Oztents

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 28, 2006 at 23:04
ThreadID: 39876 Views:8822 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
Hi.......Noted an OZTENT for sale recently. It is one of the "Discovery" series- (2.3x2x1.8). I gather these were the earlier models and did have a few problems.
I am unable to find the original selling prices or when they were superseded.
Wonder if anyone can enlighten me on these issues. At least I could then make a reasonable and informed offer of purchase. Have just looked at the recent RV4 Oztent and they look super but just out of my price range at present.
Many thanks. Derrick W

Reply By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:45

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 08:45
Mate,

I had one of these a few years ago 1998 I think and it was a great little tent, had no problems with it. If I remember correctly it was $750 at the Perth 4wd show of that year.......I hope this helps?
AnswerID: 207476

Reply By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:27

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:27
Bought an Oz tent RV4 and over 8 months the tent was replaced 3 times with brand new ones.
The first was replaced due to leaking stitch joins in the roof.
The second one leaked in exact same spot. (apparently bad batch)
The third tent we received 2 days before a 5 week trip. This one was from a new batch and It was stitched too short on one side and ripped a hole in the floor first time erected.

In the Simpson in June this year, we got into the minuses at night and the roof of the tent heavily condensates, so in affect you need to use the fly to stop this.

However I could not fault the after sales service and the replacement of the tents but ended up drawing the line and got a full refund on the OZ tent.

Now have a Southern Cross Ultimate trekker and very happy with it, IMO they are worth the extra bucks and are much better made.
AnswerID: 207498

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:31

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:31
forgot to mention I bought the Oz tent for I know a few people that have the older ones and were extremely happy with them and never experienced the prob's I had. The new ones I dont believe are worth the money.
FollowupID: 467427

Follow Up By: Alan S (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 10:57
Ingo

I have a new RV4, in these there are vents at the under neath the awning. I have found that if they are left open it prevents condensation.

FollowupID: 467429

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:31

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:31

I agree the vents being open help with ventilation, my top vents were never closed and didnt notice condensation until the temp dropped bellow zero in the desert and Flinders Ranges and when the sun hit the tent early morning the roof formed water droplets and continually dripped over everything inside. Inside was myself my wife and two year old son.

I posted on here after the trip mid July this year to see if anyone else had experienced this problem and almost every reply owners were saying yes they had the same but problem solved when using the fly, which in my opinion defeats the purpose of having a 30 second tent.

For me though Alan, It was the rip in the floor (first night of the trip) which was the hair that broke the camels back, to Oztents credit they wanted to give me a new one which would have been the 4th
new tent. I love the Idea and design of the Oztent but were over the drama's.

FollowupID: 467432

Follow Up By: Gajm - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:03

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:03
Hi Ingo, what is the Southern Cross like to set up, does the pole at the back of the ultimate trekker come off or does it stay connected? I was looking at the Oztents but you have made me have a rethink.

I am wanting a quick and easy tent for when it is just me and my 2 boys and thought the Southern cross centre pole type might be a bit cramped unless I go for one of the larger ones. Thats why I originally looked at the Oztent models.

Sorry for hijacking the thread but it would be great to hear from someone who has experience with both brands

FollowupID: 467531

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:57

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:57
Gday Gajm

The Southern cross takes a couple of minutes longer to set up but reckon its quicker to pack up.

We went with the the Ultimate trekker because of a growing family and the wife wanted to go a bit bigger, The first time I put it up I thought crickeys this is massive, but first trip away we had ample room 4 air beds across the back and the centre pole stood at the end of our mattresses and the other side of the pole (1.5m) heaps of room for bags and the like. The Ultimate Trekker you can walk around inside without ducking, unlike the Oztent where you can only stand right at the door, the rear window closes from the inside which is a bonus as well.

Felt a lot more sturdy than the Oz tent in wind and no need for guy ropes. The centre pole is not a problem at all and some nights comes in handy to hold onto after a few brews at the fire, they also have the side pole option which alliminates the centre pole which I have heard are very good.

We also looked at the 3 x3 southern cross tent and it would have been ample but we went alittle extra for we will be using a cot in the tent soon.

I guess unless you want a big tent like the ultimate trekker for you and two boys the 2.7 x 2.7 or 3x 3
would be ample, regardless of which one, they all pack into the same size bag but the bigger (more canvas) the heavier. If you want something thats going to last a long time the extra money you spend on a southern cross tent is well worth it in my opinion...........You wont regret it!!!

FollowupID: 467562

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:03

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:03
Ebay has had several for sale to gauge some idea of value......a recent one went for $646 in very good condition

I'm not sure if you have seen or are watching the currect auction starting at $300 for a well used one. Seems about all it's worth though.

AnswerID: 207502

Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:07

Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:07
I would think $300 is on the money if it is in good condition.
FollowupID: 467565

Reply By: Lastwave - Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:42

Tuesday, Dec 12, 2006 at 16:42
i just purchased a oztent discovery 2nd hand $400 in good cond - try this site - they have prices etc - www.driftaway.com.au/oztent

AnswerID: 209987