high lift jack

Submitted: Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:29
ThreadID: 39829 Views:3312 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
have a 80 series LC with alminuim side steps, are there strong enough to use a high lift jack on?
thanks steve

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:33

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:33
In short NO.

Kev

AnswerID: 207163

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:46

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 18:46
Kev got that one right Steve.
You can't even use most steel side steps as jack points. Have a look at the number of dented side steps you see from being hung up on a rock while off roading.

I lift my Hilux by the steps, but they are custom made heavy duty tied to the chassis in 4 places.
AnswerID: 207164

Reply By: Wizard2 - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:17

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:17
I recently purchased an High Lift Jack when I discovered a new gizmo called a Lift Mate which uses hooks and straps from an attachement on the jack which attach to the wheels.

You can see them in the latest issue of 4WD Monthly. They are pitched at those that don't have High Lift compatable bull bar. Cost around $102.

Heres a link to have a look.

www.bushranger.com.au/hi_lift_jack.php

AnswerID: 207178

Reply By: runninGU - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:24

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 20:24
Buy an exhaust jack, then you wont be tempted and you can lift from anywhere! High lift jacks, should not really be used for any other purpose than a last resort to lift the vehicle for wheen packing, although we all do it, i have seen someone have a car nearly kill him from the tojo falling off the jack!
Be safe
AnswerID: 207182

Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:01

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:01
What let go? or what happened?
Hairy
FollowupID: 467158

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:19

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:19
High lift jacks are inherently VERY unstable, as they are designed to be. This means that using them to change wheels etc is a recipe for disaster. I think the best description I have heard for them is "death on a stick".

Basically if there is ANY other way to do what you want to do with a high lift jack, it would be safer.

Just my opinion based on years of work in a trauma centre before I moved to the Outback.

FollowupID: 467165

Follow Up By: runninGU - Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:32

Monday, Nov 27, 2006 at 22:32
mate, totally agree, the incident that i saw was a 100 series tojo, sahara, the owner was bogged and jacked the tojo from the bull bar, which is ok, until he got under it and started digging, but before i could get there to get him out from under the car, it slipped off the jack and onto him!! luckily it pushed him into the sand, and we jacked it back off him, this time using my high lift as well to support it! so there you go, stand well clear if your using them, as i do often, but just be so bloody careful!!!
FollowupID: 467170

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:39

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:39
I dont want to start a great debate but it doesnt sound like a fault of the jack?
Im saying its never happened but I personally have never heard of a High-lift faulting other than poor maintanence or user fault.

Hairy
FollowupID: 467235

Follow Up By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:57

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:57
You are quite right Hairy, it is almost always user error. The problem is that high lift jacks get used for situations that they are not safe for, and users get themselves into dangerous situations all too easily. "She'll be right mate" is not applicable to using high lift jacks in most cirumstances. "Goodbye mate" would be more appropriate.

FollowupID: 467236

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:48

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 13:48
dont wast your time/money on fany pants hi lift jacking points with an 80. A standard 80 series has about 30 cm of lift with the suspension. Jacking points are another 45cm higher so that makes 75cm of lift before a wheel starts to lift. now a standard high lift is about 120cm so jacking it to the top will only give you 45cm - barely enough (and often not) with the added danger factor of having the jack to its full capacity. Now you can get one of those ballsy looking extra high lifts which just arnt needed or
. Use a hublifter. They are either comercially available or like mine is just a machined peice of pipe. If you have extra wide wheels you just use a longer peice of pipe.
My 80 has both jacking points and a hublifter which makes the points obselete as it is so much better you wouldnt consider anything else
AnswerID: 207316

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:12

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 16:12
Which is why a lift mate is so good as well because it lifts the wheels...
FollowupID: 467260

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:40

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:40
same idea except vehicles other than tojos dont have the hubs to put hub lifters on so the lift mate is for them
FollowupID: 467321

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:48

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 17:48
I've got a bullbar on the Chevissan that has no place to put a hi-lift. I'm working on a permanent solution. But in the meantime I've bought one of those 'strap and hook' thingys that go in the wheel slots and then onto the end of the hi-lift.

These things are OK to lift a wheel on the one corner of the vehicle and then get a bottle jack under it or a block of wood, after taking the bulk of the weight on the hi-lift (usual safety precautions apply naturally). But I reckon they wouldn't be much use in a mud or sand bog where they would sink in the soft stuff right next to the affected, bogged wheel.

Hi-lifts are best used in the centreline of the vehicle. They have less tendency to slide sideways when used in that location. When bogged, the centre of the track is often the only firm ground around you.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207360

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:44

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 20:44
they work fine Bilbo - but you do need a decent jacking board - the softer the bog, the bigger the board required. For one bog I used my jaking board under the wheel and used a large flat slab of granite as the jacking board
FollowupID: 467323

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:05

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:05
Thanks Davoe.

Another point to bear in mind when using a hi-lift from the side of the vehicle is that IF it does slip, it makes an unholy mess of the door!! Or should I say a "holey mess'??

Using it in the middle, at front or rear, and it usually bounces off the tow bar or bull bar it slips.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207437