Mickey Thompson Tyres - Advice on Pressures

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 00:04
ThreadID: 39640 Views:16967 Replies:10 FollowUps:3
hi all,
Just purchased a set of MT FC-11 285/75R16 for 80 series and will be testing them in the Vic Alps next week...What l was surprised to find that the dealer put the tyre pressures to 44psi...is this normal for this size tyre? l used to run the BFG AT 265's at the recommended pressure on the vehicle plate of 32psi...and if l aired down it would be to 16, 18, 20 etc depending of the surface.

What do you rekon would be the lowest pressure l could go with the new MT's on the black top and on the tracks?(should l need too)

l will be asking the dealer the same question later this week, but rather l prefer to rely on what the forum users know and have experienced as l wont get any BS from fellow 4x4 users.

Ps: Bunyip tracks a closing rapidly...Rankins, Lawless,Sunset, etc soon to close and be gated...they have dumped heaps of dirt at entry points to other tracks to. You will be able to use these tracks if you book and are a member of club or the 4x4 vic assoc. So much for the quick day trip.

thanks in advance for your advice. Cheers Barn

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:46

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 07:46
Hi there Barn,I've just had the same tyres fitted to the patrol. We just spent 3 days and did 270 k's through the Wadbilliga National park area in southern NSW, towing the CT and so far very pleased with them.
You'll find that most of the tyre shops put that type of pressure in to allow you some "spare air" to adjust to your own desire. We ran 36 rear and 34 front, just for starters, to see how things went and had a mixture of road surfaces. I dont really have a favourite tyre brand myself, just got a fair deal at the time, as we buy all our tyres from the one local bloke. But overall, pleased with them so far cheers mate.unc
AnswerID: 206039

Reply By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:54

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:54
Hey Barn,

I also purchased a new set of Silverstone 285x75R16 AT's on the 80 series just last month. They were also returned to me with 40-42 PSI, which surprised me. After asking, he said that when on the black stuff it's recommended to run at tire max rating on tire to reduce friction and therefore fuel consumption (particularly on 110kms). I figured as long as it doesn't ware the centre of the tire unevenly i'll try anything to reduce fuel consumption of the petrol 80 series.

Alex
AnswerID: 206056

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:56

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:56
I am running the MTZ's and I run at 40 around town
AnswerID: 206057

Reply By: nickmain - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:59

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 08:59
I've got the FC-II's in 305/70/16 on my 105 series Landcruiser.

I've found that pressure is a personal and pretty variable decision... and depends on load, speed, and surface you're playing on.

Yours may be different, but I always try to pick the pressure for the circumstance by:
- feels solid and doesn't "wallow" changing direction (ie responds well)
- doesn't heat up the tyre
- doesn't walk/crab sideways

If after running for a while at a particular pressure, I get out and check the temp of the tyres - if they're too hot then they're underinflated and I chuck some more in.

I run them at 40psi for most things, I've only ever aired them down to 25psi.
I've had them at 45psi rear and 42 front for highway loaded up, feels fine and looks to be wearing evenly.

40 around town, highway and dirt roads works for me.
Soaks up enough potholes and bumps, but enough pressure to keep them cool and handle OK.

Hope that helps!

Nick, Canberra
2002 FZJ105R GXL
AnswerID: 206058

Follow Up By: wonka - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 13:46

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 13:46
G'day Nick and anyone else running FC II's,

How are you finding them for road noise? I have a set of MTR's at the
moment and the more they wear the loader they get and are starting to get
annoying!!!!

Graeme
FollowupID: 466042

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 04:28

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 04:28
Hi wonka, these tyres are slightly noisier than the last AT tyres we ran, but I dont think they would be as noisy as a true mud tyre. Nothing a slight increase in radio volume wouldnt fix, but to be honest, they didnt bother us at all over last weekend's travels.About 400k's was also done on tar that trip as well. cya.
FollowupID: 466199

Follow Up By: nickmain - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:03

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 09:03
Hiya Graeme,

I'm with Uncle on this - mine are pretty quiet.
Much quieter than MTZ's, STT's, or even the softer BFG M/T's.
Bit of road noise around 90km/hr on bitumen, but quietens down again at 100-110.

Overall a great tyre, seems to be a good all rounder.

Cheerio
Nick
FollowupID: 466462

Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:41

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 09:41
Hi Barn,

my work collegue has MT FC-11 285/75R16 on his 80 series and runs the following pressures:

ROAD 34 psi
SAND 18 psi
HIGH COUNTRY 28 psi

AnswerID: 206068

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 13:48
44 seems extreme unless you have a very heavy load.

Call up the local distributor and see what they say. I think they'd like to know if dealers are giving crap advice.
AnswerID: 206113

Reply By: Member - Tim - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:16

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 14:16
Hi Barn,

I have 265/75x16s on my Pajero. I changed to them from BFG and found that I had to run much higher pressures on the road since the sidewalls are not as stiff. I was running 32 back and 30 front with the BFG and am now running 38 back and 36 front with the FC-IIs. I always found the ride way too stiff with the BFG if I went even a couple of pounds above those pressures but find the FC-IIs are fine at the higher. I would drop them down to around thirty for normal dirt roads. I find them to be pretty good tyres but it is worth dropping the pressures right down if you are in mud. I have gone down to 18 to get up a hill that others got up fairly easily but on the sand have not needed to go below 22-24. Like all tyres there should be no reason why you couldn't go down to lower pressures if needed for a short while. They do bag out more than the BFG but I have not had any issues with that.

Hope that helps.

Tim.
AnswerID: 206119

Reply By: GU - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 18:44

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 18:44
Hello Barn. Just thought that I would tell you about a certain article that I read recently by some tyre guru, I think in one of the 4wd magazines.

Just forgetting about off road tyre pressures for a moment, he suggested that the best way to tell whether you are running the right pressure in your tyres for its given load/work was to measure it's cold pressure and then again after say half an hour of driving measure the pressure again.

He said that ideally there should be 4psi between cold and hot.

If your hot temperature is more than 4psi over your cold pressure then the tyre did not have enough air in it before your started. Alternatively if the difference is less than 4psi then you had too much pressure. Adjust the cold tyre pressure accordingly depending upon how much it varies from this 4psi difference.

I actually haven't tried it myself but sounds logical to me.

He didn't mention (I think) off road pressures because of the many, many variables
that other forum members have highlighted.

Hope this can be of some help to you to get the most out of your Mickey Thompsons.

Cheers GU. (now Navara)
AnswerID: 206173

Reply By: Barn - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:07

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:07
Thanks everyone for your input, greatly appreciated. l will be trying all the advice when l load up next week on my ALP trip and will be asking the tyre distributor later this week about his views and advice and l will post what he rekons is the right pressures or his best guess is.

Cheers Barn.

AnswerID: 206284

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 03:09

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 03:09
I used two sets of Mickey Thompsons and found they chip to easy on stones, little pieces chip out of the tread, they seem to be too soft for our conditions, BF Goodridges give me good service

AnswerID: 206304