bad waeco fridge batches

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 18:44
ThreadID: 39670 Views:8234 Replies:20 FollowUps:16
hi every one

it was just the other day i mentioned on here that i brought 2 new waeco fridges to make the wife happy

just wanted to let every one know that one is dead already ,there seems to be a bad batch of cf 35 comming out that just shut themselves down (dead)

took ours back to a waeco repair place to look at it (not that i wanted it repaired)
and the repair guy said there have been heaps coming back of this model all with the same problem

i must say after spending more than 2 grand im not that impressed starting to wonder if they are worth it

but i will say i have had the cf 80 running all this time and no problems yet

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 19:03
Hi Jonny,
I know that this is and will always be a high mentioned topic, just like the Toyota v Nissan etc. I am sorry that you have had this problem. A couple of trips back, on one of our outback trips, one of my group members had a new Waeco, and yes it died in the middle of the Simpson. I will not let you know what he thought, when we were using Engel's

Also our assistant Engel rep purchased an Engel Fridge when he was the State manager for Waeco, say no more.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 206177

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:05

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:05
Hi Stephen,
Just because you sell them LOL !!!
I know of 2 engel's that have sheet themselves, and one was a faulty compressor that engel wouldnt acknowledge!
I have had a good run so far with my 110 waeco, considering it goes 24/7, so there are good and bad in most of them.

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 466149

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:16

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:16
Hi Pesty,
From where I sit, I can tell there are always 2 sides to every story. Ask our assistant Engel rep (Ex state Manager for Waeco) and he has lots of stories to tell on reliability. It will always be a good debating point, but see how the Waeco's are faring in 40 years time?

I personally know the state manager here for Engel, and like all companies know one wants bad publicity. If Engel did not acknowledge the compressor, it would have come down to customer neglect, after all if it was a fault, consumer laws these days would have any manufacturer in court.

Next time your in town Steve, drop in and I will sell you an Engel.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 466153

Follow Up By: LastAussieWorker - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 13:07

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 13:07
Got 2 dud failed kaput broken not worthwhile to repair Engels sitting in my garage. $1000 for compressor repair and $1400 for compressor repair and electronic box in the other. The Waeco replacements we bought have been running a treat for 2+ years.
FollowupID: 466275

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 13:26

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 13:26
Hi Last Aussie Worker.
How old and what size fridges are they? The $1400 repair bill is well over the top.
You can buy a new 60 for that money. Even the $1000 compressor repair is a rip off.
Were these an authorized Engel repair centre?? I know for a fact that a change over compressor system is around the $600 mark.

I think someone is pulling you leg!!

Who has been here

FollowupID: 466278

Follow Up By: GU-Nissan - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 18:47

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 18:47
Hi LastAussieWorker,

Just last week I had to put my 10 year old 39 litre Engel in for repair, as the motor was running but not cooling. The service agent diagnosed an internal fault with the compressor assembly (was not due to a gas leak or similar) requiring a complete compressor/condenser/evaporator system replacement. Total cost including labour $540.00 with a 12 month warranty, so I would suggest that you take yours elsewhere for a 2nd opinion. By the way, at the price I was given, scrapping the fridge and buying a new replacement didn't seem very sensible to me at all.

Ross.
FollowupID: 466347

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:00

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:00
Mate,

That's not good news though don't be disillusioned as Weaco is a very reputable fridge and I'm sure this problem will be fixed....Good luck with the new one....For the record I chose Engel (have 2 of them) and haven't had any issues.....Every model has it's hiccups....
AnswerID: 206201

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:35

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:35
Just bought today a CF50, so hope all is not stuffed with Waeco..!
AnswerID: 206211

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:12

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 22:12
Same as mine, have had no trouble and was sitting in the 41c today out the back (Penrith NSW) and was still holding 2c set point no problems. Beers still on the verge of icing up just how I like em. Very happy with it. Last time we were up at the farm I ran on the hilux battery till the error light come on indicating low voltage ( I had the switch set to low voltage) and ran for 52 hours in roughly 36/37c every day. Thought that was pretty good so at least I know I can run it off the main battery if I have to over night with out any starting problems next day. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 466151

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:04

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:04
My 110L Waeco is sitting in the back of the Cruiser, and today the temp in the vehicle got to 54 degrees, while the fridge temp went from 1.1 to 5 degrees. I'm happy with a fridge that can cope with almost 50 degrees temperature gradient.

I would have bought an Engel originally but they don't make them big enough, so I went for the Waeco. Started with a recon unit but it wasn't up to scratch so I bought a new one and no problems at all. The Engel is off the wish list (too expensive, and warranty is the same - if it is so good, why doesn't it have a long warranty??)

Just my anything but humble opinion LOL
FollowupID: 466182

Reply By: tomjones83 - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:58

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 20:58
mate, i think it is pick of the batch.

sometimes you have luck and sometimes you dont.

my old man had several problems with an 40l engel. another mate of mine has a 60l engel and has never missed a beat.

I have a 110L waeco and am more than happy with it!!

Tom
AnswerID: 206224

Reply By: Member - Phillip S (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:06

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:06
Johnny....I have a 60L waeco for years and no trouble and I have just purchased a 50L and I expect no trouble with that one either...Most of my mates have the same and they are more than happy....We all agree we can all lift a fully loaded waeco with ease but not so if it is a engel, but they are just as good as a fridge only heavy.
regards Phil
AnswerID: 206230

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:09

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:09
People who have visited this forum bought two large Engels for food storage and a small Waeco for drinks. Guess which two new fridges went belly up on the CSR ? (must have been fun trying to survive on the csr with one tiny fridge ?)

So do I think that particular brand is rubbish in the bush ? Not at all. It's the luck of the draw.
AnswerID: 206232

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:21
"it was just the other day i mentioned on here that i brought 2 new Waeco fridges to make the wife happy "

ROTFLMAO.

What a pathetic TROLL.
AnswerID: 206237

Follow Up By: johnny - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:08

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:08
hey jimbo who are you calling

What a pathetic TROLL.

man blew me away when i read that
this is an open forum where people tell story's about things that have happen to them or other people in an open manner

and all you had to add was a pathetic answer

if you don't like what you read on here then go elsewhere
FollowupID: 466325

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 22:15

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 22:15
You've bagged a legitimate product and an advertiser here.

How about you tell us about the warranty backup you've received?

Did you actually contact your retailer who sold you the product?

Did you contact Waeco?

Or did you just come on here and have a tantrum?

Struth, it may just have been a blown fuse due to your own stupidity (I've done it myself and replaced a fuse).

That's why I suggested you were Trolling.

Try solving the problem first before you publically bag someone.
FollowupID: 466389

Follow Up By: johnny - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:18

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:18
who do you think you are maybe you work for waeco the way you seem to suck up there ass

you know nothing about me or what i have done to try and resole this situation

just for you as you seem to know every thing but know f**k all

no one has asked what was going on.. they have looked at it as yes its dead

the first thing i did was contact the retailer and yes i spoke to waeco a few times on this matter as they wanted to repair it and i didnt

and why would i after paying a lot of money for something that didnt work for no more that 2 days

probably not good enough for you ...you would fix it and do in your warranty

if you ask me you are the one with a hang up

i only came on here to tell people to maybe be aware of what seems to be a batch of faulty waeco fridges comming out

i dont make them so i cant help it if there product doesnt work thats all

next time why dont you ask before you go jumping down on people ,,, if you had asked i would have told you
FollowupID: 466525

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:55

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:55
Boring, Boring , Boring.
FollowupID: 466737

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:24

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:24
Hi Johnny

Sorry to hear about your Waeco.

I have owned the CF-80 for 5 years and only had it stop once but only after hitting a hole in the road somewhere west of Lightening Ridge. I expected to have a bent axle but the Waeco stopped in compression stroke or similar. It took about 3 hours to start up again but has not stopped since.

Waeco turned me down as a stockist but I was approved as a Engel and Evakool agent (Not generators). Shortly afterward Waeco started popping up at Supercxxxp and I have heard similar failure reports as well as yours.

I love my 12V fridges and also have a Engel compressor fridge in my van. They are great when working well and are good value for money.

I am looking into fridge direct imports and will shortly have it sorted. ;-)

Derek.
AnswerID: 206242

Reply By: cackles - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:37

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 21:37
We bought a cf-60 last year and had the powersupply repaired once and replaced twice in four months. I first asked for (and was denied) a new fridge however with persistance I ended up with a new one which is working well thus far.

The ACCCt site helped me persuade him. Good luck.

cackles
AnswerID: 206246

Reply By: Mad Dog - Vic - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 23:32

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 23:32
Gee not again, Waeco sure have a lot of bad luck with their gear.
AnswerID: 206272

Reply By: ross - Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 23:42

Tuesday, Nov 21, 2006 at 23:42
My new CF50 is getting fixed and Waeco have already told me that some of them have a bad rectifier.
However they made it painless and easy to return it and that is what I will judge them on in the long term.
Who hasnt had a brand new appliance that let them down? You soon forget it if you get good service ,its when it drags on and you feel they have taken your money that gets remembered
AnswerID: 206274

Reply By: Ron George - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:37

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 00:37
Bought a Engel 35L back in 1980... still goin strong!!! mate bought an Engel.. Errrr big bugger, dunno what size but cost him bout $1800 it played up worse than a second hand lawn mower... in/out for repairs, warranty hassels, got jack of it all & took a power metal saw to it... & chopped the compressor section off it, she`s now a very expensive ESKY...double bugger.
Cheers Ron.
AnswerID: 206288

Follow Up By: johnny - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:19

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:19
you have got to be joking after 1800 bucks i would never chop it up

unless it was in a fit of wage lol
FollowupID: 466328

Follow Up By: johnny - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:20

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:20
sorry that was supposed to a fit of rage
FollowupID: 466329

Follow Up By: Ron George - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 22:22

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 22:22
G/day John, what can I say! the mate had exhausted all avenues, & yeah I`m thinkin he was a tad P/Off, & knowing the mate the Engel got off lightly, I`m surprized it didn`t become part of the space program via a copeious amount of explosive substance... but any anway an esky she is...Hope you have better luck.
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 466393

Reply By: crewser - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 10:09

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 10:09
my new cf50 spent 4 weeks in and out off repair shop with nothing but bad attitude from there local repairer, this is after 3 phone calls to wako, had to put my complaint in writing before I got anywhere with them. I finely had enough and demanded a new fridge the one they replaced it with was worse than the first one (would not run at all), after more calls to wako was told thers no more the could do for me as the repairer said new one works fine(total bs). I know is a Nissan/toyota ford/holden type of thing on this site but wako are winning hands down in the piece of crap fridge debate.
seems to be alot of people here have had wakos for years and the run fine It seems wako have got a qulity issue in the last few years.
AnswerID: 206342

Reply By: Members - Bow - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 14:50

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 14:50
I just bought a new Waeco, had it back to the local Waeco agent.
The agent told me he makes a lot of money out Warranty repairs
AnswerID: 206382

Follow Up By: crewser - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 16:45

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 16:45
when I took mine to there repairer there were 4 other wakos sitting on the floor waiting repairs.
FollowupID: 466320

Reply By: johnny - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:43

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 17:43
wow what a response

well i have learned why the engal and waeco cost so much
its to pay for all the repairs that come back

the scales seems to tip in engal favour on this forum i think
AnswerID: 206414

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 20:58

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 20:58
Hi Johnny
I do not think the cost factor has anything do do with the repair issue. As I can only comment on Engel, the only problem that we have had from our shop point of view were a few new Engel's with faulty batteries for the temperature display. This DOES NOT effect the running of the fridge, as Engel were supplied a faulty batch of batteries. We were sent new Batteries from Engel for our customers concerned. Even if a customer had to go out and purchase a new battery off their own back, I do not think that $1.50 would break anyone's wallet.

Sure we have had fridges in for repairs, mostly due to the way some people treat their equipment. Anything that is man made will never be perfect, but some products will be better and more reliable than others.

I still think that they are the BEST fridge. I have owned an Engel for over 15 years, well before I ever thought that I would one day sell them, and yes, it is still going as strong as the day that I took delivery of it. I also have a new 40 litre as well, and so far is living up to the Engel name.

It is always great to get people's point of view on a forum like this. I feel there are a few people still making false statements, just to see the comments of other people.

Like you said, it has been very interesting.

I do hope personally that you do have your fridge back in use soon.

All the Best

Who has been here

FollowupID: 466373

Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 20:13

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 20:13
Well a quick add up of the failures of both fridges mentioned during this thread.
Result.......Engel.. 8 failures.. Waeko..16 failures (make of that what you will ;-)
In our club where the number of owners with either fridge are about the same, Waeko seem to have far more Warrenty & repairs required particually in the short term. Several Engel owners have had complete failures after around 15 years or so & quite a few with broken power leads due to packing gear around them.
Your experience Johnny with the repairer saying there are heaps being returned is exactly what I've heard from else where. Rather than people doubting your words & trying to justify their purchase of a Waeko by saying how great they are, maybe this should be seen as a warning as there very well may be a bad batch coming through for whatever reason. Buyer beware!
Cheers Craig.............
73 Litre Autofridge......... given a pounding for 16 years.
AnswerID: 206433

Reply By: johnny - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:37

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:37
hello to all who have replied to this forum

i just wanted to say that it is not my intension to bag waeco or engal i was just making a statement. a statement which i felt at the time was true and still feel its is true

as it said at the top,
it was just the other day i mentioned on here that i brought 2 new Waeco fridges to make the wife happy

yes i was not happy it only worked for a couple of days like it said i spend a couple of grand on 2 car fridges im sure most people would not be happy

i only said what the waeco repair place had said

i am not trolling or what ever that is on here

AnswerID: 206555

Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:59

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 17:59
Have you explored whether you can give them the fridges back and ask for a refund...I mean two days, they fail and the warranty guy admits they have a fault??

AnswerID: 206557

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:27

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:27
Talk with "Consumer Affairs" or the equivalent authority in your state...

There are actually state laws relating to 'repair/replacement' of (some) electrical items.

I won't get into the actual testing of 12v fridges prior to delivery :-)
AnswerID: 206704

Reply By: ross - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 01:36

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 01:36
I was speaking to the contractor tha replaced the rectifier in mine today.
He has been fixing mainly waecos and engals for 15 years and he says neither is better or worse thsan the other.

AnswerID: 206792