What 4WD to buy with $45K??

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:07
ThreadID: 39380 Views:5585 Replies:9 FollowUps:8
G'day all, I'm hoping someone can offer some opinion's on a few different scenario's I've been considering with regard to my next purchase of a 4WD. I'd be looking to keep it for at least the next 10 years or more, and I've previously owned 2 Patrols (MQ SWB 3.3D & GQ LWB 4.2D).

I'm trying to keep enough money in my budget after purchase of the vehicle to add on extractors, turbo exhaust, Cooper tyres, springs and shocks!! Not askin' much am I....?!

The other thing is, I'm only interested in the Patrol and the 'Cruiser.

I know there are other rigs on the market that can bolt it in (my requirements) for the money I'm prepared to spend, but to be honest; I'm not going to be happy with anything else - it's just one of those 'satisfaction with purchase' things - I can't explain it, and I'm sure as hell not going to try and rationalise it - it just is! And I don't mind 'wasting' my money on any of the below if they are do-able.

If I could afford it, my first preference would be to get a TD4.2 GU series II/III, but they are around the $45K mark by themselves.

SOOOO, considering my budget is $45K tops I was thinking any of the following may fit the bill - if they are not ridiculous, are realistically acheivable, or fraught with danger:

1. Load up at the bank and hang the consequences and go the dream machine - definitely fraught with financial danger there!

2. Look at buying an 03/04 'Cruiser non turbo diesel (from less than $30K to $35K) and bolt on an aftermarket turbo (~$5K?)

3. Look at picking up a 98/99 GU series I DX for less than $20K (seen them as low as $15K) and drop a Brunswick V8 diesel in it (6.2 or 6.5?)

Base model's are A-OK for my purposes, I'm not after all the fruit of the ST's/Ti's and GXL's like 7 seats, electric windows etc. (although A/C is a MUST of course!) And again, resale value isn't a concern as I plan on keeping it for the long term.

I've not had any experience of the 'Cruiser's apart from the non-turbo slugs I've driven on mine sites, and I can already see problems with no. 3 re: it's already 8 yrs old even though I'd be replacing the donk. I also read with interest on this forum that there can be problems insuring V8 transplants; is that still the case these days?

My purposes are pretty simple; town driving the majority of the time, but plan on joining a 4WD club after getting whatever. I plan on doing some long range touring too, as I have done in the past (eg. from WA through NT up to Cape York with a lot of off-roading thrown in). I'll be using it for short offroad trips as much as possible throughout the year also.

Opinions and comments/pro's & con's on any of the above scenario's will be greatly appreciated as I think this would be the best place to ask it!

Reply By: troopyman - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:11

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:11
Stop dreamin and just buy one .
AnswerID: 204550

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:01

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 11:01
I have a white TD 5 speed auto with lots of useful extras $48k if your interested.
Cheers Rob.
FollowupID: 464417

Follow Up By: texaspete - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:15

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:15
Thanks for the offer Rob, but throw in stamp duty and transport costs to WA and it's then getting a fair bit over my budget - appreciate it though.
FollowupID: 464585

Reply By: raunchy - Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:39

Sunday, Nov 12, 2006 at 23:39
45 WILL BUY YOU HEAPS...
I bought a TD 100 GXV earlier this year for 46 plus on road. Had to wait for a while to find the vehicle.
100k on the clock, BUT, Rear Locker, ARB bar, Rear wheel carrier, OME susp, Snorkel, Chip, 3" exhaust, Auto, Real Dual Battery, Alarm, Cooper ATs(now STTs), Turbo timer( and it had a coldy cooler in the centre console to boot).
The TD cruiser with Auto and the chip is a breeze to drive around town, and after having a few manual 4wds, I love the auto. The benefits in the bush far outweigh the negatives, and its easier to drive on the road as well.
Just go for it, Should be able to find what you want
AnswerID: 204561

Follow Up By: texaspete - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:10

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:10
Thanks raunchy, that gives me hope that I might end up with what I want for how much I can afford. I know it rarely happens, but occaisionally gems do pop up.
FollowupID: 464362

Reply By: Barnesy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:54

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 00:54
Why did you get rid of your GQ? That was your first mistake. Your second mistake is not getting another one. You could have all of the add ons you want plus a 6 month tour around NT & WA as well!
AnswerID: 204571

Follow Up By: texaspete - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:18

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 01:18
Barnsey, due to financial considerations at the time I had to part with the Patrol - that and it had led a pretty hard life due to a lack of maturity on my part in the early days of owning it, so I had to offload it while I could still get "some" money for it. Trust me, I'm spewing to this day that I ever sold it! But now I find myself in a better position - and a damn site more respectful of my property - so I'm ready to get back into getting off the beaten track - at last.
FollowupID: 464363

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:50

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 07:50
With that money you can get a really nice late model GQ and put every available extra on it and still bank some money for a tank of fuel..You could have extra fuel capacity, lockers etc etc.....
GQ's last forever with a little TLC....
No different to a GU in a mechanical sense...
Only buy a TD42.....
AnswerID: 204590

Reply By: Robin - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:19

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 08:19

I'd try changing you point of view to what specifications you really want out of a car !

We all have different critera, some really want a capable 4wd and others want economy with best performance they can get.

Why on earth would you consider an overpriced GU TD just to then bolt on exhausts etc etc , and end up with a noiser ,arguably less reliable, not very efficent car when you could just go out and get the petrol with all of the power noise vibration issues resolved that consumes maybe 25% more fuel , but whose true total life cycle cost is probably lower , and is lower if on gas ?

AnswerID: 204593

Reply By: foxtel - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:29

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:29
Good luck with whatever you choose, just make sure if it's a diesel motor that it can run on low sulphur fuel which I beleive will be the only diesel available.
AnswerID: 204742

Reply By: texaspete - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:47

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:47
Robin, I guess to clarify, I'm after a diesel. Just personal preference really. I know that the petrol's are affordable in my price range, but I'd like either a TD4.2 or Brunswick V8. As I mentioned earlier, it's probably considered a waste of money, but I don't mind as I will be (pending any problems) stoked with either, for a while to come.

I was thinking on it earlier today, is there a reason why more straight six 'Cruiser's aren't fitted with after market turbo's as an alternative to the more expensive factory models? I mean there are 01 factory turbo diesels on the market for nearly $50K! Something just doesn't seem to fit - or maybe my lack of knowledge in this area is TOTAL!!

Voxson, I've definitely given some thought to the GQ conversion idea, but I was thinking if I bought a model that was a few years younger then there might not be as many problems in the overall package (driveline/gearbox/clutch/diff's etc). Is this flawed thinking; is turbo'ing a Toyota diesel flawed thinking? I guess that's what I'm really trying to ascertain by asking the opinion's of the people on this forum...
AnswerID: 204746

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:39

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:39
I personally don't think the std cruiser gearbox is up to the extra HP of the turbo and this is one of the changes to the factory turbo cruiser over the std 4.2 N/A. I had trouble with the box in my 100 series and it was non turbo'd. Also heard and seen in the workshops, horror stories of pistons melting under the extra heat of turbo's in cruisers but admittedly I knew not who or how these trucks were set-up running what boost ect.
Also 00 and 01 GU 4.2turbo Patrols have a common problem with their gearboxes so steering clear of these models may well be advised if at all possible.
Have you thought of the turbo troopies, they should be a few bob cheaper than the GXL equivalent Cruiser but of course they will not be intercooled but still factory turbo though.

Cheers Trevor.
FollowupID: 464618

Follow Up By: texaspete - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 01:23

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 01:23
Trevor, thanks for the feedback re: the Toyota; I knew there had to be a reason.

I think you might be referring to the "5th" gear problem also in the Nissan. From all the stuff I've read on it and heard anecdotely it's a problem in all the GU's until after Oct 02 when Nissan fixed it (something to do with outsourcing the manufacturing of some parts in the gearbox and the instructions weren't followed by the 3rd party). I've also spoken to someone with a lot of Nissan experience that advised that the problem generally only appears if you are towing a lot in 5th gear. But yeah, I'm keen to avoid that one - this may mean giving the 98/99 V8 conversion a miss - still making up my mind!

With regard to the Troopy, I have a lot respect for the rig (and drove one a fair bit when I worked in Leinster) but... I just can't seem to like 'em?! I have a mate that's got a fully tricked out Troopy (complete with Brunswick V8) and it's a class act, but I just can't get my head around them.
FollowupID: 464671

Reply By: Old Bushie - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 01:31

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 01:31
Gday Mike

May need a little patience but arguably the best Landcruiser built was the last of the 80 series 4.2l factory turbo diesels.

There are some pearlers come up, 97/98 40th Anniversary models that have been a "shopping trolley" or farmer's "town car". $25-28k should get you a low km beauty.

Stick an OME suspension on, new tyres and still plenty left over for some preventative maintenance (batteries, brakes,seals, hoses, etc) and extra fruit.

AnswerID: 204798

Follow Up By: texaspete - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:29

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:29
Thanks for the tip Bushie; I think I have made up my mind though after chatting to my mate with the Troopy tonight - early model GU DX and the Brunswick 6.5!

Spoke to my car insurer this arvo to suss out insurance and they are cool with it (turns out my mate with the Troopy is with them also) so yeah, will take my time to find the right bus (finance won't come through for a month yet anyways) then take my time adding the things I have an irrational urge to bolt on. I figure with a setup like that, it'll last me ages.

Has anyone out there had much experience with the GU and a V8 conversion that can comment on whether it's been a good or bad thing? Anything to watch for or be aware of; limitations/gotcha's etc? Would be great to hear other peoples about their experiences.

FollowupID: 464935

Reply By: blown4by - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 16:00

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 16:00
Mate a brand new Patrol is only $49950 at the moment with free bullbar, towbar, roof rack, floor mats and rear cargo area mat and the way the sales have dropped of since the price of fuel has risen I reckon you could bash em up and drive away for $45K
AnswerID: 205491

Follow Up By: texaspete - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 20:00

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 20:00
Yeah, you make a good point there blown4by, brand new 4x4 and the benefits that go with it... but that's for the 3.0litre turbo and (whether it's justified or not) I'm not a fan of them unfortunately.

Thanks for making me aware of it, but I feel I would get more value out of the (older I grant you) V8 diesel. Six years is a long time in car terms, but the Patrol's (and 'Cruiser's) are bullet proof - if you look after them. I'd also have to factor in nearly $3K (or more) for stamp duty on top of that too (unless that's included).

I've spoken to the Brunswick guys and got the story on how much and what you get etc, and if I play my cards right and have some patience (in finding the right Patrol to start with), I should come in under $40K all up for the conversion - on the road including the first years insurance. We'll see I guess!
FollowupID: 465500