Another Labor Poiltical Victory

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:12
ThreadID: 39799 Views:2473 Replies:8 FollowUps:23
Bracks romped back in Victoria, similarly all State Govts are Labor. John R and Glenn will hate it, but they'll have to get used to it.

The Federal Govt is Conservative and will probably romp home next time; Glenn and John will love that and are already content with it.

Interesting that we have such wide ranging poltical views in such a small (population) country.

The beauty of this, for me, is that we will never have political domination by any party and Australia will always remain a country that demands the best from its elected representatives.

Democracy at work.

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:13

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:13
yer sad eh? I thought Braxxy would get his marching orders, he's almost Jeffed himself I reckoned, ahh cest la vie

AnswerID: 207014

Follow Up By: Nick R - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:58

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:58
Bonz,
I reckon JohnR would agree.
He is away with the Des Lexic et.al.

Actually I agree too.......
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 467094

Reply By: F4Phantom - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:35

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:35
I cant wait untill we finally get all those new speed cameras labour promised if re-elected. I have so much money left over from taxes I was looking for another way to give the government a little more.
AnswerID: 207018

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:22

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:22
Bracksy gives everyone an option to give more money to the government by installing further camera's...............all you need to do is break the law & drive too fast ;-) Not that I'm complaining, the speeders, smokers & drinkers are keeping my tax's down.
Cheers Craig..........
FollowupID: 467097

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:40

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 22:40
The mail over here is that you lot have had a guts full of Mr Brack's and his garbage, so why vote him back in???

Sorry Jimbo, I live in the country and am sick of the labour cut backs, and poor attitude to country people, so Im with John R on this one.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 207020

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:38

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:38
It's OK Pesty, I live in the big smoke and I'm with you and JohnR...
FollowupID: 467018

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:16

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:16
>.The mail over here is that you lot have had a guts full of Mr Brack's and his garbage, so why vote him back in???

Like in federal politics, there are zero options. Why do you think Bracks, and Mr Sheene do what they like, they no that there is no opposition. very sad, no future really.
FollowupID: 467037

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:15

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:15
Sometimes you have to go off on a wing and a prayer Truckster... Kennet was good for my industry, even as a blue collar boy. Bracksy is a tool and quite frankly I'd rather have given Baillieu a shot because quite simply I don't think he could do any worse... Times they are a changin' and as far as I'm concerned politics is no longer about Labour 'for the workers' and Liberal 'for big business'... In my opinion and it is only my opinion, it's all about winning friends and influencing people in order to feather your nest as quickly as possible... Top level politicians have the life-span of a 3l Patrol engine *ducks for cover* so you make hay while the sun shines, whatever the cost...
FollowupID: 467048

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:44

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:44
oh I agree blue... Dont worry I agree..

but the majority are sheep - and would rather die than think for themselves.

politics have really lost their way, as you say, its all about lookin after their mates, and zero for the humans.
FollowupID: 467055

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 23:43

Sunday, Nov 26, 2006 at 23:43
We will keep on getting politicians we do not want until we change our electoral system.

1 person 1 vote and that is all that should be counted

But alas, unless we have a revolution here, our apathetic ways or donkey votes, will not change.

Politicians are becoming like Movie or Rock Stars. In the end they believe their own rhetoric.

Politicians need to become an entity of the past and a better system installed. Not in my life time, most likely.
AnswerID: 207033

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:05

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:05
OT Willem, all your photo's gone?
FollowupID: 467015

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:18

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 00:18
Hi Muzzgit

I haven't had photos in my gallery now for a long time. Took them out once for whatever reason(I forget) and have not gotten around to put them up again.

At present I am scanning 4000 to 5000 slides to digital and when that project is finished I may put some up again.

FollowupID: 467017

Follow Up By: Junior - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 01:45

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 01:45
Willem, unfortunately no political system is perfect, but believe it or not, we have the best system of government in the world- with plenty of checks and balances. Problem is we have TOO MUCH government- state governments have gotta go, but that definately never going to happen!
FollowupID: 467020

Follow Up By: Ray Bates - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:19

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:19
You only get the poloticians you deserve. Federal governments must go. We in W.A. would be better on our own.
FollowupID: 467029

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:04

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:04
People in WA are always saying how well they would go on their own . Do you realise how little of that mining wealth you people of WA actually own .

Yes , we own it , not you .

Cheers ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 467035

Follow Up By: PhilZD30Patrol - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:42

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:42
Hi Willem

The Australian federal and state compulsory preferential voting system is probably the most fairest in the world.

Howard is PM because thats who the majority of Australians wanted. Bracks is Premier of Victoria and Beattie is Premier of Queensland because the majority of people wanted it that way, end of story.

I don't always like the outcome of our elections either but I know that the majority want it that way.

Non-compulsory first past the post voting, as in the USA and Britain, often results in people being elected by about 30% to 40% of those who bothered to vote. This happened when Bush was first elected president.

When only 40% of eligible voters bother to vote, the result is that politicians are often elected by a very small portion of the population.

Its about time you stopped knocking our great country and our systems. For all our faults, our elections, legal and police systems are as good as any in the world and better than most. Its called the "Separation of Powers" and because it is generaly adhered to, Australia is one of the most stable long term democracies in the world.

And the so called "donkey vote" in Australia is virtually a myth as it is only a maximum of 2 to 4% of voters and it does not effect the end result in 99% of the electorates.

and keep on 4wding in our great country
FollowupID: 467073

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:16

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:16
"Its about time you stopped knocking our great country and our systems."

Like when?

It is my opinion, mate! There is nothing fair about a preferential voting system.

No more to add.
FollowupID: 467144

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:35

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:35
"Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. posted this followup"

"People in WA are always saying how well they would go on their own . Do you realise how little of that mining wealth you people of WA actually own ."

NO

FollowupID: 467171

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:41

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:41
Well Richard , take the time to go through the register of Rio sometime .
FollowupID: 467199

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:50

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:50
>>> There is nothing fair about a preferential voting system

Best thing said round here in years.
FollowupID: 467202

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:53

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 07:53
>> Howard is PM because thats who the majority of Australians wanted. Bracks is Premier of Victoria and Beattie is Premier of Queensland because the majority of people wanted it that way, end of story.

How do you work that out? You mean preferences got them where they want to be.. nothing to do with everyone voted for those tossers.

If I dont want Mr sheene, I dont vote for him, but somehow my vote is given to the little tin of bleep , in a 'deal' with preferences. yea bleep in fantastic "best system in the world" ...
FollowupID: 467203

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:18

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:18
Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.

Sorry

I do

The answer was to the question

"People in WA are always saying how well they would go on their own . Do you realise how little of that mining wealth you people of WA actually own ."

FollowupID: 467348

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:11

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:11
>> will always remain a country that demands the best from its elected representatives.

You on the red again Jimbo? or is that sarcasm at its greatest?
AnswerID: 207044

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 14:00

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 14:00
haha, like little kids we can demand what we want but we don't necessarily get it. Little Johnny has been bullcrapping us since the overboard scandal, we must like it because he will get back in next election.
FollowupID: 467066

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:15

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:15
>>.we must like it because he will get back in next election.
No,

he will get in because there is bleep all opposition or any other choice worth bleep on.. Name one.

he knows it, why do you think he does bleep no aussie wants and doesnt care?
FollowupID: 467082

Follow Up By: Mad Dog - Vic - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:59

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:59
lol, in that case we all should rock up, get our names scrubbed off the list before placing ripped up voting papers in the box. Wouldn't that make them think....hahhaa
FollowupID: 467125

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:17

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:17
sooner they get rid of preferencial voting, the sooner I start to actually vote.
FollowupID: 467184

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:48

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:48
"Interesting that we have such wide ranging poltical views in such a small (population) country" . Yes Jimbo they range from conservative to conservative .
Willie .
AnswerID: 207093

Reply By: Rock Crawler - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:12

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:12
Bracks sux lol
AnswerID: 207176

Follow Up By: stano - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:22

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:22
"Bracks sux lol"
kewl!
FollowupID: 467147

Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:38

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:38
Bracks has done a great job of upsetting hardly anyone. He also appears very humble. Jeff shot himself in the foot by looking so arrogant that people thought they would teach him a lesson.

Bracks is quite clever. They got the waiting lists for orthopaedic surgery down at a local hospital to three months where it used to be over one year. Hell of an improvement. Only problem is that now it takes about 15 months to get an appointment to see the specialist to be put on the waiting list. So the waiting list for the waiting list is fifteen months and then the waiting list for surgery is three months. This is a strategy that all parties use - the pollies are all the same I reckon. Appearances are everything.

AnswerID: 207202