think it will end all that soon.

"Which risk should we take??? " We have to do the best we can...don't we?

FollowupID: 464340

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:58

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 22:58
Well its not global cooling , its pretty freakin hot here !!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 204548

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:24

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:24
A strange thing has happened this afternoon. IT'S RAINING!

The water tanks have filled from nearly empty. The grass is growing.

Hallulua [spelling?]...... Global Warming is over.

Well.. it IS raining anyway.
FollowupID: 464343

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:51

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:51
Yep Royce

I measured 13mm this morning and all the water tanks are full(4000litres storage capacity).

It is 16 degrees at 9.15am(not warm...lol)

FollowupID: 464403

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:19

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:19
And tonight we've got the fire burning and wife just went to bed with a hot water bottle.... hmmm while I'm sitting here.......
FollowupID: 464663

Reply By: Barnesy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:33

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:33
In medieval England a bright scientist discovered a link between illness and polluted drinking water. He had some good proof to back up his theory, but many in charge thought he was mad. They all knew that bad deeds made people sick, not dirty water.

Anyway he persisted, more people began to believe his proof, and eventually politicians started to take notice. The result was massive sewerege systems built in London and the end of many diseases.

Would anybody today disagree that polluted drinking water makes you sick?

History repeats. Does this situation, with global warming having a fair share of cynics, have similarities with other historical events?

Barnesy
AnswerID: 204557

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:04

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:04
Sorry it was in the 19th century and he was a civil engineer.
FollowupID: 464352

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:05

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:05
nup, you're sounding very desperate with that one, sorry.
FollowupID: 464353

Follow Up By: ross - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:16

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:16
TIMELINE November 2076. Bob Brown former senator and leader of the Greens in the early part of this century had his statue unveiled in honour of his tireless warnings about the enviroment.
The Prime Minister ,who was there for the unveiling ceromonysaid in his speech ,that as young boy he had often used Browns words as an inspration and noted that Bob Brown was often ridiculed for his beliefs but time had proven him largley correct.
The ceremony was attended by descendants of Bob Brown.
FollowupID: 464356

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:18

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:18
Sorry again, a physician discovered that polluted water caused cholera. He did persist to make changes. It wasn't until the big stink in 1858 with rotting sewerege in the streets (the politicians didn't like that) that changes were made and that's where the civil engineer came into it.

It seems even then that only when politicians are directly affected that changes are made!

Mad Dog, I'm desperate? It's historical fact. You don't believe me? read an encyclopedia!

I wonder if the bloke who set up this web site has ever read anything. After all his t-shirt says that DDT gives life to everything. Are we supposed to take him seriously?

FollowupID: 464357

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:27
Very nice ross.
FollowupID: 464358

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:57

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:57
Hmmm Ross....dunno about the descendants of Bob Brown....maybe you should do some more research.......
FollowupID: 464406

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:04

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:04
lol, maybe Bob and partner will have a baby
FollowupID: 464408

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:52

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:52
Barnesy
I have been working on some updates to my web page.check out the 2 links but in particular when you get to the Impact page read the specs for Manicouagan and Lake Bosomtwe all in brown text , I'm sure you will find so info there your mind wind will blow a fuse

Impacts members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/impacts.htm

Warming Site Link

FollowupID: 464517

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:03

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:03
I can't understand your point Doug. You seem to have a fascination with volcanoes and meteorites. They are interesting topics but not really relevant to current global warming. Did you read my reply to the other site you suggested?

You tried to debunk it, but you must have only read half of the article. And misunderstood even that half. The second half confirmed every aspect global warming that some people still can't accept. Some of those people do actually set up web sites to argue against it.

The vast majority of scientists and laymen know that human activities are significantly contributing to greenhouse warming, above and beyond any natural occurences. Now lets get on with finding long term solutions to the problem.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464534

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:51

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:51
Barnesy

I read your post top to bottom, Humans might be contributing to warming but I believe not in a way to make a lot of difference , As for your statement Volcanoes and Meteors do not contribute to warming is not correct and yes I am obsessed with the past history about them because it WILL happen again , maybe you didn't read the section in one of the links about the effects of volcanoes , Now I see where they reackon Greenland is cooling, To tell the truth Barnsey I'm quite happy with our planet , As for the future I see about this nice warm period that keeps us all alive is due to end and go into an ice age just a mere 15,000 years ahead .Barnsey don't worry so much mate, enjoy life while you got it, Man is too microscopic to make a difference, thats why I study Impacts, there is no way known any human could cause such an almight event as some of the impacts I have read about , when one can see a mark on earth from 4000 klm away all i can think is WOW.

QUOTES:
Taking all the evidence into account, it is clear there is local warming, but overall, the planet has cooled over the past twenty years. The claimed 'global warming' is not due to mankind but to volcanoes and other natural phenonoma. It is estimated that humans have contributed about two percent to some local warming and many scientists are now exposing the myths of global warming.

While atmospheric carbon dioxide has increased by 28 percent over the past 150 years, human-generated carbon dioxide could have played only a small part in any warming, since most of the warming occurred prior to 1940 -- before most human-caused carbon dioxide emissions.

A Gallup poll found that only 17 percent of the members of the Meteorological Society and the American Geophysical Society think that the warming of the 20th century has been a result of greenhouse gas emissions -- principally CO2 from burning fossil fuels.

I f you would like to have more talk about and sensible debate then email me
dtilley@westnet.com.au

now i gotta go and get some beer
Doug

FollowupID: 464553

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:19

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:19
Yep your right mate . political point scoring along with greenies who know stuff all,
I believe the worlds Volcanoes do their bit plus the fact that Warming is a natural occurance and nothing Man does will stop it. Did anyone watch ABC tonight about Europe, Temperatures rose by 10 deg in about 100 years at the end to the ice age, plus the Earth tilting factor. The link has some very good reading,

www.biblebelievers.org.au/green.htm

Doug

AnswerID: 204573

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:41

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:41
I have done a self styled mod to that URL , use this one

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/warming.htm

FollowupID: 464367

Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:33

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:33
Another slant on Global Warming

The short answer is to stop fornicating.
Why?
Fornicating produces people.
More people use up more of the earth's resources, need more space to live, more food to eat, more energy to light their little worlds and increase pollution.
This means that the relatively high polluting energy sources are being over used (burning coal , dino fuels etc) just to provide energy for the ever increasing masses.
Apart from wind,solar and tidal the only other relatively non polluting energy source is nuclear.

Worrying about the storage of N waste will be totally irrelevant when the planet is in meltdown, (excuse the pun) we won't be here to see it. (I don't mean just the next few generations but the whole human race)

Think about it!

Disco

AnswerID: 204574

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:21

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 19:21
Disco,
You mentioned nuclear energy. Due to security concerns the costs involved in nuclear power are often hidden.

The current bills that nuclear countries have to store their waste runs into 10's of billions each. That's only the waste they have now! You expand the industry, and work out the cost of storing the waste for even just 100 years and the cost involved is ridiculous. But this is often not factored into cost predictions.

Without a doubt the most expensive electricity source in the history of mankind. Some complain about the cost of solar.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464542

Follow Up By: disco driver - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:22

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:22
Barnesy,
Didn't mention anything about cost, didn't even enter the equation.
Just in case you missed the point of my posting I will re state it

There are too many people reproducing.
The population explosion globally is putting extreme pressure on the currently available resources. All countries are building more "dirty" power stations to meet the needs of the populace.

Unless the population growth is controlled it will rapidly outstrip the available power/energy supplies.

Solar, Wind, Tidal, Geothermal and Nuclear will then have to be considered as a matter of human survival.
I am well aware that none of these options are inexpensive to set up but must be considered, even if they do not appeal to everyone

Disco

PS I'm not totally in favour of nuclear but it must be included in the options.
FollowupID: 464664

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 02:29

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 02:29
I got your point Disco and it's true about the population. I thought i would expand on the debate regarding nuclear, that's all. I thought it was an interesting point that too often gets overlooked. It is true though. I wasn't saying any more than that.
FollowupID: 464674

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 02:13

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 02:13
Hmmm,,,,,,,,,,the "Junkscience.com" site didn't really convince me that we don't have a problem on this planet. It explained a lot of scientific principles and chemical reactions but the title of the website belies it's sincerity and it's depth of knowledge. It also belies it's in intentions. The site does not debunk "global warming". It merely tells you HOW it does or doesn't happen.

Go and view the film, "An Inconvenient Truth". Then come back here and say that there isn't a problem OF SOME DESCRIPTION with this Earth of ours.

As for those of us that subscribe to the "It's cyclical" school of thought, please consider that some of Earth's meteorological cycles lasted 1000's of years. Some were exceedingly vicious.

The Earth has a way of healing itself. It's a BIG organism. (Some of you may not have had one of those ;)). It cleanses itself by getting rid of whatever is irritating it. In this particular age it's US!!

Flood, winds, famine, drought, plagues, diseases, Mother Nature has many ways to either reduce the population load or wipe us out totally.

Wanna gamble? Do ya feel lucky?

Bilbo
AnswerID: 204576

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:25

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:25
Saw "An Inconvenient Truth".... one sided.

Probly the side I'm on ... but still one sided.
FollowupID: 464665

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:36

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:36
Royce,

I'm surprised that you thought it was 'one-sided'. I went in to see it with a mildy cynical point of view, circumspect would be good word, and actually watched for signs of bias, hype, political influence (Al Gore being who he is).

I saw none of the last two things. Bias was apparent, but only in so much as the data provided by the scientists. After all, bias is evident in every scientific endeavour. It has has to be. It's inherent in research. It's an intrinsic part of it. If you want to prove a point then the data you would produce will aim to prove that point. If you produced data that proved the opposite then there's no point in your endeavour. So naturally, there's bias.

For exactly that reason, I saw no evidence that said everything was OK on this Earth.

However, the figures that I did see were frightening. Even if only part of the prognosis comes true,,,,,,,,,we're in trouble.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 464772

Reply By: Kiwi Kia - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:14

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 06:14
Could some greenie tell me which industrial revolution it was that caused the global warming on mars that lead to the demise of that planets atmosphere?

Global warming is a natural and recurring !
AnswerID: 204585

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:27

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:27
HaHa..... LOL How's that for comparing apples with mars bars?
FollowupID: 464666

Follow Up By: Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:33

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:33
Yep, good one Royce. But in case anyone missed the point - man did not cause the global warming that occured on Mars and probably is doing very little for any warming that is occuring on Earth. Interstadial events ARE cyclic ! One medium size volcanoe can pus out more greenhouse gases in a day then man can do in a decade. Also, where do people thing the worlds large deposits of limestone come from? From the atmosphere, via some small animals. CO2 is like a fertiliser for these animals, as the CO2 content of the atmosphere goes up these animals florish and capture it in their skeletons so locking it up for a few billion years.
FollowupID: 464682

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:17
: )

Makes me wonder what everyone talked about during the Ice Ages????

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 204604

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:28

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:28
Scientific opinion is that we are at the start of a new ice-age... so in a couple of thousand years we'll know.
FollowupID: 464667

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:24

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:24
Do contributors on this topic actually read and think about what gets posted? Kiwi, as has been said over and over, there is no dispute that warming/cooling is cyclical. What is different about this event is the speed at which it is happening. Previously when changes have occurred very rapidly they have been disastrous for the much of the gene pool. The very fast events tend to have been triggered by some outside agency- like a meteorite impact for example. We are having a super fast cycle swing again without an external cause - apart from ourselves. Our population size and lifestyle is massively vulnerable. Yeah, the Earth and life will continue, but how do you rate the chances of our way of life being sustainable?

I agree with the cynicism re. scientists, but that needs a bit more thought too. When science started to tell us that smoking wasn't good for us, there was no shortage of letter writers screaming that there was no scientific link etc etc and there was no shortage of eminent scientists coming out of the wood work debunking claims of problems with smoking. You need to look a bit at who scientists are working for - they are as corruptible as the rest of humanity. A very good book on the subject, Stauber, John and Sheldon Rampton. Trust Us, We’re Experts - How Industry Manipulates Science and Gambles with Your Future. Penguin Putnam, 2001. ISBN 1-58542-139-1.
It is particularly good on think tanks like The Hudson Institute which has mobilized a lot of the anti greenie stuff. (check out who provides the $ for the Hudson institute)
AnswerID: 204605

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:18
Just had a quick look at the Hudson institute mfewster. On the surface the types of articles they seem to be producing on climate change are geared towards the ultra conservative. The style of denial that argues it will too expensive to change and they welcome any reports that say it will be easy and cheap.

The board of directors are all Suits. With backgrounds in business takeovers and economics. I didn't see one reputable scientist amongst them. Who the hell are this Hudson institue anyway? I've never heard of them before. I assume they are respected in the US for drawing up public policies. But then I suppose with the president they have now getting his foot into everything, who knows what this institute has been told to write.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464782

Follow Up By: mfewster - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:22

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:22
Barnsey, you can find some genuine scientists among them. Just remember all those genuine scientists who worked for the tobacco industry. The Hudson Institute has been around for a while -it was the "Thinktank" endorsed by Dan Quayle (now there is an oxymoron if ever there is one. They have lots of contacts with the Republican Party and get their $ from some of the biggest multinationals around. They do reports on all sorts of subjects, but global warming is their current speciality. Have a read of the book I cited for a fascinating account of how big business gets "scientists" to muddy the waters of public debates so that the public simply gets confused. A lot of the readers of this forum seem to blame pollies for all the angst and alarm raising. I think they are missing the real cuplrits. I suspect Andrew Bolt is a regular Hudson Institute subscriber.
FollowupID: 464806

Reply By: Robert - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:31

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 09:31
Interesting how everyone keeps going on about Global Warming, yet no one mention’s anything about the real cause of concern on Earth – Too Many People!
AnswerID: 204606

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:26

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 10:26
You might find these 2 sites of great interest
and Barnsey should read it too

Site Link

Global climate patterns stretching back 740,000 years have been confirmed by a three-kilometre-long ice core drilled from the Antarctic, Nature reports.
Analysis of the ice proves our planet has had eight ice ages during that period, punctuated by rather brief warm spells - one of which we enjoy today.

If past patterns are followed in the future, we can expect our "mild snap" to last another 15,000 years.

The data may also help predict how greenhouse gases will affect climate.

Initial tests on gas trapped in the ice core show that current carbon dioxide (CO2) levels are higher than they have been in 440,000 years.

Nobody quite knows how this will alter our climate, but researchers hope a detailed picture of past fluctuations will give them a better idea.

And this one
Site Link

AnswerID: 204615

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:25

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 12:25
I did read that site Doug. It seems to confirm global warming. "We should be heading for an ice age but wer'e not due to greenhouse warming; Levels of greenhouse gases are incredible; No doubt humans have changed the atmosphere; Humankind enthusiastic co2 belching; And the last paragraph, It's a grave concern as he sees a strong connection with greenhouse gases and climate in the past".

Quotes >We have already been in an interglacial for about 10,000 years, so we should - according to the pattern - be heading for an ice age. But we are not.

"The next ice age is not imminent," said Dr Wolff, "and greenhouse warming makes it even less likely - despite what The Day After Tomorrow says."

By understanding what greenhouse gases did to global temperature in the past, scientists might be able to predict the effect of humankind's enthusiastic CO2 belching.

"There is great controversy as to whether human beings have changed the climate," said Professor McManus. "But there is no doubt about the fact that human beings have changed the Earth's atmosphere. The increased levels of greenhouse gases are geologically incredible."

He added: "It is something of grave concern to someone like me, who sees the strong connection between greenhouse gases and climate in the past."

Doesn't leave much doubt in my mind.

It seems to confirm this Doug. I can't put the whole article in but it's from the CSIRO Marine and Atmospheric Research Division.

"In summary, climate research since the publication of the IPCC Third Assessment Report provides significantly stronger evidence for three of the main conclusions of that assessment. First, the surface of the Earth is warming globally. Second, the observed warming is beyond that expected for natural variability over the past 1000-2000 years and at a larger rate. Third, human-driven emissions of greenhouse gases, primarily carbon dioxide, are the major cause of the observed surface warming since 1950".

This is what the CSIRO could prove beyond doubt. It is the gist of the vast majority of reputable scientific publications. The longer people fart arse around the harder it will to do something about it. The world will gradually become a dirtier, smellier, uglier and hotter place to live with.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464438

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:51

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:51
I'll state upfront that I understand the planet is undergoing change, just to how much can be attributed to man I'm not sure - but I listen to all the arguments.

But if I understand those who argue that it is man and that we should do something immediately, can I ask are you willing to stop driving your 4WD for recreational purposes? My point is to get an understanding to how strong the conviction and resolve for change is.

AnswerID: 204632

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:11

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 15:11
Landy,
I use 100% biodiesel whenever I can. I am looking into producing my own. Yes I know production of the oil still uses crude oil etc but it's certainly better than dino diesel. Will be fitting a bypass oil filter so i use a lot less engine oil.

I reduce the amount of water i use at home. Cutting back on electricity use. I donate money every month to Greenpeace who have been warning about climate change for years. I am a volunteer grower for 'trees for life', growing seedlings for farmers and landholders to plant trees on their properties.

As soon as i can i will be using solar power for as much as possible. And reuse grey water.

All of that takes little effort and are things that everybody can do.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464474

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:24

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:24
There is a dilemma here, isn't there. What is the individual prepared to do? I think most people are willing to do what they can but sometimes things like recycling depend on the local council supplying the facilities. When it comes to excrement, for instance, when I lived in Sydney's Eastern Suburbs, I had no choice in where it ends up. Alot of things require the government supplying the infrastucture or, atleast, the subsidies etc for others to do it. Bio-diesel doesn't exist where I live. Public transport - a joke.

Governments need to legislate on the issues that need addressing, but if that might lose them the next election then it wont happen.

Landy, you are correct, though, regarding what are we prepared to do. I don't see a shortage of people asking for seafood in restaurants which is where the commercial fishers sell their product. A reduction in demand for seafood worldwide would go along way towards saving the ocean's eco-systems.
FollowupID: 464509

Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:31

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 17:31
Perhaps a step in the right direction, but still stops short of not using the vehicle for recreational purposes. I understand that people still need to get from point A to B. Hence just looking at non-essential use.

My point is that we all have that in our control, but how mnay are willing to see it through in the interests of doing something about global warming. After all bio-diesel or whatever, the vehicle still emits carbon dioxide........

I'm not suggesting I'll stop using my vehicle for recreation, heavens forbid it owes me 100 years of solid travel to pay for itself........it is just that a lot of ideas have merit, but many stop short of implementation once it affects them directly.

Food for thought...........
FollowupID: 464510

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:38

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 18:38
I can see where you're coming from Landy. But I think a more useful example would be the number of people driving to work every day in the CBD. Twice a day, every day in every developed city in the world 100's of millions of cars are driving through stop-start traffic. Encouraging those people to catch public transport would be better than stopping people from going on sunday or recreational drives.

Even then coal powered stations emit more co2 worldwide than all cars. So we need to look at alternatives there. China are currently building over 90 new coal power stations! They get their coal from Australia. To say we don't play much of a role in world co2 emissions is burying heads in the sand.

It gets back to what Bware said, governments won't do anything about it unless it becomes an election issue. This is starting to become an issue but there is a long way to go still. People need to be aware of these issues and demand that governments set up infrastructure. If they don't act, vote them out. Pollies won't act until it affects them directly, meaning lost votes.

Barnesy
FollowupID: 464528

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:30

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:30
And then there's the problem of jungle being cleared to grow Palms for palmoil biodiesel.... Why isn't everything simple?
FollowupID: 464668

Follow Up By: Barnesy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 03:24

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 03:24
I suppose if everything was simple Royce then everybody would agree. There wouldn't be any websites called "junkscience" to poke fun at where people wear t-shirts that write "DDT saves all life", and where is the fun in that?

Have heard about scientists in SA developing biodiesel grown from algae that can be farmed on waste salt ruined land. Wish that was around and on the market now.
FollowupID: 464675

Reply By: Emo - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:27

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 14:27
It's currently cold and wet in Melbourne.
AnswerID: 204657

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:22

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:22
Global warming will put an end to that in no time at all LOL
FollowupID: 464565

Follow Up By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:30

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 20:30
Freezing cold and wet down here in NW Tassie and report in the paper says its caused by Global Warming. Got me Knackered.
Duke
FollowupID: 464568

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:04
Now the comments by "Duke" here are very informative to this debate - and "Duke" please don't think I'm having a go at you with this.

The very phrase "Global Warming" would indicate a rise in weather temperatures all over the world. Note the phrase, "weather temperature".

The problem of "Global Warming" is better referred to as "Climate Change". For that is exactly what happens. Weather patterns shift. Where it was hot once, it's now cooler and vice versa. Where there was rain, there could be extended droughts. Where there were calm breezes, there may be violent cyclones and so on and so on.

The melting of ice caps causes huge imbalances on oceanic water flows. It can stop ocean currents from flowing in their normal direction. This then affects the temperatures of the land that the current normal flows past.

In one of the last major episodes of global warming, when the ice of the Ice Age melted, there was an enormous flow of cold water that flowed down what is now the St Lawrence Seaway. This cold water stopped the flow of The Gulf Stream/The North Atlantic Drift. This major ocean current warms the landmass of Europe. When it stopped, another Ice Age developed in Europe WITHIN TEN YEARS of those ice caps melting. It took millenia before the Gulf Stream startted flowing again.

When ocean currents stop, whole continents can be affected.

So ask yourself, what happens to all of these people that are displaced by flood waters, no more fish, no more crops, increased energy demands for heating (or cooling if the opposite effect occurs),,,,,,,,where will we accommodate all those millions of people when they can no longer live where and how they used to?? It takes thousands of years for evolution to adapt a species to live in vastly different environment than what it has been used to. Do we let ‘em die?

So to say ‘it’s cold here, so where’s all this global warming?” is misleading. It’s simply not that simple.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 204886

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:29

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:29
Bilbo,
It was said jest.As you probably gather i am not a great believer in the theory of Global Warming as it is being preached today.I am more inclined that the earths cycles of weather, global warming and ice ages are a natural occurance that has been happening from when the world began millions of years ago. I am half way through a book called The Weather Makers by Tim Flannery and have not been convinced by any theories yet.To many assumptions to be credible.
I am still waiting for the people who beleive that disaster is looming to explain what would happen to the present population of the world if all suggestions to stop global warming was implemented tomorrow.It would be a far differant world than we live in now and in thousands of years time i don't think it would make one little bit of differance.The restrictions that have been put on the people in the last ten to fifteen years is bad enough.
Regards Duke
AnswerID: 204950