Booked for turning right on yellow light.

Submitted: Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:35
ThreadID: 39417 Views:5313 Replies:10 FollowUps:38
They must be after some money, funds must be running low. Just got booked 3 points $308 for turning right on orange light. Written on fine is "FAILING TO STOP YELLOW LIGHT". 3 lanes of traffic coming towards me first two lanes coming towards me gutter one for turning left same direction that I was heading once turned. Got round the corner 500metres up the road see red and yellow lights come up behind me pulled over to left lane doing the right thing so they could go past me next thing in behind me flashing high beam. Pull over get out asked did I know why I'd been pulled over I said no, then proceeded to tell me that I went through an orange light an that I should have stopped. I said mate it was yellow as I went round as I was making sure that people coming towards me were not going to run the red light. Too bad should have stopped at the orange. Next Orange light I come to I'm going to nail the brakes even if Im on the line and stiff sh@t to any body that runs up my ar@e. Then Im going to show them the fine I got. Going to keep in car with me. What a fu@king joke. Maybe they should spend more time catching the di@kheads that come up my street doing 80klm in a 50 zone. Not happy Jan. Regards Steve M

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:36

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:36
Sorry should be red and blue dont know where I got yellow from!!
AnswerID: 204743

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:50

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:50
Glad you cleared that up. Confused the hell out of me for a minute???
"red, yellow, orange"
When you said booked for going through a yellow, do you mean amber?
FollowupID: 464594

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:55

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:55
Sorry Hairy confused myself, yes got booked for going through an amber light whilst I was turning right.Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464597

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:57

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:57
Christ I just read through my original no wonder you were confused. Not thinking whilst typing, in a real pis@ed mod at the moment just ask my wife. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464598

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:58
I thought that you were allowed to move forward from the lights to turn right and wait for oncoming trafic to stop on the amber light then cross the intersection?
FollowupID: 464599

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:59

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:59
Interesting if it goes Amber as you are going through. Does that mean you have to stop in the middle of the intersection? Seems a little crazy to me though nothing surprises me these days. Bad luck there Stephen......
FollowupID: 464600

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:02
I thought you might have wierd lights down there but wasnt game to ask.
Red-Yellow-Orange-Green. LOL
Id write a letter to the cops and complain or Ring John Laws!!
FollowupID: 464601

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:18

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 06:18
The lights were designed by the Wiggles. LOL

Kev

FollowupID: 464681

Reply By: Chucky - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:58

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 21:58
I'd be taking this one to court.
Since the revenue raiser...sorry police officer isnt even claiming it was red you should win.

Also rin ACA, TT and show them the ticket.
They would love this. (just dont tell them you were in a "Killer 4WD" at the time)
AnswerID: 204747

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:02

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:02
Just checked the RTA web site and there is a fine for failing to stop at yellow light. 3 Points $308. Same for red light. The points don't bother me that much as I have full 12 its the money and the principal off it. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464602

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:38

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:38
from the rta road rules
read the last paragraph & take it to court

61 Proceeding when traffic lights or arrows at an
intersection change to yellow or red
(1) This rule applies to:
(a) a driver at an intersection with traffic lights showing a
green traffic light who has stopped after the stop line, stop
here on red signal sign, or nearest or only traffic lights, at
the intersection and is not making a hook turn at the
intersection; or
(b) a driver at an intersection with traffic arrows showing a
green traffic arrow who is turning in the direction
indicated by the arrow and has stopped after the stop line,
stop here on red arrow sign, or nearest or only traffic
arrows, at the intersection.
Example
A driver may stop after the stop line at an intersection with traffic lights
showing a green traffic light, and not proceed through the intersection,
because traffic is congested.
Note 1 Green traffic arrow, green traffic light, intersection and stop line
are defined in the dictionary.
Note 2 Hook turns are dealt with in rules 34 and 35.
(2) If the traffic lights or arrows change to yellow or red while the
driver is stopped and the driver has not entered the intersection,
the driver must not enter the intersection.
Offence provision
Note Enter is defined in the dictionary.
(3) However, if the traffic lights are at an intersection with a left
turn on red after stopping sign and the driver is turning left at
the intersection, the driver may turn left after stopping.
Note Rule 62 deals with the give way rules applying to a driver turning left
at an intersection after stopping at a left turn on red after stopping sign.
(4) Also, subrule (2) does not apply to a driver if subrule 58 (1)
applies to the driver.
Traffic lights and twin red lights Part 6
Giving way at traffic lights Division 2
Rule 61
Australian Road Rules 73
Note Rule 58 deals with when a driver does not have to stop for a red
traffic light.

(5) If the traffic lights or arrows change to yellow or red while the
driver is stopped and the driver has entered the intersection, the
driver must leave the intersection as soon as the driver can do
so safely.

FollowupID: 464617

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:46

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:46
sorry, that is if you had already entered the intersection and were waiting to turn. If on the other hand you were waiting behind the line and entered the intersection after they turned yellow, you may as well.
FollowupID: 464621

Follow Up By: bob&loz - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:47

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:47
darn
should read may as well pay up
FollowupID: 464624

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:09

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:09
Hi there bob&loz, no I was on the move and entered the intersection after the lights changed but not like I was 100metres back up the road when they went amber and went around the corner at normal speed and it was also a down hill run the way I was coming from if I went around too quick I would have ended up on my side as even the street I was turning into was at an angle as well. Anybody that might know the intersection at Windsor in NSW. Corner of Macquarie St and Bridge street. I come from the roundabout at the top heading towards Parramatta then was turning right which would lead me to Bligh Park. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464691

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:15

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 08:15
Hi there bob&loz just read through that again this sounds like what I would be fighting, just did a copy and paste from above
(2) If the traffic lights or arrows change to yellow or red WHILE THE
DRIVER IS STOPPED and the driver has not entered the intersection,
the driver must not enter the intersection.
I was not stopped I was moving at the time !! Mmmmm I wonder how this would fair. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464692

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:32

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:32

If you take this to court you're likely to lose. The fine may be increased to $2000, your lawyers fees $3000, police lawyers fees $3000, court fees $500, your time preparing the case and time in court 2-3 days.

You do the maths. You'd be better off paying the fine, spend 2 hours writing an angry letter to you're state pollie, and using the $8000 to take the family on a holiday.

The people telling you to go and fight it are not the ones that will be paying in the end.

R.
FollowupID: 464726

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:40

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:40
this may help you greatly.

https:// www.kybrand.com.au/sample.asp

FollowupID: 464728

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:00

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:00
Hi there Truckter, is this for me to give to the wankers that fined me. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464735

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:03

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:03
dont worry,
Im about to go thru same thing, my speedo indicates 110, actual speed 125.. booked for 124.. what do u think my chances are? about same as yours.. :(

how do I prove it to the filth?
FollowupID: 464736

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:36

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:36
Hi there robak, yeah not going to go that far with it. Will be writing a letter today and get it under way Im also going back there today to get some digi pics of the intersection and the grade of road , lanes etc and send that in with the letter describing the situation, if I dont get any where I will send another letter demanding reinvestigation then if it still comes back then I will call it a day and pay it. Im just hoping one day I have one of them siiting on my arse of the lux and the lights go amber then I'm gunna hit the skids hard to pull it up before the lines and hopefully get a tap up the arse then I will be smiling. regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464771

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:01

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:01
Now you have to send a letter to your insurance company to tell them that you didn't stop at the traffic lights and lost 3 points. Hope they don't hike your premiums next year...
FollowupID: 464819

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:09

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:09
Correct - read the fine print on your policy now - as soon as your nailed, you have to tell em.

TH in our club his nephew had a insurance claim rejected after the company asked for a copy of his driving record, and there were fines he had not told them about...
FollowupID: 464821

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:13

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:13
Wouldn't you only have to tell them only when you renew you insurance? After all, you've already paid for insurance upfornt so they can't really change the price of your current insurance. Can they?
FollowupID: 464823

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:52

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:52
Duty of disclosure.
FollowupID: 464828

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:01

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:01
Mate,
I consistantly get annoyed when I am waiting to cross the F3 enterance on the pacific highway heading south at 5 o'clock. Every day I see at least 3 cars and/or trucks run the red light, trying to get onto the f3. I know it must be red for them as in my direction it is green. On a few occasions I have been the first at the lights and because some people want to get home 30seconds earlier they have just kept running the red. I have had to wait for the next green.
I think it is a little dissapointing to be booked for going through an orange..... I wish every day those blue and red lights would sit on that corner
AnswerID: 204748

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:05

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:05
Yep there's always accidents at the turn near tuggerah as well people trying to turn to get onto the f3 heading south, not sure if thats where you mean.My sister just lives down the road at Mardi opposite tuggerah Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464605

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:13

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:13
No, refering to the one at Wahroonga.... Near Hornsby.
I come from hornsby way and head towards the city. I go accross the on ramp.
Anyway sorry to hear about your fine..... Just bad luck I guess.
FollowupID: 464609

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:15

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:15
Stephen,when i learnt the book of wisdom to get my L/License way back in the 60s i am sure amber meant you had to prepare to stop.Or has it changed now.Does not help you though, now!!!!!
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 464610

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:19
Thats right prepare to stop but not when your half way around a corner. What do they want us to do stop hit reverse back up to the line we just went over. Got to be fu@king kidding me. Problem is my word against two coppers in there car, no chance. Going to write a letter but if that fails have to cop it as you have buckleys winning against them in court. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464612

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:24

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:24
These days you're meant to stop on the orange light unless it is not possible to do so. (You're also meant to slow down before crossing intersections.)

However, when turning right you may drive out onto the intersection and wait there until it is clear for you to proceed, even if it is a red light.

Still the cop must've had a bad day to pull someone up for that, there are people who do much more dangeruous manouvers and get away with it.

R.
FollowupID: 464724

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:28

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:28
Stephen,

You live in a communist state!!, how rediculous getting booked at a yellow light, now i have heard it all. My understanding is that if you clear the entry solid line prior to red that is legal. In QLD i believe this to be the case. I'd think hard prior to paying it,might be worth contesting just to shove it up em in the interest of common sense. Sounds like,as you say revenue hour. I saw here on the Gold Coast a blitz on friday, over an hour i saw 2 hwy patrol cars and 2 d cars annoying motorists for god knows what.

It's a sad case
Good Luck

AnswerID: 204754

Follow Up By: FZJ 80 - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:30

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:30
Also, maybe in NSW they should get rid of the yellow light. Just have Red and Green, if they treat yellow as red!!!
FollowupID: 464614

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:41

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:41
Hi there FZJ 80,no intentions of paying till I have written a letter and had a reply back as said if that does no good I will have to cop it as I would never win in court and cost a sh@t load to be represented by some one. And yes thats exactly what I said to the copper "well we might as well get rid of all the amber lights if thats the case" Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464619

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 03:50

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 03:50
"My understanding is that if you clear the entry solid line prior to red that is legal." This is a common misunderstanding, so you are not alone. It is an offence to cross the stop line when the light is amber, when you are able to stop. Which means that all the d-heads that "run the yellow" are breaking the law.

I have pulled up at an amber light (not rapidly!) and been abused by the driver behind for stopping. Seems I should have broken the law because he was too thick to know or care about the rules!! I must have a nasty streak because when the lights changed, I 'accidentally' stalled the vehicle and couldn't get it started until the lights went amber again. Thankfully I've grown up a bit since then LOL.

Those who say something cannot be done should not interrupt the person doing it.

FollowupID: 464676

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:40

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:40
Mate that is crap, yes there is a law agist it but considering you were already in the intersection and it’s not like the light went orange and you were 50 metres back and nailed it to get throe.

If you had stoped you would of obstructed traffic, then you would have been booked for that, what a joke clearly these guys have too much time on there hands and instead of nabbing the people who are doing something seriously wrong and dangerous thay book you!!!

The Old man is a cop and he has been in the car many times with me when I was younger and the light had turned orange and I gamed on the brakes to stop in time and he was like next time go throe “It’s stop if you can do so safely” I was always told if you are inside of those Continuos white lain lines at the traffic lights go throe otherwise stop.This is an officer with over 30years experience in the force saying this.

Revenue rasing yes, in the interest of safety and saving life’s NO!!!

Cheers and i would be bleep to.
AnswerID: 204755

Reply By: rustytruck - Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:53

Monday, Nov 13, 2006 at 22:53
Stephen,

Check the following site (Australian Road Rules) as Rule 61(5) may be applicable to you if the incident happened as described by you.

Site Link

Good luck and let us know the outcome.

Rusty
AnswerID: 204762

Reply By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:05

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:05
I nailed a bloke from behind (him in car, me on VFF motorcycle) when he jammed on the brakes, on the line, on amber.

Who was at fault?? ME of course.
AnswerID: 204786

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:44

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 00:44
Wouldn't that rot the sox right off your feet?!!!

Still... I always make myself feel a bit better by trying to work out how much the fine would have cost if I divide it through all the times I really have broken the driving laws...usually by not paying enough attention. Probably about 50c I think.
AnswerID: 204795

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:38

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 10:38
Hi there Royce, yes I have been doing that, thinking of the times when I have been over the speed limit not by much but still over so no excuse for me and yes if I got done stiff sh@t for me I would have deserved it or the times I have done a u turn where I shouldnt have once again if I got busted then I deserved it but to get done for an amber light whilst I was on the move GRRRRR. Fuc@ing kidding me. Still pis@ed off not much calmer than last night. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464715

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:07

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:07
Rules for Traffic lights

GREEN.......proceed with caution

AMBER......STOP with caution

RED..........STOP.....
AnswerID: 204887

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:09

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:09
with caution

If the lights go amber before you cross the line you MUST STOP with caution !!!!

Simple really.

FollowupID: 464777

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 15:38

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 15:38
Thats right with caution, bit late when your 20 meters from the line, lights go amber on a down hill run also keeping in mind watching three lanes of traffic coming towards me and turning right. Two fines in 22 years 1 at fault accident which was a repair cost to my vehicle only 1 new headlight and that was because some dic@head stopped 3 foot over the line on a amber instead of going through parramatta road,I think is a good record, one for speeding 108klm on the bruce highway in Queensland (6years ago) the other turning right out of the specified hours (20 years ago) thats it. Yes cases where I have just been lucky and not get caught for going quicker than I should be as said above if I had got cought at the time than I deserved it. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464795

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:10
Id say 20 mtrs should be enough distance to stop considering what your speed should be while sitting at a light waiting to move.

??
FollowupID: 464822

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:39

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:39
Hi there Truckster was a lot less than that now that I have been out there. Measured up took some photos etc so see what happens. Could be lucky and have it wiped but wont hold my breath gotta feeling gunna be paying and yeah will inform insurance company once its all settled as at the moment its not an issue as will be waiting for letter reply. Still havnt heard anything about wifes accident 4 years & 2 months since it happened, cops reckon she was at fault but we have witnesses even the NRMA didnt think she was at fault and gave us our green slip for the usual price so we rufused to pay it and said we'l see them in court. Dont know whats going on but havnt heard a thing and she has renewed her licence and both vehicles are in both names and been no issues with renewing rego. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 464824

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:30

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:30
Well 20mtrs seems to me to be enough time to stop, aspecially when you are slowing down to turn right !!!

2 fines in 22yrs, i'd say your pretty lucky, and have had a good run of luck.

FollowupID: 464991

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:04

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:04
I agree.. 2 in 22 yrs.. bleep I've had more than that in 12 mths. hate to see my teenage record... but we had a mate that was losin license, so he wore heaps of em for us :D
FollowupID: 464997

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:08

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:08
Stephen, write a letter as per the instructions of dispute on the back of the ticket, then if no joy pay the fine....
Yesterday I had a similar experience. Sign says "2 Hrs Parking 8:30 - 5:30" I arrive @ 5:26 and being the pedant that I am think Ok 20c in the slot will do it & I got a voucher printed out that said I had till 5:31....
Get back to the car to discover that @ 5:40 I had been booked for overstaying my time. This I will challenge at the highest level as after 5:30 pm there is no pay parking as applies weekends & Pub Hols...Trouble is in the ACT there is aparently no dispute mechanism, I have to pay the fine then write a letter of explanation & no further correspondence will be entered into. Also discovered that as there are two methoda of being booked here Police & parking inspectors & I got done by Police.
Now we get to the pimply faced tosser part... Took the fine to the police station and asked to discuss the matter, nice young man explained that my voucher expired @ 5:31 & I had been booked @ 5:40 & I tried to explain that voucher parking finished @ 5:30 & the machine only prints docket to 5:31....All went over his head and said I would have to complain to the Minister for parking & stupid signs...
After being stuffed around all day by moronic cretins I'm on the verge of hurling a molotov cocktail through the window of the "Parking Control Office" except the fuel is more expensive than the fine....I'll lay my next pension cheque that before I get this sorted the signs will be changed....
AnswerID: 204928

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:03

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:03
Fawlty,

If I were you get some photos of the sign now, keep records of all your conversations and with whom Make sure that you could stand there after 5:30. ie it's not a clearway after that is it? And then just forget about it.

R.
FollowupID: 464985