LOKKA and LR Tank fitted!

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 22:56
ThreadID: 39460 Views:3729 Replies:6 FollowUps:12

Well I did it, treated the 99 TD Jack to a Lokka on the front, and a 133L LR fuel tank on the backside! Both from 4wd Systems in SA. They did all installation, $2000 all up. Checked with a few diff places, not really interested in fitting the Lokka because they aren’t real proficient with them, and those that would wanted around $600, so 4wd Systems installed the Lokka for $395.

1st impressions – took the Jack on the beach to the Murray Mouth at Goolwa, about 16kms return, through some pretty soft stuff. Knew wouldn’t be too much of a problem with tyres deflated, so left them up full at 40psi rear and 35psi front, on very new Cooper AT/Rs.

Conclusion – no noticeable effects on steering (wouldn’t expect too much on soft sand, even when cornering sharply), and couldn’t for the life of me hear any clicking sound as they activated and de-activated. What the Lokka did do was pull me through very soft sand (in parts) with full tyre pressures, effortlessly. I didn’t have to rev the guts out of her to get her through either, just a steady plod and through she went.

As for the LR tank, well it certainly doesn’t hang too low, and doesn’t stand out (charcoal hammertone effect). Looks solid, in a 2mm steel. May make up another guard for it in the future, but for now will see how it stands up. Don’t do much rock bashing to get any dents underneath anyway. I would anticipate that going from 85L standard to 133L (extra 48L) is worth an extra 360kms (normal driving).

So far I can recommend the Lokka in that I wouldn’t even know its’ there side-effect wise. The real test will be my fishing trip to SA Far West Coast in a couple of weeks comparing to an un-locked 80 series. Will let you all know how it went.

Next project will be LPG fitment, giving me an anticipated extra 200 kms, total range well over 1000kms (using usable fuel). That won’t be til March next year though (waiting list)

Damien

p.s. duplicated in a couple of forums - apologies.

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:10

Tuesday, Nov 14, 2006 at 23:10
Hi Damien...Is your TD jackaroo a diesel..so you will be lpg to the fuel mix? If so I will be interested how she goes....And I always wondered about the Lokka as it is very reasonably priced and like you, heard a lot of negative talk about it...so I will watching with interest.
Regards Phil.
AnswerID: 205013

Follow Up By: SA_Patrol - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:33

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:33
The only negative talk I've seen were from others that have never had them, they prefer the air lockers because they are 4 times the price and they do give more trouble than the lokka.
My 2 cents worth :-)
FollowupID: 465157

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:01

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:01
Phil, yes mine is a TD. All the talk is good at this stage, no negatives that I've heard of (except price).
FollowupID: 465310

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:28

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 00:28
Damien
Glad you like how the LOKKA can work, I had a Rocky in the 1990's and had a Detroit in the rear only , which was good because it was there working for the car all the time , what I did notice was when trying to climb a rough dirt track it would cause the car to slew sideways, not a good idea on an incline and i always thought that if you have one then it should go in the front , now I have a L/C Troopy i have 1 detroit each end, good in sand but difficult in mud, but then I hate mud at the best of times,
Have fun

Doug

AnswerID: 205026

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:02

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:02
I agree, much prefer to have front locked than back for control reasons (not that I've ever had one locked at the back) but makes sense to be able to steer with the axle that is locked.
FollowupID: 465311

Reply By: slammin - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:00

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:00
Hi Damien,

Sounds like you've got the projects carfeully planned out. Where are you putting the spare?

I've got a Lokka as well, and my experience is the same, the engine doesn't have to rev to push up or thru anything, instead the front end now pulls easily. I've got a petrol so the lower revs is really noticable (and appreciated).

I can clearly hear the clicking but I had to drive really slowly at home 1st to be able to recognise it.

The main negatives are ;

1 The steering is a bit pullier (not ridiculous otherwise nobody would buy it or make it).

2 From what i can work out is (please tell me if I'm wrong) that high speed 4wd is a no no. I live W of Alice and find that some roads get a bit soft or rough and that being in 4wd hi (100kmh+)makes handling a bit easier as the ute understeers instead of wanting to fishtail - instead now with the Lokka I just stay in 2wd and drive a little bit more sensibly. Only a little bit but.

3 The risk of snapping a front axle is very very possible in rocks. I am always super cautious to not get any wheel spin that might suddenly grip on the next boulder. I also push my foot as hard possible against the sidewall so as not to jolt the drivetrain.

The West Sa trip sounds great let us know how you went.

Slammin.

AnswerID: 205139

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:00

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:00
Slammin, I assume you're asking about the spare tyre - mine is fitted to the rear door so no problems there. I didn't notice the steering at all. As for high speeds, not likely to be doing those sort of speeds. Also do very little rock work, and when I do I plan on idling the very torquey engine over the rocks, not thrashing it. If I cant get over that way I'll try a different route. Thanks for your reply

Damien
FollowupID: 465308

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:06

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:06
Oh, and by the way, no mention of not recommending driving at high speed in 4wd (although I probably won't do over 80 anyway) Ph 4wd systems and see what they say.
FollowupID: 465313

Reply By: djm67 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:46

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:46
Have the same experience with a LOKKA in the front of a Rodeo, nothing to say but good things.

My only complaint would be that they don't make one for the rear as well.

Have just bought an 80 series wagon and will soon be purchasing 2 LOKKA's for it.

Value for $$$ is too hard to ignore against air operated brands, and then there is the KISS principle, way less to go wrong.
AnswerID: 205193

Follow Up By: slammin - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:21

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:21
Hi djm67,

Aren't you/haven't you been tempted to get a good LSD for the rear? If so just wondering why you would choose a lokka.

I have been thinking it over for my Hilux and have come to the conclusion (unless shown otherwise) that the onroad ability of LSD -being less aggressive than the Lokka would have made it the choice over a Lokka in the rear.

Slammin.
FollowupID: 465187

Follow Up By: djm67 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:56

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:56
Rodeos (and Jackaroos) have a pretty decent LSD so it hasn't been an issue.

Landcruisers have a crap LSD so I am going for two, would cost me almost as much to rebuild the OEM LSD and get it working properly as it is to get a LOKKA.

Not sure what the Hilux LSD is like (do they have one?)
FollowupID: 465192

Follow Up By: slammin - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:14

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:14
Geeze djm, you're picking a sore issue for hilux owners. Yep LSD standard........(standard to last 80,000k's!!). It's a good LSD for the period that it works.........then zippo.

It was the LSD wearing out that gave me the motivation to Lokka the front.

It's slightly cheaper to get an aftermarket LSD in the rear than a Lokka and I was told the driveability on road of the lokka left a lot to be desired. The main reason was increased tyre wear and also because of the fact that it's constantly locked, and then unlocked on turning and then instantly fully locked again at the end of the turn meant that it can grab the wheel that's not engaged causing a jerking effect.

At the absolutely worst case scenario in the wet with a heavy foot going around a corner this could result in a momentary loss of steering as the rear pushes the front forward. That's why I was advised by many people to get the Lokka in the front so I can then choose wether it's engaged or not together with the advantage (in a ute especially) of having the heaviest part of the car being pulled over or thru obstacles. As opposed to the rear trying to find traction and pushing the nose in. I was also advised to let the LSD wear out then look at choosing an aftermarket LSD.

I'm definately no expert and I did get conflicting reports from different distributors when I was researching, even amongst the same franchises. FWIW I found the best calls I made were to TJM in Cairns. I called lotsa people from around the country those that sell Lokkas, different brands of Lokkas and different franchises of the Air Lokka mob as well. I also called a few diff specialists who don't sell Lokkas or Air Lokkas.

I also would of thought that high speeds could of caused problems at the actual locking pin (stud) for that reason as well - snap. Hence why I was told not to use 4wd at speed.

What advice have you been given? Anything about the Lokka at speed? I'd like to use 4wd Hi.

Cheers Slammin.
FollowupID: 465301

Follow Up By: djm67 - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:16

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:16
I too have been down the path of a 100 bits of conflicting advice, here is what I gleaned that I think is relevant.......

I KNOW air (pneumatic) lockers work great, have used them in the Army (Unimogs)

I was TOLD that the lokka causes the LEAST drivability problems when put in the rear, given the relatively small differences in distances travelled by the rear wheels (as oppossed to the large difference in distance travelled by front wheels in a turn), this of course has its limitations i.e your wet slippery bitumen and too much power scenario.

I have been TOLD that the ultimate setup would be lokka in the rear, air operated in the front so you can turn it off to steer in tight situations.

I KNOW that the lokka in the front of my Rodeo makes the steering a little heavier and makes it return to centre more quickly, but it is not hard to steer, even in soft sand.

I KNOW that the lokka gives me heaps more traction even if it is just avoiding wheelspin when crawling up slippery gravel forest roads, especially good given that it is a torsion bar front end.

I KOW the lokka can be bought, fitted and all the diff/wheel bearings & seals & uni joints can be replaced for the same cost as an air operated unit. That is a winning factor for me given that I have a few km's on the 4WD.

DJ
FollowupID: 465315

Follow Up By: slammin - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:35

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:35
Hi Dj.

Cheers, V. interesting.

Ditto the rebuild $'s.

From your reply, I take it there isn't an issue with 4wd Hi?

Slammin.
FollowupID: 465320

Follow Up By: djm67 - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:56

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:56
Have not found any issues, have engaged 4WD up to about 60km/h without issue.

But remember that since the hubs are locked in 4WD, then everything inside the front diff is already spinning at the right rate to begin with.

It isn't like you are tring to slam a staionary pin into a spinning hole.
FollowupID: 465328

Reply By: gbc - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:33

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:33
No such thing as a good stock toyota lsd - coming from a hilux owner. Yes lux's have lsd's - for about 20 000 km like any other tojo.

I've got a lokka in the front and love it.
AnswerID: 205284

Follow Up By: slammin - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:22

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 16:22
Hi gbc did you receive any warnings about using 4wd Hi? (See my reply above.)

My LSD has completely gone and I haven't really needed it since. The Lokka has been so effective I don't really see the point in parting with the readies.

Have you done anything in the rear?

Slammin.
FollowupID: 465302

Reply By: gbc - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:52

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:52
G'day slammin,

I'm the same with my rear - basically an open diff at present. I know that a second locker - probably air would be better - for the rear would prevent a lot of strain on the weaker front diff not to mention making it a lot more capable, but I don't use this vehicle for extreme park work which is about the only place I've found I'd like two locked diffs.

Nil warnings about fast driving in 4wd. In soft sand I've run at approx 80km to keep on top of it. The side effects of the lokka are that the steering wheel pulls to the side with traction when one wheel is in the air, which means there is a lot more feedback at high speed with wheels breaking traction - not a common occurance, and certainly not an issue. About the only time I found it disconcerting was playing silly buggers 'rally' driving up a steep winding gravel track flat out and didn't steer at all well because the differential action doesn't occur with the boot into it on gravel. Got into a sticky spot on a tight corner and couldn't create oversteer to get round as the fronts kept biting too well. Totally driver error, but still a characteristic of the car that was changed by installing the lokker.
Mine's been installed for over 100 000 kms with nil issues apart from the fact that I had to install manual hubs in the sr5 to stop the driveline turning all the time and eating c.v. boots.

C.J.
AnswerID: 205452