Blood lust!

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:28
ThreadID: 39446 Views:2797 Replies:12 FollowUps:15
Well... sort of... actually more of an anti blood lust really....

When I go bush I pack fresh meat into zip-lock plastic bags and freeze it before moving it to my 3 way fridge on the morning of departure where it gradually defrosts over the next week or so.

I do this quite successfully with chicken, pork and lamb but not beef! Despite the zip-lock bags (and various other methods I've tried) the blood from the defrosting beef _always_ manages to work it's way out of the bag and onto the fridge floor in quantities such that it is a problem. This does not happen with any of the other meats – only beef. Any ideas on how to prevent this?

Most suggestions gratefully received :)

mike_harding@fastmail.fm

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:33

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:33
Have you thought about buying a cryovac machine. This would allow you to not only seal the meat in the bag, but also they suck all the air out of the bag in the process.

You can also cryovac fruit and vegies.
AnswerID: 204931

Reply By: bob&loz - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:33

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:33
have your butcher vacuum seal it
AnswerID: 204932

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:34

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 18:34
Try vacuum packing with and absorbant packer in with it. I've never had a problem with this method. Just don't pack meat with bones as they wear through easily.

AnswerID: 204933

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:19

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:19
Take Goat meat

AnswerID: 204948

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:04
You talking international goats Bonz? Ones you give away I mean.
FollowupID: 464870

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:40

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:40
Don't be silly Bonz, he wants it to stay in the fridge,

FollowupID: 464878

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:54

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:54
>Take Goat meat

I shall tell Millicent you said that. And then we'll see which paddock _you'll_ be sleeping in on Saturday night!

FollowupID: 464882

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:05

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:05
BLOOD LUST!
Is this the same M H who recently queried my possible drug habits ?

To expand, mine are essentially legal. Mike, the liver first, yes? You excise it by blade or by hand? Don't really care:just hadn't tagged you as a H'mong survivor.
So what's with the storage problems?
All in fun Mike, and of course you concur that "Victoria, The Place To Be" should be enforced upon all Vicweigans", eh. Don't want 'em to pollute your State (WA, isn't it?) like those bloody starlings.
Cheers Mike. Pleased you made a good quid from Defence.Hope you did not contribute to my earlier discomfort. Jeff. (Engagement rave/ Himalayan restaurant.Remember? Scent of huma, Yes??) Stop. JH.
FollowupID: 464930

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:10

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:10
Jeff H

Jeff H uhh woooof that means trouble , never mind the starlings, what about the Kookaburra's

Wooof Wooof Wooof Wooof Wooof

FollowupID: 464932

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:55

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:55
Dusty, having trouble with "Sit. Quiet" are we?
Strewth, I'm at a loss. I thought youse pair were of fine pedigree. Hang on....
youse never o/nighted in The Garden State, did you?
DID YOU!!
No fibbin now.
(Before this gets sillier [use yer own spellchecks], I reckon Victoria has beautiful and diverse thingos (ecosystems maybe), it' s just that your crap weather would be enough to cause any sane freeman to request a refund on his 10 quid.

. And so we're left with? ? "The Place To Be", or "On The Move" ? JH.
FollowupID: 464939

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:00

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:00
Overnighter on Sesame Street naaah not me, I wasn't that silly, but yep I did many trips up and down the old sesame st, Hume Hwy to those non truckers ,
Now Jeff I thought you would have been very much at a loss as to why I mentioned Kookaburra's when you said Starlings

!MPG:49!

FollowupID: 464941

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 02:36

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 02:36
Yes mate.Starlings/Jackasses.Another close round, but it was aimed a bit high. Thank Christ it went over my head.That's a BIG advantage of having a low IQ.
Doug you mongrel,I had intended to reply off forum.
Dusty asleep on duty maybe?
go.
FollowupID: 464950

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 02:40

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 02:40
Jeff H
The little mongrel is asleep and I'm gonna join him very soon

Just a bit of trivia for you

Distribution and Habitat
The Kookaburra occurs throughout eastern Australia. It has also been introduced to Tasmania and the extreme south-west of Western Australia, as well as New Zealand. It inhabits most areas where there are suitable trees. In the central north and north-west of Australia it is replaced by the Blue-winged Kookaburra. The two overlap in range throughout Queensland, although the Blue-winged Kookaburra tends to occupy the coastal areas.
Kookaburras were introduced to WA in 1897 from the eastern States and now live here successfully.

FollowupID: 464951

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:07

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:07
Another post successfully hijacked by this pair.
FollowupID: 464975

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:08

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:08
I'm with the goat meat,,it make a great curry mmmmmm i can smell it now,,we used to buy a curry parcel from mr Bajpi just out of Suva.....

FollowupID: 465024

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:07

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:07
There will be NO sleeping if I am in the paddock

FollowupID: 465119

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:43

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:43

We have started putting those trays you get meat in from the supermarket these days in the bottom of the fridge. We've got one and its fits pretty good, and it catches any unwanted spills. Just wash it out when we get home. We've only used it for caravan trips - for remote trips the cryovac way is the go.

Max
AnswerID: 204958

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:44

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 19:44
dont freeze the beef - at around 0-2 c it should last around a week anyway. By freezing you may actually be reducing its shelf life the ice crystal pierce the cells producing the juice which provides an ideal environment for bacteria
AnswerID: 204959

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:25

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:25
Thanks Davoe, I'll try that.
FollowupID: 464990

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:13

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:13
Mike....
I like the cryovac idea as wll..... but I wonder if you pack the plastic bags so that the "zip" section is facing UP.... my theory is if it's standing upright it can't leak..... keeping it upright may be the next problem though, and I guess you may have already tried this? What about plastic containers like tupperware? All of our fridge stuff is packed in tupperware containers to reduce the spillage.

just a thought

AnswerID: 204964

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:23

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:23
Yep. We do the same. ALL frozen meat products are stored in zip lock bags and kept in a tupperware container.
FollowupID: 464946

Reply By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:52

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:52
Yo Mike,

yeh I know the feeling. Like most I've tried all sorts and came back to cryo. Heard about Sunbeam putting this out. Check the link: Site Link

Grrr!!!
AnswerID: 204995

Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:10

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:10
",,,,,,,,,,,,Any ideas on how to prevent this?,,,,,,,,,,"

Don't eat beef.

Simple.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205033

Reply By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:35

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:35
Thanks for the replies guys.

My fridge is a small (33lt) 3 way so it's a bit hard to get boxes etc in - small plastic bags are ideal because I can fill up all the gaps with them. I'm sure vacuum packing would solve the issue and I may buy a machine anyway but it seems a bit extreme purely to solve this problem.

Because the beef keeps well I tend to save it for later in the trip so it has plenty of time to leak - guess I'll just have to keep cleaning out the fridge unless I go vacuum.

AnswerID: 205063

Reply By: Shawsie (Bris) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:10

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:10
have you tried "2" ziplock bags ;o)
AnswerID: 205072

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:21

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:21
T' be sure, t' be sure I have Patrick :)

It slows things down but doesn't cure the problem - I suppose I could use three... or maybe four zi.... :)
FollowupID: 465000

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:21

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:21
G'day Mike
Different brand of bag perhaps? or
Turn fridge down (up?) a bit so that the bottom layer stays frozen and keep beef at bottom. When required transfer (still frozen beek parcel) to a sealed plastic dish in morning and will be ready to cook by camp time.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 205114