Birdsville Qld or the Yeagarup Dune at Pemberton WA? Would appreciate the
Forum's thoughts. Thanks Jinki
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:10
Sunday, Nov 19, 2006 at 21:10
Hi Jinki and Harry
Hope you are travelling
well. You may recall that I met you in
Peterborough SA.
Not sure about the one at Yeagarup but Big Red is 90 metres ASL(above sea level) and is only around 36 metres in height above the dune corridor.
I have travelled over some of those dunes near Pemberton but cannot remember which ones. It took heaps of grunt to get back off
the beach over one dune and methinks that one could be higher than Big Red.
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 00:42
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 00:42
Hi Willem; that would have been Yeagerup. You go past a tiny lake (or we used to - it may have been swallowed up by the dune as it was encroaching on it quickly) then up the main dune before getting to
the beach. The
Warren Beach is to the south of Yeagerup Beach, and seasonally you can cross at the river mouth without going back to Pemberton.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:19
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:19
Hi Motherhen
No, I recal now, we could not get to Yeagerup as CALM had closed the track off due to flooding. We accessed
Warren Beach south from
Northcliffe. Still it was a sizeable dune which rose steadily towards
the beach. Used High Range 1st gear at 3500 revs to get right to the top of the dune on the way out. My mate had three attempts dropping tyre pressures down to 10psi eventually.
Say G'day to Mr Rooster from us :-D
Follow Up By: Member - Jinki & Harry - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:48
Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:48
Thanks Willem. I had always been led to believe that Big Red was the biggest in Aussie but it is not the case as I have since found out.
Yes, of course we remember you at
Peterborough. Now at
Streaky Bay, in the last few weeks of our nine month trip - have had a great time and wonderful experiences. Enjoyed our 2 weeks in the Flinders and also 4 weeks in the remote NE
Kimberley, both
places just magical. Loved the WA coast - it is certainly a big state with so much to see. We plan to return to do more in 2008.
How was your trip - from memory think yousaid you were off to
Innamincka and beyond?
Thanks again & regards
Jinki
Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:30
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:30
Hello - This has sort of been discussed before - see post 19207.
The is no actual dune called Yeagarup (AFAIK). The
Yeagarup DUNES represent an area of exposed sand ~10km long x 2km wide that parallels the coast about 4kms inland. The dunes making up this massive, slowly moving sand drift consist of a mosaic of many dunes that are constantly changing. I doubt if there is any one dune in the complex that would be ~40m high (above surrrounding ground) though some are quite steep. The actual area is about 80 to 100m above sea level.
The biggest "dune" in the area is actually encountered when driving up The
Warren Beach Track (south of Warren River mouth, Yeagerup is north) and is called Callcup
Hill (part of
Callcup Dunes). As discussed in previous threads on this subject, ascending Callcup
Hill takes you from ~0m Above Sea Level (ASL) just off
the beach to some where around 200m over a distance of about 2km - climbing all the way. Callcup
Hill itself is shown as being 236m (AHD ~ ASL).
There may be other similar dunes around Australia, don't really know. Suspect Big Red doesn't make the top 10 and really doesn't sound that big at all. Most of the big dunes would be coastal (such as Callcup) so don't know if they qualify for being "inland" as you initial post requested.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:31
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:31
Yep, I remember now...Callcup Dune it was. Great part of our land...enjoyed every minute of it
Follow Up By: Member - Jinki & Harry - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:50
Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:50
Hi Greg
Many thanks for your reply also sorry my reply has taken so long - have been off the air for a couple of weeks. As I mentioned to Willem, I believed that Big Red was the largest
sand dune, anyway you have explained it is not, so thanks for that.
Jinki
Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:52
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 23:52
Not inland but .....
Moreton Island is home to spectacular coastal scenery and the highest
sand dune in the world. Located just 90 minutes from downtown
Brisbane,
Moreton Island is a sand mass measuring a little under 20 square kilometres in area.