GU sub tank light staying on

Submitted: Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:47
ThreadID: 39607 Views:2659 Replies:7 FollowUps:2
As the title says, the sub tank warning light is staying on in my 3.0GU.

I filled up yesterday and the light came on and the fuel gauge didn't move for 150KMs (very economical I thought). This morning the fuel gauge is working fine but the sub tank light on the instrument panel is illuminated and the sub tank switch doen't appear to do anything.

I'm due a 90000K service next week and might have to take it to Nissan rather than my mechanic if I can't figure out the problem.

Cheers Patrolman Pat

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:55

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 09:55
First thing to do is to reset it.

Disconnect the battery for about 10 mins and retry.

That happened to mine (4.5 GU) when I didn't use the subtank enough and the fuel got to low. Like a safety switch.
AnswerID: 205871

Reply By: Member - Kiwi B - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:03

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:03
Had same problem with 2.8 GU a few weeks ago. Out bush and couldn't transfer fuel sorta thing.
Fix was to disconnect battery for a minute or so, reconnect and hey presto.

Seems the ECM(pootr) is very voltage sensitive and can react in this fashion. My problem was possibly caused by connecting camper with low/flat batteries to vehicle with engine running, when the alternator was already battling to charge it's own batteries.

Hope your fix is this simple,
Bruce H.
AnswerID: 205872

Reply By: Member - TonyG (Qld) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:40

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 10:40

I also would like some advice on this as I had the same issue last week.

It happened to me for the first time. I had recently completely drained the sub tank over to the main tank.

Is it a case of never fully draining the sub tank, and maybe this will stop the problem?

All help greatly appreciated

TonyG
AnswerID: 205876

Follow Up By: flappa - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:06

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 11:06
Yes it should.

Part of the issue is that everytime you start the vehicle the subtank pump runs for about 5 seconds , to keep things lubricated and working.

If there is no fuel in the tank to pump , then the pump can burn out. They have a protection facility in them where if after a couple of trys with no fuel , it stops working at all.

You then need to reset the pump.

Keeping a small amount of fuel in the subtank should stop this happening.
FollowupID: 465828

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:18

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 14:18
G'day Pat,

There are 2 parts to this issue. The other blokes have covered one aspect; the need to disconnect the battery to re-set the system. That should make the light go off and you'll be able to operate the transfer pump. Also, good idea to always keep fuel in the sub-tank, but I wouldn't go so far as to say that you need to manually switch the pump off before all the fuel gets transferred........just make sure you re-fill the sub-tank next time you're at the servo.

The 2nd point (which nobody above has mentioned yet) is "why" does this happen in the first place. The answer to that question is that the transfer pump (apparently) is the only electrical device on the Patrol that earths to the chassis (as opposed to the body). Anyway, be that as it may..........(somebody could dispute that fact and they could well be correct), the thing I have done to avoid the sub-tank light issue, is to install a fairly heavy-gauge cable from the chassis to the body-work/or motor/battery etc. In fact, on my Patrol, I have put the cable from the chassis just near the turbo (where there is a captive nut welded inside; 100mm thread I think), up to the back of the alternator. That cable used to go to the negative post on my second battery, but when I junked the 2nd battery to make room for the oil by-pass set-up, I had to find another well-earthed spot to fit the lug onto.

Hope this helps mate

AnswerID: 205902

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi B - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:05

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 15:05
Roachie,

I believe this issue was mentioned when I was sorting out my problem also. However all has been well so far, thus the extra earth ain't been fitted yet.

Thanks for the reminder,
Bruce H.
FollowupID: 465865

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:02

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:02
I had haep of prob swith my GU fuel guages - reading only 80% full, 10 minutes after refuelling, guages always wrong etc.

I read somewhere on ExOZ that the body earth set up on the GU is not the best and the fuel gauges are particularly sensitive. I fixed this by fitting an extra earth with heavy guage cable, direct from the battery negative to the firewall. That's fixed all the probs with the fuel guages AND the CD doesn't play up like it used to either! No more "ERROR CODES" on the CD Player.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 205913

Reply By: navaraman - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:06

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 16:06
Gee, you blokes are good. I was towing my CT for the first time when I fuelled up so this may have been a factor. All is good now though.
My auto sparky hooked up an Anderson plubg and an extra earth to the chassis for me last week so hopefully that issue is OK.

Cheers PP
AnswerID: 205914

Reply By: Member - Charlie S (VIC) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:28

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:28
Hi had the same problem some time ago. Had to earth the body and chassis back to the battery. And then earth the fuel tank. Not a problem since.

AnswerID: 205949