Nissan Patrol hubs

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:11
ThreadID: 39696 Views:2239 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
G'day all,

I have a 1995 RX Nissan Patrol. I want to fit Gu hubs (because I can get some auto hubs cheap) does anyone know if they are the same?? The RX model Patrols have a different hub to the older GQ Patrols. any help would be much appreciated

Lawrence

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:18

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:18
they should fit but you will will need every thing from the gu from the end of the outer wheel bearings foward
stardard hubs run 2 nuts with a star washer ect to hold wheel bearing in auto hubs run 1 nut and a plate that you line up and put 2 screws in.
theres also a difference in some where the circlip set up is.
if you can get the whole set up you shouldnt have a problem.
some late gq actaully run gu hubs.
AnswerID: 206449

Reply By: desert - Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:30

Wednesday, Nov 22, 2006 at 21:30
They would have to be very cheap auto hubs to bother with. Can't beat AVM's for strength and they are not expensive.
AnswerID: 206456

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 01:45

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 01:45
I'll second that.
FollowupID: 466434

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:28

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:28
>>Can't beat AVM's for strength

ya think?
FollowupID: 466590

Reply By: rjrats - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:16

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:16
Lawrence,
I would stick with your old ones as have heard the gu have some problems some times, one of my mate has trouble with his not unlocking properly. That said I have never had any trouble with mine (touch wood).
Cheers Jamie
AnswerID: 206572

Reply By: mechpete - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:30

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:30
gooday Lawrence
I have a 6/97 GQ RX and it come new with auto hubs ,ya may be able to find some of those ,don,t take any notice of the experts that say they are rubbish , my vehicle has done the CSR, Simpson and heaps of dirt and sand and i run mine in auto all the time ,never had a problem.
cheers mechpete.
AnswerID: 206607

Reply By: Sam013 - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:40

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:40
Thanks to all, I will give these a go, cant go wrong, only $40 dollars for the pair, they have done only 60,000 kms from new....

Lawrence
AnswerID: 206646