Investigator looking for Info please.

Submitted: Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 19:43
ThreadID: 39929 Views:3211 Replies:11 FollowUps:22
Hello all,

I was referred to your forum by some mates into 4x4s.
I am a private investigator looking to gain some info on twin battery set-ups for my car.
What would like to achieve is to run a laptop, 2 surveillance cameras (drawing 9w each), UHF radio and two handy cam rechargers for a minimum of a 10 hour period.
I have been looking into this for months and have been told so many different things don't know which is up!!

If I understand it right there's basically two options,

1, a 2nd battery with an inverter (if so, what wattage?) from the factory battery, and recharge when the vehicle is running.

2. (I don't know the name of it) but its a deep cycle battery that plugs into the mains power after the nights work.

Any help you could afford me would be much appreciated.
Thanks for your time
Porter

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:19

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:19
Well I might be able to help you seeings as I am an avid camper/4wder who has set up my own dual battery setup and I used to be a PI! LOL

I used to run a 450w Puresinewave inverter. That will easily run your laptop power and video camera supply/chargers. You could even go less that that, but it's always nice to have the option to run other gear!

There are 3 types of inverter:
1. Square wave
2. Modified sine wave
3. Pure sinewave.

My recomendation is for the Pure, however the others would still work, they just would not be as efficiant running all those switch mode powersupples (cameras and lappy etc and could potentially damage them long term).

The CCTV cameras will run straight of the 12v battery, probally just install some extra lighter plugs or other form of 12v plug and make some leads up so you can just plug the cameras in as needed.

It's hard to say exactly how much juice you'll need (battery size) as I don't know the exact draw of your lappy and chargers etc, however I'm guessing that the lappy will draw about 4 amps (a fiar amount, bout the same as an engel going flat out without cycling on and off), the inverter will draw possibly 2 amps just at idle (wasted power, but you can't do much about it) and the video chargers and CCTV will be fairly minimal, maybe 3 amps all together.

So you really are looking at a lot of power being drawn, the only advantage is 10 hours is not like a 48 hour weekend by the river so it should be doable.

So basically we are talking drawing approximatly 9 amps non stop, it'll hurt the battery but if you get one big enough, or maybe run two batteries (plus the normal car battery for starting) you will be right.

This is what I think you will need:

1. At LEAST a 100amp hour deep cycle battery, agricultral shops often sell these batteries alot cheaper than 4wd shops or battery suppliers ( a lot of battery supplies - battery world etc - are rip off's).

You will need to either mount the battery under the bonnet on a battery tray or in the back of the vehicle in a securly mounted plastic battery box (about $20 from superchepa auto for the box).

You will need a minimum of 8g wire (the stuff that they use to run big car stereo amps) or even better 4g (the stuff that runs from your starter motor/alternator to you battery, the big thick stuff) to join the battery to your normal car battery. Between the two batteries I would probably suggest buying a Redarc battery solinoid, they are fully automatic and just switch the second battery off from the main battey when the car is turned off so that you don't flattern you normal car battery, when the car starts it joines them back together and it charges from the alternator as per normal. RedArc's are normally around the $100 mark, you can even buy them off ebay easy enough.

When fitting the plugs and inverter use a thicker cable as is possible, this will reduce the "voltage drop" and allow your battery to last longer, and you gear to run better. With the inverter, I would probably use the same size cable as you run between your batteries, that is, a minimum of 8g as 450w @ 12v is 40 odd amps ( a hell of a lot).

Just a not, just because a cable says it is rated for XXX amount of amps, does not mean it is good to use it for that amount. Typically the rating on wire is the maxium you can draw through it before it melts and catches your car on fire. Ie 20amp cable should not have 20amps running through it for 10 hours, it will cause a severe drop in voltage, making you gear draw way more than it needs to and will probably get awful hot. ie Just use the biggest cable you can.

That's all I can think of for now, hope it helps!
AnswerID: 207819

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:25

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:25
Oh yeah, invest in a 3 stage charger, even one of those little cheapies off ebay would be ok, they are around the $100 mark, but obviously the more expensive charger the better it will be. You will not likley charge 100+amp hours of battery driving home from the job so it would be wise to give the battery a good charge with the 3 stage before going and charge it again when you get home. If you don't fully charge your battery it will decrease it's life and you will be up for anothery before you know it.

Also, when you are playing with 12v, it's a good idea to (where possible) keep the cables as short as you can, this will further help with decreasing voltage drop.
FollowupID: 467742

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:26

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:26
That's gotta be "Jeff the Landcruiser Spotter" from Atwell !!.

Good to hear from ya again, Jeff.

Never did see that Landcruiser again mate. But thanks for all your help.

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467773

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:48

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 08:48
good stuff Jeff! he's gotta be pleased with that reply
FollowupID: 467809

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:48

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:48
Nah Bilbo, sorry mate, I'm not from Atwell! :-) And I'm sorry to say I didn't see your cruiser either!! :-(
FollowupID: 467827

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:14

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:14
Whoa! That means we now have 3 PIs on here somewhere!!

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467920

Reply By: Porter33 - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:44

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:44
Hi Jeff!
Good to chat to another PI!
Do you still dabble in the game?

Thanks mate, that really clears that up well.
Now why couldnt the local autosparky explain it a simple as that!

I am pretty lucky with my vehicle, the factory battery is under the parcel shelf behind the back seat, there is plenty of room for a second battery and probably the inverter too.
Does the inverter need to be cooled?
How handy are you with a pen?
would you be kind enough to show me how it all fits together?
Now i understand the theory, i think i could join the dots to build it myself.
Instructions however come in handy!!!!
Thanks very much for your time.
Porter
AnswerID: 207828

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:58

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:58
No, I had to quit my job when my duaghter was born to stay home and look after her (otherwise we were going to pay a whole weeks wage in child care!). My wife has a more "family friendly" job, espcially hours wise for the same kind of money I was earning so it was obvious who was going to chuck it in. I'm now studying to become a primary school teacher at Uni while I juggle the day to day runnings of the two kids and the rest of the family. Unfortunatly in WA if you are not working for a security agent you cannot renew your security liceneces, so my insallers, consultant and PI licence have all expired... :-(

Yes the inverter does need to be cooled, it will have a small fan inside of it but it will need to be somewhere that is reasonably ventalted. You could always screw it to the wall somewhere in the boot etc.

There are a lot of people out there with a lack of understanding of this stuff. I've been playing around with it for quite some time, done a lot of research on the net and we used to setup 12v camera solar setups to catch sheep rustlers on farms north of Perth! LOL It's true, and when lambs were going for $100 a head it was big business!

I've setup a lot of dual battery setups now for mates and fellow club members and I've re done mine about 100 times! (well not quite) in order to get it working just right. I reckon you will probably have to revise it a few times to get it just right, but keep tinkering with it once you get it going and you'll end up with an awsome setup IMHO.

I'll see if I can do up a diagram for you, can't promise anything though! ;-)
FollowupID: 467829

Reply By: Robin - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:48

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 20:48
Hi Porter

Its a little hard to estimate some of these things without good
input data.

In general I don't have any problems with the advice Jeff has given
, but you will note that within that is an attempt to estimate the
power load for your system.
Depending on this there can be different advice given.

Also your stated two alternatives are inconsistent.

No1 uses an inverter to provide 240v and No 2 does not.

You either have a need for 240v from the car or you don't.

In looking at the list of bits you wish to drive the camera's are
quoted as 9w each , but do they require 240v or 12V ?

The laptop may be one of those the uses a 14-15v like most
Toshiba's and could be run of 240v , or via the more efficent
direct connection to 12v.

The UHF would be 12v , but the chargers , I assume 240v.

In the systems I design I usually configure them for as
much as possible from the one power source as far as possible
and maximize efficentcy.

We could provide better answers if you could list more about
your equipments voltages ,power and usage requirements.

Is it feasible to run the car for some time during the 10hours
if batteries get low or must the system run unattended.
If possible to run car this will minimze your power needs.

AnswerID: 207832

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:47

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 10:47
CCTV cameras are generally 12 volt, some of the older ones are 24vac but most modern ones are either 12v or they are dual voltage to run 24vac or 12vdc, either way it would be almost impossible for them to not run off the cars 12v system unless they were VERY old, any PI would not be using that sort of older gear.

Running the laptop off the step up powersupply from 12-15v would be more efficiant, however, the camera supplies will HAVE to be run from 240v anyway. If using a pure sinewave inverter there is going to be the same efficnacy loss no matter how much load is on it (as I stated above, about 2-3amps) so he might as well save the money on the step up type power pack for the lappy and just plug it into the already running inverter.
FollowupID: 467826

Follow Up By: Robin - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 14:50

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 14:50
Hi Jeff

Was thinking alongs those lines , porter reply means as you say that he needs inverter anyway.
But not sure about Sony Laptop supply requirements - it may not have seperate mains supply, I note in small laptop step-ups that Sony was not included.

Either way I notice that Jaycar have a current special on a 300w cheap inverter at only $79.

My guess without further info is that it will work in this situation and is that low a cost to try its worth a go.

FollowupID: 467895

Reply By: Porter33 - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:02

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:02
Hi Robin,

Thanks for you time!
As i may have said, i am just beginning to educate myself in this type of thing and have just posted what i have been told thus far, sorry.
I have a sony Laptop, trying to get the amps usage from sony is like pulling teeth. The closest i got was 1.4watts, but that from what i learnt this is impossible.
Yep, the cameras have a 12v power supply.
Yep, the chargers run nomal household power supplies.

In option 2, i wasnt given full details, just a "hey have you thought about this?" type thing, but i would dare say your right, an inverter would be necessary.

In my game, when you pull up for a job, its a case of invisibility, running a car is out of the question, it would draw attention to myself and that would blow my chances of a perfect result.

Any further advice and education is most welcome.
Thanks again
Porter

AnswerID: 207847

Reply By: Bilbo - Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:34

Thursday, Nov 30, 2006 at 22:34
Porter,

I don't know what type of car you're ,but could you "inconspicuously" fit any solar panels to it? If the weather is reasonable it would be keep the battery(s) charged to a greater or lesser degree whilst the car is parked.

Solar panels fitted on 4Wds are quite a regular sight these days.

Just a thought.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207858

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:34

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:34
Not much sun under bushes!
FollowupID: 467816

Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:40

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 00:40
"In my game, when you pull up for a job, its a case of invisibility, running a car is out of the question, it would draw attention to myself and that would blow my chances of a perfect result."

whats a perfect result? Sorry but though Im sure you are a reputable operator, I have a friend who is on compo and has had to put up with this sort of "surveilance", mysterious flat tyres etc

I am sure you have come across the insurance companies that arent interested in a "result" that shows a person to be genuinely injured. Hoping to get footage of him holding his child or changing a flat tyre etc.
AnswerID: 207870

Follow Up By: Member - Dave .. B (SA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:17

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:17
Agree with you totally fisho , had to put up with the same s h i t e when i was on compo years ago with a broken back mongrels put me and my family thru hell
FollowupID: 467789

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:36

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:36
Blame the scammers, not the investigators or the insurers!
FollowupID: 467817

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 11:57

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 11:57
sure the scammers are a problem, but the companies and their contractors are not overly concerned with whether someone IS a scammer or not, but to show that they might be in order to reduce a payout (whether genuine or not)

Hence the "let the tyres down and film from behind a bush" tricks etc
FollowupID: 467842

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:03

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:03
QUOTE: "Hence the "let the tyres down and film from behind a bush" tricks etc"

You only have to watch the current affairs shows to see that it works!

Remember, it is this scammers that grossly inflate all of our insurance premiums, the work of these investigators helps to keep them down.
FollowupID: 467845

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:17

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 12:17
Yeah it's like being a used car salesman, council worker, etc etc. There are stereo types and generally there are good reasons for them, but you can't scoop them all into one basket and think that everyone one of them is bad, even if you have only seen bad ones.

My sister in law is having a problem with workers comp too, her back was badly hurt several years ago and they have had a PI sticking his nose in to try and get them out of it, this particular guy that is working on her case sounds like a complete tosser and I have a good mind to "deal" with him myself, however not all of them are like that.

Me, we never did any insurance work, mainly dealing with people breaking restraining orders (domestic disputes/violence) neighbourly disputes/violence/damage to property and our big one was employee theft.

Now before you all jump up and down about emplyee theft, I know we've all nicked a stapeler or handfull of pencils, maybe even took a can of coke out of the fridge without putting the $1.00 in the box but the stuff we dealt with was major stuff. I mean I remember one guy who worked for a bottle shop who had stolen nearly $100,000 worth of cash and stock over a 2 year period. He was very clever (or so he though) and we got him eventually. The worst thing about that was he had just been accepted into the police force!!

So yeah, PI work is boring hard work most of the time, but the rewards are there for those who have good morals and are out there doing the job for "real" reasons. With the complete lack of police interest in a lot of cases the only place people have to turn is to PI's to gather the evidence to shove under the noses of the cops so that they will actually put the speed gun down and go and do some real police work....
FollowupID: 467851

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:43

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:43
Jeff, thanks for that perspective. Always good to hear both sides.
FollowupID: 467914

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:22

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:22
Oooh! Jeff, don't get me started on this one,,,,,,,,,,"With the complete lack of police interest in a lot of cases ,,,,,,,,,,"

The first thing that springs to mind is my stolen 'Cruiser. Never even saw a cop once on that job. No phone call, no investigation, no feedback - nothing. $60K up schit creek and yet they can make a big issue in The West Australian - taking CC TV pics of 2 "darker" members of our population lifting 2 bottles of Jack Daniels from a bottle shop - cost? $58.00!!

God help us!

I've got a whole list of topics about "police inaction".

Bilbo
FollowupID: 467921

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:33

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 16:33
"I've got a whole list of topics about "police inaction". "

Ha! Yeah tell me about it, I've got a list as long as my arm of just my OWN PERSONAL deailings without even starting on the work ones!

The amount of times that someone would get somthing "knocked off" think about their security, discuss it amongst themselves, decide they want to fit alarms or CCTV, look up various people, make the phone calls, book in quotes and THEN I'd finally get a chance to drive there from one side of the city to the other and STILL ARRIVE BEFORE THE POLICE DID was quite troubling....

That is, of course, if the police even bothered to turn up.

Hell we had one of our $1000 CCTV cameras stolen from our security companie's office building one night. We had footage of the guys face as when he was hanging from it trying to break it off his face was full screen 800x600 resolution, as clear as day. The cops did not show up, so after 8 hours we drove down to the police station with the guys name adress and the photo of his head and a CD with the footage of him stealing it and THEN (after some conversation amongst themselves) they decided they might go and pick him up. My god, they really are pathetic somtimes... Mind you we did get flashed on the way there because we gong a little over the speed limit (about 7k's I think from memory).
FollowupID: 467924

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 22:38

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 22:38
Jeff,

I could go beserk on this topic. I do sometimes feel sorry for our police force. They are undermanned, underpaid and under resourced. But nevertheless, we pay taxes for results not excuses.

This topic could start a landslide on here.

But with my reputation lately ;),,,,,,,,,I wouldn't wanna be the one to kick off the thread!!

Take care,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 468006

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:21

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:21
Fisho,

I agree with ya to some extent. My brother has just been through all that with insurance companies. Basically, he's crippled for life and all he got from Workers Comp insurance companies was the runaround and finally an $80 K payout. Not much is it for a welded up spine, pain treatment for the rest of his life and he'll never work again. He's mentally and physically stuffed. He was reputed to be one of the best boilermaker/welders in W.A.

HOWEVER, my own insurance company did do a fair job in trying to find my recently stolen Landruiser. So perhaps Porter is a good guy. Who knows?

Plus there are all sorts of Workers Comp claimants that aren't genuine as well as ones that are.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207872

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 02:58

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 02:58
"Plus there are all sorts of Workers Comp claimants that aren't genuine as well as ones that are."

therein lies the problem Bilbo, as you have already said.
A "perfect result" isnt finding that someone is genuine, it is finding or implying that they arent, otherwise screwing it down to next to nothing if they are genuine.

never mind, I thought it needed to be said!
FollowupID: 467794

Follow Up By: Member - BBB - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:21

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 09:21
Bilbo

Did your brother go through his Union ?

I am in the QLD Plumbers Union and have been involved in a lot of Work Cover claims with our solicitors and someone who will not work again and was injured at work would take common law action and receive a lot more than $80k.

May Be he should get a second opinion if not to late.

The system is designed to pay out as little as possible and is a mine filed to deal with the Plumbers Union only use specialist law firms not arcade or suburban firms that do a bit of every thing.

If you want to contact me send a message and I will call you.

Hope this can help

BBB

FollowupID: 468062

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:11

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:11
BBB,

Thanks for the advice, My brother has been through the W.A. Workers Comp grinder and all that was left of the WC money after medical expenses and wages was the $80k that I mentioned. He's considering his common law case right now. But he's worried that if he loses, which he shouldn't as far as I can see, he's gonna be stuck with the legal costs.

The WC case is now all signed off and finished. It's down to common law now.

It's ongoing, but basically his life is not what was or could have been. I really feel for him as he's been a good worker all his life and when he had the fall nobody wanted to know him. Bastards.

I'll speak with him about your offer.

Thanks again,

Bilbo
FollowupID: 468172

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:53

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 01:53
Well Porter 33333333333
Welcome to the Forum of true wisdom , mate you will leave here educated and well informed I can assure you, just read PostID: 39933 and you will see exactly what i mean,so much information your brain will overheat.
But if you seek information about 12 volt electrics then Derek will be your man,find his Adds ABR in the sides or at the bottom.

Doug

AnswerID: 207876

Reply By: Porter33 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:26

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:26
Wow, a fair mix of responses.

Ah, ok, here goes.
BILBO,
I drive a non-descript Nissan sedan.
I have thought about a good solar panel on the rear parcel shelf but the windows are heavily tinted, will it be effective?

FISHO64,
The perfect result?
The perfect result is where i spend 10 hours cramming my broken 6ft 3" into my sedan at the request of a client to prove or disprove a claim.
During that 10 hours, i report only what i see. I refuse to report what didnt happen, altho there are insurance companies the prefer you to find something, creative photograghy its called.
You, see, i am on compo too, i was broken in the defense force, and i am also hounded and pressured and followed, by my own people.
If my subject drops his keys with a bad back i will record that, i will not say he was gardening.
I hope that in some small way lifts your opinion, if not of investigators, then maybe of me. I could justify my position further if you wish, but you sound like a decent bloke and no-one can be blamed for defending their family and friends

DOUG,
ha ha ha sounds like listening to my old Section commander stumbling thru orders!!!
ha ha

Thanks for the Tip i will have a good look into that.
P33

AnswerID: 207906

Reply By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:40

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:40
Porter,

Forget the solar panel on the tinted parcel shelf,,,,,,,,,,

One, it wouldn't work as it's in the shade (mostly)

Two, a small solar panel that would fit on a parcel shelf wouldn't give a big enough output to keep up with what you're doing to the battery.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 207908

Follow Up By: Porter33 - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:44

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 09:44
Beauty mate, much appreciated
P33
FollowupID: 467819

Reply By: Turner - Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:36

Friday, Dec 01, 2006 at 15:36
Go a twin battery set up with an inverter.
We are photographers and photojounalists and run laptops and digital cameras which need batteries recharged all the time. Enables us to work on the road, at night on the move or at rest. We have never flattened the battery and this is even with the fridge running too!
AnswerID: 207998