Caravans and traffic jams.

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 20:56
ThreadID: 39453 Views:3290 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
I have just become a caravanner. I have cursed the things for most of my life and now I own one. Being aware of the problems some cause I have driven with the utmost consideration for other motorists. Truckies are the best – I say on the CB – this is the caravan, come past when you think it is safe and I will slow down if necessary. I have not had a problem. The biggest problem is the fool in the car/ute/fourby. They come boring down at huge speeds then tuck right in behind and tailgate. A tailgater cannot see past me and has no idea when to pass. What I do is, when it is safe to pass, I move as far left as is safe but not change speed. By the time the goose behind decides to look, usually the opportunity has gone. I reckon if I give these fools three chances to pass and they do not respond, I should not have to worry about their incompetence any more. Soon there will be other cars and trucks behind them and it is NOT my fault. They then have to pass the combined length of my rig plus the tailgater. There are some skilled drivers who time their run properly and pass down the line. But boy does the tailgater get mad if anyone wants to pull in behind me during the overtake. Selfish clowns. I have done 8000km towing the caravan so far in three states and these tailgaters are everywhere. BTW, I do pull over if necessary but often resent having to do so because it would not be necessary if the drivers behind were even half competent at overtaking, it seems to be a dying art.

Reply By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:44

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:44
Don't stress Mike,

I have a mate who spent 15 years on the road towing a van. His policy was not to look in the rear view mirrors :-)

I have done around 400,000km towing. Some times I used to be able to see the insects on the bullbar of the truck following behind. Come across some very angry truckies too. On the whole they were good. I would tell them the same as you do and pull over at a convenient spot or slow down for them to pass. Most of the time my speeds were around the 60-70km mark and slower in very hilly country. In all my travels I never had a mishap apart from a 'light touch' by a B double on a bridge on the Newell Hwy and a meeting of mirrors with another caravanner also on a bridge near Mildura. Was towing a 27 footer!!

Best thing is not to worry about the idiots behind you.

AnswerID: 204991

Reply By: Glenn (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:59

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 21:59
Hi Mikee,

When I tow and someone is on my tail, I use the old indicate with the right blinker twice then wait for them to pull out before slowing slightly. It does however amaze me how many people do not recognise this signal as a "please pass me" sign. It is nice too when I receive the left blinker twice from the passer once they have pulled back in ahead of me, rare as it is.

Glenn
AnswerID: 204999

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:04

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:04
when someones up ya clacker, stand on the picks... usually makes their mind up for them :D
FollowupID: 464894

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:28

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:28
Hi Glenn,

I used to use and follow the 'right flash' sign language until one day I saw the flash and started to overtake a slow gravel truck - except that he was turning right off the road. I believe the practice was outlawed following other similar accidents. I often get the left flash or the quick left/right from trucks once they are past. Courtesy is not dead.

Mike.
FollowupID: 464908

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:30
Mikee truckers used to do the same as you but stopped doing it for legal reasons (when they get it wrong).
Cheer's bob.
FollowupID: 464910

Follow Up By: howie - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:48

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:48
i agree, indicating right is dangerous.
nearly got wiped out years ago on the great northern by a truck who was turning right!
i usually don't need any help passing caravans and certainly get pee-d off when they pull over to the left and start spreading all the dirt on the road from the hard shoulder. don't do it!

the only signal i will give is a flash of the lights when it is safe for a long truck to pull in after overtaking me.
FollowupID: 464917

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:39

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:39
Glenn
I have been in the trucking industry since 1973, We used the blinkers for many years for that but then S### hit the fan in NSW when after 2 incidents the coppers started booking drivers and now it is illegal , the two events were 1 was when a driver used his indicater for what it was intended for to do a right turn but the car driver thought it was a signal to go for it , result , an accident. 2 was by me , had a car overtake on an unbroken white line, he got caught by coppers and the mongrel told them I indicated to him to pass of which i didn't and got a warning and a lecture for something I didn't do , that was about 16 years ago and i still haven't found the mongrel.....lol

Doug

FollowupID: 464937

Reply By: ev700 - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:01

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:01
Mikee5

Take care lifting the accelerator foot when the trucks go by because you could get a sway up in the trailer. That could be nasty. I keep a constant speed at least until his trailer rear clears the towing vehicle. If it is uphill maybe you could slow a bit but that depends on prevailing winds too..

EV

AnswerID: 205009

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:10

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:10
In WA the problem is the 100 speed limit for trailers ... in other states its the posted speed .. much better .. but then again there are those stupid caravaners driving in a convoy at 70 or 80 and leaving no space between the parties for a 16m combo ...
stupid ..
have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 205022

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:11

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:11
Having just travelled from Vic to Cape York and back towing a camper trailer, I feel compelled to object to you calling me a fool in a car/ute/forby. Your rant shows incredible self-centredness.

Having travelled up the Queensland east coat, I encountered far too many of your kind (caravan towers doing 60-80k). You travel at a speed slower than the prevailing traffic, and then you spout off as if those who need to get past are the villains.

Let me have my spew about those towing caravans who
- Will not move over so I can see if it is safe to pass, you will broach the white line with your weaving van.
- once I get close behind in the slipstream to assist my passing move when it becomes possible, you will slow down so I lose momentum and because I am towing 1250kg (which you can't see ) I can't make it. The you say - look Mavis, at that fool behind us - he's right up our clacker.
- When I finally do make the move, you will bloody well speed up because, in your words, I am a fool in a forby, and so I will be committed and vulnerable and may well have to chop across in front of you, which you will no doubt interpret as me being an idiot rather than yourself being at fault for speeding up.
- When I am finally past and begin cruising at my 100k again, you will do the same to the next fool (your description).
- Consider overtaking to be a dying art, and will do everything in your power to make sure that is a prophesy.
- Will slow down for the windy sections and hillclimbs, building up a nice following. As soon as a bit of clear road appears or you crest the hillclimb, you will not allow your prisoners to go by, but trap them for as long as you can.

Selfish Clowns, some of those caravanners.
AnswerID: 205023

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:06

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:06
I must agree here. When I'm towing my camper, if I'm at the top of a steep hill I will maintain the slow speed and pull over a bit so othes can overtake me, as long as it seems safe. Otherwise I look for the next spot to get out of the way.

My problem is, I find myself keeping up with the traffic most of the time, and coming across those ppl who slow down for every bend in the road really gets my goat.
FollowupID: 464943

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:36

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 01:36
Gerhardp1

A good spew!!!!!!!!!!!. Totally unwarranted though.

May I make a few point of my own?

I don't think the original post mentioned CT's, just solo vehicles.

Having travelled widely throughout WA,SA, Vic and NSW, both towing a van and solo, my observation is that there are some snails but the majority of caravans are at or about the speed limit where possible. There are also plenty of idiots and fools who "need" (your word) to get past and get so close that they can't see past to (your words again) "use the slipstream" to help pass. You are not driving a Formula 1 racer. Most 4b's have the aerodynamics of a brick.
And you are right........... "Look at the fool right up our clacker" and if I can add my bit to it "He cant see a bloody thing except my numberplate and he wants to/must pass me now".

Just a a point of law, there is no obligation for the vehicle being overtaken to move to the left (unless on a dual carriage way). The Onus is totally on the overtaking vehicle to ensure that he/she can overtake in safety.

My driving instructor,(road train) basically said "make sure you are far enough back so you can see past what is in front of the vehicle you want to pass. Besides it gives you space to wind the rig up". Same thing applies to non aerodynamic 4b's.

"Those towing caravans consider overtaking to be a dying art" (your words again), According to you they are not overtaking. As I said before, the overtaking vehicle is responsible for the manouvre, the slower vehicle is only required to maintain position and speed.

The rest of your diatribe is not worthy of a response!

Disco.

FollowupID: 464947

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:25

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:25
Wrong on a few points, disco.

If the original post is a warranted spew, then so is mine.

The original post did not mention camper trailers, but when you are towing a van and a "fool" comes up behind, you can't see the camper trailer to make a judgement that this one is not a "fool". I raised this point to demonstrate the original rant is flawed.

This quote from your response ""Those towing caravans consider overtaking to be a dying art" (your words again)," proves your reading ability or comprehension is flawed. Try reading the last sentence of the original post, and you will see that I merely paraphrased the original poster's statement.

The point is, we are all trying to stay alive and get to our destination safely.

99% of caravanners we spoke to on our trip travelled between 60 to 150k per day. more than 150k was regarded as a monumental pilgrimage. Many forbys towing campers travel 500+ per day when in the transit stages, so yes, we are keen to get past the caravan pest as early as possible.

If you are agreeing with the original post, you are also calling me (and everyone else) a fool, so go pull your head in.
FollowupID: 464977

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:43

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:43
I think there are a few people that need a big hug today:))))))

Regards Bob
FollowupID: 464992

Follow Up By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:19

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:19
Hi Gerhardp1,
I never said I was travelling at 60 to 80, generally I am at 95 to 100.
I did say that I move over - read the post. I said I would give someone three chances. Then stuff them, they should not be driving.
I believe if you are slipstreaming, you have no chance of getting a good view of what is ahead, nor have you any opportunity to build up speed prior to overtaking.
Try hanging back, just once for me, you will find you can see much further. When you see clear road coming, say beyond the next oncoming car, build up speed while still behind me – you should have plenty of room. When you reach me you should have 20 kph speed advantage over me reducing the time on the wrong side of the road.

From what you say, you are right behind me at the same speed as me, when you see an opportunity you then start to accelerate, but you are slipstreaming me so you must cross to the other side of the road to accelerate – this means your whole manoeuvre will take much longer in road distance to pass, sometimes making it necessary as you said for you to cut in front – you are the danger!
I do not speed up either – you read a lot into my post.

Mike.
FollowupID: 465102

Reply By: draff - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:24

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 08:24
Interestingly we have travelled extensively around australia (in a single 4by) and never had any trouble with caravaners, truckies or single vehicle travellers. We were always been able to get past when we wanted and if not, well our diesel patrol doesn't go much faster anyway so we just sat behind and enjoyed the tow!!!

the only vehicles we have had trouble with are new 4bys towing camper trailers on dirt roads who refuse to slow down - on our last trip, between 2 vehicles we got 47 stone chips and cracks in our windscreens and bonnets all from campertrailer/4by set ups. Our theory is that their 'stone deflectors' designed to deflect stones from their own back windscreens flick the stones sideways into our vehicles. we ended up stopping and turning at right angles to the road everytime we saw one of these convoys coming as guarranteed they would'nt slow down at all!
AnswerID: 205047

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:33

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:33
Why do people blame caravanners for travelling at the speed they want to travel at?

After all, travelling at 70 kph enables virtually everyone behind ample opportunity to accelerate and overtake safely, when it is safe.

We all pay for, or have paid for, the roads to get us from A to B. Not A to B in a certain time. Not to allow us to start our journey half an hour later than we should. Not considering that the speeds vehicles are capable of now are 50% higher than they were when the roads were built.

20 years ago, it was trucks that were travelling at 60 kph. and you lot were probably whinging then.

There is no requirement that anyone travels at or greater than the speed that is safe for them to do so. Rather the opposite. You would all be whinging if caravans and trucks were continually being involved in accidents because they were travelling too fast.

Stop blaming slow vehicles for the increased traffic volumes that make overtaking difficult.

Stop blaming slow vehicles for the fact that the condition of the roads makes overtaking difficult.

Stop blaming slow vehicles for the lack of road improvements that provide enough overtaking opportunities.

Stop blaming slow vehicles for the fact that you were never taught patience. That you always want instant results, and are not prepared to allow anything to delay you in your rush to the end of your life.

Stop blaming slow vehicles for your inability: to appreciate life; to adopt the laid back Aussie approach to things; to enjoy the moment; to acknowledge another's existence; to be glad for someone else's pleasure.

Stop blaming...

Jeez, a thinking person could carry on for ever.

But no doubt all you impatient b***t**ds can't even take this ideal opportunity to spend a moment to reflect on things and perhaps resolve to relax for a change.

Whoosh, breath released, spew delivered, now has anyone blown their stack?

Well, the message is: R E L A X.
Let the pressure drop and live longer.

Ken
(with all the best intentions...)
AnswerID: 205053

Follow Up By: Member - Helena B (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:54

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:54
I totally agree Ken - life is too short and the world too beautiful to rush it...

Helena
FollowupID: 464995

Follow Up By: Alan H - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:43

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 11:43
Well done Ken.
I've been on the receiving end of some abuse in the past for mentioning the incompetence of so many drivers who find it impossible to pass what they consider a "mobile road block"!
The original poster had it right when he described the idiotic weaving around and dodging out for a quick look from drivers tailgating him.
Patience is a virtue fellas, drop back for a better view, check your mirrors for traffic overtaking you, indicate your intentions and boot it past and return to the left hand side as soon as it is safe to do so.
And then please don't slow down just because you're in front.

DON'T ever flash your indicators because you think it's safe for the following traffic to pass, by the time the message has sunk in the opportunity has gone and it's unsafe and you may be blamed.
DO flash your lights for trucks to pull in when they're past but do make sure there's not one more trailer alongside of you!
Alan H.

FollowupID: 465007

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:15

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:15
Well said Ken.So the speed limit should be posted at 70ks phr is that right?
Cheer's Bob.
FollowupID: 465151

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:11

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:11
Not at all. Bob.

What I believe I expressed was that you do not need to drive at the limit.

And driving below the limit allows others to overtake, without them breaking the law.

It is not the careful driver's problem that the road does not permit overtaking.

But of course we all hope that careful driver is also courteous enough to pull over when there is an opportunity.

However, courtesy is a two-way thing. You have to give it if you expect to receive it.

Ken
FollowupID: 465235

Follow Up By: ZUKSCOOTERX90(QLD-MEMBER) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:49

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:49
Ken,would it be better then to push your speed up to say 85/90ks p/h this way you have the best of both worlds you are not slowing the driver behind to much & not getting irritated as much also.
If you want to do the 70ks/ph think about doing it on the Arterial rds & not the Highway's you will more than likely see more that way as well.
Just because the retired have the luxury of being able to travel up to 200 hundered k per day does not & should not allow them to inconvenience others that may be trying earn there lively hood & others who want to travel a lot further 5/600 ks p/day.
"It is not the carefull driver's problem that the road does not permit overtaking"
Therefore why not up your speed to the limit as to help the other drver not break the law & then when the opportunity arises (overtake lane) or better visable to overtake you pullover to the left ) then they may pass safely.
Courtesy is a two way thing you start by doing closer to the limit to keep the flow smoother & the people behind should take less risks.
Happy travels Bob.
FollowupID: 465347

Reply By: j100 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:57

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 09:57
As far as I know the LAW in Qld is that one may not exceed a certain speed but does not say one must maintain a certain speed
Keep left and courtesy to other road users would seem to be an way to live and survive
AnswerID: 205055

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:43

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 10:43
As the song says O lord its hard to be humble etc. etc.
Duke
AnswerID: 205066

Reply By: gottabjoaken - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:12

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 12:12
And just to blot my copybook even worse...

I hate tailgaters too.
They are not trying to overtake, they probably just have lousy eyesight and need to be close to you so they can see you and feel safe. Of course that means they shouldn't be driving at all, but who am I to determine that?

Occasionally, when I am seriously concerned about one, I take the attitude that I should drive defensively.

Normally that means drive at sufficient distance from the vehicle in front that you can safely stop, or take what action is required as a result of their actions. The three second rule applies, or roughly 1 car length per 10kph is good enough for me most of the time.

With tailgaters, since they don't appear to be applying the recommended discipline, I am pleased to do it for them.

That means that I gradually slow down to such a speed that the gap they leave is sufficient for them to take whatever avoidance action might be required of them.

Nothing aggressive, just gentle braking (to show my stop lights, that's the law).

When the gap is so small that I can't see their headlights, that probably means we sohould only be doing 10 kph.

Of course, at a lower speed, they then have the best, safe opportunity to overtake me.

When the gap is sufficient for the speed we are doing, then after a brief time to ensure their driving has stabilised, and they have chosen not to overtake, then I will gradually speed up, monitoring the gap so that my speed and their gap is always within the safety recommendations.

Gap reduces, my speed reduces. Gap increases, my speed increases. But at any time I get the impression they wish to overtake, then I keep everything constant so they have the best opportunity.

It works for trucks too, and after they go down a few gears, I find that my gradual increase in speed tends to be faster than theirs.

What is wrong with that? (Unless you are the ****wit behind me!)

Ken

AnswerID: 205085

Follow Up By: Matt Davis - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:32

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:32
Gottabjerkin:

I once had a person do that to me, but a bit quicker than you describe. I accelerated, and let my front end do the talking. I was in my work ute, and insurance covered me. It was worth every cent of excess and lost use of my ute just to see the look on the idiot's face when I told him that I did it on purpose.

What is wrong with that? (Unless you're the ****wit in front of me)

Matt
FollowupID: 465105

Follow Up By: gottabjoaken - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:16

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:16
There has to be one!

Yes, Matt,

and it might interest you to know that for criminal offences such as assault or criminal damage involving a motor vehicle, such as you describe, in South Australia (at least) there is a mandatory penalty of 12 months suspension of your driving licence.

It would be worth the annoyance of taking the compensation from your insurance company to see the look on your face when the magistrate told you that!

Ken
FollowupID: 465237

Reply By: Ronnie - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:18

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:18
Had three trips to the mainland from Tassie twice towing van,when you come up behind a roadtrain all his left hand wheels are on the left hand side white line when you come up behind a caravan his right hand wheels are sitting on center white line making it very difficult to see if road ahead is clear,you often have to drop well back to get a view then have to make up ground to pass.
Ronnie
AnswerID: 205375

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:21

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:21
Buy a 100 Series Turbo Diesel Landcruiser or a Nissan with a V8 Chev in it. Solves all yer overtaking problems.............

My former TD 'Cruiser used to tow a 3 tonne 18 foot van, come up behind a road train at 90 kmh or whatever, and then go past it at 140 kmh without so much gear change.

The Nissan V8 does the same but not with quite the same quiet, smooth, sophisticated aplomb ;)

I've had it up to here with tow vehicles that are slow when towing. Much safer if you've got "grunt on tap". Either that or don't overtake.

My old Ford Mav used to put my heart in my mouth sometimes!!

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205404