Wind breaks for cooking

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 06:40
ThreadID: 39804 Views:9495 Replies:14 FollowUps:19
Hi There

I'm new to camping, and have only been properly once last weekend. Went out the previous two weekends, but that was at caravan parks, so not the same.

I bought one of those $20 portable butane stoves. It worked fine in the backyard, but not the first night of camping - only tiny little flames came up when I lit it (no it wasn't cold either, we were in shorts/tshirts). Next morning I got it to work and tried various things as a windbreak. Got the kids to hold up the black plastic case to guard against the wind, but it wasn't really good enough as a wind break as I needed protection on three sides.

I went to the camping store when I got home to look for wind breaks and couldn't find anything. I just wanted to know what people used. Something that stands up by itself would be good.

A couple that were there had a 1.25kg silver gas bottle with a screw on hotplate that they were very happy with. If I buy this set up (about $50 for both) will it need a windbreak too?

I just want a reliable stove that takes up very little room (only have a sedan, had to leave hubby at home to put the esky in, he was sick anyway LOL). I don't want to have to worry that the stove wont work in any little breeze.

I was paranoid enough about keeping the butane catridges in the shade, so I am going to be even more scared with a 1.25kg gas bottle and keeping it cool.

Violetmay

Reply By: Redeye - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:00

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:00

Have used the outer wire mesh from a large (truck) air filter. Flattened it out and have it stored in the camper. It is great, light weight lets some air through but does stop the flame from being blown. Being of alloy it can be bent to suite any situation.

Redeye
AnswerID: 207041

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:56

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:56
Violetmay

A carboard box works just as well for a wind break. You can cable tie sheets of cardboard together and fit them in any configuration and when finished they fold up flat for storage.

There have been mixed reports on the butane gas stoves. My experience is that they are too finnicky and gave mine away to a friend.

If we cannot have open fires, we cook with a two burner gas stove and 2kg gas bottle. Also have a 12 volt oven to warm up pies, hot dogs etc.

Enjoy your camping, it is a great outdoor activity.

AnswerID: 207049

Follow Up By: crewser - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:24

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 10:24
A cardboard box for a wind break ?? cardboard+fire+wind= disaster
sorry but I would not recommend that to anyone.
FollowupID: 467040

Follow Up By: ImEasy - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:34

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:34
crewser,

I dont think he meant sit the cardboard wind break on the flames!
FollowupID: 467064

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:34

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:34
Crewser

From your reply I can see that you are not a practical person.
FollowupID: 467152

Follow Up By: crewser - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:35

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:35
Willem

I like to think I am a practical person as I can build a better wind brake than one made of cardboard. we are talking about fire and wind arnt we?
there has to be a million other things you could use instead of cardboard?
Someone who`s best wind brake is cardboard cable tied together does not sound like a "practical person" to me. I was not having a go at you I was just trying to offer some advise, thats what people come here for, no need to get upset.

From your reply I can see that you are not a practical person.
I`d like to think my wind brake I made from tin was more practical than yours made of cardboard?
read it as you like
FollowupID: 467172

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:47

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:47
There you go Crewser............

Why didn't you come up with your solution instead of attacking my simplistic suggestion.

Have used card board on occasions. Whatever material is available at the time.

Some of you blokes are just uptight about things,

No I am not upset....just baiting you.

BTW it is wind break, not wind brake
FollowupID: 467175

Follow Up By: crewser - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:05
willem if I was attacking you I would have said something like your a nob,
some of you blokes need some common sense. its ok Im baiting you
are you attacking me for my bad spelling?
BIOYA
FollowupID: 467178

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:20

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:20
Every now and again someone like you crawls out from underneath a log or something.

Lighten up, Richard Cranium !

Yep your spelling is bad.
FollowupID: 467180

Follow Up By: crewser - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:03

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 19:03
Name calling and insults, your true colours are showing now Willum
FollowupID: 467295

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:33

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:33
Yeah mate, you are right.

But if I dont tell you, who will?
FollowupID: 467423

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:57

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 07:57
I have made up a wind break out of 3 pieces of aluminium plate, about 3mm thick. They measure about 350mm x 300mm. They are hinged together on the shorter sides in such a way that I can fold them into a variety of shapes. If using a small butane stove, I can fold into a "U" shape to cover the back and both sides. If I have a proper fire and need a break, I can fold into a "L" shape etc etc.

The thing folds up into a flat "Z" shape and takes up very little room.
AnswerID: 207050

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:01

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:01
Hey Bill

Is this an RDO or are you having a sickie....LOL
FollowupID: 467027

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:15

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:15
No mate......we DO have 'puters at work ya know>>>!!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 467062

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:27

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:27
Yes but aren't they for work?
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 467071

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:50

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:50
Pete,

This employer encourages "stress relief".............I can either go outside for a 10 minute smoke break every hour or so..........or I can get on this site and "relieve myself" (so to speak...hahahaha)
FollowupID: 467076

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:12

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:12
That works for me.

I have a great job .... if I get sick of working in the office I can hop in my car and drive around inspecting buildings. I'm not suposed to leave my working area without my boss's permission, but as my area covers all of the NT, SA, some of Vic and Western NSW that doesn't tie me down too much!

Pete
Any mug can be uncomfortable out bush

FollowupID: 467080

Follow Up By: Member - Geordie C (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:45
Hey thanks Roachie that's a bloody good simple idea, I might knock one of your patented windbreaks up on the weekend.

Speaking of jobs, I have to go and get my boat and dive gear ready for "work" tomorrow.
Tough life but somebody's got to count crayfish Hey.

Geordie
FollowupID: 467362

Reply By: hoyks - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:20

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:20
I just use the case the stove comes in, stand it on edge (the case, not the stove) and open it 90 degrees and slide the stove into the corner of the case. It's not perfect, but works quite well.
AnswerID: 207052

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:25

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:25
The large gas bottle also requires a wind break.

Also depends how strong the wind is :o).

Anything much more than 10 to 15 knots, and you need to think of sheltered corners and then a local wind break as described above.

We had problems once with a normal 2 burner stove at the beach in 50 knots.
Put up some tarps on poles on the windward side fo the tent, and set up the stove on the downwind side of the tent behind another tarp.

Back eddies can be a problem.
AnswerID: 207054

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:59

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 08:59
Hi Violet ,

Roachie has the answer and it works for me too . You just get a friend with a riveter to hinge three pieces of aluminium sheet , so that they will stand up to the height you need for your particular stove . This folds flat for storage and weighs nothing .

I have seen them occasionally in camping stores - ring some of the big places like Rays Tent City or Boots Camping and ask them . Failing that , look up aluminium fabricators in the phone book and ask one of them for a special favour - it is such a small job , they will only do it if you can make them feel sorry for you !

My father left my family , when I was 11 years old and my Mother decided it was then her responsibility take us camping , and to travel round various parts of Australia with us in a Combi van . We went to Ayers Rock and Fraser Island 45 years ago and in those days there was nothing at either place .

What a great woman - and you are too .

Cheers ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 207060

Reply By: 3.0turbob - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:43

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 09:43
Violet,
I really wouldn,t be bothered with the cheap butane stoves, they may be OK for heating a kettle of water but that's about it. If you want to enjoy your camping invest some money in a decent 2 burner gas stove ( coleman, etc) and a small gas bottle if you are limited for space. The stoves fold away and don't take up too much room. You may not have to worry too much about a wind break either as the gas flame will be stonger ( unless cooking in a cyclone). We've used a gas stove for the last 20 years or so and have rarely worried about a wind break.

Rob
AnswerID: 207069

Reply By: GazzaS (VIC) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 11:02

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 11:02
Hi Violet

Coleman have just recently put on the market a 2 burner folding stove which uses a gas bottle OR a Coleman mini gas canister. very neat package and takes minimal space. does not have a wind break but I have looked at the hillbilly camping gear web site and they have a picture of their folding wind break - 4 pieces of gal sheet hinged together - this will give you an idea of what the others are talking about with folding breaks.

We have used a butane stove before and always seem to have to jiggle the canister a bit to get best flow - will be leaving this home now as have bought one of the coleman units.
AnswerID: 207077

Reply By: Violetmay - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:45

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 12:45
Oh my goodnes, thank you for all the responses.

I've found a great wind break on a UK website
Site Link which doesn't seem available in Australia.

I'll have a go with three sides of a strong cardboard box and tape/blue tack (so I can attach the windbreak to the table I am cooking on, I'll leave little flaps of carboard at the bottom of the sides of the windbreak) until I find a way to buy/make a metal one. I had another look around the shops this morning and didn't have much luck. Need something to be solid in the wind.

I'll definately be buying another sort of stove eventually. Thanks so much for the recommendations and ideas everyone!!

Violetmay
AnswerID: 207091

Follow Up By: Robin - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:08

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:08
Hi Voilet

Always good to use a wind break as even if you have a strong stove it still takes
a lot more gas to heat up something that is being windblown.

If your stove can't put out a good burn then it can take fore ever, if at all to boil a billy, and is a waste of time trying.

Use one of those stoves here and as they are marginal in wind or cold , you should at least try and start with a new cannister , and one that has gas mix of no less than 80 butane /20 propane. Keep 1/2 used cannisters for when conditions are better.

The great thing we find with those is that they are very stable and the two sided plastic cover can shield two sides as is from wind. We usually carry some supplies in A4 photo copy paper boxes and just stack one of these near stove to fill in a third side.

FollowupID: 467060

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:23

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:23
Violet ,

I just remembered I have a two burner Primus stove which has it's own folding wind shields .

I do not use this any more , so you could have it N/C if you can pick it up - I am in Sydney . It needs a cylinder , but is in good condition.

Cheers ,

Willie
AnswerID: 207104

Follow Up By: Violetmay - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:32

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:32
Wow, thank you, that is so kind. I am in Brisbane, so wont be able to take you up on your offer, but that is really lovely to offer it, thank you so much.

Violetmay
FollowupID: 467063

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:37

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 13:37
All we need is someone on the site who has a transport company and they could deliver it for free . Not much chance of that though I think .

Anyway , maybe one of our members in Brisbane could make you up a folding windguard .

Willie .
FollowupID: 467065

Reply By: barnster - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:03

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 08:03
You could also try digging a hole in the ground a putting the burner into it....the shovel is very handy around a remote camp site for other apps too...
Barn
AnswerID: 207261

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:21

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 21:21
Ok my 2 cents worth.
When you said "only tiny little flames came up when I lit it". Did you check that the bottle was pushed in as far as it should be? We have found that some cannisters are not quite as long as others and don't engage properly unless you bend the flat bit of steel at the back of where the cannister goes in to make a better contact. (hope this makes sense)
The best wind break by far is my Coleman dual fuel stove. Nothing stops it.
I still use the butane stove for a roadside cuppa. I use the plastic case it came in as a wind break.My gas stove gave me nothing but trouble, hence the dual fuel stove.
AnswerID: 207410

Follow Up By: Violetmay - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:03

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:03
Thanks Brewman

I think the first night, when it wouldn't light properly, I think I must have had the canister in wrong. I did try a few other canisters but couldn't get them to light because of the wind.

I think I found something I can temporarily use as a firebreak - just a carboard box that the lady at the fruitshop packed my fruit/veggies into the other day. It is a grapebox, very strong and only a tiny bit higher than the stove, but wider and longer.

Today in Brisbane, it is a windy day, so I thought I would have a go of lighting the stove again and testing out the grapebox. I went to the front yard (windier than the backyard) and had no problems lighting the stove in the breeze at all LOL!! Couldn't believe it. It was windy as anything and the flame wasn't going out at all, and that wasn't inside the box, that was the stove sitting on the carboard box upturned so it was like a little table. Maybe lighting the stove closer to the ground is part of the secret too, maybe it is windier up high (table height) so lighting a stove down on the ground might work better...hm..

I did realise thought that a lot of my frustration on the weekend came from using matches to light the stove. The matches continually blew out in the wind. So I will buy a firelighter and bring that next time I am camping. I'll bring my box too.

If anyone thinks using a carboard box (heavy waxed one) in this regard is dangerous please let me know.

Thanks everyone for your help :-)

Oh - I have friend who is a retired field geologist and had years of camping experience in remote parts of Australia and overseas. She told me that for a windbreak she sewed some slots into a long turned over sheet of hessian. Into the slots she put garden stakes (4) and use the hessian/garden stake combination as a windbreak in whatever whay she needed it. Said it worked well, and that the hessian was far enough from the fire not to be a fire hazard.

Violetmay
FollowupID: 467681

Reply By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:46

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:46
When we were camping once in very windy conditions a mate of mine put the stove inside one of his plastic storage boxes. It worked like a charm and the sides didn't melt.

R.
AnswerID: 207743

Reply By: Tonytbts - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:28

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:28
Sorry this is a bit late (raising the thread from the dead!) but the solution to your problems is found at your local Bunnings, or probably even cheaper at a roofing supplier.

Bunnings will sell you a roll of aluminium flashing 300mm wide and 10 metres long (IIRC, but it could be 5 metres) for about $35.00. It is basically VERY heavy alfoil. You won't tear it, but you can cut it with scissors and a bit of effort.

A single roll will supply you with a windshield for every camping stove you own, plus one for the camp oven, and leave enough extra to give (or sell) to friends.

Just measure out a length to go around three sides of your stove and your windbreak is done. The deluxe version is built by putting a folded edge along the two 300mm edges.

It will stand up by itself, and when set up around the stove the shape and weight is usually enough to keep it in place in anything short of a hurricane.

It can be rolled up (not folded!) into a cylinder less than an inch thick, and is flame proof. If you get grease all over it, just bung it in the dishwasher when you get home.

cheers, Tonytbts
AnswerID: 208995