NISSAN GQ 2.8 TURBO

Submitted: Thursday, Mar 20, 2003 at 19:03
ThreadID: 3965 Views:1586 Replies:4 FollowUps:0
This Thread has been Archived
Would like advise on the ability of my GQ to tow my 1989 26ft caravan.

I have had conflicting info on it's ability. I have been told that the engine won't be able to handle the load and that the gear box is also too light. I have been told that the gear box in the 2.8 is different from that in the 4.2 but is in fact a more reliable box.

I am a bit of a novice so would loke as many oppinions as possible!

I have has a Hayman Reece weight distribution hitch fitted by a HR dealer who was aware of the van to be towed and the gross mass of the van is 1870.

I look forward to your replies.
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: Member - Willem- Thursday, Mar 20, 2003 at 20:16

Thursday, Mar 20, 2003 at 20:16
I would not tow a 26ft van with any vehicle powered by less than 4litres. You cannot have very much gear in the van if the GVM is only 1870. My 27ft Viscount Tandem(Shell only) weighed 1500 kilos with nothing in it!!!

You are asking for trouble. You have two options !. 1. Change the 4x4 2.Change the caravanCheers, Willem
Never a dull moment
AnswerID: 15717

Reply By: Jim - Thursday, Mar 20, 2003 at 20:20

Thursday, Mar 20, 2003 at 20:20
Hi Grav.
From my own experiences with a much smaller van (16', <1000kg), your GQ will tow your van OK, but be prepared for some gear work on hills and into headwinds. My 2.8TD has a Luxon intercooler and snorkel fitted (from new so I have no comparison to normal) and generally handles my van quite well.