Off Road Trivia/ ????

Submitted: Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 22:58
ThreadID: 40063 Views:2463 Replies:7 FollowUps:17
Who knows what vehicle these Specifications are for . a very capable off roader, will add the link later if no one knows

Length: 34 feet, Height: 18 feet, Weight: 45 tons
Turning radius - 200 feet, Complete train - 98 feet long
Powered by 60hp Blackstone crude oil engine
Four Forward Gears - 1/2 - 2 mph, Two reverse gears - 1/4 - 1/2 mph
Carrying capacity: 80 tons.

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:04

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:04
I'll guess this ==>

AnswerID: 208623

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:27

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:27
Nup but that would eat Big Lizzies for lunch

FollowupID: 468606

Reply By: Roddesh - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:05

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:05
That'd be "Big Lizzie" wouldn't it?
AnswerID: 208624

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:26

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:26
If there was a prize of a million dollars you would be bloody rolling in money.
good on ya mate , not many prople know about it

Site Link

FollowupID: 468605

Follow Up By: Roddesh - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:48

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:48
Cheers mate, just happened to stop for a look on the way home from my Kimberley trip about a month ago... still fresh in my mind.

Awesome machine. I love stuff like that.

Rod.
FollowupID: 468758

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:59

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:59
Rod
Yeh I like to see the old machinery too so have you seen the big Line up at Ilfracombe over near Longreach Qld and the farm museum at Gilgandra has a good range of Tractors

FollowupID: 468765

Follow Up By: Roddesh - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 12:01

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 12:01
Hey Doug,

I haven't seen that but am heading north through QLD at the start of next year so I'll keep it in mind for a stop. Thanks for the tip.

Rod
FollowupID: 468888

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:14

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:14
Sounds like the Roachmobile with all the fruit :)))
AnswerID: 208628

Reply By: Bilbo - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:16

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:16
Doug,

I wouldn't have a clue mate. But get me one for my missus - she's just backed my Chevissan into a tree!!

Smashed the rear end in a fair bit.

Bilbo
AnswerID: 208630

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:46

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:46
Bugga...what a blow.

I had a senior moment like that a few months ago. I look at the dent every day and curse meself.
FollowupID: 468612

Reply By: Ron George - Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:45

Monday, Dec 04, 2006 at 23:45
Me mum told me about one of them thingys when I was a kid... just after the dunny man went A over T from a trip snare I`d set for him... she reckoned this thing would come into my room late at night an chew my guts out in the most horriable manner!!!!
I dunno what she is... But it sounds bloody scarey. Cheesels.
AnswerID: 208634

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:03

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:03
Geez Ron I bet ended up in deep #hit for doing that

FollowupID: 468616

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:58

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 00:58
Aye Doug, one of life’s little pleasures was to have the the dunny man bashing on the out house door... right in the middle of your morning constitution... revenge is sweet mate, so 1/2 the story is true, it`s amazing you know, that incident happened over 50 yrs ago & I can still remember the blokes name, & yes I did end up in the #hit... up to me bloody neck mate & it wasn`t from me mum. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 468624

Follow Up By: Member - Ken J (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 05:24

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 05:24
Hi Ron George, You would no doubt recall the saying " Flat as a s**it carters Hat "

Life was a bit different then !

Regards K J
FollowupID: 468628

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:33

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:33
G/day Ken, yeah you`re right on both counts mate... I recall I was a bit like the s#it carters hat after the old man gave me a "stern lecture"... Ouch!!!!!!!
Cheesels RG
FollowupID: 468754

Reply By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:55

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 07:55
Just for those that dont know what Big Lizzie is/was.
Big Lizzie
The Australian Famous "Big Lizzie" truck.Was the idea of a gentleman by the name of Mr Frank Bottrill, the idea was conceived while trying to find a better way to travel over sand having witnessed the harsh conditions of the interior. With all of this in mind and after several prototypes, he commenced the construction of Big Lizzie at McDonalds's Foundry in Richmond. After two years he arrived in the Mildura district intent on crossing the Murray River bound for Broken Hill.

However Mr Bottrill stayed in Mildura carting wheat, parts and any other material. During the time he was in Mildura, Red Cliffs was to be opened up for a Soldier Settlement, Mr Bottrill won the Government contract to clear the native bush land of Red Cliffs and its surrounds.

Specifications:
Length 34 feet Turning radius 200 feet Four Forward Gears 2 mph
Height 18 feet Complete Train 98 feet long Two Reverse Gears _ mph
Weight 45 tones Powered by 60hp Blackstone crude oil Carrying capacity 80 tonnes

Within a five year period this massive machine cleared all manner of trees, shrubs, bushes, understory, and destroyed a wide range of local fauna in a very short time period.

After the five years of work, Big Lizzie and two trailers began the slow retreat to Glendinning Sataion near Balmoral, Victoria.

Leaving behind, what once was a thick dense area of flora and fauna, now an area of barren cleared land with very little to no remnant species of flora left.

Some of the information in this article is Courtesy of the 4wd.sofcom website.

AnswerID: 208649

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 09:56

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 09:56
On Patrol
Thanks for reply, but just a couple of points has me wondering what why you had to add the part about destroying fauna/Flora

[ quote: and destroyed a wide range of local fauna in a very short time period -Leaving behind, what once was a thick dense area of flora and fauna, now an area of barren cleared land with very little to no remnant species of flora left. ]

I knew Victoria was small but I didn't know he stuffed the whole state up. The last time I went through Redcliffe and Mildura the area's look really good with all the orchards and Vineyards,and then I went for a drive through the Murray Sunset Park and so I see the all the Flora and Fauna are going quite well again now ....
If a State was to go ahead back in the early days and Soldier Settlements were a small part in that development [ and not to forget those men went and fought for our country so people like us have it free] then clearing must be carried out or where in hell would we have all the produce coming from, or should they have planted amid the mallee and spinifex,
Have you flown over our country,the great Divide, etc. PNG also. I have, and scanned South America with Google Earth.I have, and when one looks down upon the land one see's billions of trees,there is no shortage of trees on Earth

FollowupID: 468658

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:44

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 16:44
Hey Mate!!
Dont shoot the messenger. It was a cut and paste from another site.

I give up!!!!
FollowupID: 468705

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:13

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:13
On Patrol
Sheez man I'm sorry, it was a little dark and I thought you were armed so I shoot first and ask later,

No worries ,I just presumed you wrote but then I i did see the under [ Some of the information in this article is Courtesy of the 4wd.sofcom website. ] and didn'y register

Doug

FollowupID: 468713

Follow Up By: On Patrol - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 18:07

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 18:07
Hey Cool Doug,
You only winged me, I'll get over it, in fact I just had a VB and am fine now.
FollowupID: 468731

Reply By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:15

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 13:15
Built in Richmond in 1915.
here's a photo
Site Link

T.R.
AnswerID: 208716

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:15

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 17:15
Hey thats a good photo.

FollowupID: 468715

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:23

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:23
Me mum wasn`t kidding... scare a bloody dog out of a butchers shop!!!!!!
Don`t you just love them big planky ,gripy, traction control thingys... crap all over an ARB locker...Aye???!!!
Cheesels RG
FollowupID: 468751

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:44

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:44
Ron George

Mate you gotta get a good dog look at mine

Site Link

FollowupID: 468757