Quad Bike's Is there a futcher in them here in Australia

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:46
ThreadID: 39718 Views:10054 Replies:12 FollowUps:38
Gidday All

What are you thought's on the Quad Bike's here in Australia

From what i have seen on youtube all Americans do is ride them through mud best if mud is 3 foot deep of course.

They seem to be banned on Fraser and Moreton also.

Regard's Shane

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:54

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 21:54
They are really popular on farms etc . Great for shooting pigs in the NT .
AnswerID: 206599

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:30

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 00:30
Great for chasing pigs most places :))))
FollowupID: 466604

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:55

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 01:55
and wombats in se gippsland!!!
FollowupID: 466612

Reply By: Hard Yaka - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:02

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:02
I'm up north of W.A i few mates have Quads and enjoy them Believe it or not Quards are harder to ride for a long period of time that is if you go for like a raptor or banshee or something in those lines i ride both and still prefer my 2 wheel unless u will be riding it around alot of soft dirt then u can have alot more fun up here is rock country so u need to navigate the wheel spacing because the rear disc brake and sprocket clearance

But hey either way you will have fun on anything thats fast and throws up dirt
AnswerID: 206602

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:07

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 22:07
Since when has Youtube and/or America been the authority on what is acceptable usage in Australia?

They have their uses, not for all situations, not for all users (eg. not generally for kids etc), not fully road registered (may be able to obtain limited registration) etc.

Why do you ask?

AnswerID: 206603

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:04

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:04
methinks this is a Troll.
check his screen name.
meow.

rick,
FollowupID: 466586

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:52

Thursday, Nov 23, 2006 at 23:52
No troll here ?
FollowupID: 466596

Follow Up By: turbopete - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:36

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 12:36
wat is a troll please
FollowupID: 466656

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:53

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:53
since Thursday, November 23, 2006 at 20:46 it seems

a troll is a post put up to elicit either negative of copious amounts of responses, e.g. Nissans are crap! My toyota just pulled one out of a glacier....... etc

FollowupID: 466808

Reply By: V64Runner - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:49

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 02:49
Personally, I think they are a bloody nuisance, noisy and dangerous. They should be banned from public places, beaches and other recreational areas where there are children playing. 99% of all quad bike users seem to have little or no regard to public safety ,let alone their own. Only the Surf Lifesavers should be allowed to have them for rescue missions. These are not toys but lethal weapons. Farmers should be granted a permit for use on their farmlands and not on public roads. Police should be more vigilant with the view to prosecuting these menacing noisy contraptions that one day will kill or maim somebody
AnswerID: 206647

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:35

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:35
you would be surprised to know that they do indeed kill several people per year and injure many more..........children seem to be the main victims.

Up this way, there is at least one major accident with Quad bikes, predominantely involving kids on farms.

Whilst they are potentially dangerous items, they do have their uses and should not be considered "just for surf lifesavers". (in Qld at least) They are not road registered and cannot be used on any roads. To say that 99% of users have no regard for public safety is rather misleading, similar to saying 99% of 4wds owners are wreckless and are out there to destroy the environment.

By all means be vigilant in prosecuting their illegal usage, and possibly increase the safety standards of the bikes themselves, however don't think that they don't have a valid use.

FollowupID: 466620

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:39

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:39
Hmmm V64runner. Same could be said about 4wds LOL
FollowupID: 466622

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:46

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 07:46
Great bit of gear, and have lots of uses on rural properties. Back when it used to rain, I carted 3 big opal miners back to their camp, through conditions that would have left a 4wd bogged in the first swamp.

BUT they are dangerous in the hands of an untrained/inexperienced individual, and are rapidly overtaking 2wd tractors as the principal cause of death in rural areas.

Tend to agree with the comment above, that it's easier to ride a 2 wheel bike in most circumstances, except in soft going.

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 466623

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:57

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:57
Talking about accidents on quads , I was on the back of one holding a .243 when we bounced over a big hole at slow speed . One leg went down to the ground and the driver then proceeded to accelerate up it . Couldn't get a shoe on for a month .

I think a lot of the accidents are when they tip over backwards on steep slopes .

Willie .
FollowupID: 466639

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:52

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 14:52
Re Andrews comment about quads not being road registerable.

In Qld, quads are able to be registered under a concessional category. This gives one 3rd party cover, and the ability to drive ALONG, or across roads legally, but not necessarily on the road surface.. There are heaps of other restrictions to do with this rego, but it is useful for registering graders, loaders etc, as well as farm bikes, that often need to negotiate/cross public roads.

On accidents again, one make of quad would tip over sideways, if driven in reverse while turning to one side. No doubt the maker would have rectified this fault on later models??

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 466678

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:17

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:17
Actually i said "not fully road registered" ;-) though thanks Bob for further clarifying the registration process. I didn't realise graders, loaders etc fitted into this category.....i always imagined them as having a normal license plate category.

FollowupID: 466680

Reply By: Zig-n-Zag - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:42

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:42
These may have a use on certain areas but not on public access areas by unlicensed person or children.

Getting to see more of these in Beachport (SA) area along with bikes with paddle tyres (also illegal on the public lands) and the drivers/riders of these do a lot of damage to the vegetation as there appears to be an attitude that the dunes are not owned by anyone so we can go flat out whereever they feel like it. WRONG!!

These need to be road registered and the riders need to be licensed. The ongoing and increasing use of these in National Parks is whats causing a lot of flack and potentially going to lead to park restrictions being imposed on all of us.

Off the soap box now.

AnswerID: 206675

Follow Up By: 666toy - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 11:48

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 11:48
c mon mate we gotta give the kids somewhere to play . if they make it only licensed people can ride these things its not really fair . after all we all like a bit of fun in the sand & mud . if you take a 4wd there then it should apply for a bike or quad as well (off road stuff) don't forget Australia is a big place & everyone deserves a go in the sand & mud fair go for every one ....personally i ride bikes & love to 4wd & go tripping (& no i don't believe in being a Richard cranium when others might be in danger ) but i emphasize that EVERYONE deserves to enjoy themselves young & old. just my thoughts mate....666toy
FollowupID: 466801

Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:08

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:08
I sometimes wonder how you'd go taking a quad through the dunes . . . simply because when you register them, you have to nominate the area in which they're gong to be used (ie what sections of public road you need to access/cross etc).

I would be very surprised if I could register a bike and nominate 'Canunda National Park' as an area for use (particularly as a primary producer!), so I suspect any quads floating around the dunes are not registered to be there.

Could be wrong though!!
FollowupID: 467028

Reply By: V64Runner - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:54

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 10:54
In my doting old age, now that I have retired from then work force, my family adn I went up to Wedge Island North of Perth. For some members of my family it was their very first time and at 83 years og age,my dear mother-in-law was vey nearly hit by one of these idiots on a quad bike. Rode right through our little picnic area with scant regard for us ldies sitting there admiring the scenery and havong a quiet Sunday minding our business when these numbskull came roaring through the dunes and scatered all our crocxkery etc. It really put a damper on the whole day. And talk about the noise from this infernal machine. A hand grenade lobbed in the right direction would have put paid to both the idiot and the infernal contraption that could have killed anyone of us. BAn then from the beaches and public parks and bush walking trails. Or Set fire to the whole bloody lot of them
AnswerID: 206678

Follow Up By: Roddesh - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:55

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:55
It seems that you're using the same logic with this that a lot of people use to vilify 4WD's... "I once saw a d.ckhead in a 4WD so they should all be banned".

If every class of vehicle that I'd seen a d.ckhead operating was banned it'd be a long walk to get anywhere...
FollowupID: 466671

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:58

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 13:58
Having a bad day V6????

FollowupID: 466672

Follow Up By: V64Runner - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:11

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:11
No MUZBRY, Iam having a wonderful day. Retirement was the best thing that ever happened. My life is no longer ruled by the clock, a company that tells you when to start work, what time you can go home , how much they will pay you . how long you can have time off for lunch, when you can go on leave and for how long. Now I can go where ever I like without having to grovel to some one in management about taking leave to go on holiday. if I want to go over seas to visit a different country for several months, I pack my suite case, make my travel plans and I`m gone . While the rest of you are slaving away for some company in a job you disslike and cant wait for the time to go home each day . Dread getting up on Monady morning to face the rat race once again. Thank God I no longer have anything like that to worry about. So again in answer to your question Am I having a bad day the answer is most certainly not !!
FollowupID: 466679

Reply By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:16

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 15:16
Of course, Americans don't have farms so these monstrosities are only required by silly people who bother putting videos up on YouTube because other silly idiots go there to watch.

Sheesh!..................
AnswerID: 206712

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:36

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 21:36
HMMMMM!

"Monstrosities" "Silly people"

So my 9+ year old on a 90cc 2wd quad under adult supervision has no right to ride his quad, just in case it bothers someone who may be having a bad day??
FollowupID: 466733

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 22:25

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 22:25
I'm being facetious Ozrover.

How does my post start off? It should give you a clue...
FollowupID: 466742

Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:37

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 12:37
So, Sarcasm being the lowest form of humour, get off the ground. : )>

You & the yank farmer coming around for a beer this arvo or what??
FollowupID: 466806

Follow Up By: Member - Omaroo (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 09:03

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 09:03
LOL! Now how come you never told us you were on here? Sorry about the beer - I didn't see your post until this morning. You around today (Sunday)?
FollowupID: 466908

Reply By: russ36 - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 16:41

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 16:41
quads are no different to bull bars, guns and whisky......fantastic when used responsibly.....no need to ban them just because of a few idiots who can cause disaster whatever they touch
AnswerID: 206721

Reply By: 666toy - Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:23

Friday, Nov 24, 2006 at 23:23
Quads are heaps of fun .Very useful for traversing hard to reach areas . No more dangerous than a bike. Great for hunting . Extremely useful on the farm mustering , fencing , weed spraying etc... .Keep the kids entertained for ever . & will go places a 4x4 just cant no matter how many mods are done to it.....666toy
AnswerID: 206777

Reply By: Member - steve H (QLD) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 00:25

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 00:25
hi hows it goin my dad showed me this topic as i ride a qoad bike.i ride every weekend and i have more recpect for other people then any1 else who rides a 2wheel bike.i dont ride my bike on public roads or anywhere i not aloud too i cant rember the last time i heard on the news that someone had died riding a quad bike but you allways here about people dying on two wheel bikes. i think the big worry is these thumpsters they are dangerous as and newsons thay are twice as loud as my bkike and there everywere on public roads in parks carparks i cant tell you the last time i went a full day and did not see one thumpster thanks
AnswerID: 206784

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 01:00

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 01:00
you raise some good points, come to think of it the only motobike deaths that I can recall in the west relate to the two wheeled variety.

but alas, as with all things fun there is a minority that taints the majority.

You sound like a good kid, with a great attitude- dont lose it!!

have fun and enjoy what you do

Mike W
FollowupID: 466775

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 09:21

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 09:21
The National Coroners Information System (NCIS) has identified as part of it's analysis of data provided by each State Coroners Office, several trends which are concern, one being Quad Bike accidents. From a report into the benefits of this system:

==================================================

The value of the NCIS as a hazard identification tool was demonstrated by the Victorian State Coroner in 2002, who used the NCIS to identify that over a period of a little more than 2 years, there had been at least 20 quad bike deaths across Australia (excluding Queensland). The results of this national search, prompted by the recent deaths of 2 Victorians after a quad bike accident, persuaded the coroner to hold a mention hearing to discuss the danger of quad bikes.

Warnings about the dangers of Quad Bikes have subsequently been issued by WorkCover, and studies of the injury rate for quad bikes in Victoria and nationwide are being considered. A joint inquest is also to be held in Victoria regarding some of the Quad Bike deaths.

That fact that these warnings were issued within a fortnight of the initial search request highlights the immediacy of the benefits that the NCIS can provide in terms of death and injury prevention.

In July 2004, an accredited TAFE training course was developed in Tasmania for farmers, who can now enrol in the 3-tiered program to increase awareness and safety concerning the use of Quad Bikes. To be provided by Stay Upright, figures from the NCIS helped build a case for the creation of this course when it identified 57 Quad Bike related deaths has occurred in Australia since July 2000.

=================================================

57 deaths between 2000 and 2004! WOW, i knew the statistics were several per year, however 10+ per annum seems to be quite a problem, considering the relatively low usage numbers.

I agree that they can be fun, and that they do have their uses, however after studying several quad bike accidents involving kids seriously injured up here, one wonders if there is something we can do to make them more safe for their enjoyment.

FollowupID: 466909

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 17:41

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 17:41
It all comes down to common sense . what your saying is correct but people get killed coming off horses riding a pushbike or just out bushwalking it does not take a gov department to educate us. It is up to the individual who is being taught to observe the dangers of these machines . if the individual refuses to take heed then you take your life into your own hands . for example it is nearly impossible to ware a skid lid when sitting behind a mob of cattle or sheep putting along at 10kph in 40+ heat (i know i have tried it) but you are very unlikely to have a accident doing this . however if you are mustering then it is a must to wear a skid lid because your speed can & will be a lot higher & the terrain can change rapidly (eg hidden stumps , washouts etc ) this is only my opinion . as for kids rideing these rigs i do believe there needs to be parental guidance but no matter how hard you try they will eventually like to have a little "circle work" at some stage . we cant wrap them up in cotton wool but we can explain the dangers & the importance of wearing the correct rideing gear & the results of what will happen if they don't. i am not sure but i believe horses & motorbike's have killed far more than quads per capita .
i do believe in training but it still comes down to the individual at the end of the day as to weather the person takes heed or not. i personally believe they are no more dangerous than a motor bike when proper safety gear is worn & a little common sense comes into play....not wanting to get into a argument with you just trying to put to you another point of view. ....666toy
FollowupID: 466957

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 18:31

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 18:31
Thanks for the follow-up.....whilst the figures are disturbing, what it doesn't show is the breakdown of causes of death. IF these deaths are caused by issues with the equipment itself (eg steering failures, unsafe/inadequate brake systems etc) then i believe we need to do something about it. One death caused by poor manufacturing is one death too many in my opinion. Whilst i agree that we need to make sure that we don't over-regulate our enjoyment to death, i still see lots of recreational quad bike riders not wearing any sort of protective equipment based on sound risk assessments ie riding in very steep rocky terrain up here with no helmet.

Thanks for your point of view 666toy. No argument here as it is your opinion and i respect that.......

FollowupID: 466966

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:09

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:09
Thanks Andrew,
to my knowledge all of the name brand quads are made with a very high standard in mind (eg honda yamaha etc.) though a lot of ex china quads are comeing on the market & as a mechanic i would have these banned tomorrow they can be very dodgy in manufacture (but to be fair i have seen some very good units as well for the price ) & i have seen moter bikes (50cc) snap in half & wheels fall off quads so there is some merit there to regulate the import of these . i agree 1 death because of bad manufacturing is not to be tolerated. Alas i too have seen these clowns without safety gear on . what can you do though . they know the risk . banning the product is not going to stop it . fines ? -really dont work. education is the key & education starts at home. all comes back to something the gov really does not understand.....COMMON SENCE..might see ya on the track one day i hope might be in the L/C or could be the cr500 honda ....666toy
FollowupID: 466971

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:30

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:30
As long as it isn't head-on around a blind corner ;-)

FollowupID: 466976

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:31

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:31
no worries there mate lol
FollowupID: 466983

Reply By: Hard Yaka - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:26

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 19:26
I think alot of people have blown quads out a bit to far if you wanna look at the deaths they cause why not look at the death drugs or suicide or depresion causes

For little kids they should be supervised when riding them and if the parents have strict rules for them and follow through with it if they abuse the bikes

I have 3 quads and four 2 wheels bikes all my kids ride and even my 2 1/2 yr old boy knows how to ride propely and not to be stupid around people

Last time we packed it all up for a holiday to Leeming everyone riding on the beach having fun when idoits in 4x4's come around cutting sick on the beach

so instead of saying 90% of people in 4x4's are reckless drivers and they reck it for the rest of us I went over to them and told them to back off a bit because of the kids plus what damage it does to the dunes etc .......... Believe it or not i got a apolgy and they left. so if you see people being stupid on anything just have some balls and confront them instead assuming all users are like that and have have no respect for other

Thats my wise tip for the Year ............
AnswerID: 206983

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:47
i agree totally ,
only prob i have with that is i to after having a little fun with the lads a real hoon started having some circle work where the lads were playing on there bikes . i confronted this tool & he took a swing at me needles to say i had to "defend myself" so then i had to call the ambulance for this clown. i was given a suspended sentence & a lovely fine . what i am getting at is if you confront these clowns just be prepared to follow through....make of it what you will ...666toy
FollowupID: 466987

Follow Up By: Hard Yaka - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 02:14

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 02:14
yep very true i hear what you say and yep there are some realy idiots out there that do wreck it for others....... but they will one day look back and see it happening to themselfs or kids but it is a shame that people think like that i remeber when i was a kid we use to be able to ride down to the beach with the swag and fishing rods and camp all night without any hassels from anyone

Anyhow everyone have a Good Xmas off on holidays in 5 days

FollowupID: 467022