Fishing in Southwest rocks

Submitted: Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 20:50
ThreadID: 39999 Views:3602 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
I was wondering if anyone knows of some good fishing without the luxury of a boat in southwest rocks as I'm up there for 2 weeks and would like to take my 2 boys along to wet a line and actually catch a fish worth taking back to the van for a meal.. any suggestions would be appreciated .

Regards J.B.

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:00

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:00
I've got relies up that way, They say that when they can't get the boat outside because it's too rough they can always get a feed in the South West Rocks Creek upstream from the boat ramp.
Hope they bite for you.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 208227

Reply By: SHADOW45 - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:50

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 21:50
JB , - There are literally hundreds of good spots around the SWR and general area for you to attack - I'll tell you of a few that will yield results .

1 ... Drive out to Arakoon and take a right before the jail then a left to lighthouse rd. - you'll see a right turn to the npws camp area and then you'll find the beach. Smokey Cape beach and it runs 14k down south to Hat Head . -- Beach rods - 8 to 10 ft'ers is all u need and worms ( buy if you have to at the bait shop or pippies & you can dig em up yourself along the beach ) will yield you some bream and whiting. Just check out the good looking holes and bait up with a 1 ' O ' long shank and you should catch a feed. Lot of red weed about the beach at the minute so find a clean spot or you'll go nuts with it all over your lines.

2 ... The breakwall around the coal wharf ( before the Riverside tavern ) is a good spot for flatties. Best bait is live poddies and you'll catch them in the back creek at SWR - bread and a bottle if you don't have a trap. Or use some WA pilchards on 3 gangs.

3 ... Anywhere along the riverbank lhs or rhs is always good for a fish - light rig is all you need and say 10lb line.

4 ... The wharf at Jerseyville is a good night spot for bream - same rig - easy fishing . Go down late afternoon and fish till dark.

If that dosent get you a good feed then go to the local and buy some F & C.

Watch out for the Ranger -- you need a fishing licence and a beach driving licence. - Good luck M8. - shadow.ibf.australia@bigpond.com
AnswerID: 208239

Follow Up By: Barnray - Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 23:35

Saturday, Dec 02, 2006 at 23:35
Its been a long time since the wharf has had coal on it, tho it would be a bit hard to give it a new name. Barnray
FollowupID: 468188

Reply By: SHADOW45 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:33

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 00:33
When the prawn trawlers come into the ' coal wharf ' to unload their boxes into trucks for the co-op -- thats the time to throw a lure down by the boat - never seen bream the size of em. -- Been here for many years and still today always catch a good feed each n every time I go . -- Local knowledge I reckon.
Not tellin where to get the Muddies though !!
AnswerID: 208260

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:12

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:12
Im getting very excited about this guys, we are staying at SWR caravan park its on the lagoon and they have a boat ramp next door so I believe we are central to it all I just have to get a map of SWR so I can find these landmarks you guys are talking about !!!

Thanx again guys

Regards J,B.
FollowupID: 468241

Reply By: SHADOW45 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:17

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 12:17
JB - I'm coming into the rocks in an hourand a half from Hat Head - i'll be up on the headland across the road from the pub - fish n chip arvo - in a GQ Safari - Red n silver. - come say g'day . The names Art.
AnswerID: 208309

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 10:22

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 10:22
Hi Art
Sorry mate but I must have misled you as Im not there yet were not going till mid Jan I had a read of my post and understand why you thought I was already up there so if your there in mid Jan I will keep an eye out for your 4b al the best mate

JB.
FollowupID: 468446