Our lives depend so much on the braking system of our vehicles.

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:35
ThreadID: 40023 Views:2348 Replies:3 FollowUps:1

Just put new brake pads on the old work ute, and was thinking this system has been around for so long, and we just take it for granted that when we putour foot on the brake the thing stops. Electronics have crept into engines, auto trans, and a lot of other areas in the modern day vehicle, but they haven;t strayed away from the old hydraulic brake system as yet!. Wonder if electronics will creep into this area, God help us.

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:57

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 19:57
They have - it's called ABS and EBD, traction control, skew control, hill descent control etc, etc. All these things interact with the brakes to varying degrees on various vehicles.

As you say, the basis is still pumping an incompressible fluid through non expanding pipes and eventually compressing a friction material against a friction material.

I reckon that when F1 moves away from this system to something else such as perhaps servo motors actuating the brake pads rather than a fluid, it won't take long to reach the everyday cars.
AnswerID: 208375

Follow Up By: Exploder - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:29

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 20:29
Just add
The hydraulic system is very reliable and not a lot can go wrong with the system unlike with electrical servo Motors or electromagnetic brakes, Where a Electronic fault could cause Compleat loss of braking ability.
FollowupID: 468330

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 12:31

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 12:31
There is an electric car around that uses a form of engine braking on the motor that returns power to the batteries.

This principle could be used with say a rotaing permanent magnet fixed to the drive shafts and an electro-magent that used a variable current for braking force.

Also my caravan already has electric brakes that use magnetic force to pull the friction surfaces together.

But as Exploder says, what happens when you blow a fuse!

We once had an exciting descent down a slippery road on the way home in the Adelaide Hills with no van brakes. We had clipped off a dangling electric brake line at some point in our trip home. It is now fixed up out of the way.

Pete
AnswerID: 208481

Reply By: FZJ 80 - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:09

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:09
G'day,

BMW are working on a fully electric braking system. Interesting to see if it ever gets past ADR regulations when developed.

AnswerID: 208562