Submitted: Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:08
RichieK
For the last 20000kms, my Prado (now with only 80000kms on it) suddenly started using 15-20% more fuel. Replaced the airfilter with a new one, same result. No noticeable change in engine performance, exhaust smoke etc, no fuel leaks anywhere... used to easily get 10l/100km on highway and 12l/100km in city, now getting 12l/100km on highway and 13.5l/100km in city. Most of my driving is a mix of freeway and suburban and I now struggle to get 1000km before the gauges show empty (159 litre
tank capacity, though once both gauges show empty, they take 125 litres to top up - obviously I could go further but don't like running tanks too low so I go off the gauges), previously similar driving would allow 1100-1200, longer on an interstate trip.
Only accessories are a Safari
snorkel, cargo barrier,
UHF radio and alloy bullbar (plus an engel on the long trips). I was running Grandtreks, now on Cooper AT/r at 36psi all round.
As I bought the TD to get better fuel economy and
tank range, I'd be keen to get my original consumption back.
Any clues?
Cheers and beers
Rich
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:10
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:10
Did the change in economy coincide with the change in tyres?
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:15
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:15
No - tyres were changed at 70000km...
Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:16
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:16
With summer here is the a/c working harder ?
Heat and engine temp will also add to variances in consumption.
Derek.
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:21
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:21
This increased consumption has been consistent over the last 20000km which has taken 12-18mths to travel - summer/winter no difference...
Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:32
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 09:32
Are your tyres the same rolling radius or have you put on larger tyres??
Had an interesting experience with Woolies Fuel Vs Shell, Shell returned 11% better economy than Woolies, but only when I got the nice yellow gold version of shell Diesel. They apparently sometimes supply each other with fuel??
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:00
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:00
same size tyres, 265/70R16. I have also heard the Shell diesel getting better economy story, and yes, thats what I use!
Thanks for the reply.
Reply By: John Davies - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:05
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 10:05
Snorkel restricts air flow = higher fuel consumption.
Bullbar heavier = higher fuel consumption.
AT tyres have higher rolling resistance = higher fuel consumption.
Maybe car need good service (check injection timing)
John D
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:05
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:05
Thanks for your reply. All good points, but the accessories were fitted almost from new and i was still getting the good consumption, then it suddenly decreased. I was thinking about the injection timing myself, though dealer says it never needs to be touched...
Just re-read your response - does a
snorkel restrict airflow? Have never heard that before, only that they help your engine breathe easier through the cleaner air from higher point of intake, plus ram effect (though I've also read that this is negligible at speeds below 200km/h!)
Rich
Follow Up By: John Davies - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:13
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:13
Timing belt stretches with age and timing progressively becomes more retarded.
With the
snorkel, it has more bends and thus restricts flow, ram effect is negligable.
John D
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:49
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:49
Thanks for the extra clarification. Still feel the
snorkel not the culprit as I had it fitted at about 30000kms, fuel consumption didn't go downhill till 60000kms. Timing belt not scheduled for replacement till 150000kms from memory, this car has had a very cruisy life, lots of highway running, a little bit of city stuff and the rest cruising around the suburbs and up the mountains so hopefully the original belt isn't stuffed yet..
rich
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:55
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:55
Take your
snorkel air ram off (only one clamp) and check to make sure the wallies who fitted it didn't put the restricter washer in (for petrol models to cut induction noise). I have the same motor as you and when they fitted
mine they put it in, it HALVED my air intake size!! Takes 1 minute and a screwdriver to remove.
Run your tyres at 42psi, you'll get HEAPS go from standing starts and much better cornering, less tyre wear and save a fair whack in fuel.
I've actually been experimenting with
mine at 48psi to try and combat the excessive fuel I use in the school run each day (dropping my son and picking him up, it's about a 15k round trip of constant stop start cornering below 70kph driving. I havn't noticed much of an increase from 42psi fuel wise, but the ride is a little too firm. At 32psi I feel like I'm towing a trailer I loose that much power, so it would have to effect fuel consumption alot IMHO.
The type of driving you do will make a huge difference too. I get anywhere up to 17l per 100kms on those constant short round town trips, on the open road with a FULL load on the roof rack and in the car, crusing at 80-90kph I can get as low as 10.5L per 100k even with the air con on about 25% of the time.
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:37
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:37
The old rule of thumb I was told was a saving of 2% in fuel economy for every 2 psi over 32psi. Less rolling resisitance, but it maxes out at about 40/45 psi.
Reply By: 666toy - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:17
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:17
Time to have the injectors checked & your E.C.U checked .Do any eng warning lights come on with a flash every now & then or maybe stay on a little longer than they normally did? Has your temp increased at all? With only 80,000 you should be able to clame warranty if it is either of the above.Just a small tip get a independent report before trying to clame warranty on this vehicle.Don't just rely on the dealer no matter how nice they are they are in bat for themselves.....666toy
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:00
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:00
Hi and thanks.. No warning lights coming on, no temp increase. Everything running like a train so feel even the injectors are fine, though I could be wrong - I frequently am! LAst major service (70000kms) was at an ARB workshop who I took it to for this very reason, they say everything is tip-top ship-shape so i'm really stumped.. I haven't been back to Toyota as its out of warranty and I'm predicting a big bunfight plus the person who works on your car likely to not be as 4wd inclined as say ARB? I've now moved quite far away from the ARB workshop..so either back to Toyo or find another 4wd/diesel place with some knowledge. Getting very frustrated as it costs me at least $20 per week in excess fuel..
Might I add I'm probably the lightest foot going around, I always drive for economy, even more so these days! If I drive it with a heavier foot, it drinks juice like a v8...
Follow Up By: 666toy - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:51
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 12:51
Sounds very much like a faulty airflow sensor or the Engine Control Unit is at fault somewhere. Still could be the injectors (doesn't take much to screw up the atomization) . Just a small possibility when it was serviced about 20,000klm ago was the gearbox transfer & diff oils changed ? To heavy grade of oil can lead to increased driving resistance therefore increased fuel consumption.
I would have the E.C.U reset back to default settings & go from there. All so were the injectors removed & tested? because it is impossible to properly check atomisation while they are still in the eng. ARB are good but you are better off going to a diesel specialist when it comes to the fuel system (eg
united diesels or even a Cummins workshop) Hope this can be of help......666toy
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:01
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:01
1kz-te doesn't have an airflow meter, only a air temp sensor which wouldn't make much difference.
You wouldn't be able to tell if it was running hotter as the toyota temp guage only has three settings, cold, normal and hot. Once you get to about 65-70c it will slowly rise to half way (or there abouts), then it will not move again until you hit about 110c. But in saying that I would think that you would get better atomisation of the fuel at a higher temp anyway, so that shouldn't matter.
Follow Up By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 23:29
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 23:29
Richie
You say you have shifted
camp, does the new route have (a) more traffic lights (b) more hills (c) more roundabouts ?
eerfree
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:49
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:49
"I haven't been back to Toyota as its out of warranty "
Dont these have 100,000k's warranty?
Follow Up By: RichieK - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:15
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:15
eerfree - this new route is very recent (about a month), the fuel consumption increase is something that happened 20000kms ago and has been consistent ever since. The new route involves more freeway/highway driving but still getting nowhere near the economy of the first 60000kms of the prado's life, where driving in the suburbs/peak hour grind would still return 12l/100, now I barely get that on the highway.
Fisho64 - warranty was 100000km/3years - vehicle now 4.5 yrs old..
Cheers all
Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:22
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:22
MAF sensor, mud in radiator/intercooler, dirty fuel resulting in dirty fuel filter, using Bio diesel without knowing (some servos use Bio diesel but don't advertise it) roofrack installed lately have you noticed a differant wear pattern in your tyres (ie) uneven wear, maybe an allignment issue, this can lead to higher consumption.
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:44
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:44
Thanks for reply - no roofrack (did have one for a short time - chewed fuel like nobody's business so i took it off). Doubt that Shell are using biodiesel - wish they were! Tyres wearing normally, no alignment issue that I can see.. Radiator/intercooler are clean (I really must get offroad more often) and again, I would expect the fuel from a high turnover Shell outlet would be rather clean..about to change the fuel filter so will look out for any change in consumption..
Thanks again
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:02
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:02
I don't get any difference in using 100% biodiesle to when I was using dino diesel so I doubt there is an issue there (same engine).
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:04
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 18:04
Please don't assume Shell are any cleaner than anyone else, one of the work cars got a bad dose from the Shell in the Blue Mountains, the name of the town escapes me, it was closed for a short time till they sorted out the tanks.
Bio Diesel will increase your fuel economy and reduce your power,
well it did for me.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:15
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:15
Biodiesel actually has a higher cetaine level that regualr diesel, however if you are running it in a colder environment that may explain your decrease in power/economy, perhaps a fuel heaer run from your radiator would do the trick. I've done over 20,000 k's this year on 100% Biodiesel and belive there to be more power, especially once your donk has heated up. But then again, it is pretty warm in
Perth, even in winter it doesn't get cold cold.
I agree with the Shell comment though, I used to do a lot of work at servo's quoting and installing security systems, some of the tanks that come out of "branded" sites are disgracful, and often the private sites have put new poly tanks in before they have opened the site, so even though they may look old and daggy, they are probably selling a cleaner fuel! :-)
The moral is, you just can't tell by looking at a servo as to what the quality of the tanks are like underneath. It's a luck of the draw. If you see a servo in your local area getting new plastic tanks put in, go there - that's my advice.
Reply By: porl - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:23
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:23
Join the yahoo prado group, dunno if it applies to diesels but on the petrols you VERY GENTLY (i say that cause they say it is sooo easy to break) clean the air flow sensor (without touching it) which they say can have a dramatic effect on consumption and power. I haven't done it yet but spose don't need to so you might want to join the group to clarify the process.
Follow Up By: RichieK - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:45
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 11:45
Will check the airflow sensor idea on the yahoo group, though a bit reluctant to play with delicate items! Thanks
Follow Up By: porl - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:37
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:37
what i meant was dust on the air flow sensor can
well you know bugger up what it senses, I think they clean it with compressed air.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:48
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:48
Theres no airflow sensor on the 1KZ-TE.
Follow Up By: porl - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:51
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:51
Oh
well, i did say i didn't have the diesel. The prado group site is still i think the best bet for an answer.
Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:50
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 16:50
I find that putting in some fuel additive (I use Bitron) when the fuel consumption increases helps. I reckon it is because there is so much S***y fuel about. A injector and pump service will do the same but the additive is cheaper and don't know how long it will defer the service.
Reply By: dieselman - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:56
Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 17:56
Hi Rich,
I have a 2000 TD and used to get about 13.5L/100kms which I thought was probably ok with Goodyear ATRs,bullbar,dual batteries and all the other bits and pieces. I then fitted an airtec
snorkel and secondhand dtronic and my fuel economy has improved to 12L/100kms?? This is a bit wierd but i am not complaining. As far as i know the engine timing cant be out as it is all done by the computer. The other thing to think of is with this low sulfur fuel the actual energy in the diesel has dropped but this shouldn't cause the issue you have.
Cheers Ben
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:24
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:24
Yeah they are a funny thing, I'm not sure exactly how they work but the pump is driven mechanically (by the timing belt oddly enough!) but it has somthing called an "injection pump timing control valve". Bugger if I know how it works... I guess if that valve or the throttle position sensor or somthing else is not working correctly the timing could be out...
Try taking the battery terminals (both negatie and positive) off for an hour or so and re-connect, that will wipe the ECU memory (you have to remove the neg for that to happen though) and you may find that when it restarts it will adjust to you current fuel, dirving etc etc better. I did that when I changed to BD and it made a noticble difference.
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:16
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:16
I posted about this last year. I also wrote to 4WD monthly about it.
My 2000 3.0 TDi auto patrol has increased fuel consumption, and a bloke I know who had a 2.8TD rodeo had the same thing and I recon it came in about the time ULSD was introduced, late 2004, I think. I did notice a slight increase in economy when I had a
snorkel fitted mid 2005.
I agree with the comments about low tyre pressure helping, but cannot agree with the comment that the ram effect on a
snorkel would be negligable.......stick your whole arm out the window next time your doing over 80 klm/h and tell me the wind being shoved down the
snorkel isnt helping the engine, compared to sucking the air from inside the wheel arch!
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 03:42
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 03:42
Use a Fitch and a Cyclone, and see how you go..... LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: djrziggy - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:18
Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:18
I have also got an '02 diesel prado and my fuel economy has gone backwards since i first bought it brand new as
well. I am getting about 150-200 k's out of both tanks, also with no change to original set up. Will watch the thread with interest.
Also Rich I noticed you said you had no uneven tyre wear with your grantreks, that unusual because most wear really badly on the inside front.
Darren
Follow Up By: Phillipn - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 07:25
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 07:25
I have 53000 k`s on my 2003 Td prado, and still have Grandtreks on with a fair bit of wear in them yet.
They are rotated every 5000 k`s with very little uneven wear.
The fuel has Pro-ma diesel additive added, using between 10 to 11 L/100 K`s on highway driving and 16-17 L/100 towing a van.
Follow Up By: RichieK - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:57
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:57
Djrziggy - did u mean 150-200kms less per
tank?
I did have uneven wear on one front Grandtrek, but the Cooper At/r's currently on seem to be wearing evenly. Just about to give them their first rotation (approx 10000kms).
Rich