Cooper ST or ATR

Submitted: Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:44
ThreadID: 39627 Views:8351 Replies:9 FollowUps:13
Hi everyone

I have searched the forum threads, but would still like to hear other people’s thoughts on my circumstances….

Our car currently has stock Bridgestones 265/70/R16 - that will need to be replaced before we go. CT has 275/70/R16 – interchangeable with car.

We are about to head off for 6 months around Australia – towing off-road Camper Trailer – full circuit including Tasmania so I think we will experience the full cross-section of terrain.

I have been looking at 265/75/R16 Cooper ATR or ST. Travels will be lots of bitumen based, with some gravel/unsealed / and hopefully fair bit of 4wd runs off to and along beaches for fishing etc. Weather permitting will also approach Cape York.. But without previously doing the trip – hard to judge. I would still guess 70-80% bitumen – maybe wrong.

ARB contacts are suggesting ST. Cooper agent is suggesting ATRs. Two 4wd friends (one with ATR) also say ATR.

Also – I like the fact that the CT tyres are interchangeable. If I put 75s on car – do you think I could limp home ok with a 70 on say the front of the car if I had to use spare from CT as a last resort. Alternative is to change CT tyres to match – but cost is factor.

Any thoughts much appreciated.

Reply By: Noosa Fox - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:57

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 19:57
Alan we left home in Feb with 2 near new Cooper ST on front and 2 Bridgestone A/T on the rear that were getting down. In Port Augusta I went to change the Bridgestone to Cooper ST but due to a recall the ST were not available and we got STT.
800 km later a new STT had a rock through the tread.
We completed the rest of our trip around the block over 8 months and the front ST's had travelled about 35000 km. One ST had several lugs ripped off the sides showing steel belts. One STT after less than 30,000 km had a centre lug ripped off and both STT were unroadworthy due to lack of tread as well as missing lug and canvas showing.

We changed all tyres to Goodyear Wrangler Silent Armour and after 3000 km of mainly bitumen driving have found them to be an excellent tyre for both dry and wet weather. Yes around Noosa we have had rain.

From my experience with Cooper Tyres, we will never have them again.

Doing it tuff, Towing a Bushtracker.

AnswerID: 205959

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:33

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:33
Hi Brian

Thanks for the feedback. Tyres would seem to be a bit of a Patrol/Cruiser or Engel/Waeco topic..... Still leaning towards the ATR. I hope I don't regret it. Thanks for your thoughts.

FollowupID: 466066

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:45

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 20:45
Well mate, I have the ST’s in 31*10.5r15, used to have the AT’s (Old stile)

Will say this the old AT’s were better on the road and in the Wet but the ST’s are a better tyre overall IMO.

I have had them on for around 22,000K and they have seen a fair bit of 4Wding, yes they have chipped but IMO it is F**k all and I am not the least bit worried about it.

My mate has BFG MT’s 33-inch 6000k’s old and they have slight chipping on them too and he is not impressed after everybody telling him go the BFG’s as they don’t chip.

AnswerID: 205971

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:34

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:34
Hi Exploder

Thanks for your thoughts.

FollowupID: 466067

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:56

Monday, Nov 20, 2006 at 21:56
Alan, I've used both.
We had ATRs put on our Hilux before we picked it up new. They are an excellent on road tyre. No noise and very good in the wet. Also good on sand and dirt roads, but not so great 'off road' in mud and rocks.

Before we went on a 16,000 trip to Kimberley, NT and the Gulf early this year, I changed over to STs. Reasons were:
I wanted to standardise between vehicle and trailer and carry 3 identical spares, which meant at least 4 new tyres anyway, including replacing one with damaged side wall (see below).
I wanted a more aggressive tyre better suited to mud and 'off road' as we planned to do about 6,000 KM off bitumen.
I wanted to slightly increase the size of our tyres for better clearance.
I was happy to stick with Cooper and was offered a pretty good change over price.

My experience with the STs is that they are much noiser on bitumen than the ATRs and not quite as good in the wet on bitumen. But they are much better off road and have pretty good self cleaning capability in mud. We hve had none of the chipping problems that some others have reported.

I'm happy with Cooper tyres. It is really a choice based on intended and likely use. If you will predominantly do bitumen, good dirt roads and some sand, the ATRs are probably good. The more 'rough' work you are likely to do, the more you might consider moving to the STs, but they will be noisier on bitumen.

You will get lots of views on any brand of tyres, but I suspect most of the 'top' brands are pretty good. The run you have will have a lot to do with how you treat them (load, tyre pressure, speed) and luck.

In our time with Coopers, we staked one side wall on an ATR while on a trip with the 4WD Club (bad luck), otherwise we have not had a puncture with either the ATR or ST over about 50,000 KM including some pretty rough roads.
AnswerID: 205995

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:36

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:36
Hi Norm

Yep - I think the ATRs are the ones for me. It is not like the ATRs will be totally incapable - and I think they offer a better balance given more road/sand than anything.

FollowupID: 466068

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:28

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:28
Hi Alan,
I have 2 sets of Cooper tyres, I run the ATR for normal day to day when not travelling outback, and change over to ST'C when off road. The first thing that you should do is check your insurance company and your state laws. On my Pajero, the standard tyre size is 265/70/16.

As you know, the LT are not available in this size, and the tyre companies would not put the 265/75/16 on my vehicle for legal reasons (against the law). The only way they could legally put the LT's on my vehicle was to go for 245/75/16, same rolling diameter.

The only way to stop chipping in to lower your tyre pressure.

With the tyre of work that you intend to do, I would go for the ATR's. They will get you to all the places that you intend to travel to, with no problems.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 206044

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:37

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:37
I too run the STc's

I find they are a pretty good all round tyre. They are OK on the bitumen, very good on the dirt roads around Broken Hill which I travel frequently at speed and work extremely well off road, in sand or mud, I have not used them in rocky sandstone country like in the Blue Mountains.

I have about 40k on mine and will get another 35k out of them easily, no punctures.

FollowupID: 466052

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:37

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:37
Thanks Stephen and Duncs

I think the ATRs will be the choice on this occasion.

Thanks for your thoughts.

FollowupID: 466069

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 19:47

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 19:47
Hi Alan.
Like you said, tyres, fridges and vehicles will always be the topic of any campfire or forum like this. We have had 2 vehicles in my group using ATR in the real tough stuff, and they had no problems at all. It is very hard to compare the goods and bads of each tyre, as every situation will be different from the other.

My brand new ST'C had many punctures during my Simpson Geo Expedition. Where we went, you can not blame the tyre. I was the lead vehicle and when one travels over 500kms of pure cross country Simpson Desert Travel, with no tracks at all, any lead vehicle and tyre will suffer the same fate as we did. From my travels in this type of country, the first two or three vehicles will have the punctures, clearing the way for the following vehicles behind.

Like I said, you will be happy with your ATR's

Who has been here

FollowupID: 466124

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:08

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:08
Do yourself a favour, buy neither, look at other brands.
AnswerID: 206061

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:09

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:09
I'm with Shaker on this. Bought a set of AT a few years back thinking Cooper were right up there, how wrong was I.

Had more punctures than any tyre I've ever owned (think it was upto 7 at last count). Only lasted 60,000 km and then they were down to the wear indicators.

Had a constant letf drift problem from the day I had them fitted. No amount of Cooper half ar!@ fix ups got rid of it. The off centre steering got on my wick trying to compensate.

Just fitted a set of Goodyear Wrangler ATR light truck. Toyota put the alignment back to factory spec all problems gone.

Check to others out!
FollowupID: 466061

Reply By: live4theweekends - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 10:42

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 10:42
We have ST's and they are pretty noisy on the bitumen. I would go for ATRs next time as we dont do a lot of off road stuff.
AnswerID: 206080

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:38

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:38
Looks like ATRs are the winner. Cheers, Alan
FollowupID: 466070

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:56

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:56
G'day Alan
Just mentioning Cooper tyres starts an arguement every time with those for and against usually quite adamant as to their point of view being the right one. I reckon one tyre is much the same as the next and whether you get punctures is in the lap of the gods.
Going on what you've posted you have decided on Coopers so we won't dicuss brand. I think that, based on what you've described your likely travels to be, the ATRs will be the better option. I can't see why you'd need STs. BTW if you do decide on STs you'll have to choose between STC and ST. The STC is softer to supposedly prevent chipping however that will invariably mean less mileage out of them.
As to your last query I can't see that there'd be any major issues running 275/70 and 265/75 (I assume that's what you mean't by 75s) on front in an emergency situation.
I hope you have a fantastic, safe and tyre trouble free trip.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 206125

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:42

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 15:42
G'day Moose

Thanks for answering all parts. I think I will change the car over to ATRs - and leave the camper tyres as they are pretty much new with only a few thousand km on them.

Thanks also for your wishes - can't wait...only 36 sleeps to go!!

FollowupID: 466071

Follow Up By: Moose - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 16:28

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 16:28
G'day again Alan
Whilst I was fairly sure that they were close I just thought I'd double check the tyre sizes for you. 265/75 = rolling circumference of 2.526 mtrs and 275/70 is 2.487 mtrs. So it might want to pull a wee bit to one side but I reckon I could live with that if I had to.
Noticed when I got back on here that someone else has posted a tyre size calculator - I spent a while Googling for mine!
Cheers from the Moose
FollowupID: 466082

Reply By: muppo - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 22:29

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 22:29
Don't do it Alan! I've got ATRs 265/70/17 on my Sahara and after only two trips in the high country here in Vic all my tyres are chipped badly and the two rears have tore tread lugs off at the base.
Every trip adds 50% more damage, they have only done 24000klms. I am an experienced 4wdriver and do all the right things with tyre pressures and driving conditions. I got the Coopers Rep to have alook and he was not interested, he said we'll have alook after 40000klms and then maybe do a changeover at prorata on a new set.
He said maybe I should fit Light Truck tyres next time and I said what does the LT265/70/17 mean then thats writtern on the tyre then? Then the next excuse was maybe a mud tyre would be better for a vehicle of that wait, to which I replied that I have 4 mates with the same vehicles in the same conditions that don't have coopers and they don't have the same problems.
In the end the conversation ended with me saying that I'll have to suck it and see to which he agreed, I then told him I wasn't happy and that they have been the worst tyres out of all the tyres I've had over the years .
I wouldn't touch another Cooper tyre for as long as I live.

Interesting footnote about their Prorata system is they give you 40% back on a new set which only cost them 60% of retail price so they sell another and make money and you get stung twice. Great warranty!
AnswerID: 206766

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:02

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:02
Was the Cooper reps first name Dick ... .. seriously, if it was, he is the same lying b@st@rd that dudded me out of warranty, by telling me to wait.
I can't believe the cr@p people put up with, with Cooper Tires, just because the Yanks tell us they are big selling tyre in the US ..... guess what, they aren't!
FollowupID: 466749

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 02:41

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 02:41
I thought the biggest selling offroad tyre in the US is the BFG.i heard they have 50% of the market.
FollowupID: 466778

Follow Up By: Member - Alan (WA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 02:56

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 02:56
I haven't done it yet Muppo..... I plan to get out tomorrow and get a bit of a feel for this.... Thanks
FollowupID: 466779

Reply By: muppo - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:17

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:17
G'Day Shaker, the clowns name is Peter. Good to hear that I'm not the only one! Yanks hey! What's the catch cry "The Only Tyres Build To Last". Built to outlast your patience mate!
AnswerID: 206775