EO sticker spotted!!

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:40
ThreadID: 39480 Views:2046 Replies:3 FollowUps:9
Spotted an EO sticker on the rear of a green LC100 with a funky roofrack on it, first 3 letters on rego POD (No, I will not post the rest), travelling outbound on Princes Fwy just before the end of Fwy near Pakenham today at 2.30pm in the driving rain doing 100 in an 80 construction zone. Well done mate, it's guys like you that kill guys like me at work.

Rant finished

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:38

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:38
G'day Matt,

Pretty strong post, and maybe warranted..but how did you determine he/she was doing 100kmh??

More details..

Michael
AnswerID: 205162

Reply By: slave - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:50

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 18:50
I can totally relate to that Matt.
As a person who stands on the road with a stop sign 5 days a week it amazes me the number of people who disregard speed limits in a 40 km zone everyday. I have even had people drive straight through a stop sign while I have been holding it, standing in the middle of the road.
As a non driver even I can tell if a driver is speeding.

Mrs S
AnswerID: 205167

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:21

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:21
it also amazes me the number of road works going on around adelaide ( and i expect other states) that do not place correct signage at such places to protect workers:
two lane road: ...one 25 sign..usually left side
leaving work zone: same or in some cases none,
Leaving work zone: very often they put up 50 when the road is in fact 60 zone.
Work zone with interconnection streets...oops the never..mmm rarely put speed signs in the side streets that enter into a work zone
Lazy Workers: it takes too much energy to go put up the signs that fell over due to gust of wind.
etc etc ...
imo councils workers are just as bad as contractors

who polices you lot to ensure you have it right..
FollowupID: 465254

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:47

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:47
I presume your reply is in reference to what I wrote.

In my case the signs are up 24/7 and it is not a construction zone.I can only answer for myself and not those in a construction zone. My worst offenders are parents, male and female, who are running late dropping kids off at school on their way to work.

The police police me.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 465256

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:07

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:07
why mention construction zone?

24/7...is it? do you leave them out for no reason, or is the zone being worked on 24/7 as well..or is it that the zone is still dangerous, or r u too lazy to pack them away for the night.

I am not disputing what you say about motorist dis-obeying speed restricted work zones. Yes i have seen it myself...but rather adding my comments that a vast number of traffic controllers restricting speeds for the so called safety of workers have got it wrong. two wrongs dont make it right but!...after all we are only humans!...as for the policing side in adelaide, no one wants to know about it ...the incorrect signage......motorists on the other hand in these situations (where the controller has only put one sign out (LH side of road)) risk getting nabbed by speed camera..with no come back if not alert.

FollowupID: 465272

Follow Up By: slave - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:27

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 13:27
I mention construction zone simply because all the other posts in this thread relate to a construction zone and in my case it doesn't.

The signs that I am refering to in my case are permanent fixtures saying when the speed restriction applies and as the majority of people that speed travel the road on a regular basis they know where and when they should be slowing down.

Mrs S
FollowupID: 465276

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:57

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 17:57
Only mention to a construction zone (slave's post) was saying IT WAS NOT a construction zone, unless my eyes are playing tricks on me again..wheres that dancing elf got too???
FollowupID: 465329

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:51

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:51
who...me?
FollowupID: 465400

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:12

Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:12
Nice one........ I get very dissapointed with people speeding through work sites...... A commen rule in construction is to work a minimum 3 metres away from the road without traffic control or barriers...... We have trucks drive through our site doing well more than the speed limit which at times our hard hats get blown off due to the wind generated........... Fortuanetly the local revenue raising boys in blue have realised this and every second day set up somewhere on the site to pick up the speedsters..... They have a great clientel..... Although the road job is 24kms long and they cannot slow everybody down, at they are trying to make our job safer........
AnswerID: 205181

Follow Up By: Tim@Stratford - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:08

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:08
extfilm,

Just curious with the 'lads' booking a few in the construction/roadwork sites - does your company/forman/boss/you have to supply a plan of the site with the speed limits and signage marked in?

I was travelling through a road works site on my way to work the other day. Heaps 'flying' through (was a 100kph down to 60kph) but the signs were very deceptive - if not confusing. They would reduce to 80 and then the 60 sign also indicated roadworks on the side road...Could have been taken as 60 on the side road and not the main road.....If I'm making sense...

Tim - Stratford.
FollowupID: 465249

Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:59

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 10:59
G'Day Tim,

I can't comment on NSW regs but up here in sunny QLD (tic) anytime works on on near roads requires the reduction in the speed limit (or the inclusion of any other regulatory sign) a traffic management plan has to be submitted to the local or state authority - dependant on the road and a few other things - for approval prior to works commencing. There are obvisouly standards that are in place that govern how this is done.

Scoey!
FollowupID: 465253

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:20

Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 12:20
My son does the trafic management plans but he cant make people put up the signs in the nominated places..that is anothers job.....

FollowupID: 465261