GOT NEW EO STICKER Good for EO but not for me .
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 19:50
Member - Willie , Epping .Syd.
I was hoping this would be a shade blackout for the top of the screen , but it is clear backing with the EO website letters in white .
Great advertising for EO , but of no value to me . I think there should be some use for such overt advertising give-aways to give you a reason to put it on the car . I do not see how David could charge anybody for one of these .
I am sure many will be happy to plaster it on their cars anyway .
Willie .
Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 19:51
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 19:51
And you paid how much for it?
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:06
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:06
lol
Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:51
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:51
Methinks foot removal surgery would be in order on this one........lol.
good gravy miss mavy,,,,,can i have one as
well David,,,,,,,,,i'll pay for it if need be....:):):)
meow.
rick.
sorry Willie,,,,,couldnt help meself :)
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:36
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:36
I paid nothing for it , and I guess that is what it is worth to me . I am happy to support EO by displaying a sticker on the back of my car , but I would need a good reason to place a metre plus one on there . When I ordered it , I thought it was a functional item . It turns out to be a metre long advert. for OE and nothing more .
But I see you will be selling them to non members for $5. It's a crazy world we live in where you can expect ( and get ) people to to pay YOU to advertise your product . Doggy Tease is a typical example of this .
Willie .
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:52
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:52
Rick,
Go to the
My Home page and click on the link at the top about the sticker and order away - FOC for members.
Ah Willie - If you do not want it then do not put it on, why put such a slant on it. You go to a place and pay a few bucks for a bumper sticker and advertise that place so what is the diff. We give you free bumper stickers your choice to use it or not. We give you free windscreen sticker your choice - even easier do not order it and cost me postage if you do not want it. But to bag it is bit steep. Why not give us the feedback like - it would be good if it was solid black backed and 100mm high so that I can use it as a visor!
Follow Up By: Member - LONER - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:05
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:05
Lighten up Willy, David's reply was hilarious, I'll be laughin for days over how it was so simple and accurate yet so funny.
Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:49
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 07:49
Some people are only happy when they're miserable.
I'm happy and grateful for
mine.
Jack
Follow Up By: Diver1 - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:32
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:32
I have just ordered 2....
How can a sticker be functional? A sticker is a sticker whether its pink, purple, black out line or multi coloured....i have 12 stickers on my car all advertising
places we have been etc.....they dont help me pack the shopping into the car or do the house work for me.....
Thankyou David and team for finally bringing out these beauty's!!! Cannt wait to put them on the 4b.....if HWMBO will let me!!! I would pay for them.....
Let me know when someone finds a sticker that is functional and not just advertising will ya's!!!!
Laura B
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:24
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:24
David ,
I don't go to
places and buy stickers to put on my car . I put stickers on there that matter to me . I have two at the moment - ExplorOz and my local footie club . When ARB put one on after a service , I take it off .
My apologies for bagging your sticker David , it was not what I thought it would be and I ran off at the mouth a bit . I am a little surprised that I did not have more enraged EO people screaming for my head .
Anyway , Loner will be laughing for days over your " hilarious " ? post , so I guess something positive has come out of it .
Cheers ,
Willie .
PS .
Laura B , if you bothered to read the post you would see that a sticker can be functional .
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:30
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:30
Ummm, OK......
David,
It would be good if it was solid black backed and 100mm high so that I can use it as a visor.. How's that?? ;-)))
Cheers!...............
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:40
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:40
Hell Willie, members of other forums willing payout $10-$20 for stickers like that to display on their winscreen and or back windows etc. I think the price is pretty good at $0.00!
I know I ordered
mine!
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:05
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:05
I got
mine today, all I need to do now is work out how I'll put it on the Trailer, The Triton x 2 (front and Rear Windscreens) and hopefully SWMBO will let me put another on the X Trail.
I know I got 4 of them and could still use more so if you don't want it Willie send it my way I'll stick it to something that moves, maybe the neighbours ride on mower LOL.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Junior - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:07
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:07
or maybe on SWMBO Kev??? :-)>
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:17
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:17
Depends on if she stays still long enough.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:44
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:44
Kev,
If you want some more you only need to order in the system. Members will continue to get these for free.
Just make sure you flatten them out and use heaps of soapy
water when you put them on.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:50
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 20:50
No worries David,
I'll have the first 4 put on first and see what else I can gainfully target to put some more on.
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:07
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:07
Yep, I stuffed it big time putting
mine on.....It is a little hard to get it across the windscreen because of the curve.....Put some cuts in it to help with the curve but stuffffffed it big time.....
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:53
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:53
Teabag order another maybe two and then you will have a spare. Heaps of soapy
water is the trick.
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 06:52
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 06:52
David,
I will and yes, I used heaps of soapies which worked fine though to get across the windscreen with the curve is a little harder because it is a full sticker.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:57
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:57
Another option would maybe to cut the words up so www. | ExplorOz | .com in three parts and apply one at a time. You could also trim off some of the clear which would make it look better as it is not joined.
Follow Up By: Member - Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:17
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:17
David,
I will order a couple more tonight and give it another go?
Follow Up By: Member - LONER - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:20
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:20
I,m still laughin.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:55
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 21:55
The stickers are a great conversation starter - they get seen by fellow members when you are out in the sticks.
Reply By: Bilbo - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:37
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:37
That's strange Willie, David's paying me to have
mine on the car. Is he not paying you as
well?.
Well then, I'd complain mate ;)
But seriously, I was going to put this across the windscreen but had a thought about putting across the acrylic windshield on the Jarram Roofrack.
So David - will the sticker actually stick to the acrylic?
Bilbo
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:54
Yes it will stick no problems....
Follow Up By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:44
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:44
Bilbo good idea We might start a trend & look out for the EO roof racks
Reply By: Moggs - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:54
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 22:54
I also received
mine today. Don't mean to sound ungrateful - but it is crap! I reckon it would be a bad bit of advertising to have a dodgy sticker.
Mine turned up cracked where it was folded. It could not be flattened - and from prior experience clear stickers stand out like dogs you know what when they age.
If EO want to advertise via the members - then supply decent vinyl cut-out stickers. They only cost a couple of bucks each.
Was worth a try - but not going on the vehicle. Thanks to David and Michelle for the effort anyway.
BTW, if you use soapy water to position these stickers when putting them on you will get a haze under the clear part. If you have to use it - make sure it is weak.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:42
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:42
Signwriters just use plain water.
Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:54
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 13:54
Water would also work as for the haze it does disappear after the sticker is dry (takes a few days). As for the folds yes it is a pity however 50c vs $4 for postage(2000 units postage alone $1000 vs $8000) makes a compelling argument to give the folded version I try). I have two heavily folded versions (squashed under a pile of books for a week) fitted on the front and rear windscreens of the landcrusier and in both cases after the sticker had dried the creases were almost non existent, hence the reason we gave the folded option a go.
We have made a descission that people who pay for the sticker ie: non members get the sticker rolled so the $5 just covers the $4 postage and packaging material. It is not really a fee for the sticker.
Anyway it is your vehicle and I have no problems if you do not want to give it a go.
Follow Up By: Moggs - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:57
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:57
"Anyway it is your vehicle and I have no problems if you do not want to give it a go."
Glad to hear it ;-)
Seriously, I appreciate the effort and the concept is a good one IMHO.
I do however think it would be better to charge members a few dollars and 1. get it to them without damage, and 2. supply a vinyl cut sticker.
The vinyl cut stickers look tops and are easier to cut up to get the windsceen curve right. You can also fold them up for postage i.e. fold between the letters and only the backing gets damaged - not the vinyl sticker.
Reply By: Trekkie (Member - WA) - Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:34
Wednesday, Nov 29, 2006 at 23:34
Hey Willie just looking at your Members Rig & Profile - Did I see a big sticker on the side of your boat that say "QUINTREX" and is that a big sticker on the side of your trailer "TRAK SHACK" from here I cannot make it out, but looks like you are providing free advertising !!!! lol
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:31
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:31
I did not put those on Trekkie , they are a manufacturer's logo - is that difference a little subtle for you to comprehend ?
Reply By: Ray Bates - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 06:48
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 06:48
Talking of advertising I cannot understand people who wear tee shirts with adverts on them. Sometimes they pay the earth to buy and wear tee shirts that advertise other people's products. Advertising is big bussiness and a pain in the butt at times so surely the people wearing the tee shirts should be paid to wear them.
I have been considering wearing a tee shirt that says "This Adverising Space for Sale"
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:27
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:27
What about the ridiculous trend in BUYING stickers, like RM Williams & Cat etc.
Why in the hell would you pay to advertise a company that has done absolutely nothing for you, other than maybe sell you product?
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:52
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:52
Hey Shaker, don't go bagging my bread and butter. R.M.Williams is an iconic company.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:56
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:56
Quite simply, I didn't!
I 'bagged' the mentality of buying advertising stickers.
Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:37
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:37
Think of it like putting a football team sticker on your car. Company's are like teams and hence have many loyal supporters who love to promote the team.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:48
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:48
CAT is to try and make themselves look hardcore, RM Williams, that's just country cool. I felt SO out of place at the Boyup Brook rodeo a months or so ago because I wasn't wearing anything RM Williams! LOL We even had RM flags at
our campsite. Boots, RM Akubras, belt buckles, mudflaps, flags, shirts, mate you name it, it was there. Was pretty cool to see though, I gotta admit! ;-)
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:41
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:41
Got
mine today, had to put it on the back window as I've already got a RM Williams sticker on the front. : )>
BTW got one of those Hema Aussie map sticker from ARB this arvo, same instructions as the ExplorOz sticker, looks great on the table in the camper.
Jeff.
Reply By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:35
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:35
This grumpy business must be catching LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:32
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:32
I had a bad hair day .
Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:43
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:43
Now there's a hairy thought !
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:52
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 08:52
This is the best all round site I have used. I'm quite happy to give you and the site 'free' advertising
Regards Bob
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:18
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:18
Willie,
Did you have a bad drive home yesterday :)))) I had an easy run through Bells (just before they closed it due to that fire we saw). None of the usual loonies zooming up behind me and wanting to pass in dicey situations.
Still waiting for the carrier pidgeon to drop off my windscreen sticker. It may cover up the battle scar from yesterday LOL
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:30
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 14:30
Hi Willie,
I am not going to get into the advertising argument to much, as i already have a large advertising sticker across my windscreen for my own business, why dont you go to your nearest sign writer and he will be able to cut you a black, or any colour, strip to your species to fit across the windscreen, and then if you wont to advertise Davids business for free you could stick it over the top of that.
Its good stuff, I have had computer cut sign writing on vehicles for years, and its reasonably cheap too.
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:48
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 15:48
I know what you mean Willie. I generally lay a full strip on first. Then the logo or signage.
If you want to haul over, I'll gladly give you a full piece to put on first.