Patrol 4.2 turbo or 80 series turbo
Submitted: Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:19
stephen looking
G'day all, still looking at making my first 4x4 ($x$) purchase, plan to buy soon as i am sick of just looking and test driving cars plan to spend about 30k. I have seen a patrol 4.2 TD ST 2001 for $30,500, one owner car has done 200,000k comes with a few extras bar, winch,
snorkel, duel tanks, roof rack and GPS and few other extras. I will only be using this for
camping and 4 wheel drive trips.
My questions is are km's high for a 01 model and do you consider this to be a good price. Or should i wait to find a late model 80 series with under 200,000k's . If all toyota and patrol owners could be non-bias it would make my decision a little more easier.
Hope to see you all in our big back yard.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:22
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:22
Hi Stephen,
The Patrol you are talking about has done some travelling but still theoretically should have plenty left in it also. I have done 285000km and counting in a 2000 model. I would however advise a thorough mechanical inspection and pay particular attention to overheating. Also see if the gearbox has been out or not, reason I say this is up to about 2001 there was a common prob with 5th gear letting go, so it could be worth taking particular notice of the gearbox in the one you're looking at. The price seems about right from what I've been told (not a steal but not overpriced either). Dual tanks are standard on a GU Patrol. In standard form the GU will get further up the track than the 80 Cruiser in standard form also (Not stirring, that's a fact!!).
If you choose a 80 Cruiser try and get the factory tubo variant as it will have the stronger gearbox. Other than this I don't know much about the 80 (I had a 100 before my GU).
There should be plenty of both these rigs around so take your time and buy the best variant of whichever make you decide on.
Regards, Trevor.
Reply By: desert - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:23
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:23
You've got some good accessories there, so if you like the truck, buy it. The 200K is not an issue. These are honest trucks that will serve you
well and even if you have problem, plentiful parts are reasonably priced. Mostly, cheaper to repair than the Tojo.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:46
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:46
I reckon the patrol is too much ks certainly do count as far as selling is concerned- if you can screw them down some Ok
biggest problem with TD 80s is they are way overpriced - I mean sure I want one but 25 grand or so (seen quite a few at this price or evenmore) for a 10 year old 4by??
Reply By: adamj1300 - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:59
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:59
take them both for a drive coz asking such question will only start a toyota vs nissan debate, the nissan 4.2 donk will go for almost ever u can service it mostly ur self. the build quality in the toyotas is much better in cab & ride quality will be better as
well. but for strength will the nissan will win hands down. if u where to go for the 80 series the 1hz is a realiable engine but blows heads with aftermarket turbos, & the miltivalve factory turbo makes decent power but is way over prices as u will find with most toyota parts. the nissan 4.2 just wind up the boost if ur wanting the same power as the muntivalve turbo from toyota, they at a hotter temp that the toyota but are happy to do so.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:26
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 22:26
Dunno about that mate.The 4.2 is known to oheat in std form so boosting itup to match the cruiser will only cause more dramas.They are a good engine std(apart from some o/heating) so enjoy it as is.
Both have strong and weak points, drive both and see what suits you best.
Reply By: stephen looking - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:46
Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:46
Thanks for ya time guys I think I'm going to make an offer around 27K just wondering what would a mechanic charge for a pre delivery inspection. and what sort of service should i do to the vehicle if i buy it? I'm sort of thinking a major service and a general going over don't know what that consists of your advice is much appricated, any one know a good Nissan 4x4 mechanic in south east
Melbourne that wont mind showing me a thing or two.
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 00:15
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 00:15
The main thing with any diesel engine is to check that it has a service hystory. Check that it has been regularly serviced. If it hasn't got a service hystory you can visually check [service book] walk away.
Reply By: markeaust - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 11:10
Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 11:10
Stephen,
Some great deals can be had at the govt. auctions, provided you choose wisely. I recently bought 2002 HZJ105 standard Tojo, with 45k on clock for $30k even. It had ARB Bar, 12k Warn winch, cargo barrier, Tow bar, dual batts. Checked it's history via previous owner (NRE) and got to speak to the bloke who had been looking after this same car....gave me an honest appraisal as he had nothing to lose. Dealers wanted $42k for exactly the same car, that they had bought at the auction couple of weeks earlier and simply sprayed the underbody black. I did look at various other options at the dealers and only found the high milage ones 100k - 250k for about the same price. The ones I drove had rattles and sqeaks, and felt loose, whilst
mine with only 45k felt brand new and still does 20k later.
There were also some ex SES Patrols that had between 11k and 22k on the clock, about the same year..went for $31.5k. (4.2 turbos with bar, winch, batts etc...)
Many people would not buy at auction for fear of no warranty, inability to drive car etc, but in my experience, you can tell if a car has been abused and the saving in purchasing at auction will more than pay for any minor problems. I have since registered the car, just returned from 12k trip from Vic to WA via Tanami, Gibb,
Broome, Gunbarrel, GCR and return....nil problems.
Just another option to consider........
Good luck,