I’m Back

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 15:04
ThreadID: 39815 Views:3168 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
Well after some forced absence from EO due to a short stint in another workplace and more recently a couple of weeks off, I am back to the fold for some more fridge, 12 volt, Toyo vs. Nissan, diesel vs. petrol excitement – man I’ve missed this! I hope I’ve haven’t missed anything important in the last couple of months? I did flick through some recent posts and note something new is emerging from the Roach camp?

Firstly, 2 weeks of driving to Cairns fishing the dams along the way did not result in a meaningful BARRA to skite about. I did achieve a new level of incompetence by loosing the Tinaroo boat ramp in the dark – all was saved by some decent hand helds and the bride with a torch. My aging father was less than impressed with my efforts on this one given that I fessed up that some EO members had advised me of this possibility but I left the GPS back at camp.

The kind people at my new workplace refused access to this site so I was unable to catch up with some members, so my apologies to those concerned. A whirlwind visit to Monduran, Peter Faust. Awoonga and Tinaroo was fantastic and my tip is fish at night but don’t get lost as it is a small boat to share with others.

Reply By: Member - John L G - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:50

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 16:50
Welcome back and god to see you had a bit of fun tho sometimes a bit lost.

Better for camp fire yarns methinks.
AnswerID: 207135

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:34

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 00:34
Hey Theo, good to hear from you again. Thought you'd snuck off on a trip around the block without warning us hahahahaha
AnswerID: 207232

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:19

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 09:19
G'day Al,

I wish you were right, only a few more years in the salt mine for me! But alas not so and anyway it is impossible to leave without getting the good advice needed to do any trip first from EO - right.

Theo
FollowupID: 467210

Reply By: Mark & Jo*Teabags&Teacup* Bris - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:38

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:38
Wondered where you were... hadn't seen you around!

Jo
AnswerID: 207474

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:28

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:28
Hi ya Theo,
Good to see you are back safe mate. Did ya take the bird with you too :)
Here is a pic you may remember, bear with me i haven't used this thing before.....
!MPG:3!
AnswerID: 207594

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:29

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:29
Hey it worked hehehehehehe
FollowupID: 467515

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:19

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:19
G'day Wayne,

The bird stayed home, one of my work mates looked after him. Good piccie Wayne, yeah we had a great time at Copeton and planning to attend again next year. It is truely amazing the extent of the EO membership and where they turn up and as always great to catch up.

Theo
FollowupID: 467615

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:52

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:52
So no 'meaningful' barra ( guess that means you didn't get the metre plus monster, but what did you get? Did your dad land one?

I'm planning on getting back to Awoonga and a couple of the other dams south of there (Lenthels, Monduran) in January, then Peter Faust and Tinaroo in May as part of a trip to the Cape.

Trolling at night is often successful, but I get a lot more enjoyment out of flicking lures in the day. But sometimes you have to just do what it takes.

!MPG:11!
AnswerID: 207597

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:36

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:36
Thanks Norm, I was hoping that I wouldn't have to admit that I didn't catch one at all, zero, nil but now the world knows that I am hopeless at catching barra. The biggest disappointment was that my dad didn't catch one either. It is one of those typical fishing excuses stories, didn't know the area well enough, only had one avo and or evening and the winds were atrocious.

Our first night was at Gin Gin so we took the boat to Monduran (been there before) and launched it in a steady rain late afternoon, the rain disappeared for about an hour but a huge thunderstorm was rolling in from the West. We only just made it back to the ramp before the heavens opened up - total about 2 hours fishing there. Next was Pete Faust, blowing about 20 knots but we get away just after lunch. I could see that the rest of the fleet was back at Camp Kanga and I guessed this was not the best time to be out there BUT we only had that afternoon. Ironically they were all going out when we were back at the ramp. Yep, we spoke to them next morning and they were quoting double digit fish for the night.

Decided to fish Tinarro at night but managed to get lost so the less said about that the better.

We did actually catch some fish in the Boyne and off Cardwell so it wasn't a total drought, too bad they were sharks but my dad had a ball when his poddy mullet got slammed and he was thinking barra (I was hoping so also) turned out to be a river whaler, probably about 10 kilos.

Better luck next time and maybe a little more time at each. Still it is not just the fish that gets me out there, just being out on the water is reward enough.

Theo

That is a great looking fish you have there!
FollowupID: 467620

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:31

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:31
Fair point Theo. We had five fishing sessions over 3 days I think, before we got the barra in the pic. Before that, just a couple of cat fish. It takes a couple of sessions to find your way around some of the dams and check out the likely spots, particularly if you are going to do something other than troll the channels.

I assume you have a sounder? Apart from depth, finding underwater structure where the barra hang around can be helpful.

Hope you enjoyed the time with your dad anyway.

Lenthels isn't far from you. I have't fished it yet, but it is stocked with barra and bass. Another option is a couple of private fishing parks up near the Sunshine Coast. One is Rainbow Villas Barra Park. Don't know much about it, but I've read reports of good barra being caught. I think it costs $35 for 3 or 4 hours of fishing. Sounds steep, but when you consider the cost of fuel to get to Awoonga or Tinaroo, it is worth considering.
FollowupID: 467631

Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:26

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:26
Thanks for the support and pointers Norm. I have a sounder (extremely useful) but I don't run a lecy motor - seems everyone doing the dams has one of these (including you - I see in the picture) and they obviously make life a little easier working around the snags etc.

I haven't given up on the barra by any stretch and will put in some serious effort once I remove some obstacles. I see Awoonga as a doable long weekend (4 day kind) adventure as it is about 6 hours away so that could happen this summer. Other than that I have a trip to Cape Melville in Sept 07 and will give it another shot then.

I have thought about these fishing parks and am of 2 thoughts there but it may be a way of securing a decent photo.

Theo
FollowupID: 467645