A little bit of maintenance.......

Submitted: Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:22
ThreadID: 40031 Views:2880 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
Well, the windscreen waterbottle sprung a leak. After watching it drip for months I decided to finally do something.

Ahhh.......to get the water bottle out, the battery has to be removed. No worries. Do that.

Hey! there is a a botanic garden here in all the crevases. Remove all the debris. Now I see some surface rust on battery tray....bugger. Sand it away and spray with fish oil. Repair waterbottle and replace all.

Go to start truck....No Ignition and no dashlights whatsoever.......Ahhh....... that plurry Fusible Link again. The FL had given grief in the Gibson Desert this year 50km from the nearest track and on top of a dune. Mate and I eventually found that with a cable tie we pulled the FL downwards and the lights came on again. This was in April. Luckily I had ordered a 2nd hand FL some time ago through a wrecker in the Big Smoke(Nissan wanted $75 for it!!!). Fitted the new FL and all is sweet again.

A whole morning passed by, lunch came and went.............what fun!!!!

But I got it fixed...............LOL

Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:38

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:38
Willem, I'm still fixing /replacing stuff also. 3 burner stove knobs missing, the radio body screws fell out. And when my bro spent the night in the cabin he kicked the radio head, pulled some screws out, temp fix was the magic tape. But we all know about temp fixes, don't we ?
Had to do an install for someone else so I went to get some industrial velcro. "Yes mate, got it here." 7 places tried (all a cut lunch through the traffic away) and none had a clue. Finally I found the stuff at the 3M distributer. double lock tape. Now everyone knows about this stuff but it took me 7 phone calls, a full day of driving around in the heat yadda yadda to find it.
Anyway, radio head now looks schmick again.
I really must do something about all that red stuff inside everywhere ....
AnswerID: 208408

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:27

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:27
It never ends....:-D
FollowupID: 468386

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:56

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 21:56
Willem,
I had fusible link problems on an old troopie. They didn't like the corrugations. Since then, I've cable tied the lower part of the fusible links to the starter cable, so theres no chance of it vibrating. I use fusible links on my dual battery connections for short circuit protection and secure them similarly.

And maintenance never stops - spent today servicing one of my daughters Pulsars - oil, all filters, rear brake shoes, plugs, and took the starter motor apart to see why it occasionally wasn't starting - one of the brushes was worn - I managed to extend the brush a bit, so she can use it next week, while I look for a new set of brushes.

And the setting up never stops either - made another food drawer in the back of the truck - I bought 10sets of Hettich 60kg slides off Ebay and keep finding a use for another set! Its all great fun.
AnswerID: 208416

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:30

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:30

I think I have come to the end of my 'setting up'....I hope...lol

FollowupID: 468389

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:22

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 23:22
Yeah, never stops & that's kinda OK. By the way, thanks for the tips about the cable tied fusible link, boys.

Sanded & spray painted the roof rack today 'coz it was looking verrrry daggy.

Late next week - on goes the twin wheel carrier.

Then I plan to mount a drop down smoko table (Refer recent post of mine gathering ideas about what folk do for tables) on the rear right spare wheel + garbage bag on left rear spare - trying to get some crap out of the cabin/internal rear area, so I can put other kinds of crap in there! (the empties rattle annoyingly back there, attempting to drown out the MP3 music & the hum of tyres.)

Week after - new 5 m roll-out shade to hang off the right side. Got an excellent buy from Bob Burridge in NSW, delivered by Australia Post for $ 14.

RM
FollowupID: 468403

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:35

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:35
Hi Rick

I am really enjoying Bob Dylan 2006. Reminds me of the yesteryear...lol

I think that I have come to the end of my inventiveness.
FollowupID: 468608

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:11

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:11
you have too much time on ya hands old matey
AnswerID: 208422

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:24

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:24
Err yes...I suppose thats what retirement is all about. You got another X amount of years of hard slog ahead of ya...LOL
FollowupID: 468384

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:29

Sunday, Dec 03, 2006 at 22:29
Gee thanks for the reminder

FollowupID: 468388

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:30

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 07:30
what the!.....an irish pistol ...
almost new, only been fired twice...going cheap i believe
FollowupID: 468419

Reply By: Bros 1 - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:37

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:37
Willem,
Got 4 years to go for retirement and am starting to wonder what i am going to do. It appears that auto problems will still take up some of the slack.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 208568

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:41

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:41
Bros

LOL You will find plenty to do even if you are an inactive person.....

It has taken me 7 years to repair the stone walls and to paint the house and now I have to start at the front again..........bugga

Must say I am getting a bit lazy now and keep on thinking of going to far away places by the sea and just beachcombing again like I used to when I was younger.

Trouble is that SWMBO usually has other ideas!!!

FollowupID: 468610

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:41

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:41
So I head out to the workshop to do a routine job on the car.

Missus says "How long you going to be?"

I answer "Yes!"

Ive given up estimating 'cause it always takes longer, or I get finished quick so start another job, which takes longer.

Now that works Willem you will find something else to fix, modify or invent.

AnswerID: 208584