2003 GU Patrol pulling to left

Submitted: Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 21:01
ThreadID: 39541 Views:8025 Replies:11 FollowUps:5
Am enquireing about an annoying problem with my GU Patrol pulling to the left.Had a workshop in Toowoomba do a wheel alignment a couple of years ago and ever since the steering wheel has been at 4 to 10 o"clock position and the vehicle wants to pull to the left until the steering wheel is in the straight ahead position. 9-3 o"clock but the vehicle moves to the left. Have put up with it for the last couple of years as the so called mechanic told me that it was a fairly common with GU Patrols.
I am going to try and sort the problem out before we head off in Feb next year.Roachie perhaps you or some other learned Patrol owners have had similar problems and may be able to steer me in the right direction. Any info would be much appreciated and please no suggestions to buy a Ota.Will not be back on line till tomorrow nite.
Regards Duke

Reply By: Eric Experience. - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:28

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:28
Duke.
This problem can be caused by several things. unequal loads do to damaged springs or spring mounts is the most common, inspect the welding around the top of your springs. park on a level surface measure the body hight side to side. Measure the distance from the centre of the centre cross member to the axle housing ends on front and back, the left and right measurements must be the same try to measure with an accuracy of better than 1 mm. Eric.
AnswerID: 205542

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:42

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:42
Hi Duke,

The Pull to Left syndrome is an in-built feature of the GU's with some worse than others. I have tried numerous wheel alignments, different tyre rotation combinations and nothing made more than a marginal improvement. I was quoted ~$500 for a correction kit to fix properly, but decided it wasn't a $500 problem!!!

AnswerID: 205544

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:48

Friday, Nov 17, 2006 at 22:48
Gday Duke

I had a similar problem for a while, turned out a tyre problem (was running out the spare on the back). I didn't wake up to it at first, hit a roo 'bout the same time I put the spare on, but when I replaced the spare the problem disappeared. Must have been slightly larger or smaller, even though it was the same size.

Hope yours is as simple and cheap as mine!

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 205545

Follow Up By: Black Beard - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:14

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:14
Andrew; I had the same pulling to the left drama for years. Several mechanics couldn't solve it. Did your trick - hit the biggest bloody roo I'd ever seen, problem solved straight away! Might be a pattern forming there.....
FollowupID: 465551

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 19:32

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 19:32
can be funny how things can even out - I always seem to hit roos right in front of me (ie drivers side) but Im not aiming for them. Had a mate who was into speedway, and every time he hit the wall he reakons the car drove even better, but being street stock they occasionally made them go the other way around the track, and he may as well have stayd in the pits!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 465608

Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 00:28

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 00:28
This is a known problem and the story is it is due to set up for left hand drive. In any case I believe the cure is different bushes in left versus right radius arms. In any case there are places that claim to be able to fix the problem. I haven't bothered with a fix.
AnswerID: 205558

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:39

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 08:39
The second i put on Cooper STT's my car started pulling to the left...
AnswerID: 205579

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:51

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:51
had the same thing happen cooper st pulled to the left, tried the of set caster bearing no joy went back to running bridgestones problem gone. Col
FollowupID: 465879

Reply By: cam_champion - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:51

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 10:51
I use a very reputable wheel alignment guy, who is also a mate and after lifting my patrol the steering is now off centr.

Aparently the joint on the steering arm where they can do the adjustment for the wheel being off centre is now done with a fairly coarse spline. Mine is offset to the right a little. If he adjusts it one spline over it is out slightly to the left.

He said there is nothing they can do about it and that it does not affect the alignment at all, just the wheel is slightly off centre.
AnswerID: 205589

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 16:16

Saturday, Nov 18, 2006 at 16:16
Hi mate,
yes they all pull to the left the answer is a castor correction plate, but it can be costly, sorry I know you dont want to hear it but a Toyo did solve the problem, and the engine problems, and the exhorbitant price of parts,and the lack of backup from Nissan sorry cant help it....................
AnswerID: 205621

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:36

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 01:36
I had never had a problem with the steering until I hit something on a beach track. The left front tyre hit a rock or tree root or something, spun the wheel out of my hands and the car veered into the bush. luckily it was on the left cos it was a drop off down a sand dune to the right.

I have had wheel alignment done three times now, big waste of time.
AnswerID: 205684

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 14:16

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 14:16
Thanks to all for your suggestions. Was talking to a mate yesterday who bought a Triton six months ago and it had a similar problem.Had the bushes changed to give 3deg. positive caster and hasn't had a problem since.
Will give that a try myself and see what that achieves. Thanks again for your comments and will post the results when i get it done in the next couple of weeks.
Regards Duke
AnswerID: 205755

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 17:27

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 17:27
G'day Duke,

We've been away camping for the weekend, hence the late response......

Yes, mine does pull to the left, but if (when I'm on a deserted road) I drive on the opposite side of the road, the problem disappears. This lends weight to the argument that Patrols are set up to be driven on the "wrong" side of the road.

Secondly, I too was led to believe that fitting castor correction bushes would cure the problem. I had that done in Adelaide and made ZERO difference to my rig.

I have a bit of lift and my steering wheel is like yours......10 to 4 when I'm driving in a straight line. Also, my GU is going in tomorrow to have 2 x 30mm spring packers added to the driver's side, as it sits about that much lower than the passengers side does. Once that is done, I will see if the steering wheel sits any better.....if not I'll see if the mechanic can remove the steering wheel and move it by a spline notch or 2, so that it sits straight. I've put up with it for 6 years. Removing the steering wheel is a pain in the @rse because of the airbag.

Also looking at whether I may need to get some extension brake hoses after the 30 mm spacers go on? I would normally do a job like that myself, but my bloody back has been too sore lately to be rolling around under the Patrol......

Next damn thing will be adjustable panhard rods???!!! hahaha

Good luck.......at least you haven't mentioned the dreaded Patrol 80k/h shimmy!

FollowupID: 465713

Reply By: Member - Duke (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 19:51

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 19:51
Hi Roachie,
Sounds like your Patrol has the same symptoms as mine. Have not had the 80K shimmy yet but have experienced it in an 85Tray back i had for a work bus when i was still logging.
Interesting to here that fitting castor correction bushes never helped as that was my next plan of attack.Was at the steering place on Frid. and was going to order an adjustable panhard rod, $320-00 ex Syd. Mechanic suggested the castor path may be a cheaper option but will give that a miss and go for the adjustable rod.
My bus is the same as yours when its driven on the opposite side of the road, drives dead ahead with no wanting to check out the L/H gutter and steering wheel spot on.Don't think i would try to remove steering wheel because of the air bag, also toyed with the idea of moving the steering arm around one notch on the spline but was told they are a fairly large spline and would more than likely go too far the other way.
Made up 4 brackets a few weeks ago for the drivers seat, up25mil and back50mil. Exellent result, made heaps more room plus better vision with a bit more height.

Cheers Duke

AnswerID: 205791

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:15

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:15
Thanks Duke (for the idea about the seating).

One idea which might work, would be to do the castor bushes only on one side (passengers side I guess). That MAY serve to twist the axle tube around so that the left side counters the camber of the road......I think someone (above) has said that is what they did......
FollowupID: 465751

Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:21

Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:21
Hi Duke - I have a 99 4.2GU and it pulls to the left.
My 4wd mechanic also has a 99 4.2GU (raised) which also pulls to the left - but worse.
I have asked him several times about it, and he has offered 2 solutions :
1. Drive his for a while (to make me appreciate my rig).
2. Install the castor correction - costly.

(Someone suggested to get an on-vehicle wheel balance done. Might be a thought.
Roachie - have you tried that? - anyone else?)

So - a minor PITA - I live with it.....................Keith
AnswerID: 205817