OT - What's the sound?
Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:45
Al & Mrs Al (Vic)
I'm hoping someone might be able to help me. I go walking most mornings fairly early [6ish] we live semi rural so there's heaps of different types of animals and sounds, but one has me perplexed. The best way to describe it is like a foghorn except melodious and it seems to be coming from drains....but not all drains...and when i say drains I mean, the storm
water pipe that goes underneath driveways to allow the
water [when it rains heavily - remember that!] to flow through, we don't have footpaths so the sides of the road has grass channels to allow
water flow. As I approach the "pipes" the noise stops and once I"m past it starts up again. This happens at three spots along the walk, but not any others. I was wondering if it was some sort of frog, for a while I thought it was the pipe itself, but then I dismissed this as a) I thought this was a crazy idea and last time I checked I was fairly sane and b) it's only 3 pipes and I pass by at least 15. If anyone has any ideas as to what the sound might be I would appreciate it.
Lyn
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:54
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:54
A pipe band? :)
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:58
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:58
LOL playing the one note...haha...actually sounds like a clarinet, but with only one note...
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:07
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:07
What about a FROGHORN...
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:59
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 13:59
crickets?
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:04
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:04
I was expecting "goats" from you... :)) nope no way is crickets......its a low sound, not a high sound ...
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:05
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:05
crickets with a cold?
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:07
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:07
Crickets with a cold what...?
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:16
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:16
yannow the sniffles, its like drinking goats milk thru a straw
Reply By: Stu050 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:30
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 14:30
Cane Toad???
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:21
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:21
not this far south I hope
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:07
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:07
Hi Al, does it happen itermittently? About every 3 seconds say?? It can also sound like a cow in the distance??
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:20
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:20
yes intermittently, definitely not a cow...
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:28
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:28
We had been trying to track the same sound down for years, finally saw the culprit last winter.It is a breed of pidgeon, dark green and phisically as big as a chook. For some reason we only get him in our yard during the winter months, havn't seen him for a while now. We also heard it while camped at Dunolly and
Maryborough vic for years and thought it was a cow that had maybe had its calf taken from her.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:32
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:32
ah so it's in the trees above the pipes...there's large cyprus trees and pine trees around where I hear the sound, so it's a large green bird I should be looking out for, yes does sound like a cow, at first that's what I thought it was too, thanks so much for that!
Follow Up By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:59
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:59
Yeah it's a sort of a metallic dark green if ya know what I mean? Someone more up on bird talk will have the correct word for it Irradescent maybe??
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:16
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:16
if its only happening at 3 pipes its most definutly
the 3 billy goats gruff.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:21
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:21
perhaps it's a Troll
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:33
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:33
perhaps
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:19
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:19
The Pipes, of coarse it's the pipes.
Them damned scots are everywhere breeding like a frenzy and then teaching the rug rats to play them.
If I were you, I'd stop taking early morning walks and put KY Gel on the bedroom door handle. That should deter them Scottish pipers when they return from
Perth. You thought he was in
Perth Western Australia didn't you.
Well missy,
Perth is in bluddy Scotland the damned sasenach.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:38
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:38
'Green pidgeons as big as chickens', 'Cane Toads', 'Billy Goats', 'Cows' etc etc.
Has there been a party that I have missed where there was a 'whip around and
p i s s up' using some sort of dodgy
home brew.
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:41
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:41
Weeeelll there was, but you were in KI, I am not hearing things..lol..
well I am, but it's fair dinkum, the pidgeon makes sense as it's like a dove's call but different..lol...and I guess if you were green and as big as a chook, you could sound like a foghorn too...
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:27
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:27
I worked with a woman like that years ago. Silly old chook, sounded like a foghorn and decidedly green on Friday night :))))))
Reply By: Motherhen - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:39
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 15:39
I'm with Crazy Dog on this one
Reply By: Ole Grizzly - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:19
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:19
Struth..sounds maybe it could be the male Forest Bronze Wing..has an air sack on the front of head above eyes...he can fill it with air, and the air escaping sounds like a distant cow....has me baffled how he'd attract a lady with that noise..maybe a frisky heifer.
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:49
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 18:49
It might be something that is coming from within you and picked up by your hearing aide.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:36
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:36
So you suggesting a house call rebate?
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:16
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:16
after a wee bit of thinking about it ive now realised
its a lost haggis
Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:43
Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:43
Are you on an high fibre diet Lyn?
Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:50
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:50
it might be the rare oomegooolies bird...the one with no legs....every time he comes into land he screams out
"OOMEGOOOLIES"
Reply By: greydemon - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:44
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:44
I'll have $10 on it being a frog.
Check your region here and I reckon that you will find a frog with the call you are looking for. In WA there is a frog which builds a tunnel which acts as an amplifier, I suspect that your frogs re lazy and are using the drainpipe instead.
frogs.org.au/frogs/state/Victoria/
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:56
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 13:56
hi there
I think you might do your $10, checked the site [thanks for the link a great site] but none of those frogs are making the right sound...it is like a dove's call but different...
cheers though, I did discover the name of a couple of frogs we've found about the place though
Lyn
Reply By: Hard Yaka - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:07
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 23:07
yep i agree it's a frog i have the same problem where i live in the
pilbara