Exhausted

Submitted: Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 19:16
ThreadID: 40088 Views:1830 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
Has anyone fitted larger exhaust/dump pipe to a GU3 4.2iTD?
Was there a noticeable increase in power?

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:12

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 20:12
Hi Wayne,

I have a 3" exhaust and dump pipe and I think that is the single biggest increase in power you will get before you really start spending big dollars for smaller increases in performance. You will not be sorry if you get it done.

There is plenty of reading in the archives on this topic also, so if you have the time you could do a search but from what I can tell there is no bad reports from people having had the bigger exhaust put on (maybe only louder exhaust note being the only gripe).

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 208781

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:43

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:43
Christmas day 2005 I did a trip up the road 0-100 kph and then three hours later did the same section of road at 16% less time 0-100 kph. The change was all due to the change in the exhaust INCLUDING the dunp pipe. Have fitted the Beaudesert system to my GU 2003 4.2iTD coil cab ute. Love a bit more power though but a great first step.

Measured the inside of the OE dump pipe at 1.7" or 43.18mm. What a bugga of a person designed that? I used a 1.5" washer to measure off.
AnswerID: 208834

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:54

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:54
there a great exhaust them beaudesert ones we fit them at work
great workman bleep and the fitting is always spot on.
we fitted one on monday to a new hilux diesel instant difference in power.
cheers mate
FollowupID: 468990

Follow Up By: nowimnumberone - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:55

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:55
lets see did i misspell ship as in boat lol
FollowupID: 468991

Reply By: Hard Yaka - Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:45

Tuesday, Dec 05, 2006 at 22:45
I have a 05 nissan 4.2rd and fitted a mtq 3" exhaust and dump pipe and love it has improved the proformance heaps i have the car booked in on the 20th dec for a turbo upgrade so will post the results once done
AnswerID: 208836

Follow Up By: Shawn - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 09:15

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 09:15
Wayne,
As said in the first post it will be the biggest increase in power that you will notice; instantly, for very little outlay.
On fitting the 3" Beaudesert exhaust and dump pipe myself, after receiving it through the mail, the increase in power was instantly noticeable. It's still not a drag car, but that's not what I got it for.
Shawn
FollowupID: 468866

Reply By: shaen - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:20

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:20
Shawn,
Ditto

AnswerID: 209020