2001 Nissan Patrol 3.0l Engine Failure
Submitted: Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 18:45
BushMark
On 16th November my 2001 Nissan Patrol 3.0 litre engine failed. It had 109,123 km on the clock and was just 6 months out of the extended warranty. We were just 10 km from home, fully loaded with camper trailer in tow, and were on our way to
Coral Bay for a week. We had just reached cruising speed when the engine went bang, car started shaking, and smoke galore was billowing out the back. Armed with knowledge gained from this
forum, I had a fairly good idea what the problem was. After making a few changes to our holiday plans, I rang Val Davis to discuss what options we had. Because we live in the heart of “The
Pilbara”, it took some time to evaluate where to send it. In the end we decided the best option, and surprisingly the cheapest, was to send it to
Perth. Once in
Perth it was compression tested, then stripped and assessed where they found a hole in no. 3 & 4 pistons. The initial offer of repair by Nissan Australia was fairly poor, they would supply new pistons, rings and gaskets, and I was to pay for labour. I am still in discussions with Nissan now trying and improve on this. Most of the discussions however have been with Val at Nissan Australia as I get the feeling the Nissan dealership doesn’t really want to go into bat for me on this.
Reply By: joc45 - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 19:46
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 19:46
Hi Bushmark,
Sorry to hear of your travails.
I suffered the 5th gear problem on the Nullarbor, but fortunately, I was till within the extended warranty, so Nissan came to the party. The 24-hour assist was partly useful, but would have come nowhere near covering for accommodation and fares if the gearbox had been fixed in
Esperance or Kalgoorlie. In the end, I drove it back to
Perth in 4th (with their permission).
Interesting to read an article in this weekend's Australian newspaper of Bracks talking of introducing "lemon" laws in Vic. Too long have we been made mushrooms by vehicle mfr's with respect to known design faults in vehicles. They went on to describe the laws in the US, with some states making it an offence to hide known faults from the public. That's certainly what's happening here. Nissan will never publicly admit the engine fault nor their gearbox 5th gear fault.
A mate recently bought a s/h troopy, of the era when they had a spline problem in the gearbox. He negotiated a purchase price which factored in the upgrading of the gearbox, so was happy with the deal. He rang Toyota to ask what price they would do the job for, but they disclaimed any knowledge of the fault, even tho they put out an upgrade kit. Similarly, Toyota never admitted to the oil transfer problem with the transfer case on earlier models. The b@stards will admit to nothing.
Stick with it, don't let up. Nissan have a moral responsibility to come to the party with a known fault and an engine that's done as few kms as yours, even if it is just out of warranty. Consumer affairs would be your next step.
Hope your holiday wasn't too screwed up.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Ron 2006 - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:23
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:23
Hi Gerry
Interesting to read what you said about Brack introducing lemon Laws into Vic.
On my recent trip, which ended in my Patrol 3.0 litre blowing up, I punctured the side wall of a new Cooper A/T tyre (it had 2500km) on a gravel road near Mt Dare.
A friend from Canada said that if that happens in Canada or the USA it is regarded as a "road" and replaced free of charge. I still have the tyre - does anyone know if Cooper here have the same obligations or protection in Australia?
Be good if our laws protected the consumers here rather than allowing the manufacturers to hide behind "we were unaware of the problem" or it is your fault, the tyre shouldn't be on the road.
My 5th gear was in extended warranty when it "expired" and replaced under warranty.
Ron
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 23:19
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 23:19
Ron,
Tyre cuts/punctures are not warrantied here.
But I had the fortune to take out Beaurepaire's $16 per tyre warranty before our
Madigan Line trip this year - I staked one tyre and they replaced it free of charge when I got home. Its only available on their Goodyear tyres like MTR and Silent Armour.
Ballooning or delamination of the sidewall should be covered by manufacturers warranty for the life of the tyre.
Reply By: 3.0turbob - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 19:52
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 19:52
Sorry to hear about your dilema Bushmark,
mine has just had the 120,000 K service and running beatifully.(November 2001).
Keep the pressure on Nissan, be firm but polite, I understand Val can be good to deal with so just keep in touch with her. Some Nissan dealers leave a lot to be desired. Keep on top of 'em and I hope it works out for you, 109K is too
young to die.
Rob
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:49
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:49
I wonder if ExploreOz will say something to Nissan about this, considering Nissan are an advertiser.
I wonder if Nissan will say something to ExploreOz about this, considering Nissan are an advertiser.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 08:11
Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 08:11
Why??
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:15
Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:15
Well now, ExploreOz could drop a few subtle hints, that as a major advertiser on this website, there are many threads on this
forum discussing the poor history of the 3.0 TDi engine and even poorer history of Nissan's response to owners who have experienced an engine failure, and, as such, Nissan could be asked to explain itself!
OR
Nissan could drop a few subtle hints that there are many threads on this
forum discussing the poor history of the 3.0 TDi engine and even poorer history of the company's response to owners who have experienced an engine failure, but Nissan have no history of these events and in fact have never heard of it before and, as such, ExploreOz, maybe, should monitor this bad press, so the advertiser is not viewed in such a manner!
In one case, someone is turning a blind eye to poor ethics and morals towards consumers and receiving money from an advertiser, and in the other case someone is turning a blind eye to poor ethics and morals to advertise a product with a known fault.
I other words what I am saying is THESE ENGINES HAVE A HYSTORY OF BLOWING UP BUT NO ONE WITH ANY SUBSTANSE WANTS TO DO ANYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:46
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:46
why would they risk losing an advertiser?
Why would nissan care what .01% of their audience think?
Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:57
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 20:57
Giday BushMark
Sorry to hear of your problem.
When the Internet first come out i thought this will be Great for situations such as your to Get The Word Outhere.
Why don't you Nissan owners get some PICS Up ot these Nissans in Peaces has alot more effect than just words.
Just this morning i was in traffic beside a 3 liter 4 clyinder
Reply By: Angler - Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 22:45
Saturday, Nov 25, 2006 at 22:45
Has anyone got Val Davis's phone number. I just might need it one day.
Pooley
www.bycompass.com
Follow Up By: scottcamp - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 05:49
Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 05:49
Hi Pooley,
I would not worry as anything after 2002 is ok. The early failures were happening about a year after launch, if this was still the case 2003 models would be falling over like flies.
It is still not something Nissan should be proud off, 2000-2001 models failing, there were some 2002 fails but you will probably find they had the last of the 2001 engines in them. They should have held their hands up and replaced all the engines like they did in the UK. We will never know what Nissan did to fix this engine but it was more than just adding more oil.
But they are not the first or last manufacturer to get it wrong on the launch model.
Follow Up By: traveller2 - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:45
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:45
Unfortunately there have been examples on Exploroz of later models going kebang! so not strictly true.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 15:19
Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 15:19
Sorry but I dont care how much you love your Nissan NO company should be allowed to get away with walking away from an engine with a known fault at such low K's, Nissan will pay the ultimate price for this I'm sure, I for one will never go back there just for this very reason, when I voiced my concerns to them {at HQ},thier answer was , and I quote, just keep running it and if it goes bang we'll look at either labour or parts !!! so right I'm towing the van across the Nullabor {which I was} in the secure knowledge that team nissan will be there for me,if it wasn't so seriuos you could laugh, do they seriously think I'm going to sit and wait till it happens ??? someone said there might be a case for health and safety here, I reckon thier right , meanwhile it goes on, and so does the damage to Nissan's reputation, they deserve to be dumped and are not worthy of your hard earned dollars they've only themselves to blame..........................
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:31
Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 16:31
" Nissan will pay the ultimate price for this I'm sure"
just look at the sales figures LC to Patrol, about 3 to 1 now from memory.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:57
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:57
>>they deserve to be dumped and are not worthy of your hard earned dollars they've only themselves to blame...
no, there is zero wrong with the 4.2 and the TD42 is probably most reliable motor of any in a 4wd.
anyone who buys a 3.0 gets what they pay for.
Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:26
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:26
Who's talking about the 4.2 ? its
well seen you dont have a 3Lt, so you'll be allright aye ? does that mean bugger everyone else ???
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:09
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:09
"no, there is zero wrong with the 4.2 and the TD42 is probably most reliable motor of any in a 4wd."
while I doubt anyone can deny the reliability of the 4.2, it should be said that its easy to make it reliable with such a low power output compared to its rivals.
Gardiner and Lister diesels are also ultra reliable , but hardly cutting edge technology. Similar goes with the F series fords, though they have torque, they barely match the 1HD-FTE for KW with nearly double the capacity.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:27
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:27
So dave, the one motor is destroying the whole empire? LMAO
Fisho - which is exactly what every manufacturer does, you know that every single car out there likes to be tweaked....
well almost all.. the 3.0 is an example of what a highly strung engine cannot do - last.
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:55
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:55
"the 3.0 is an example of what a highly strung engine cannot do - last. "
It appears you may be correct there Truck! though it pains me to say!
Reply By: crewser - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:40
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:40
Brother inlaw used to work for nissan and every friday arvo he would drop in for a beer, the conversation would always start with me asking him if he had a busy week and sometimes he`d say "no only had 1 patrol blow up this week" I can`t say here what he`d say on the other weeks. lol
Just don`t get him started on the 2.8L clutch problems.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:47
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:47
I want one.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:49
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:49
another happy 3.0 owner.
Follow Up By: fruers - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:39
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:39
Off topic, but this Patrol has the rear sliding windows, does anyone know if it is a modification for the police or if it's a factory option? I'm curious as when i was looking around for a Patrol i saw someone advertising one with the rear sliding windows as being a "one owner" vehicle, but had only seen the windows on ex cop cars.
Reply By: PhilZD30Patrol - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:01
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:01
Very sorry to hear about your troubles. I hope Nissan do the right thing.
Nissan forget history very quickly as they suffered significantly with the Datsun 180 and 200Bs sedans which nearly destroyed their reputation in Oz. Took them years to recover while Toyota went steaming ahead with the Corona and Corolla.
Those who don't remember the mistakes of history a bound to repeat them.
Hope you eventually get some good news from Nissan. I understand that you have to remain cool calm and collected and persevere with them until they finally give in.
You may have to agree to pay for "consumables" so that they can "save face" after all they are Asian. Things like hoses, clamps, belts, lubricants to around $1,000 seems to be the going rate from the stories I have heard.
Good Luck
Reply By: fruers - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:07
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:07
Sorry to hear.
I bought a 2002 3 litre patrol a few months ago knowing about the problems with earlier models. I read around and it seemed convincing that the problem had been fixed, i visited a Nissan dealer and spoke to the service manager and questioned him about the blown motors, he was pretty vague and and said to "look for the different tail lights" (an easy way to distinguish the series 3) but didn't exactly admit the problem. It seems that they do know something but are under instruction not to talk about it.
Ours has got ~90k on it and although i've been more than happy with it so far, i'm specifically building it up for a 12 month trip (loaded up for touring but won't be towing). Hopefully it won't be a problem, but there is always going to that bit of uncertainty. Ours was out of warranty over a year ago and i'm doing the servicing myself, so i wonder what kind of recourse we'll have if something does go wrong.
Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:12
Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:12
I have heard you can put a Perkin's Diesel in them.
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:30
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:30
I have been ' shafted ' by a Nissan dealer in
Perth then refunded by Nissan Australia .
After writing a long letter regarding 5th gear failures in Patrols I was refunded in full after our 5th gear let go .
Some key phrases to include , design fault , not fit for the purpose intended, poorly engineered . Mention the good reviews in 4wd mags ' bulletproof driveline '
Tell them they ruined your holiday . Tell them you wished you bought a Cruiser ( I am sure this is the one that gets action ).
Hope you get sorted , as mentioned you need to write to Nissan Aust in
Melbourne , It may pay to get a solicitor to write it on your behalf .
Glenn.
Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:00
Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:00
Sorry to hear of your trouble
Again i say the power of the internet is here to use More Pics Of These Nissans In Pics on the Net is what is Required.
Shane