Submitted: Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 00:42
goingplatinumcomau
Hello All
I have just turned 50 and am thinking of moving to Fraser Island to live there.
Last time i was there was 30 years ago since then work work work where would be the best Place to live was thinking Orchard Beach from asking 4 wd drivers around the place ?
Was wondering what would be the best 4wd to buy for all the sand driveing from what i have read the newer 4wd have to many computers on them ?.
Do you think a Lift on the
suspension with big ballon tryes would be good for sand driveing ?
I was on forums here looking around a cople of years back when the Nissan wagon come out with the 3 clytinder ? 4 clyinder ? diesels come out there was alot of speculation on them did anyone actually buy one ??
Would a Diesel be better than a petrol with all the salt air ?
If you think i know nothing about 4 wd you would be right however i have when i have had Time always seen this site as a friendly place.
With Thanks Shane
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:05
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 01:05
Defender.
Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 06:31
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 06:31
Whatever you buy, you will be replacing fairly often due to rust (3-5 yrs to a wreck, given the heat/humidity/salt air). Perhaps you need to factor this into your "cost of living" equation too before you make the decision to move.
Apparently lots has changed on the Island, and it may not be the quiet, isolated place you remember so fondly.
Hire a 4WD (or go with a tour) and check it out first before making any life changing decisions on moving there based on a 30 yr old memory of your youth.
Reply By: Doodle - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:07
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:07
Landrover Defender TDi – aluminium body panels and not too many electronics – an economical go anywhere vehicle.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:49
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:49
Reckon an older suzuki (small and light) with 31x10.5/15s.
Cheap to buy, run.
It is small enough you could almost dip it in old oil for rustproofing, but I would prefer tectil or something similar. Redo every 6 months with the oil change.
You are never going to going much faster than 80k any where on the island anyway.
Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:56
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 08:56
my friend hot dipped hit zuk after taking everything off it. It is now 100% galvanised and after quite a few years is still good, but then again so are the non dipped ones!
Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:06
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:06
Hi Shane,
I would ring and talk to the hire companies at
Rainbow and Hervey Bay, They have tried every combination.
What was said above is pretty right too. Rustproof every 6 months, replace every 3-5 years.
Having said that, you could keep buying say for example 1990 Suzukis from the country every 3 years so your accessories like big
wheels and roof rack can be swapped at nil cost.
I first went to Fraser in 1978, about the same time you went. It is absolutely and completely different now. Do some careful homework, especially go there during holidays,
Easter and Christmas are the worst.
Watch the backpackers in hired troopys. Watch the donut kings tear up and down
the beach. See the breathalyser at
the beach roadblocks. Check out the tour busses on such tight schedules they race everywhere and demand right of way.
Mike.
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:19
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:19
Hi Mike
Sound like it is abit of a nightmare at times up there now even though it is 500000 acres but then again how much of that is Blocked Off ?.
One fellow i was talking to said he would go further North around
Cairns or back this way abit where there is ocean axcess and better fishing .
The other option in
Moreton Island Cowan Cowan from what i have seen on the net house prices there $1.7 million and Bullwer $900000 however Moreton is not a big place but if it is not over run with idiots it may be bigger.
Any thoughts on
Rainbow Beach is it possible to reach Noosa from
Rainbow on
the beach ?
Shane
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:18
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 09:18
Shane, I have friends who live at Orchid.... (lucky buggaers)
What they have is two vehicles; one is a Toyota ute and the other is a little Suzuki. The ute is used for their regular runs off the island to Gympie for shopping, which includes a couple of 200LT drums of diesel for generators and vehicles and a drum of petrol occaisionally for the Zuk. Fuel's too expensive for the locals to buy on the island... (so's beer...)
Diesel's better cause it's cheaper in the long run.
Both vehicles get a regular going over with sump oil. Both have standard
suspension and normal sized off road tyres.
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:21
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:21
Hi John
Thanks for imformation
I was not aware of generators as required for Power at Orchard it has no reflection on the price of real estate there :(.
The Susuki those little utes one use to see geting around have they stoped bringing them into the country ?Dont seem to see as many geting around now.
Yes i had a diesel mazda once a e2200 for work it just kept going forever it now appears anything reliable they have to add things to the motor to make it unreliable.
How long ago did your friends buy there at Fraser.
Regards Shane
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:16
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:16
No utilities at all at Orchid. You'll be on septic, rain/
bore water, solar/
generator power. Ahhhh, way to go!
Friends bought there about 17 yrs ago. Have been up there full time for about 12 yrs I think.
Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:16
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 11:16
Do you plann on living in a house or a tent .
If a house then prolly a porsche 4x4. Stay away from the tourist rif raf .
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:04
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:04
Yes a house serious money i am aware i also remeber when i had to sell my first house for $18000 i could not keep the payments up .
I should have brought in Paddington(
brisbane) then they were going for $10000.Any way we all have that story.
I do not agree with anything any more Money is out of controll i just brought 4 oranges cost $4.50 that is $1.12 each.
Like all these house the World Bank is to blame back when i was a kid they use to Flood the Farmers with money then call the loans in after 3 years all they have done is bring that into the Cities.
Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:07
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 15:07
All jokes aside fraser would be nice but Stradbroke island (point
lookout) would be much better in my opinion . If i had the money to live on an island then straddie would be my choice .
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:04
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:04
Hi Troopyman
Thanks for reply is it possible to drive down
the beach on the east side of Stradbroke Island ?
Remember being there years ago and it is a Fantastic place thought it may have been over commerilized.
Money wise houses look like same money as Fraser ...........Moreton looks the most expensive real state side of things.
Regards Shane
Follow Up By: troopyman - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:58
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 19:58
Annual fee for beach driving $32 . Great beach which you can
camp and is just as good as fraser . You can still have your BMW or MERC plus 4x4 at straddie . I hear what people with money do who are clued up is rent a holiday house and move in for a year first and see if you like it . I notice that on realestate.com.au there are only 2 listings , 2.9 million and 2.1 million .
Reply By: Mikee5 (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:13
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 21:13
Hi Shane,
You can drive from
Rainbow Beach to Noosa, subject to the rocks just south of
Rainbow being passable. At times they can be impassable or only trafficable at low tide.
This our preferred way home from Fraser, better than the blacktop.
You can drive the length of North Straddie's surf beach, entering just south of Point
Lookout and finishing at Swan Bay/Jumpinpin.
Mike.
Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 12:05
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 12:05
Pretty much most 4wd will do fine there... But Prado 4.0l Petrol
rules in sand! ;) Can use it there In pretty much stock standard shape/tyres
2"
suspension lift will be all that needed...
Reply By: longJohn - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 11:02
Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 11:02
Been there alot myself, land cruiser seems to the popular choice. Just keep it soaked in sump oil. I hear sump oil in the area is actually a bit of a sought after comodity lol. All the houses there are totally self sefieceint solar, sand spear for
water, septic
tank etc. My kind of living but no way I can afford it:( Not much work there of course, unless you dont mind alot of fishing, but only a couple of locals up there make a living from it. They have a SES hall up there which is the local hangout which is a pub every second friday night open to locals, and state of origin nights. Also footy grand final nights they do love their footy up there. There are 38 propertys and most of them get together each public friday night to put together their shopping list order and someone with a plane flys from their local landing strip back to
maryborough for their supplies. I imagine it would have some problems sometimes taking off at
maryborough:P The local
Orchid beach shop does operate the local generator for the
shop and hall and does some vehicle repairs and will order some parts, but dont expect him to save the day when your brand new rangie stops:P There is no rubbish collection you have to take it down the local island pick up point a few kms from town. I think there are quite a few of the locals that live there now that use the NExt G network and internet to invest money on the share market to help pay for their living expenses. Sounds like the life to me:)
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 22:18
Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 22:18
Hi LonfJohn
Thank you for reply very informative.
Is there only a total of 38 propertys in total at orchard beach ?
No other land ?
I could try and find out from a real estate agent however there is rumore around they tell lie's
With thanks Shane
Reply By: longJohn - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 22:27
Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 22:27
back in 2001 I was told by word of mouth that there was 38 or so, but just having a look at google earth at the area from the air it looks like there is a few more than that. Have a look for yourself you'll see that most of them are just sheds and bush
shacks with a solar on the roof and a
water tank. There are however a few mansions:P