The Eagle Has Landed

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:13
ThreadID: 39875 Views:4609 Replies:19 FollowUps:37
.....Well, actually, the Dual cab GU Patrol with the Chev 6.5 V8 n/a diesel + gas injection, has landed.

Picked it up from bloke at Mildura today. He had driven it there from Albury this morning and we met up so that I could decide whether the deal should proceed.

One word sums up the driving experience: TORQUE !

My first attempt to drive it (with the "old owner" in the back seat) saw me revving it out to about 2300rpm through the gears. Politely, I was advised to let the engine do the "torquing". So, I used 1700rpm as the change point.......... much better!!!

On the trip back here (5 hours each way), we had to pass through several small country towns; each with at least 1, sometimes 2 turns/intersections. ..... Barely had to change down from 5th gear. Even after a pit stop at Morgan, I was back into 5th gear before the 80kph sign was passed.

The truck is actually quieter than the 4.2 at highway speeds.......but once you pull-up and idle it, it's a different decibel story!! The term "can't hear myself think" springs to mind...................... and I love it!!!!!

It's not all beer and skittels unfortunately. There is some cancer around the back window (where the dual cab window has been placed in the back wall), so that will need to be "addressed" at an early stage. Also, the wiring is a bit of a dog's breakfast as far as the 2nd battery (located under the tray) is concerned. I know, I know..........saying that is a bit rich coming from a bloke like me....(only those who have seen under my 4.2s bonnet will appreciate what this is all about....but at least I know what all those wires are for).

There is an Arid Twin Charger also located under the tray for the 2nd battery, so now I'll have to research the Archives to find out what this gizmo does....I often seen them referred-to here, but haven't bothered to take it all in as I didn't own one at that stage.

Thankfully, there is a decent amount of room behind the rear seats so I can set-up the Barrett HF's main box and the inverter etc.

I mentioned above that it has gas injection too. Only trouble is the bloody 60 litre gas tank sits inside the cargo box/canopy and takes-up a huge amount of the space. I am led to believe the ratio of gas to diesel in these systems is supposed to be about 10%, but the bloke reckons he uses the 60 litres of gas for every 2 fills of diesel (standard diesel tanks, so a total of 250 litres for those 2 combined tanks-full). That equates to about 25% gas to diesel ratio and I will have to get that checked-out pronto. It certainly runs MUCH BETTER when the gas is switched on. I reckon I will try to get one or 2 smaller gas tanks that can fit under the tray/above the main diesel tank, thus freeing-up much needed cargo space.

So, now the fun begins............. Time to transfer bits of gear from the old one to the "new" one. (They are both 2000 models).

Okay, that's my little bit of self-indulgence done for now!

Reply By: Member - John - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:30

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:30
Roachie, The new toy sounds great, good luck with it, hope it doesn't over heat......:-) The Arrid Twin Charge is not water proof or even water resistant, so I would relocate it from under the tray. Does a great job as a battery charger, will put out a constant 20 amp with an input from 8 - 18 volts, from memory. Have fun with the new toy and please keep us informed as it transforms into the "new old one".

AnswerID: 207432

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:17

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:17
G'day John,
Thanks for the response...... The Arrid is actually located in a sealed box about 450mm x 300mm x 350mm just above the tow bar area. I don't think it's water proof-type sealed.
I don't understand (yet) why such a device is necessary. What is wrong with just running a large gauge cable from the main battery and connecting the batteries in parrallel? I would imagaine that with the Arrid, the 2nd battery is effectively "isolated" when it comes to duties like winching etc.
Anyway, as I said, I'm back onto the learning curve roller-coaster!
FollowupID: 467395

Reply By: Member - Axle - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:39

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:39
Roachie, Congratulations on the new toy, I can see many sleepless nights ahead! haha, very intrigued with the gas diesel set up not to many around,
can imagine you will have a few reports now & then, Hope all goes well.

AnswerID: 207433

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:18

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:18
Thanks mate.....yes, further reports will follow as I become more familiar with the truck.
FollowupID: 467396

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:40

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:40
Geez Roachie,,i can see you drooling over it from here. Shoulda got it ages ago,,,there would be no drought with the amount your dribbling over the "new" toy,,,lol :)
Enjoy it mate,,,and with all that power, there is no reason for you not to take it for a "test" drive,,,,maybe over here :)

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 207434

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:19

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:19
Thanks DT......drooling is well under way......clean-up is continuing! hahaha
FollowupID: 467397

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:47

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 22:47
Heaven forbide, youll be imposible to live with now!!!

Pesty
AnswerID: 207435

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:20

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:20
I will continue to be the perfect gentleman that I always am!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 467398

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:12

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:12
Don't worry Pesty. He will still have trouble catching your 60 and I bet he won't get the same mileage out of it before it breaks down.
FollowupID: 467567

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:11

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:11
Bloody Hell !!! You and Bilbo with your Chevies :))) Outback hoons hahahahaha
AnswerID: 207438

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:21

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:21
Yep, can't wait to see how she goes up and down the 1100 sand dunes of the Simpson!!!!
FollowupID: 467399

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:17

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:17
Certainly sounds like a beast with a real roar!!! Have fun with the setup.

AnswerID: 207439

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:22

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:22
Thanks Captain.......More of a rumble (like thunder in the distance), than a roar. hahahaha
FollowupID: 467400

Reply By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:33

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:33
Yo Roachie!! The news is out at last. Now I don't have to keep biting me tongue.

But,,,,,,,,What did I tell ya, what did I tell ya? Hmmm?

All torque, no gear changes and NOISE!!

I told ya mate. But you'll get used to it - or soundproof it like I did ;) Either that or you'll get lazy and just go around corners 'n roundabouts in 5th gear!,,,,,,,,like I do ;)

Strange what ya say about it being noiser when stationary then when it's moving along. Mines' the same.

How many kms has it done? What diff ratios are fitted? Is it "6 by 6" or "6 by 4"?

Who did the gas conversion on it? I can't get any LPG fitters anywhere in "Oz" to answer any questions about the Chev V8 and LPG.

If it's got a "Serpentine Belt" motor in it, make a drawing of how the belt is fitted around all those pulleys. One belt drives the lot and it's a bitch if it snaps and ya can't remember how it all goes round 'n round!

Oh yes - don't ever, ever, ever let it run out of fuel. These engines are a first class, genuine, bedouin arab of a camel harsed bitch of a thing to bleed right through to the injectors. You'll flatten a battery trying to bleed it from the low pressure pump to the HP injector pump. It took me 2 hours to get mine going again when I accidentally ran out of fuel near Bindoon.

When fitting a new fuel filter, remove the filter "OUT" hose and hold it higher than the filter to stop the fuel from draining out. Then use the electric fuel pump to pump fuel through the filter and out into a container. Whilst the electric pump is still running and pumping, quickly replace the filter "OUT" hose and quickly re-tighten the hose clip. Messy but it works. You need 3 hands or a good wife ;)

OH and check the all fan holding bolts EVERY service.

Go well in it Roachie, cane it, this one won't overheat.

Bilbo

AnswerID: 207440

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:41

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:41
Whoops!

If that's the rig in your picture dated 23/11/06 then it's obviously a 4 by 4 - still!

Why can't you place the LPG bottle under the rear of the tray?

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467386

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 01:06

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 01:06
Bilbo, maybe the 6.5's are different but the 6.2 in my troopie was relatively easy to bleed with the outboard tank style in line bulb Brunswick had plumbed into the fuel line.
I ran it out of fuel once, right outside a garage! It took a few bulb squeezes, start attempt, repeated about 3 times and she ran again. No more than 5 minutes total time.

Changing fuel filter is no drama either, just a few 'squeezes' to fill the filter bowl again and she runs as before.
Me thinks you make this job unneccessarily difficult :-)
Klaus
FollowupID: 467389

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:28

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:28
Thanks Bilbo (and V8 Troopie)
............. now I know how you felt when you took delivery of your beast a while ago.
This one has individual belts........thank goodness; I'm not a big fan (no pun intended) of serpentine belts.
It has a huge air filter where the 2nd battery would normally live and a custom made cross-flow radiator.
I take note what you say about bleeding etc......might have to fit a Facet pump like I put on the 4.2, 6 months ago. But I'm always careful not to run out of juice (never have).
The LPG bottle on it at the moment is too big to go under the tray, but if I can get 2 smaller diameter ones, that should be a real possibility.
FollowupID: 467402

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:03

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:03
Klaus,

The set up on my 6.5 is a bit daft. You can use the Nissan manual bleeder or the electric fuel pump to bleed as far as the HP injector pump. After that, as with all diesels you have to crank it over whilst having an injector pipe slackened off.

But the problem lies in the first bit, before the HP pump. Up to and including the filter, you can bleed air out of the filter outlet pipe or the bleed screw on the filter top. (This bleed screw fitting is blanked off by casting on my filter top but never mind, it's not relevant here). The problems start because the filter outlet pipe disappears behind the cylinder heads, then goes UNDER the inlet manifolds and then into the HP injector pump. This one meter length of hose has no means of bleeding air. It goes into the HP pump, which has no air bleed screw on it AND you can't disconnect the incomimg fuel hose because you can't get at it. So if one were to run out of fuel, as I did (faulty fuel guage), then one can only bleed the air out as far as the filter. After that one is left with a metre of 3/8ths hose that's full of air that one can't bleed out.

So one has to leave the electric pump running, knowing that the pipe is full of air, air is compressible and the spring in the fuel cut-off solenoid is stronger than the pressure built up by compressed air in the hose - but only just. Eventually the electric fuel pump pressure manages to push air into the HP pump which then exits via the HP spill back valve - but it takes FOREVER.

In the meantime you think "Oh I'll give it a crank and see if it'll start". It won't - fer a long time!

I've discussed this with Brunswicks many times and thier answer is "Don't run it out of fuel - ever". Basically they don't have an answer. They usually do, but this one, they don't.

My solution is to fit an accessible bleed fiiting adjacent to the HP pump. But I'd have to remove the V8 inlet manifold to do it. It can wait for now.

Me being an ex-diesel mechanic helps, but this is without doubt the worst bleedin' set up I've ever experienced. (pardon my play on words)

Bilbo

FollowupID: 467583

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:35

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:35
Bilbo, don't worry so much about the fuel thing of you can get some air into your tank. Same problem with the old 471 GM here but if you pressurise the tank by just a teensy bit the fuel finds it's natural way to a point past the filter if you have undone the fittings there. You would have known that though. Couldn't you put a union in the pipe close to the HP pump? Geez, not normal for me to think of a union anywhere.
FollowupID: 467607

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:07

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:07
Never needed to crack an injector on mine ever. Just primed and bled to the filter with the push pump, closed the bleeder and simply cranked the motor over. Did it heaps of times and it worked fine. 1 cylinder, then 2 then 4 then 5 then 7 then all 8. Ran like a Swiss watch.

Mine had the old Stanadyne rotary injector unit.
FollowupID: 467652

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:15

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:15
John R,

That's the whole problem John - there ain't no fittings after the filter outlet. There's only the end of the fuel hose where it goes into the HP pump, and ya can't get at it. I could/will put an accessible fitting at this point one day. But I'd have to remove the inlet manifold to do that. Fer now, it can stay as it is. Just have to make sure I don't run it out of fuel.

As for pressurising the tank - the vehicle is fitted with a Carter electric fuel pump which delivers heaps of fuel at a reasonable pressure. the problem is that there's nowhere AT THE END of the fuel line where you can bleed out the air.

"V8 Diesel" - it's ok ONCE I've bled it. It's bleeding it up to the HP pump that's the problem. It doesn't take long to crack up after that.

I've never known any other diesel motor to not have a bleed screw actually ON the HP pump. Never. It's a bloody silly idea and thus far, this and air cleaner removal are the only criticisms that I have with the Chev.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 467771

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:44

Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:44
sweet jehosaphene, what a rig !!

i bet your eyes were glued to the temp guage during your test drive :-)

Now you can get an even bigger CT to go behind ;-)

cheers Brad
AnswerID: 207443

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:47

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:47
Naaa mate ...he'll get a bloody roadtrain permit and hook 3 of the little #####s together

FollowupID: 467387

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:32

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:32
I was a bit worried when I saw that the only additional gauge fitted to the truck was a VDO temp gauge. But it only got up to a maximum 90oC on the way home and the temp yesterday was about 37oC and I had the air con on the whole way.

My mate was driving my 4.2TD and it was running 10oC hotter the whole time. Most of the time the V8 was sitting on 80oC with the Nissan on 90oC.

So all is good so far.

FollowupID: 467403

Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:01

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:01
I could just picture the new "Tri-Axle" Ultimate camper sitting behind that rig Roachie! lol.
FollowupID: 467408

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:30

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:30
Roachie,

The normal operating temp for these motors is 80C to 85C - pretty cool. I've pulled my 2 tonne van loaded up, with the back of the Patrol fully loaded, two adults, a dog, 180 litres or water, 220 litres of diesel, a very unaerodynamic loaded roof rack, air con full blast, uphill and down dale betwen Perth and Kalgoorlie at 100 kmh (and more!) for 4 hours at a stretch and the temp guage move only a gnats dick upwards. I was worried it wasn't working!!

And bear in mind - this was after it was "run-in" and my motor is almost new, therefore more friction, therefore more heat.

Too easy mate ;)

PS - anyone that knows Perth - the rig as above goes up Greenmount Hill in 4th most of the way, dropping to 3rd at the last minute just near the top. I pass trucks and buses up there all the time.

Bilbo

FollowupID: 467591

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:07

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 00:07
Welcome to the world of real Diesel engines ... now you can retire the slet dogs which you need in front of any jap toy engine when you tow a decent size load ...
Have seen the 6.5 at the last 4wd show ...nice conversion .. and enough power to run a second decent size alternator. The chevy conversions get a new spin when it's official that Ford will not bring any more F-trucks to OZ.. only problem is that the 6.5 is not built anymore and supply will eventually dry out, but thats not your problem anymore :)) ... you have one ... congrats
have fun .. lot's of it
gmd

AnswerID: 207447

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:01

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:01
Cheers GMD....... the fun has only just begun, me thinks.....
FollowupID: 467409

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:54

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 12:54
gday gmd, and Roachie

Very jealous for a start Roachie. I'm sure the 6.5 is still bein built in Sweden under licence form Chev for the Hummer and marine aplications. they start out at 170hp (na), and have a series of optons out to over 400hp with a supercharger!

I want one!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 467447

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:24

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:24
andrew,

you sure about the hummers ?
I thought they get the duramax now .. but I am not into Hummers
so I wouldnt know ..
gmd
FollowupID: 467458

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:56

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:56
gday gmd

read it in a boat book - they did say it was for the military, so it may not be a suvillian option. I think sweedishmarinediesels.com or something similar is the site, or there may be some info on Sea Media's site (f&B magazine) looking to be a popular option to replace a lot of petrol stern drives/inboards as they bolt strait in where a Mercruiser (chev) V8 sat and guzzled fuel, very little modification needed for the conversion...

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 467659

Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:04

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:04
Andrew,

thats interesting .. I have one of these petrol guzzling mercruisers :)) ..
much prefer a diesel (no second type of fuel to carry), but one also has
to consider the weight in the boat .. my boat is not big and the weight
difference makes a difference .. maybe when I get a bigger boat (but that might
be in the next life) ...
thanks for that
gmd
FollowupID: 467661

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:01

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:01
Gday gmd

I don't think the diesels are much heavier than the petrols from chev, but I'm not sure.....I don't think they are cheap new....410kg for the 170hp N/A, 430kg for all others...supercharger must weigh 20kg.

Cheers Andrew

www.marinediesel.nu/
FollowupID: 468710

Reply By: Member - John - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:33

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:33
Roachie, this may help a little with the ARRID. www.arrid.com.au/twin.html

AnswerID: 207463

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:02

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:02
Thanks John......
FollowupID: 467410

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:24

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:24
Looks like it's ideal for ensuring the battery gets a great level of charge and the fact that it can handle different types (including my Fullriver AGM) is very appealing. However, it still doesn't answer the question about parralleling the batteries for winching duties etc.

The 2nd battery is wired up very neatly using split tubing to a couple of relays, but I have no idea what they are used for and will have to do some experimenting as time permits.
FollowupID: 467457

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:41

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 07:41
sounds awesome....

"I was back into 5th gear before the 80kph sign was passed."...doing 100?
AnswerID: 207465

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:03

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:03
hahahahaha, You're a funny bloke Richard.....
I could have been doing 100kph............or I could have been doing 40kph........anything is possible with the torque this baby has! hahahaha
FollowupID: 467411

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:54

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:54

Congrats on the new beast.

I must say up front I am no mechanical engineer (electrical) but I have a mechanical question for you.

With all this new found torque, is this an issue for the gear box?
I have read and heard of so many problems re: gear boxes under load in high gear.

Wim
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 207481

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:15

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:15
G'day Wim,
Not sure about the effect on the gearbox. I intend to get on to Nissan Headquarters with VIN number in hand and ask them about the gearbox. Otherwise, I could always transfer the one out of my current Patrol (plus the transfer case with the crawler gears), over to the "new" beast.
FollowupID: 467454

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:16

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:16
Wim 'n Roachie,

The folks that do these V8 conversions are aware of the torque versus gearbox issue. When Brunswicks do the conversions they always fit a pre 1997 GQ gearbox at the same time. It's the strongest of all the Nissan boxes by far. Brunswicks will not fit a V8 unless you have a pre 1997 GQ gearbox fitted. It's the only way to avoid any warranty isuse later on. Think about it. You have a V8 motor put into yer truck and the leave original, weaker box in it. The gearbox blows up due to high torque loading. You then say to the conversion people "YOUR engine stuffed MY gearbox" The converson people then say "YOUR gearbox wasn't strong enough for OUR engine".

And so on and so on and back and forth it goes.

Roachie, you may find that quoting the VIN number won't get you far if a different gearbox was fitted when the engine was changed. Just a thought. But a good Nissan guy will tell with a glance underneath which type of box is in there. I don't know who converted yours but if it was Brunswick then it will be the correct gearbox.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467587

Reply By: Member - Andrew W (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:33

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 09:33
Hi there Roachie,

You might like to give this stunt a try?

Site Link

If the VW can do it, yours'd probably get it to take-off speed.

Who was the conversion done by?

Is it engineered to a higher GVM than a standard GU?

Andrew.
AnswerID: 207488

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:11

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:11
Andrew,

That VW motor is amazing. The torque is mind blowing. Far better than the Chev - or anything else for that matter! I thought (passingly) about buying one when they first came out. I was working then and not retired as I am now. But where would I get it fixed if it stopped 200 kms north east of Wiluna? Plus my missus would divorce me if she thought I had enough money to buy one!

I've seen one in the flesh and there's not a lot of ground clearance on 'em either.

They're a bit TOO flash for what I do with a 4WD.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467599

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:31

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:31
Hmmmm Bill..........

"When a bloke with experience meets a bloke with money, the bloke with money gets the experience; the bloke with experience gets the money!" Too plurry true mate!!!!

Congrats on your new purchase. I hope that this truck will have less 'troubles' than the 'old' GU, but I doubt it. You are about to go forth on a big learning curve.

Despite what many fundi's on engine conversions believe, once you get away from the original specs of a vehicle, all manner of tolerances change, as you are about to find out.

Anyway have fun! Hope the said truck is still running when you come north at a later date...lol..., so that we can have a gander and say Oooooooh, Ahhhhhhh......Hmmmmmmmm!! :-D

AnswerID: 207499

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:19

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 13:19
Don't worry Willie, I thought about that quite a lot.......whenever I've had dramas out in the bush, it's almost always been attributible to some bit of aftermarket kit that I've shelled-out bikkies for and that turns out to be designed for hard 4 wheelin' in Rundle Street (or Pitt Street, Little Collins Street etc etc).
FollowupID: 467456

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:44

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:44
Willem,

Like Roachie, I thought long 'n hard about getting one swapped after I had my 100 series stolen. But I found out there about 7500 of these conversions at large around Oz and not many complaints. They seem to be a tried and tested conversion that works better than the original. They're certainly cheaper to service as well.

I reckon I've given mine a fair hiding in the WA bush, pulling my van to prospecting spots and so far, it's done it easily.

You well know that over the years I have backed Nissans. I've driven 'em hard in the bush as a prospector,,,,,,,,,BUT I'd rather be out bush with this Chevissan than a Nissan with a ZD30 in it, that much is certain. I do still love that 4.2 donk but a 6.5 just does it much better - so far.

Take care,

PS - see story below about a NEW Nissan with a 6.5 in it!!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467596

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:01

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:01
I have been going to ask Bilbo this for a while, so now you are both listening I will ask and get two answers for the price of one.

If the Chevvie has so much torque that you don't have to change gears going around corners and roundabouts in town have you considered putting a taller diff in so that you can actually use that gearbox you are carrying around? Surely this would have the additional benefit of using less fuel.

The shortcoming of the dual cab is the length of the tray but I know that can be overcome. I guess, given time it will be.

Ohh by the way Roachie, I am jealous. It sounds/looks great and I want one.

Honey..........Honey have you seen this......................it would be really good for picking the kids up from school and doing the shopping.....really it would.

AnswerID: 207550

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:33

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 15:33
G'day Duncs,
You're dead right, the truck could do well to have a taller diff ratio (it already has 3.9 and I'm not sure whether they make a 3.7 that would fit).

Another alternative would be to go up in tyre size. This thing of mine has unusal size tyres (as fas I'm concerned, anyway) of 295/75R16.....but I would eventually like to replace them with 315/75s. Before I do that though, I will have to re-work the system of where the spare/s go. At present it has one spare tyre, bolted to the back of the box, about 5 foot off the bloody ground. I intend to do a system like Telstra Nissan's have, with 2 spares which are mounted on individual fold-up/down carriers. You put the carrier down 180 degrees, stand the tyre/wheel on the carrier and secure with a bolt, then lift the carrier back up through a 180 degree arc so that it is in it's proper position and secure it in place. If it's still too heavy for me to lift, I'll be fitting a simple boat-style hand winch.

The length of the tray seems short at first glance, but once it is opened up it is obvious that the cubic capacity is about double of the wagon. It will be better once I can get the gas bottle out too. I am not in favour of cutting the chassis and extending the wheelbase (like Ron Moon did to his) as it decreases the ramp over angle to a certain degree. On the other hand, adding another axle is still my preferred option for the longer term (maybe).... hahaha
FollowupID: 467484

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:06

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:06
Forget the extra axle Roachie.
We have two six wheelers at work and you just lose so much traction as the lazy axle has no drive and in small dips etc your rear drive wheels don't have much weight on them. Have to run the things in 4wd most of the time just to get some traction. Also you may find that the brakes they put on the lazy axle will not be a match to the originals and you will find out quickly how hard it can be to stop reasonably quickly without a wheel lock up. Great for the extra GVM of course for trailing the tractors around. One of the Tojo's has a 5. something chev in it and it is a pig of a car as far as power and talk goes. The old 1HZ with aftermarket turbo has more get up and go.

Hope to catch up with you sometime with the new toy but sounds like you have a lot of work to do in the meantime
FollowupID: 467563

Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:05

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:05
Congrats on the beast Roachie, should have read this before Des Lexic rang me tonight, he would have been mumbling about Nissans needing a real motor, hehehe. He rang from Bright, which I told him was an oxy-moron for him.. LOL

I agree with Outnabout David with all his comments on the lazy axle, have seen nothing but problems with them, a local tour operater has a 79 series 6 wheeler and says its the biggest heap of chit he has. Now he drives it everywhere with the lazy axle lifted.

Have fun moving all the goodies...
FollowupID: 467585

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:56

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:56
Duncs,

Like Roachies says, mine's got 3.9 diffs in it. With this engine, that particular ratio is ideal for van or CT towing, which I do more of than normal running around. You don't need to stretch the engine out too far to get the whole rig moving along. It's low enough to tow easily but high enough to give reasonable fuel figures. But as you say, when it's "solo' then you don't need all the gears.

In the USA they use these engines to tow up to 5 tonne vans/trailers etc but use a low diff ratio of something like 4.3 or 4.5. I think the military Hummer uses low ratios as well. Probably for pulling broken down Abrams tanks !!

Roachie - save fuel and change at 1400 rpm. It's easier on yer wallet and yer eardrums!!

Try holding 5th gear and slow down to the absolute minimum non-snatch speed. I can get mine down to about 30kmh in 5th and still accelerate away to 140 kmh without a gear change. Try it - it's fun ;)

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467598

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:01

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 18:01
Keep us informed.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 207589

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:26

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 00:26
When I was down at Brunswicks, I had a look at Greg Jones's NEW Nissan Patrol. Greg is the owner of Brunswick Diesels. He's been doing these conversions for 18 years. Anyway, he bought his wife a brand new GU Nissan Patrol with a 4.2 donk in it.

He brought it home from the Nissan dealer in Bunbury, ripped out the brand new 4.2 motor - it had done about 250 kms!! - and fitted a 6.5 Chev in its place.

Come time for the first service on the truck,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,he didn't tell the dealer that he'd done the conversion.

The Nissan mechanic lifted the bonnet and,,,,,,,,

The Nissan mechanic schat himself!!

Needless to say, Greg's blown the new car warranty - but his wife loves the V8!!

It has V8 badges all over it now.

Now that's faith in what you sell eh!!

He's even had a Toyota daeler in Albany leave an almost new V8 petrol 'Cruiser Sahara with him - to rip out the donk and put a 6.5 in its place. I saw that car just as it was having the donk ripped out. A Toyota lover would have wept.

Bilbo

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207686

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:22

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:22
G'day Bilbo,

Apparently this one of mine was done the same way. Manufactured 11/2000; converted 12/2000.
FollowupID: 467617

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:37

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:37
Congratulations Roachie. Sounds an interesting conversion and would just about eat Toureg V10s I would think.
AnswerID: 207705

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:23

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:23
Just sitting here wondering if the 6.5l will fit into a 120 series!

Ahhhhhhhhhh.... one can only dream.

AnswerID: 207811