And while we are talking tyres...........................................LOL

Submitted: Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 14:24
ThreadID: 39762 Views:3457 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
I fitted my set of Eldorado ZTR 265x75x16 on Speedie rims to the Datto today.

Left over against the wall of my garage are:

5x Cooper STT 265x75x16 on 3 spoke alloys, with plenty of tread but stuffed sidewalls...good for bitumen or some gravel travel

8x Dunlop Road Grippers on splits 7.50x16 in various stages of wear.

4x MRF M77 14ply used crossplies for use on trailer at later stage

2xDunlop Road Grippers on splits 7.50x16 for Offroad Trailer

AND I have 5x MRF Super Miler 7.50x16 12ply on order from local tyre bloke.

The accumulation of tyres was not by design but mainly by accident......

Anyway, shouldn't have to buy tyres for about 10 years at least.....LOL

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 14:35

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 14:35
Strewth mate, my tyre story seems very tame by comparison, but here goes.....

This relates to the small pneumatic tyre on the jocky wheel of my camper trailer. I got sick of it always being low on pressure and today I tried an experiment with it. Alas, I think I wasted my time.
I took the valve out (with the tyre and tube still in situ on the wheel) and once the small amount of air had been expelled, I used a can of expanding foam to partially fill the tube. The intension was to make the whole thing into a sort of "solid" tyre so I wouldn't have to worry about it anymore.

Experiment is not over yet, so will have to wait and see what happens after the foam hardens.

Has anybody else tried this?

Sorry for being off your topic Willie, but I didn't think my experiment was worthy of a post of it's own....lol
AnswerID: 206841

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 14:52

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 14:52
Hey Bill....you hiding in the cool of the house as well...lol. It is 37 under the back verandah here in the sticks.

I did almost exactly what you did with my wheelbarrow wheel. I cut a sleeve out, fitted it over the tube and then filled the tube with green gunk and have not had a puncture in 7 years.

My trailer jockey wheel tyre is a tad worse for wear mainly due to my own fault by loading too much stuff on the drawbar and trying to push the trailer around the yard for a variety of reasons...lol

Are changing tyres over from the GU to the MONSTER when it arrives, or going to buy a new set?
FollowupID: 466820

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:56

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:56
Changing over mate.....new one has mags (yuk) and blurry Bridgestones (I think that's what they are). (yuk again).......anyway I have 9 matching sunraysias for the Patrol and camper, so wanna keep them all the same.
FollowupID: 466866

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 17:43

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 17:43
Strewth, all I've got is a set of skinny tyres on split rims........but then I am not "retired" yet..........boom boom.

Warm here too Willem.......would be nice to go North for some cool...lol lol

Michael
AnswerID: 206863

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:20

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:20
Boom Boom...Go back to work.you....hahahaha
FollowupID: 466856

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 18:41

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 18:41
Is there a good reason why the only ones with "stuffed sidewalls" are the Coopers?
AnswerID: 206867

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:21

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:21
Yes...they are not suitable for bush work i.e. 4x4 driving in rough terrain.

An expensive lesson.......................
FollowupID: 466857

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 18:49
Hi Willem,

I Notice you have the 7.50 X 16 sp road grippers there. How have you found them overall?, I use them on a Landy work ute, & must say there been pretty good for the price.

AnswerID: 206868

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:26

Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 21:26
Hi Axle

I have only had these a short while(2nds). They came with the rims I have acquired. In a previous life however I used them extensively and they would give 40,000km on bitumen and gravel roads. When my crossplies arrive I will be discarding the Road Grippers...but they have minimal wear left anyhow.

FollowupID: 466858

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 13:58

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 13:58
Would not reccomend Road Grippers on 750/16 splits.O.K. performance but poor mileage compared to other brands which give better allround performance.As I said before I am a Hankook fan on splits---tried and tested over all conditions with good results.
AnswerID: 206947

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 14:21

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 14:21
Rambler

I know Ive asked before but here goes again

are the Hankooks 7.50R16? or metric? if so what size?

do you have the modal name and number?

we're coming up for a new set

FollowupID: 466930

Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:39

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 20:39
Richard,
Sorry but should have replied to you sooner.The Hankooks Ihave been using are L.T.235/85/16 A.T.They are a bit wider than the standard 750/16 but fit straight on to the standard split rim.Iget about 65000-70000kms out of them and they have stood up to very hard going with a stronger side wall.I am about to get 4 new ones for my next trip to Cape York and those are the tyres Iwill be using.Either I have been very lucky over the years or they must be very good tyres.Remember also I am a believer in higher tyre pressures on splits especially with heavy load-3.2t on the Troopy.Irun 50-55 on the back and 45-50 on the front depending on conditions and down to 18 in the sand.Hope this helps but remember it's just my experience.
AnswerID: 206998

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:53

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:53
Thanks Rambler

I did not get the e-mail because of the follow up

Ps have copied and pasted into word this time and printed it

just got to remember were I file it LOL...
FollowupID: 467176

Reply By: Nick R - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:18

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:18
Willie, that's nothin!!!!!
We have thousands here we can buy em for about $600 per semi, many diferent sizes too. although they are all in varying states of being stuffed
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 207273