our Jayco stolen!!
Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 17:29
tony*H
Our little family is feeling totally gutted today. Our 84 Jayco Dove was in to have some repair work done on the canvas, and was stolen on the weekend. They cut through a wire fence and took it. We'd just finished getting it how we wanted it and this happens. I know it's a long shot, but if anyone happens to notice an 84 JAyco Dove with a big black steel frame on the back, number plate CE9986 (I know probably the first thing they take off), it has a big scorch mark on the back canvas, or did have when we dropped it off. I don't know what else to write, my little man is so upset, those few weekends away we had were the highlight of his year. Anyway, just though it was worth asking you all to keep an eye out. It was stolen from
Toowoomba, so possibly they'll head south with it.
Many thanks
Kylie and Tony.
Reply By: Mal58 - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 17:41
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 17:41
Hi Tony,
Sorry to hear the bad news, 7 years ago we had our camper trailer stolen, and I understand how you feel.
Just make sure it is reported to police and see if they can pass the details onto the caravan and
camping park chains (eg. Big 4 etc) to keep and eye out for it.
Some friends also had their caravan stolen recently and it was tracked down by one of the caravan
park people and the thieves were caught.
Mal
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 17:53
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 17:53
Report it on all the caravan sites. Never know maybe someone may see it . A pic would be good too..
Site Link
Site Link
Site Link
Site Link
forum.
camping.com.au
Regards Dodg.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 18:53
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 18:53
Will keep an eye out.
I am in Brissie.
Sorry about the loss of a good friend.
As you say, it may head south.
Reply By: Trout Fisherman - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:01
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:01
Sorry to hear of the stolen camper -
Hope you were insured for a replacement camper .
Will keep an eye out for it .
Kev .
Reply By: Ozboc - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:07
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:07
and just in time for xmas- hope these a$%holes loose control of there towing car and hit a tree ....
Boc
Follow Up By: tony*H - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:21
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 19:21
yep, just in time for xmas, we'd booked in for 4 nights at noosa nth shore in early Jan.
Thanks for the replies, we are insured, but just so hacked off about it all. It was set up perfectly for us!
Thanks again.
K&T.
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:20
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 20:20
Hope you don't have to
fork out for the excess. The place where the repairs were susposed to be getting done should have to cover it with their insurance. Make them pay for all items that were in it when you dropped it off.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:25
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:25
Did you have it insured?
If so (and you should have), you will probably get more than it is worth.
If not, sorry, but hard luck. If everybody paid insurance, the premiums would be lower and we would all be better off. There would be no hard luck stories.
I trust you are part of the responsible portion of the community and will suffer no financial loss.
ATB,
Jim
Follow Up By: tony*H - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:16
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:16
It certainly was insured, for more than it's worth. That isn't really a worry, I guess we're just sentimental about it, all our kids
camping chairs and beach toys were in it. We're going to get in touch with canvas repair businesses in SEQ as in has a big scorch in the canvas on one end (don't ask!!) maybe the morons who took it will try to have it repaired.
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:34
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:34
We have an 84 Dove and love it. We leave it parked in our driveway and would hate to lose it, but it is behind at least one car all the time. I hope you get it back soon, or maybe you can use the insurance to get a nice replacement.
If you don't have a photo to post
mine is probably similar and I can post one for you. See the three shots in my rig pics (at the bottom). They may make easier for someone to spot yours.
Pete
Follow Up By: tony*H - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:19
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:19
Thanks Pete, ours is almost identical to yours, except it has green, yellow and
orange stripe around the side. Please do post a pic if you think it'll help. Much appreciated.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:35
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 08:35
Similar Van:
!MPG:12!
!MPG:13!
Green and yellow stripes
Pete
Reply By: padler - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:47
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 21:47
Tony, i am sorry to read of your loss of the family favourite. I would be gutted also. With some luck the ba@#$%s that took it, have something nasty happen to them. We will keep an eye open for it.
Reply By: longJohn - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:13
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:13
my god, what kind of ar$ehole steals someones camper trialer?? and what use is it as its registered and chassis numbered!!
Guess the mongrels will gut all the good stuff out of it, Jeez theives make my blood boil.
Follow Up By: Angler - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:27
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:27
Put the van on the following list. It may help.
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.goseeaustralia.com.au/stolen.asp
Pooley
Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:39
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:39
I really feel for you, Tony.
I had my 100 series TD 'Cruiser stolen last March, never saw it again. It's heartbreaking.
I'm in
Perth so I doubt I'd see it over here, but you never know. I got a lot of support from the people on this
forum. One memner of Exploroz damn near caugt the buggers that stole it!! An hour or two earlier and we would have had 'em.
If you need any ADVICE on dealing with mongrel insurance companies just ask me,,,,,,,,,,,,expect a schitfight mate.
Good luck,
Bilbo
Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:37
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:37
I still think about you bad luck with that cruiser Bilbo. I bet you look at every 100 series in that colour to make sure!
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:04
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:04
Muzz,
Yep, I still check out all silver 100 series TDs. I even scrutinise 'em up close if I can. It may be more out of a sense of loss than actually hoping to see it again as it now belongs to the insurance company.
It wasn't so much the physical car or the monetary value that hurt. The car represented my retirement dream after 44 years of working. Those creatures wrecked that dream. That's what really hurt.
Take care, Muzz,
Bilbo
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:42
Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:42
I wacked it up on Outerlimits too
Site Link
Reply By: 666toy - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 01:42
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 01:42
Do you have a pic of the C/T mate ? All sorts of things turn up in Moree often with a dubious nature. Must be something about
Toowoomba i had my swag stolen out of my ute a while back . Out the front of the shamrock too in daylight . Hope they get caught & get to say hello to Bubba in prison "you wanna be mommy or daddy" post a pic & i will keep my eyes out for you..666TOY
Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 01:55
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 01:55
Sorry to hear about your van,
I know its a bit late for yours Tony, hope this helps others think a bit though. It shows that a ball hitch lock should be in place all the time, when the van is off the vehicle. We use one with a high tensile lock fitted.
So people keep them locked, lots of a##holes out there.
Reply By: tony*H - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 06:55
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 06:55
http://picasaweb.google.com/skaramoosh06/TheVan/photo#5004632486057832002
Trying to post a link to
pic of the van, hope it works! We've got a good one of it wound down, the insurance mob have it at the moment.
Just want to thank all of you so much for your words of support, and those who've posted on other sites on our behalf, thanks heaps. I (
Kylie here) sat up till the wee hours sending off emails to a few van dealerships asking them to keep an eye out.
Thanks again everyone.
K.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:39
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:39
Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 12:08
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 12:08
I guess this is a good time to check what everyone does to try and prevent the low life element making off with their pride and joy. Like many others, our campertrailer is kept in the front yard and we don't have a fence (stupid council rules prevent this). But what I do is:
1. fitted a hitch lock which prevents access to the hitch on a couple of dimensions
2. chained both wheels to the axles
3. lowered and locked down the rear stabilisers
4. chained and locked the jockey wheel to stop it being either removed or retracted
I know this still only keeps honest people honest and will be like a red rag to a bull for those who really want my trailer....but hey you gotta do something
Pete
Follow Up By: 666toy - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 14:03
Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 14:03
I just leave mine out the back but a very "freindly" blue healer resides under it . It never got touched when we lived in Kathrine NT.