OME suspension for GU Patrol
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 17:43
scottcutting
can anyone tell if they think the ride improvment is worth the cost. Im thinking of buying an ARB OME
suspension kit with the soft coils and comfort shocks for around $1000, car is only 1 yr old steel bullbar on front. car sees a lot of dirt corregated roads, missus is a sook. any help greatly apreciated.
Reply By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:27
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 19:27
lol....trade in the missus.....
Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:19
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 20:19
Hi Scott,
I put OME
suspension in the patrol after 1 month of owning the car. (ie shocks, springs and caster correction bushes)
I went for the mid range as we tow a camper trailer and I did not want the rear end sagging.
I found it stiffened up the ride, and remove heaps of body roll. On corrugations, it works really
well.
I would highly reccomend, as it makes it feel like a completely different car
TonyG
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:39
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 21:39
I bought an OME
suspension for the GQ.
It is now almost two years old(the
suspension). It has done a lot of hard work including billions of corrugations and the front shockies feel as if they are on their way out. The front of the vehicle is sagged to the left and methinks this is a coil giving up the ghost.
Dunno if it was worth the $1220. Everything 4x4 is a compromise.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:22
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 22:22
Absolutely worth it for me. But I married up the OME schocks to Dobinson coils, so I don't know if this combo is the reason for my praise or one or the other product doing all the work????
Trevor.
Reply By: markeaust - Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:29
Wednesday, Nov 15, 2006 at 23:29
Best on the market is the King Springs/Koni shocks.........just like my Toyota, Autofridge, Turbo Tent, Warn winch, IPF lights etc are..... 8-)......
FWIW I had OME on my old Disco and had a pretty good run out of it over 300K, but went for something different this time and am very happy, though poorer by a few hundred $$ over the OME.
Seriously, even though I have the Tojo, a mate put Kings/Koni in his GU after a bad run with another brand and raves about the combination. Apparently the Kings are truly progressive rate coils and ride
well both unloaded or loaded.
As with anything there will be numerous different opinions on this question. It's all about what you're used to, what you've had in the past and what you expect from the conversion that will form your ultimate judgement.
May the luck be with you......
Reply By: mattie - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 14:58
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 14:58
if u are not changing the spring to carry more weight or height just buy an after market set of shocks and this alone will improve the ride, a spring is pretty much just carrying the weight the shock controls the action of the spring(how the vehicle wil ride)
Mattie