SNAKE!

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:16
ThreadID: 39985 Views:6093 Replies:10 FollowUps:22
Not uncommon for us to see a Joe Blake or two around the farm.. near the house is a bit of a worry.

More worried about tiger snakes than red-bellied blacks.

Today we spotted a smallish [1m] red-bellied black in the vege-patch....

Something didn't look quite normal, so we flushed him out to have a better look. Sure enough it wasn't a red-bellied black, but a SOUTHERN COPPERHEAD

Site Link

Bit dangerous when bending down to pick the asparagus..... so separated head from body. [by accident while digging cos it would not have been legal to do it on perpose]

Very nice snake. Black on top, but not as shiney as a rbdblack.
Red along the lower sides... but yellow too and the head looked quite different. So did the tale once I had a good look.

Reply By: Wayne-o - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:34

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 14:34
Me and snakes don't get along, you can keep it hey!
AnswerID: 208158

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 15:36

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 15:36
Hi Royce,

helped the neighbour deal with a Tiger Snake in her front garden two weeks ago, first time in 8 years have we seen one near the house, ususally see them on roads etc, have been reinforcing to the kids to be very wary..

Lyn

AnswerID: 208165

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 15:39

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 15:39
I can see I'm going to have to be more careful of the red bellied blackies we find around here. My new sit on ran over one the other day. Never known them out in the long grass before, no nest within coo ee and it was the middle of the day.
AnswerID: 208166

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (Kununurra) - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:41

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 16:41
I was out testing a ride on mower that was overheating(no never up here) the other day and also munched up a snake.Only saw the tail end and didnt go looking for the front end,tail end looked big enough.
FollowupID: 468116

Follow Up By: Footloose - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:02

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:02
Nick, it wasn't a Nissan lawnmower at all ? :)))
FollowupID: 468121

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:49

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 18:49
I "found" a 6' king brown with the slasher the other day. Sort of got spat out in a few bits, hard to measure accurately. :)
FollowupID: 468131

Follow Up By: SHADOW45 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:33

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:33
Sorry but have to correct you - there is no such thing as a King Brown snake. -- Is a wrongly given name to the Mulga Snake. -- sure looks like a normal brown snake but is of course larger. -- Check out snakes on the web and you'll be well informed. And yes , they are ( the Mulga Snake ) very very venomous .
FollowupID: 468180

Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:43

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:43
Shadow 45,

The quote below comes from the following web page:-
www.pilbarapythons.com/kingbrown.htm

"King Brown -Pseudechis australis
The king brown snake is probably one of Australia's most well known venomous snakes. It is also commonly referred to by many as the mulga snake. "
FollowupID: 468181

Follow Up By: SHADOW45 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:55

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 22:55
OK - woops !! - the King Brown prefixed by Mulga - guess I'm of the 'common named' variety of snake haters. The bloke in the local pub ( eddie the expert ) argued all night it was a Mulga snake. Guess he was the one who had it in his chook house and I conceeded . I'll print that off and when he's sober give it to him to read. Thanks.
FollowupID: 468183

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:35

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:35
King Brown, Mulga ???? I just call 'em bad tempered bastards and steer well clear of em :)))))
FollowupID: 468190

Follow Up By: SHADOW45 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:52

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:52
Hey Gramps - ya right ya know cuase no matter what ya call em they don't smile back at ya now -- do they ?

Only snake ya trust ( and still pay the price ) is a Solicitor.
FollowupID: 468193

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 01:02

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 01:02
Hahaha Shadow45, don't know about trusting Solicitors. I have an ingrained distrust of anyone in the so called "professions". They're all in business and no real difference to your average snake oil salesman as far as I am concerned.
FollowupID: 468197

Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 09:10

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 09:10
Al, depends on which side of the court you're sitting on I guess ?
Most people want justice, no such thing I rekkon. The smart ones just want a big payout or get out of jail card.
Me ? I try and avoid the whole stinking mess !
FollowupID: 468217

Follow Up By: SHADOW45 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 10:10

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 10:10
Sounds like ya bin there at sometime - mate is a barrister and his favourite expression is " oh well , off I go to the house of lies , another day another dollar "
FollowupID: 468220

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:53

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:53
"Hahaha Shadow45, don't know about trusting Solicitors. I have an ingrained distrust of anyone in the so called "professions". They're all in business and no real difference to your average snake oil salesman as far as I am concerned."

You know Al, why do these buggers call what they do "Practice"
When are they going to get serious? I've asked a few solicitors, doctors and accountants that question.
It's always good for a laugh watching the poor buggers impersonate carp!!

Geez I love having a warped sense of humour!!

Geoff.

FollowupID: 468265

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:58

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:58
LOL good point Geoff. We pay while they Practice. Carp - I love it hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 468277

Reply By: 666toy - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:35

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:35
Accidentley shot a snake under the house 2 weeks ago here in new england. 6.5 ft brownie (i really was aiming for the cat but i am a bad shot lol) there definatly out & about now....666toy
AnswerID: 208206

Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 16:19

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 16:19
But be honest, the cat was attacking the snake wasn't it & unless your Pvt Kovco you would find it a very hard shot to take, it would under the circumstances have been near impossibe to hit the cat, unless of course at the last moment you pulled thye shot because you realised that the cat was actually a thylacine....
FollowupID: 468282

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:16

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:16
hahahaha you made my day lol
FollowupID: 468325

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:44

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:44
bull dung typic`al snake paranoia 6.5 ft ?? you just rewrote the record books for biggest brown try about 4 ft for a fairly decent one!
FollowupID: 468335

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:29

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:29
Not taking sides but this may help a bit

Brown Snake
FollowupID: 468356

Follow Up By: 666toy - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:08

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:08
well davoe i stand 5 ' 11" & it was over my head when i picked it up. a average brown around here is 4' sure your not thinking about the death adder ? If you like the next bugger that raids the chook house ill send you his skin....666toy
FollowupID: 468378

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:45

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 19:45
Try not to kill the Black snakes, they help to keep the Tiger snakes under control.

We got heaps of snakes here too!
I really worry about the dog, Golden Retriever, he has killed about 4 in the last couple of years.
AnswerID: 208207

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 20:02

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 20:02
My daughter just came in with a freshly shed dugite skin - the snake must have been huge. We occasionally see them near the shed (when she roll called the lambs last week, there was an 'untagged' snake on her list). She has mounted the skin on the wall just above my computer. It's so much bigger than the other skins hanging in here. We get mainly only dugites here, shy, and wonderful rodent hunters. The property near the south coast is another story - loads of tiger snakes there. Live and let live.

AnswerID: 208211

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:47

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:47
i used to have all sorts of problems convincing the people of kal that a dugite was extremely unlikely there (everyone reckons they see em) basically the sw farmlands have dugites which are replaced by the Gwarder north of there
FollowupID: 468338

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:54

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:54
Hi Davoe - then again, a Gwarda is just a dugite in a different coloured skin.

FollowupID: 468342

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:23

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:23
It just goes to show that the most dangerous thing on this planet is the HUMAN
AnswerID: 208233

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 23:03

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 23:03
Sad ....... but true!
FollowupID: 468184

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:55

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:55
Sure is

FollowupID: 468343

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 11:19

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 11:19
Hi Royce
Where we live here in Clare SA, the main snakes that we have are the common brown (the worlds second most poisonest snake after the inland taipan). There have been 5 people in SA bitten this year already, and one man 43 died, after not knowing he was bitten. They said on the TV that the common brown has only small fangs and most people would not know that they have been bitten, more like a scratch if coming in contact with long grass in shorts. Speaking to one of our local Vets on Friday, and he has had over 20 cats in for snake bikes and 4 dogs in over the last 2 weeks. The down side is that only one of the dogs survived. He said that cats have a greater chance than dogs. Perhaps thats why there are so many feral cats in the wild?

Who has been here

AnswerID: 208301

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 16:37

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 16:37
Yeah, I'm a big tough Vietnam Vet & snakes scare the living daylights out of me... I can recall one day on manoeuvres in beautiful Vietnam we went into harbour one night and there is a very minor disturbance which on closer inspection was revealed as an absolutely enormous snake of the Python family. It was coiled up having a snooze and along it there was a big bump, probably a wild pig or similar that it had presumably eaten... This snake had a head on it the size of a football, it was, expletive deleted HUGE...Anyway the order to "stand to" is given - then a whisper is heard "the snake has moved"... well within seconds there's diggers out of their pits up trees, sounds of rifles being cocked, absolute mayhem....Oh yeah tough Aussies scared of a snake.
I see the odd one here they come to drink at my lilly pond....A mate has video of a red belly swimming underwater in the Murrumbidgee chasing small fish, I never believed that they would do that.
I saw a clever way to discourage them, an upturned drum with a small inverted U shaped hole cut in the rim. An egg is placed either side of the hole, snake swallows egg on outside & slithers in to swallow egg on inside and discovers that It can't back out of the opening. The inverted can makes an excellent jig for the accidental surgical removal of the head with a spade...
AnswerID: 208338

Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:25

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:25
something to ponder -- THE MAJORITY of snake bits are from people trying to kill snakes ..... NOT from being in the wrong place at the wrong time

Boc

AnswerID: 208357