OT Let it snow, let it snow let it snow!
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:07
Al & Mrs Al (Vic)
I was caught litterally in a hail storm at about 10 this morning as I filled up the car, and had to walk inside to pay with about a kilo of hail on my head and shoulders only to be asked "how are you today?" and now, as I sit here looking out the window it's snowing in Romsey...not settling on the ground but definitely snowing...
and Al is sitting in an aircon office in
Perth enjoying the heat!...
Lyn
Reply By: Grizzle - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:41
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:41
Sitting in Boronia Vic and the ground is white with hailstones. we have also had heavy showers. It's because I got my watering system fixed up the other day and I put in a rain sensor.
If I disconnect it I reckon I can get the Sun to come out!!!!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:31
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:31
nah its because I bucketed out
water to the trees in the yard it rained, thanks will be accepted graciously
Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:42
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:42
!MPG:13!
it's streaky, but it's snow falling....
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:21
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:21
Now I've got to admit that is a beautiful pic, one day hopefully we will get over to the Eastern Seaboard, we have been to all cities but not out in the bush where we love to go.
D&B
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:39
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:39
LOL I can still hear the gloat!
acutally right now it's really really dark, we've had some thunder, the dog is going crazy and it might just snow again!
PS, love to see you over here sometime, I could be over in the west for prior to Xmas, definitely after Xmas....and I'm looking forward to it...
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:45
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:45
Hi Lyn, keep in touch, would love to catch up while you are over here!!!
Deanna
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:01
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:01
Shall do Deanna, Al will probably be staying in the Ascot area hoping to organise a serviced apartment for him, (currently he's slumming it at the Intercontinental at Burswood!) we are also in Freo for 4 days in Feb.
Lyn
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:16
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:16
Looking forward to it
D&B
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:30
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:30
too cold to streak!
Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:43
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:43
You just make sure that it all clears out by Friday.
I do have the thermals packed just in case. Wind is rushing in at about 1000k's an hour direct from the South Pole today too.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:46
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:46
you betta pack heaps o cold weather clothes...
theres dudes runnin snow trips tonight on several forums!
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:47
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:47
it's supposed to warm up for the weekend, but I'd be packing thermals just in case!
Follow Up By: RayJen Paj05 - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:47
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:47
Packing the chains and skis, Des!!
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:49
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:49
Ray,
Maybe you will need the boat!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:19
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:19
Don't think it is up to whitewater kayaking just yet, can take the kayak Al. See you then Ray too. Most likely Sunday.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:29
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:29
Hi Al, if you can get the chance pop in, love to see you and Elaine...hopefully it won't be this cold!
Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:22
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:22
I know you are heading this way. Were are you going mate ? Most of our high country tracks should be avoided after rain like this if you dont have mud terrains . if you have all terrains , mabe think of changing place or date
Reply By: hoyks - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:49
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:49
I was having a good old chuckle as my wife flew to
Canberra on Monday, with no cool weather gear with her.
'It's summer, it will be warm in
Canberra' said she.
She gets
home tonight, provided hypothermia doesn't get her first.
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:54
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 13:54
Hi Lyn, you can keep the snow, keep the snow, keep the snow. LOL. I am also in
Perth (
well up in the hills of
Perth) and absolutely enjoying the lovely day that we are having, while I'm sitting here with my short sleeves and shorts I am feeling for you over there and the other States with very cool temps. Oh the beautiful West!!!!!
D&B
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:02
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:02
Thanks for that I can hear the gloat...it sounds like Al when I spoke to him earlier after getting caught in the hail storm...he sounds as if he could get used to the WA weather!
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:15
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:15
Me gloat, Na never not me ha ha ha
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:33
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:33
somebody say goat?
Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:04
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:04
I am about to cop this.
Site Link
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:20
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:20
Whacko!
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:22
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:22
you should have sent that inland a bit..
Reply By: Member - Jason R (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:15
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:15
Just had a call from a mate who said it was snowing on the You Yangs north of
Geelong and they aren't high by any stretch of the imagination!
Rusty
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:56
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 14:56
Hi Lyn,
Its not snowing here, but its bloody cold, so its must be close.
Keep warm and dry!
Cheers pesty
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:04
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 15:04
Hi Pesty, it just snowed again!...damn cold here...I got soaked this morning by the hail, I don't intend to again today, I have a meeting to go to tonight and not looking forward to it
keep warm
Lyn
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:34
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:34
Snowed in Ballarat today too. I remember the snow at Trentham on the way home last time from the HC, lovely it was.
Reply By: Member - Andy Q (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:45
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:45
Yeah! was working in Warburton(Vic) today, real brass monkey
weather. From where we were got a good view of snow falling, then, when I got home the view from the verandah(I live further towards Reefton) across to the mountains showed it must have been heavier than I thought. Maximum on our thermometre was 11 but it was lower than that during the day.
andy
Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:49
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:49
Dunno if its been said in the post, but today has been whacked (incl sorely needed rain, which I aren't complaining on). In central Melb, and been hailed on 4 separate times so far. Literally been driving down Burwood Hwy once and seen just darkness where its raining up ahead, but clear where I was and behind. Seems to be just in spots.
Reply By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:04
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:04
down sunny sunbury way she aint much better LOL
snow down to 400m, on my way home today at 3 it was showing 4 degrees in the car BRRR.
as i sit here now i think we are up to our 13th hail dump for the day.....
Climate change - its all a falacy LOL
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 07:13
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 07:13
I went out to a meeting in Romsey last night, as I arrived at the school it hailed, as during the meeting it hailed, after it hailed, it hailed through the night, it's hailed this morning...I don't think I've ever seen as much hail...
Lyn