Simpson:Tag Along or go Alone

Submitted: Saturday, Mar 22, 2003 at 14:56
ThreadID: 3992 Views:2236 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
This Thread has been Archived
Hi,

I am planning a trip in July with my HJ47 Troopy. I want to drive from Wollongong - Adeleide - Port Agusta - Flinders Ranges - Old Ghan Route to Oodnadatta - Uluru - through Simpson to Birdsville - Broken Hill - Bourke - Wollongong.

Now, I know that I shouldnt drive alone, particulary on the though sections, like the Simpson, but I am having a hard time finding a tag along group that apeals (I am a 23 year old student). Can anyone recomend anything, or is there a culture for meeting other people in the same situation before entering the Simpson up there?

Equipment wise, I am ok, theory wise, I am ok, practice in desert, not to much.

Jo
Back Expand Un-Read 0 Moderator

Reply By: KIM - Saturday, Mar 22, 2003 at 19:10

Saturday, Mar 22, 2003 at 19:10
Whilst it's recommended you do this type of trip with one or more 4wd's, I think you will find that tag-along tours can be a bit of a pain.
Some people enjoy the security and social environment provided by tour organisers, but to a large extent, you will lose your independance and ability to stop or explore areas that are of interest to you.
Most of the trip you are talking about is not difficult in July, providing you don't cop heavy rain and you are well prepared. Like wise for the Simpson Desert. Most of the routres are becoming chopped up through heavy use, which means you will have a rough ride over the dunes.
I'm thinking of doing a similar trip again in June or July (providing I can find the money) because it is a place where a person can gain peace of mind for a short period of time.
Cheers
AnswerID: 15872

Reply By: Graeme Degotardi - Saturday, Mar 22, 2003 at 20:07

Saturday, Mar 22, 2003 at 20:07
Been there,done that !!