Use of Headlights when offroad
Submitted: Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:23
Robnicko
Why is it that some people when off road do not use common sense and turn on their headlights? I was up the Howqua / Jamieson area on the weekend and it never ceases to amaze me the amount of cars travelling along dusty tracks that do not turn on their lights and they look at you as if to say why are your lights on?. It makes it safer for them and other travellers.........and it doesn't drain your battery whilst driving.
Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:29
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:29
Even better are the P platers in SWB Patrols etc with 35" muddies who hoon around blind corners in the middle of the road without a care that there may be another vehicle coming the other direction.
Follow Up By: Robnicko - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:02
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:02
Scubaroo,
I agree with your comment. You take the Wife and kids to the bush for the weekend for fun and to getaway from the 'richard craniums' but they seem to be worse in the bush.........just because the road is dirt doesn't mean you should drive like an idiot. As for the hoon element I wonder how many of them have insurance when the inevitable corner comes up?
Also noticed on the way up just past
Yarck someone had thrown a rubbish bag full of VB bottles on the side of the highway..smashed all over the road shoulder and about 100m up from the mess was a wayside stop with a rubbish bin.
Rob
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:42
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:42
Dare I mention my idea for a "quiet weekend" once a month where trailbikes and quad-bikes are not to be used in specified parks so that it's possible to get out and enjoy the bush without the constant scream of bike engines? Probably not.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 17:40
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 17:40
Scubaroo... As trail bike rider, I can fully appreciate your idea. How does that grab ya...???
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:47
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:47
That's the danger isn't it though - next thing it would be 4wd free weekend etc...
I just wish *certain* clowns wouldn't ride choose to ride within a couple of metre of us through the river nowhere near a trail when my wife and I are flyfishing after hiking 30 minutes to get away from roads etc. Common courtesy dictates if you see two people fishing in the middle of nowhere, you don't ride into the river BETWEEN them when they are standing only 10m apart, and then proceed to sit in the river, wait for your mate to catch up, and then and spray a rooster tail of
water everywhere before bleep off.
There's some real idiots on trailbikes, just like there's some real idiots in 4wds.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:11
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:11
Yep, dick heads on both sides... Had to endure the stories of a truck driver at work the other day... "F@#k the DSE, my mates have been out Wombat pulling gates out of the ground, that'll fix those c@#ts up for trying to close our tracks" or words VERY close to that... Just shake my head and hope he brings some photo's in so I can take down some rego's...
Follow Up By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:04
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:04
Blue,
I too am a trailbike rider and understand what you mean. Earlier this year I had no sympathy for the idiot unregistered trailbike rider who flew through the
Running Creek camping ground on the Howqua River and through the
river crossing only to be chased by 2 Police Trailbike squad members. When the Police returned from the other side of the river I was very happy as they had caught the guy, fined him and most of all they broke the spark plug ceramic section off rendering his bike useless. Mind you he looked like a dog with it's tail between its legs when he was pushing his bike back through the river!!!
Rob
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:37
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:37
Unfortunately Rob, unlike the minority of 4byers ruining it for the rest of us, it seems to be the majority of trailbikers ruining it for both other bike riders and 4bys. When we ride these days, we hardly ever see so much as a rec.rego plate, let alone full rego plates. No wonder they're closing tracks.
Reply By: Redeye - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:30
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:30
Agree with you Robnicko,
On the way to the cape there are signs advising drivers to turn on their headlights for the reasons you outlined. I did note in June that a lot of drivers did not follow the advice.
Redeye
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:22
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:22
This is one of my pet whinges. When I posted on this topic, many didn't see the point. I've driven on single laned roads where its difficult to judge the distance of an oncoming vehicle because of the sun. Lights on makes it so much easier.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 13:44
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 13:44
I agree. My lights are on evrywhere I drive. Lot easier than having a head on!
Only problem is people keep flashing me and I bleep e myself thinking I have just gone through a radar!
Follow Up By: Member - Darren T (VIC) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:19
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 18:19
I`ve flashed a few people with their lights on in daytime, but only because the high beams been on and they haven`t realised it.
Don`t do it anymore, got the finger a couple of times and people look at you stupid and wonder why the hell I`m flashing them, they already know they have thier headlights on.
Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:17
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 23:17
I use my headlights all the time when 4wding mainly for the oncoming bikes. Every time I come to the crest of a
hill I take it very slow . Both my sons ride bikes (the eldest has a quad) and i have heard of some very close encounters of 4wd's coming over the crest at high speed.I have even thought of using a sand flag when there are bikes around.