Australian Army New Abrams Tanks Fridges

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:01
ThreadID: 39436 Views:8241 Replies:20 FollowUps:48
Engels and Waeco fridges did not meet Australia army Abrams tank devision for mobile refridgeration. I found this out during the Melbourne 4x4 show. The army tanks are being equiped with Trailblaza fridges, selected for their efficiency and strength and low temperature fluctuation. Had a look at the Trailblaza, and they confirmed that they are fitting them to the Abrams tanks. Australia bought 59 of them for $11 million Aus each, some $660 million for 59.
These fridges must be the best, and are there any owners of Trailblaza who can tell us of their experiences with them? These units sure got my attention and interest.
Not much more expensive then any other fridge on the market either... And can order them in stainless steel or aluminium.

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:11

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:11
Lots of Forumites on here have Trailblza's including myself. Issues I've had caused by me generally LOL
The new ones sure look pretty. Had mine for 10+ years and still going strong.
Cost about $1100 back then including the 240v pack and freight. After sales service is excellent.
Strong and robust, excellent insulation but damned heavy. I have a 70l model.
AnswerID: 204854

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:05

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:05
does that include me as having one...even if it is a copy..hahaha
FollowupID: 464750

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:33

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:33
Yes Smarty Pants, just cos your clever enough to copy the best. LOL
FollowupID: 464769

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:37

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:37
When did Member No 1 learn to read.......

FollowupID: 464788

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:14

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:14
$11,000,000 for a fridge?????

Oh, I get it. That's the cost of each Tank isn't it?

Phew! You had me there for awhile shaggy:-)

AnswerID: 204855

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:05

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:05
i had to read it twice as well
FollowupID: 464751

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:34

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:34
It may be that you pay $11,000,000 for the fridge and they give you a free tank, but wait there's more........
FollowupID: 464770

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:30

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:30
Very good fridge.

I don't know about the army being much of an recommendation though, they have a budget like most of us do, much more experience on this site. All the major players make good robust fridges, it's pretty simple technology.
AnswerID: 204857

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:46

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:46
>I don't know about the army being much of an recommendation though

Well... if it's going into a tank you can bet the army think it's _tough!_ Anything used in battlefield conditions has to be able to be stood on, kicked, sat on, dropped and abused in almost every way you can think of - and a few you can't :)

>they have a budget like most of us do

Ah... difference is they _have_ to spend theirs - we don't. I've done very well from the Dept. of Defence over the years especially towards the end of the financial year :)

FollowupID: 464730

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:59

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:59
Well one would think so but having worked in Army stores (in another country) and seen some of the rubbish pass through I don't have faith that the system here is necessarily any better.

FollowupID: 464734

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:27

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:27
Mike does that mean that landrovers are the best? They may be for their purpose but for me they are not an option, same with fridges I don't want a tank fridge I want a camping fridge so my wife can still carry it to the car while I'm having a beer.
Wazzaaa
FollowupID: 464741

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:48

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:48
To quote an ex Army mate of mine. "Gave me bleep s loads of confidence to know my gear was supplied by the lowest tenderer".

After having been involved in tendering and supplying service to the Defence Forces I knew exactly where he was coming from.
LOLOLOL

FollowupID: 464742

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:59

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:59
Didn't one of the Space Shuttle astronauts say something similar when asked how it felt to ride the shuttle during take off??

Something along the lines of....
How would you feel sitting in the worlds biggest firecracker built by the cheapest tenderer.

Turned out to be a poetic statement in the end.

FollowupID: 464747

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:08

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:08
>Mike does that mean that landrovers are the best?

Last ADF vehicle I was in was a Troop Carrier.

>To quote an ex Army mate of mine. "Gave me bleep s loads
>of confidence to know my gear was supplied by the lowest tenderer".

I can tell you to my _certain_ knowledge that is not necessarily the case - sometimes, of course, it is but other times different criteria are used, depends on the product and the requirement. Sometimes no tender process is involved.

FollowupID: 464754

Follow Up By: shaggy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:08

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:08
If it was all about the cheapest quote, why did they not go for the supercheap, repco or kmart fridges? I am sure those guys will also give you a good price if you buy 100 units.
When you tender for defence, you have to be very confident in your product as well as pass all the requirements that are listed in the request for tender document. Has anyone here actually been involved in a tender submission to the defence force?
FollowupID: 464755

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:22

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:22
Yes but I'm usually the decision maker for the equipment/tools tendered.

Kev

FollowupID: 464764

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:40

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:40
Shaggy
>Has anyone here actually been involved in a tender
>submission to the defence force?

Oh yes, yes, yes and thrice yes :) Many times.

Kev
>Yes but I'm usually the decision maker for the
>equipment/tools tendered.

Kev! Mate! We should sit around the camp fire for a chat - let me buy you a beer or a case of Dom Perignon...? :)

Joking aside: the tender process is now so hard and so time consuming it makes life _very_ difficult for small companies and, I suspect, sometimes drives them away to the detriment of eventual product and price quality for the ADF.

FollowupID: 464773

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:48
Mike,

I am open to healthy competition between the suppliers that I use.
I usually provide an item that has a certain capability and request that they supply that item or equivalent.

Small buisnesses are probably the easier ones to deal with as they bend over backwards to assist and gain loyality.

If you look at my post 39395 where I can I'll get discounts that may be advantageous to us Explore Oz members. I have already recieved a few MM about more details.

FollowupID: 464774

Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:10
Being involved in Defence tendering the old rule of thumb was Defence generally went with the cheapest tender. This has changed over the years and now work via the rule of best value for money..........Defence rarely goes the cheapest now as it generally isn't the best option. Defence is learning by it's mistakes of the past......
FollowupID: 464778

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:45

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 11:45
The unit that I'm still at use Engels.

But yes it is a budget thing and Trailblazer has come up as the cheapest bidder.

AnswerID: 204862

Reply By: RupertDog - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:10
Just a question - What does the army put in their fridges in their tanks??

Not denying they have a need for cold whatevers, just curious as to what they keep cold?

RD
AnswerID: 204868

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:19

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:19
Fresh Rations, Medical supplies,
The inside of some of these things are pretty high so a few cold refreshments go a long way.

Kev

FollowupID: 464740

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:17

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:17
When you're sitting in a broken down tank, you need somewhere to keep your beer cool!

FollowupID: 464780

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:42

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:42
That reminds me of a Navy Patrol Boat in the 70's that got its navigation wrong near PNG and ran up a reef so hard it got clear of the water then fell over on it's side.

First priority ... drink all the cold beer before the fridges get warm.

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 464825

Reply By: Gajm - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:23

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:23
Thats exactly it, it's about cheapest bidder. What about those subamrines the defence dept bought...absolute rubbish.

Do your own research and find out what is best for your own needs and budget.
AnswerID: 204869

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:57

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:57
I think you should really check you facts about the Collins Class submarine....while it did have some problems in the build stage it is now recognised by all navies around the world as the absolute best conventionally powered submarine anywhere in the world....and it is even better than some of the nukes being used by our coalition partners...especially when considered along with the absolute professionalism of the Aussie submariners.
FollowupID: 464746

Follow Up By: Dion - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:44

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:44
Gajm,
The Collins Class are the best conventional submarines in the world. Sure thay had some initial teething problems, all of them sorted.
I have served on our old Oberon submarines, and are currently serving on the Collins class, and now my Collins experience exceeds the Oberon time.
I guess also the fact that you can not spell submarine says all about your knowledge of our submarines. I could go on about the acheivments of our Collins Class, but cannot on this forum, except to say our trophy cabinet is reasonably full.

Dion.
FollowupID: 464813

Follow Up By: Chucky - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:22

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:22
The Collins Class is a world leading sub,
And the crew can even wash now on them.

No more Bug-mariners:)

I used to crew a TRV that did recoveries for the Collins subs as they conducted sea trails.

Had a great time living in a 5 star hotel in Adelaide for months at a time spending most of the day fishing while waiting for something to happen
FollowupID: 464854

Follow Up By: Gajm - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:55

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:55
I am more than happy to learn something I didn't know from people who do. So forgive my only listening to media hype about the submarines...I should know better! So I stand corrected. Nor did I intend to insult anyone who actually has worked in one. So apologies to anyone if I did.

Dion, don't be so quick to insult people based on a simple typing error, it's a forum, not an English exam.....I watched the post send and saw it was a mistake, but it was too late by then...I will use spell check more often so as not so insult your exceptional grasp of the English language...well except for: "are currently" should be "am currently"..."thay" is spelt "they"...and "acheivments" is "achievements"...Should I ignore your knowledge on Collins Class because of these errors? Relax a bit ok!

I still stand by him doing his own research and finding the fridge that best suits his needs.
FollowupID: 464862

Reply By: Groove - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:44

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:44
Still cant believe how defensive some people get about fridges
AnswerID: 204871

Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:50

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:50
Leave em go Groove.

You ain't seen how defensive I get about my thongs.

FollowupID: 464743

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:56

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:56
Never knock a mans 12 volt fridge unless you're looking for trouble, it's a personal thing :)
FollowupID: 464745

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:07

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:07
Is the trailblaza in the Abraham Tank 12 or 24 volt though LOL

FollowupID: 464753

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:10
What are you talking about Groove these threads are fun to read, look haw many replys they get.
Wazzaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
FollowupID: 464757

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:18

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:18
Kev...the danfoss comp is 12vdc or 24vdc... either or
FollowupID: 464760

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:23

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:23
Yeah I know, was just stirring the pot a little.

FollowupID: 464765

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 07:16

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 07:16
Double pluggers are betterer! :-)
FollowupID: 464960

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:08

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:08
What about the double plugger, stubbie shorts and blue singlet combo

FollowupID: 465023

Follow Up By: techo2oz - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:08

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:08
Kev, it was a reply in response to Ians. Double pluggers are thongs with 2 plugs at the toe end.. Can't beat em.

:-)
FollowupID: 465163

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:52

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 12:52
Hi Shaggy,
Like some of the above, it all comes down to the best deal that they can get from a supplier, regardless of quality. Sure the Trailblaza are a good fridge, but look what was in the news headlines a few months ago.

Our Diggers in the Middle East with defective clothing and equipment?? Does that means that the gear in question was then the BEST that they could get ??

AnswerID: 204873

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:16

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:16
But do you need a fridge that'll take a hit from a .50!!! : )>
FollowupID: 464758

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:20

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:20
a 50 cal can stuff any fridge
FollowupID: 464761

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:59

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 16:59
Hey Big Ears,

No way !!!!!
Bounce off an engel mate, tough as nails those engels !!
Even seen an interstate truckie SIT on one and it still worked !

:-))))
Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 465096

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:06

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:06
big ears?...you insulting piece of ozzie

engels tough you reckon...obviously wasnt a fat overwieght ugly out of time with the rest of the country Qld'er who sat on it then....only so much can be done to support you water sucking lot

(no offence...
from
big ears)
FollowupID: 465162

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:15

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:15
well they have been known been to make errors of judgement just as we do

my inlaw has contract to fit aircompressor to their pommie 4 wd's ( what an error of judgement this is, even a nissan would have been better) ...any how the compressor is a cheapie...around $100 or thereabouts from repco....the flippen bracket that had to be made to their spec for install cost more. ( i believe the cost of providing certifed wiring diagrams and bill of material list with current part numbers right down to crimp lugs cost more to type and submit for approval..... It was what was specified on the order and requirements for quotation.....

but the trailblaza is a good fridge...,.hope the tanks are

AnswerID: 204878

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:23

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:23
Yes no.1 they must be good, a mate of mine reconds his trailblaza is better than any fridge on the market, inc. my waeco and engel. He's bigger than me so I don't argue
Wazzaaaaa
FollowupID: 464766

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 13:57
Don't know about the fridges, but when I was camped just out of Whyalla on the beach earlier this year, they Army were testing these Abrams tanks on their military land across the road.

We could not see anything, but could hear plenty, and the firepower on board these things is something I would only want to experience on the drivers side of the barrel.

So I guess after having decimated the marauding hordes they might need a cold one. Sounds fine by me.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 204884

Follow Up By: shaggy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:37

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:37
Awsome, how I wish I was there to hear that....
Excuse ignorance, but where is Whyalla?
They sound like they have ammo that fits the tanks.
Friend is in the air force, and reckons the ammo for the new planes, or was it helis, does not fit. Seems Aus bought planes or helis, but not the ammo, and the ammo we have does not fit... bugger
FollowupID: 464787

Follow Up By: Dion - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:37

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:37
Whyalla is on the Western side of Spencer Gulf. The firing range is at Cutana, which is actually closer to Port Augusta.

FollowupID: 464810

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:39

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:39
Hi Shaggy:

Whyalla is south of Port Augusta down the Lincoln Highway, and on Spencers Gulf in South Australia. There is an excellent museum to the HMAS Whyala, but Whyalla is largely a mining city/town. A place that we were going to just "overnight" but ended up staying for 4 days. We got onto a nice little camp area just out of town (about 11 or 12 km) which was terrific, and as I said, across the road (and through the fence) was Dept of Defence property .. well signposted.

When I heard all the explosions and the heavy machine guns, etc I mentioned it when I was in town the following day and the locals told me what was going on.

Whyala is worth a visit.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 464811

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:10
Whyalla.....

FollowupID: 464849

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:35

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:35
",,,,,,,,,,Seems Aus bought planes or helis, but not the ammo, and the ammo we have does not fit... bugger,,,,,"

It never ceases to amaze me that these shinyarses in government depts get it wrong so often. And this is an EASY one!!

Most schoolboys could prolly tell 'em some of these facts.,,,,,,,,"Er mister, those yank F18s take a 9mm shell and we can't use Aussie ammo in 'em. I read about the size of the guns in my "Warplanes of the World" book mister"

GEEZZUSS!!

What do they do with a REAL hard question?? Like Climate Change, Immigration Policy, Fiscal Policy, Terrorism etc, etc.

GEEZUSSS

Bilbo
FollowupID: 465047

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:03

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:03
Well said Bilbo, LMAO.

Pezza
FollowupID: 465097

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:18

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 14:18
I'm Excited!!!
AnswerID: 204892

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:48

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:48
We don't wish to know about your personal life :)
FollowupID: 464814

Reply By: shaggy - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 15:12

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 15:12
So spend $11 million for a tank, and then worry about a hundred bucks for the fridge. The american military allocoated 25% of its maintenance budget for the whole tanks just on service and repair of the jet turbine engine for this tank. That is a lot of cash to service the engine alone and fuel consumption can be "as little as 5 litres per km" according to defence sources. So why bother saving a hundred bucks on a fridge. Seems to me that there are a lot of people who just want to make a comment, whether or not they know what they are talking about. It doesn't matter if you are in the defence force already, it makes you nowhere near involved in the selection process. So do not just state your assumptions as fact. Who can positively state that the fridge decision was based on cost alone? What a joke. Face the fact that the beloved engel or waeco may not cut the mustard when it comes to design, vibration resistance, energy consumption, durability, corrosion resistance, mechanical strength etc...
AnswerID: 204899

Follow Up By: Chucky - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:17

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:17
And they are VERY heavy, too heavy and too large for easy transport using our exsisting means. On the LPA's they can only go in single file with a huge gap between them. At least with the lepards they can fit them in side by side and nose to tail.
Also with the amount of fuel used the Ab tanks need a massive logististic line to keep them operational.

I have heard than the Australia Ab tanks will most likely never leave Aust. They will be mainly used to train our tank crews and whent they are needed O/S they will just join a yank unit and use the american hardware.
FollowupID: 464852

Follow Up By: djm67 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:00

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:00
Chucky, our current Leopard tanks have never left the country.

We haven't deployed tanks since Vietnam.
FollowupID: 465160

Follow Up By: Chucky - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:44

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:44
I never said anything about them being deployed, Just that they can be easily fitted into our exsisting navy transport if needed.

And as for them never being deployed, Why are we spending $11 million per tank, of which there are 59 of them when there has been no need of them in the last 30 years?

I just think that the AB tanks were not a very good decision to buy, we could have just expanded our leopard tank fleet with the leopard 2's.

But then Little Johnny wouldn't be GW bush's friend.
FollowupID: 465209

Reply By: Builders Mate - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:28

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 16:28
My old Army unit has been using Trailblazers since the 80's in Queensland. They are a tough piece of kit, they need to be bouncing around the back of fourbies for weeks at a time. However I never bought one because of the weight issue, lugging one off the back of a cruiser trayback was my main consideration and I've gone for the Waeco, an equally good piece of kit. Unlike the Engel with it's old fashioned look and openings everywhere to drop stuff in and do damage.
AnswerID: 204913

Reply By: garryn1292 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:41

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 17:41
I have owned a Traiblaza 60 litre for 16 years & it has never let me down in 14 trips from Newcastle NSW to the gulf area of the Northern Territory over some very rough dirt roads.
AnswerID: 204922

Reply By: macca172 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:47

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:47
The fridges would have been bought as a part of the Abrams purchase project by the rocket scientists in the sheltered work shop, known as the Defence Materials Orginisation(DMO). Yes, these are the same mob who cant cloth or equip our ADF guys with the the right equipment and most projects they handle, turn pear shaped.
Good luck to the "buckets" who are going to operate the Abrams(second hand puchase by the way), I hope the fridges turn out to be the good bit of kit, however knowing DMO's past performance, I have my doubts?
AnswerID: 204938

Reply By: acdc - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:30

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:30
shaggy,

They drive landrovers as well,i rest my case!
AnswerID: 204952

Reply By: Grungle - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:35

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:35
Hope they have given a bit of thought to wiring them up. I can just see it now, All the Abrahams sitting dead on the road because their fridge had drained all the charge from their batteries overnight.

AnswerID: 205048

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:13

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:13
They could always push-start them...

andrew
FollowupID: 465067

Reply By: wilko65 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:58

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:58
I bought my 60 litre TrailBlaza in 1988 and it spent the first 9 years of its life in the back of a ute on Cape York. The reasons for me buying it then were the construction, the insulation being suitable to spend the days sitting in the Cape York sun without any cover, the fact that it is made in Australia and at the time, space wasn't an issue.
I have since left Cape York, bought a wagon and am lucky to go camping more than 6 times a year. Space is an issue now and it is a very bulky item to carry. But the fridge has to fit in and if it means leaving something behind, well so be it.
I replaced my thermostat about 3 years ago and last April the compressor died (open circuit winding in motor). At this time I nearly scrapped it and bought a waeco or Engle, but in the end replaced it and have had no problems since.
They are a very good fridge but don't suit everyone. It would be a strange world if everyone liked the same things. Select what you feel is right for your particular application. One last thing, the Danfoss compressors will inerfere with a HF radio chronically. If anyone has a fix, let me know.
AnswerID: 205082

Reply By: mowing - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:01

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:01
Shaggy, The Trailblaza's are also used in the Army's APC's and they make vaccine units for the World Health Organisation. They are tough as nails and only come in marine grade alloy or the checker plate version. With the Danfoss compressor wound up they use power but oly for short periods ie high amperage draw. The Army are obviously happy with them and would not have purchased them on price alone.The Army version are slightly different as they have more reinforcing in the lid.

AnswerID: 205225

Reply By: Off-track - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:00

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:00
Most other units in the ADF prefer to use Engel.

Shaggy, you sound like a salesman for Trailblaza.
AnswerID: 205249