Chinese Jack ???

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 14:19
ThreadID: 39813 Views:5589 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
Now I bet you have all seen my posts about cheap crap from China, well Iv'e been bitten again, in January I needed a new Hydraulic Jack because the chinese one had died, went to all the accessory places in Mt Isa and all I could get was Chinese, $43.00 ,2 weeks later I was in Partingtons 4x4 at the Isa and they had Japanese ,too late I had one by then , well that lousy Chinese piece of Sh## let me down when I needed it the other day, it had only been used about 6 times, so got a loan of a Kenworth Jack from a truckie .well it raised the Troopie ok . So then I went hunting for a new one , went to all the common accessory places in Geraldton and all I could find was Chinese and no way was I going to waste my dollars again, then someone said to try a place called Coventry's BINGO they had a Masada Brand made in Japan , 2 tonne Cap' it's a squat Jack ,cost $138.00 , Im happy now , got a good Jack with a 12 months guarantee .

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/loads.htm

www.bareco.com.au/files/general/g62b.htm

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:20

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:20
Interesting pictures on the first link. How does that 7 axle trailer turn? I nearly scrubbed the tyres off backing a load of gravel on 2 tonne dual axle tipper trailer into a site last year.

Pete
AnswerID: 207120

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:48

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:48
Pete
Glad to explain your query on how the Trailers/Platforms turn so I have added an extra photo under that Jack photo alond with this link to show they are steerable trailers
When you open this link click on Range of Trailers

www.draketrailers.com/

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/loads.htm

FollowupID: 467075

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:06

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:06
Now that is neat! There are some cunning people out there.

Pete
FollowupID: 467078

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:34

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:34
G'day Doug,

So, what "brand" are those crappy Chinese Jacks? I have a 6t red hydraulic jack (can't think of the brand name, but they make all kinds of auto accessories) and I'm not sure what country it was made in......probably China, as it wasn't all that expensive from memory).

But, looking at the chart of the Masada jacks, it raises (no pun intended) the issue I mentioned in another post about jacks yesterday........the height of them when they're "down" versus their lifting height capability.

Take, for example, a 315/75R16 tyre (bigger than most people use). The nominal height of the tyre from the ground to the bottom of the rim is supposed to be around 236mm (being 75% of 315mm). So, a flat tyre of this size, where the rim is sitting on the ground (with a few mm of rubber between rim and dirt I suppose), is gunna have to be raised a minimum of 236mm in order to be able to get the replacement, fully inflated tyre/wheel onto the vehicle. The chart would tend to indicate that there are only one or 2 of their jacks capable of achieving this much lift from the "down" to the "up" position. And then, you have the issue of the "down" position of the jack being too high to be able to get the jack under the jacking point of the vehicle (ie: axle tube, or under the shockie mount etc).

A more common size tyre, say 265/75R16, would still require a lift of 200mm to get the job done.

Looking at those jacks, they all seem to be single phase hydraulic action (most with a screw portion above)......but they would be doing it tough to get the height needed.

The answer? Blocks of wood and possibly a 2nd jack, so you can do the lift in 2 stages, I guess.
AnswerID: 207123

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:54

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:54
Well Roachie I would sure carry a couple of wood blocks for your sizes , but to minimize too much wooting around [ Won Casey ] ...lol I would just drive the flat up onto a block before I began jacking

3 TONNE min 190mm 115mm 60mm max 365mm B2708 B2744

Doug

FollowupID: 467077

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:38

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:38
Forgot to answer your first Q , I see quite a few brands from China ,Supertool is one , there is also a metalic blue one as like my first one , any of that LION brand has to be utter crap, SUPERWORKS might have jacks too ,
Even the tools will break, like sockets will split open , handles bend , one really has to look for the better stuff and pay for it and know it won't let you down outback , Now I do believe there is some good quality products come from China but these places like Repco,Supercheap, Auto 1, Autobarn, and Autopro sell mostly the rubbish but if you look in the right place in the shops they do have a range of better tools, There is a store in Qld and I went to one in Rockhampton called Toys for Boys or something, of course we all know SNAP ON , one of the best and very expensive but you will only have to buy it once

FollowupID: 467086

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:47

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:47
Thanks Doug.....you just jogged my memory and the one I have is a LION brand. It hasn't let me down (no pun intended...again) to date and I do still carry the Nissan bottle jack as well.

Might have to upgrade to a better brand I reckon.

FollowupID: 467090

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:27

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:27
Hey doug i know your pain :-))

I have been trying to find a decent high lift trolley jack thats not made in china, but costs less than $1500, not easy.

As for tools, forget snap-on, once this was the ducks guts, but recently they have gone on a big profit push and the quality of the tools has dropped dramatically. Nearly all of it is now made in china, and you would be amazed at how poor they are - they cant even centre the double hex in the ring spanners, or centre the hole in a deep reach socket -which makes them useless. The only good snap on tools i have seen lately are the multi grips which are made by facom in france for them. Even their legendary ratchet screwdrivers have gone to the dogs, my 13y/o unit still goes like a champion with huge work - but the new ones are shagged after a year of light work. We have got over 200 grand worth of snap on gear at work and all i can say is that i'm glad i didnt pay for it :-)..

Best "commonly available" tools nowdays are either Kokon from japan or Stahwille from germany. there are others better again but they are very obscure.

Best decent quality gear ive seen lately for the money is kinchrome, or the total tools house brand TTI . repco also have some nice sockets/spanners. sidchrome is slowly coming good again but i'd still steer clear.
FollowupID: 467098

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:36

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:36
Bradley
Try these links for Masada floor Jacks made In Japan

Site Link

www.powerlifthydraulics.com.au/

FollowupID: 467101

Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:16

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:16
Doug,

That place in Rocky is "A Man's Toyshop".

Sell anything to suit any budget. Even quality gear is at competitive prices.

Hooroo...

FollowupID: 467106

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:32

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:32
A Man's Toyshop....that's the place , just couldn't quite get the old brain in there, yeh they have some good stuff in there

Thanks for the memory jolt www.amanstoyshop.com.au/Franchises.aspx

Doug

FollowupID: 467120

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:43

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:43
Hi Doug.

You got a good one!! I was in WA as part of my around Oz trip, and travelling on the Holland track on my way to Hyden I sank my 80 series into a cunningly disguised swamp while trying to skirt around a fallen tree. Took about 2 hours to dig myself out, using my high lift, and decided there and then that I wanted a truck jack that would give me a fair bit of effortless lift.

After much shopping around and being fed the same Chinese stuff someone recommended Conventry's as well. I went there and got hold of a 7 tonne Masada truck jack. Great people there at Coventrys (I was at the branch just out of Perth) and they gave me a good deal as well.

It's nice to have good gear.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 207127

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:12

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:12
Jack !!!!
well with a name like your's you should have no problems , but to save all this digging BS I reackon an Air Jack might be the answer but those Bushrangers are made in Taiwan but then so is Kinchrome and I sorta think Taiwanese is not Chinese
Just wondering if these might be better and instead of using exhaust use air compressor instead
www.clydeapac.com.au/v3/data/airjack.html

And i keep telling people I would rather pay 3 or 4 times more for an item and not have let me down in the worst situation

www.outback4wd.com.au/outback_4wd_063.htm

FollowupID: 467081

Reply By: Member - John L G - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:36

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:36
Glad to see that I'm not the only jack challenged 4WD'er and I thought it was just me.

Been down the Chinese route and every time been disappointed and last time caught a bit short and sent the girl off to Coventries with orders not to buy anything under $80 or 5 tonne lift capacity.

Came back with a yellow one for $90, rating 6 tonne and half way through the first lift, blew the bottom seal - "Not Happy Jan"

So pay the dollars and buy the best would be my advice but I now use a "Kangaroo Jack" most times and have lift slots in the front bull bar and welded lift points around the back and side of vehuicle. I also have hub lifters for the jack which can be pretty usefull in sand etc.
AnswerID: 207133

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:08

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:08
Seems you know what I'm on about then, Gawd damn it you can't even buy a pair of Undies without MADE IN CHINA on the tag, and as I;m a bloody raving maniac about Meteor Impacts I bought on-line a Cap and a DVD from Meteor Crater in Arizona , www.meteorcrater.com/index.php the Cap .....made in China so the Yanks must have the same problem too, Now when you really think deep about this the chinese must be making billions from the rest of the world

FollowupID: 467096

Reply By: joc45 - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:54

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 17:54
Off topic, but in similar vein, I recall in the days of the old 55-series Landcruisers, the screw-type bottle jack provided with the vehicle would not fit under the axle if the tyre was deflated (worked fine when the tyre was up). We had to purchase after-market jacks for our work vehicles. Toyota continued to supply these jacks for some years without correcting the problem, probably right up to introduction of the 60-series.
Gerry
AnswerID: 207148

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:27

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 19:27
Gerry
Not of topic mate,you mentioned a 4x4 and 4x4s do have jacks, but you were a silly chap , all you had to do to get the jack under was roll forward a couple feet , after all it was just the bottom of the tyre that was flat...[tongue in cheek]

FollowupID: 467118

Follow Up By: joc45 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 01:32

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 01:32
Bummer! why didn't I think of that?
FollowupID: 467188

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:54

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:54
Hi Doug

On the weekend i had a pair fo Sidcrome needle nose plyze snap at the join the broken part hit me dead center of forard drew blood LUCKY IT WAS NOT MY EYE.

So be carefull names mean nothing anymore.

Shane
AnswerID: 207191

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:44

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:44
Hmmm where are Sidchrome tools made these days.........anyhow they do have a lifetime guarantee , you better take it back

As a testament to the quality of their tools, Sidchrome offers one of the industries best warranties. All tools in the Sidchrome range are guaranteed against breakage for the life of the tool. The Sidchrome Lifetime Guarantee sets the company as a benchmark in the global manufacture of quality hand tools fit for automotive and industrial mechanics.

FollowupID: 467174

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:19

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:19
we have got a million dollar snap on floor jack at work
its buggere3d just waiting for them to replace it
ps its only 4 mth old
AnswerID: 207193

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:31

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:31
nowimnumberone
See you got it right mate with word Replace , I know Snap On will replace years after it was sold, Auto Pro would not replace my Jack and if they offered I would decline because the replacement would let me down at the worst possible time.

Doug

FollowupID: 467169

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:51

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 21:51
I have a Trolley Jack 1850kg distributed by Brendans Tools and Accessories. I cannot figure out where it was made but have had it for some years now after buying it at a REPCO sale for $50. It has jacked the G60 and GQ up and let them down gently on numerous occasions. No wuckings.

AnswerID: 207205

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:01

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 23:01
Seeing as we are on about chinese products , have any of you got any Chinese spectacles ......???

members.westnet.com.au/dtilley/chinese.htm

AnswerID: 207219

Reply By: kiwicol - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:46

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:46
i drive a bus cairns karumba the boss fits chineese made tyres and reckons they are the bees knees i told him if he put them on the steer i would refuse to drive it he has since changed his tune when he worked out he was only getting 16,000ks from a set of drive tyres so we now run mitchys. Also i got stung by a reputable australian furniture manufacture paid 4 grand for a leather lounge which i thought was made in oz 1 week later the foam started collapsing on the arms thats when i found out it was made in china not very happy Col
AnswerID: 207802

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:55

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:55
Your learning ....lol

FollowupID: 467715