Member - sparra
after looking at camper trailers for over 12 months,i finally settled on a new
kimberley kamper classic that was on display at the
perth 4wd show last weekend.it had a couple of options i did not need ,a swingaway jerry can holder hanging off the rear and under bed slideout drawer which are being taken off this week by the dealer[david,a good bloke].they are putting on 16 inch
wheels the same as my tojo. i head down next friday to pick it up[2000klm round trip] will
park up overnight on the way home and try it out. all in all it was a very good deal. i think it will be ideal for me,being a single bloke that likes poking around the deserts and red dirt country. cheers sparra.
Reply By: Jimbo - Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 23:32
Thursday, Nov 16, 2006 at 23:32
Sparra,
I quote you
"me,being a single bloke that likes poking"
I used to be like that too.
ATB,
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:16
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:16
I still do :-)
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:02
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:02
I meant single.
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:53
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 10:53
i was once...er twice...and hoping that one day i will be again
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:04
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:04
Good luck and enjoy the new camper,Ialso took the plunge and will be signing up for a new Pioneer Argysle S.E.----A bit cheaper($3000 ) than the K.K. Classic but has the extra gullwing box which was a plus.They are so similar it really is hard to pick who is copying who.
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:23
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:23
Careful Rambler you will start a Toyota vs Nissan dispute
Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:02
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:02
g'day rambler,i reckon you also made a good choice with the pioneer camper. agree with you about the similiarities between the two. cheers sparra
Follow Up By: pjd - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:05
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 11:05
kk have been around for over 10 years so i rekon i no who is copying who
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:22
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 00:22
Sparra - You are going to have a ball - you can now go ANYWHERE in oz with your vehicle and camper - the
Kimberley is seriously tough and yes David is a good bloke - he will look after you if anything goes wrong - several years ago we travelled through the Simpson where a mate had a problem with the brakes on his
Kimberley - we called David and several days later when we arrived at
Bundaberg, the parts we wanted were waiting compliments of David.
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 01:58
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 01:58
Sparra,
Just to confirm what others have said, I bought my Kimberly Kamper classic secondhand from Dave at Camper Trailers WA, great bloke, I had a couple of minor issues sorted out no problem at all. Would have no problem going back, more than likely will. I was looking at that camper trailer at the show, looked very neat. Good luck with the new purchase, a good choice in my opinion. Happy pokin around.........
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 05:07
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 05:07
Sparra,
You can now
camp with a bit more comfort than the CC05 trip.:-) Have fun.
Follow Up By: Member - sparra - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:06
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 08:06
g'day richard, yeah it's a pretty big tranistion from the old trusty swag to a camper,but i'm sure i'll survive. cheers sparra (how's that 100 series going?)
Follow Up By: Richard W (NSW) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:40
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:40
Pretty good, however I put a fan blade into the the radiator up at
Cape York in June. That's a continuing saga.
Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:20
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 07:20
Good luck and great choice in Kamper which will serve you
well. I also bought a Limited KK off David and can also confirm that his service is great. Also Peter Hand at the
Wollongong KK dealer is also very good. Great kamper that will provide a more than comfortable nights sleep.....
Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:35
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 09:35
I also have a KK, only an escape though, but am running with a rear jerrycan carrier on it. Bit of a pain to swing out of the way, but good for carrying extra
water and also use it to carry a bit of extra wood also !! I would suggest to keep the carrier ( unless you are getting a refund for it ) in case you decide you want to use it sometime in the future ?
Slideout drawer ? I found you can cram much more stuff under the bed without it too !!
As to the Pioneer,
well all the other makers have been copying the KK for years, and as the owner of KK has said before, its a form of flattery.
Reply By: Tia Maria - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 15:57
Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 15:57
sparra,
Good choice. I called in to KK in
Ballina yesterday and Ian showed me around the 2007 models. I'm rather taken with the Sports RV to be matched with say a Subaru Forrester. Has anyone got with experience with such a set-up??