Dual Axle Camper Trailer

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 06:37
ThreadID: 39702 Views:9791 Replies:12 FollowUps:8
Morning All,

What would be the benefits of getting a dual axled camper trailer in comparision to a single, I am wondering as the company that is making my offroad trailer do a dual axled camper it weighes about 1200kg empty, but is wonderfully balanced and easy to tow. I took their demo model for a spin in the X Trail of all vehicles. From what they said it is about 4 to 5 inches longer than a Kimberly camper and has more storage.
It is made by Coota Campers in Cootamundra, I haven't actually seen one on the road apart from theirs.

Any comments,
I would be intrested in hearing what opinions are out there. I think that it would restrict you a fair bit to the locations you could go just on the weight factor.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 06:38

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 06:38
Sorry I forgot the site link,

www.cootacampers.com.au

Kev

AnswerID: 206484

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:09

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:09
Kev M,

Looks like a good quality Camper. My only thing would be more tyre means more tyres to replace and more chances of a puncture. Otherwise it looks pretty good.....Good luck either way you go....I would stick to single if it was me.....
AnswerID: 206488

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:25

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:25
Teabag,

I'm not actually after a camper. I just have them building my offroad trailer single axle.

I was just wondering as they said that it would be able to be balanced on three wheels if the need arose.

Thanks for the feedback.

Kev

FollowupID: 466459

Reply By: Tyreplus4x4 - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:12

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:12
Five Star Camper have been trying to sell a dual axle coota camper for the past 18 months they can't sell it give them a call on 02 49479999 they should be able to fill you in on any info you need they are K/Kamper distributors.

Regards George.
AnswerID: 206489

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:23

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:23
Kevin

Dual axle trailer can

1. Carry more stuff...lol
2. Is better balanced
3. Tows a lot better
4. Is much easier to reverse
5. May need to carry extra spare(but not essential)

There is a member here who has a dual axle trailer. Could be Member Ed C. Not sure.

Personally I would go for it as it will handle much better over most terrain.

AnswerID: 206490

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 10:16

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 10:16
Yep, what he said;-))))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 466470

Reply By: Gronk - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:27

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 08:27
Big and heavy !!! Apart from that probably a nice trailer.
AnswerID: 206491

Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:51

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 11:51
Depends a bit on how much you need to move the trailer by hand. Dual axles are considerably more difficult to turn etc by hand, especially when loaded up. I'd try moving/turning one by hand before I made the decision. Can you get it into your parking spot without having to take it off the vehicle?
AnswerID: 206507

Reply By: Barnesy - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:42

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 12:42
Sounds heavy, how would it go on sand with that weight considering you would add another few hundred kg?

Apart from that you would think it would ride better than a single axle.
AnswerID: 206514

Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:21

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 14:21
G'day Kev
1200 kg empty is bloody heavy.
Will obviously carry a heap more weight - but how much would you want to cart around?
The more the weight the less steep the hills (offroad) you'll be able to climb.
Fuel consumption will be higher.
Wear and tear on tow vehicle will be higher.
Single axles may not tow as well but they tow OK.
Single axles may not be reversed as easy but they reverse OK (with a long draw bar).
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 206521

Reply By: Discovery-Dave - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:03

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:03
With all the advantages of a duel axle just dont forget :
1. the extra drag
2. the extra weight
3. the extra parts to break
4. the limitations it will put on where you go
5. the extra fuel
For the precious little net weight you gain , IMHO you loose too much of everything else , try and stick to the lightest trailer possible.If you need to carry more ,get an aluminum trailer made.
Thats my 2 bob's worth
AnswerID: 206539

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:04

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:04
Kev,
I looked closely at the Coota Camper when we were in the market. They seem to be a great piece of kit.
Main reason we went elsewhere was weight. I figured we would quickly build the weight up to 1800KG, or even 2000KG, which for our intended purpose was way too heavy. Filling the water tanks alone would add 250 KG from memory, and what's the use of buying the capacity if you never use it!

If you are planning on towing with your Triton, you might consider the weight issue further. Sure, the vehicle is rated to handle it, but you are buying a trailer capable of very rough off road travel. That's a heap tougher on the tow vehicle than on road touring.

If you are happy with the weight, they seem to be built tough.

Good luck,
Norm C

AnswerID: 206540

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:23

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:23
Norm,

The towing with the Triton would be out of the question, but I'm trying to convince the purse holder into buying a new 4by.

A camper may well be down the track as just an offraod standard box trailer is the go ATM.

Was just interested in opinions of dual axle conpared to singles.

FollowupID: 466514

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:05

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:05
1200 kg empty is heavy.
Must be set up for carrying a heavy load. Did you see what it's GTM is?
The dual axle car trailer I borrow off a friend would maybe be half that weight empty, and we tow up to and including landcruisers with it.

Only real advantage I can see is the load carrying capacity and maybe an advantage in sand in distributing the load over the sand with four tyres and not two.

Wouldn't really expect to take it my750kg CT would go.
Must have longer overhangs, wider, and more weight to tug up a dirt hill with the same amount of traction from the 4wd.

My CT travels only half full now on a trip, some one must have a lot of gear to carry.
AnswerID: 206541

Reply By: Tony - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:20

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 16:20
I have a Coota Camper in Dual Axle, yes it is heavy when fully loaded, around the 1700kg on our last 4 month trip. Tow's like a dream, track is the same width as the GU.

On Bribe Is, no worries at all in the sand, left the camper tyres at road pressure, 30psi, and all you could see behind was one set of wheel tracks. No feeling of drag.

So far had no problems in the off road department it went where we wanted to go, backs and turns quite easy.

They make a single axle one as well as the dual. The 2006 one in the new single axle is a bit smaller but the same high standard of build.

More than happy with my choice of camper.
AnswerID: 206545

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:22

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 19:22
Off topic,which campsite on Bribie ,1-64 did you use ?
FollowupID: 466541

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:05

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 20:05
I am actually getting the suspension that they do for the 2006 single axle camper put on my custom built box trailer. It is at the powder coaters at the moment so hopefully they get it done and ready for my trip to QLD early next month.

Kev

FollowupID: 466548

Follow Up By: Sarcophilus harrisii - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:46

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:46
Hi Kev

For what it's worth, I've been on a few Bourke Police Treks along with Jim and his family. I've seen 1st hand the pracability of the design/s and how they travel over considerable distances and terrain and I can't fault them if you want a larger size set up. The bigger size and storage area also frees up the vehicle of a lot of unnessacary carting of gear when at your location. I reckon you made a good choice of builder,

Andy

PS, Say gidday from Peter and Andy Wise, Bourke Trekkers
FollowupID: 466577

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 06:13

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 06:13
Hi Andy,

I'm hoping that I'll have it before I get your Box LOL.
But at least I'll have a good trailer for the next Appin Clean Up Day!!!

I'll call you when it comes in but at this stage it will still be the date I MM you.

I am having a Discogram on my back on Thursday, to see how badly ruptured the disc is so I think I'm going to be a bit sorry and sore for myself again. I may have to shoot through to Coota one arvo after work early next week to pick it up and do a red eye to get back to work on time.

FollowupID: 466617

Follow Up By: Tony - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:06

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:06
Alloy c/t, one of the northern end ones suitable for large campers. We had a Coromal Seka Off Road C/van with us. It took some turning around in the very soft sand at the camp site and was just enough room for the two of us.

Getting off the beach required 10psi all round for the van.
FollowupID: 466636