Too old ?

Submitted: Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 15:51
ThreadID: 40121 Views:2685 Replies:8 FollowUps:12
I'm not sure of what to make of it.
While son's away working, I borrow his u beaut (well he thinks so) Commode SV6 and wander to Ipswitch. Pull up at lights, car full of young girls next to me almost vomit in disappointment. Passing SS gives me the thumbs up. I'm coolies, I'm on a roll.
Anyway it's stinking hot and I'm on the way home, winding out of Ipswitch. Next thing a police car with the lights flashing is behind me. Obviously I've done something very wrong, but what ? As the stomach churns, I put the blinker on and pull off the road.
The two policepersons look, sail past, turn the lights off, go round the roundabout and come back the other way at a sedate pace. They give me the once over without interest this time.
Yes I had the cap on (the right way). But the grey hair is a dead give away.
Too old to book ?
Geez I hope so.

Reply By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:07

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:07
Bloody Old Farts out again. You should be at home having your Nanna Nap :-D
AnswerID: 208953

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:09

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:09
I am. My blonde swedish nurse is typing this for me :)))))))))
FollowupID: 468939

Follow Up By: Busy Bee - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:25

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 23:25
I prefer to call it a Power Nap.
FollowupID: 469080

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:14

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:14
There are advantages aren't there.

The other night I picked my daughter up at the airport in Mildura at 8:25 pm local time. It's only a three hour drive home with skippy hopping about all over the place. A fairly uneventful three hours passes and I'm on the outskirts of Broken Hill, just lifted my foot to let the car slow down for the 80 zone which I am not yet in. I only half notice the car going the other way but I do notice the brake lights and blinker come on. The rear door on the Patrol pops and the interior light comes on so I indicate and pull overto fix it. Next I've got the christmas tree flashing. What the...?

I am already getting out of the car when he starts yelling at me "Stay in the car."

I ignore him and fix the back door which he challenges me over. So I head back to the drivers seat. He asks me where I have come from. Now I don't know how well you know Broken Hill but there aren't a lot of options down that road. do you think I can remeber the name of that place. "Just tell me yor address and speak into the machine sir." Thats easy I think haven't had a beer in about 6 days. So I tell him my address and he lets me go. "Oh I've just come from Mildura I yell at him as I drive off."

He just shook his head. I'm sure he was thinking "Senile old fool" as he watched me down the road.
I had fun.

AnswerID: 208956

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:30

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:30
Next time your working and the tosser turns up, turn around to face him with the hose going and ask him if he remembers you. LOL
My work car is a fire engine red dunnydore x bleep ry and they all give me the once over. They don't dare give me a hard time as I can easily get even with them.
FollowupID: 468948

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:30

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:30
Woops, miss spelt country
FollowupID: 468949

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:25

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:25
Dunc's when a policeman tells me to "Stay in the car." i follow his advice

if your out of your car, your a threat to his/her safety

these people cant shoot for peanuts they dont care where they hit you..shoot first ask questions later.......

FollowupID: 468967

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:59

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:59
Des,

We hardly know each other but you've picked it in one. I have done that, "Look here comes the Police Rescue Squad" said while pointing with the hose. THey went back to their truck and got dry clothes on. That was silly

No. 1

I was already out of the car and I was not going to get back in just to get out again. I was tired and wnating to go to bed.

I'm old remember. Or had you forgotten. That short term stuff is the hardest to take.

FollowupID: 468974

Follow Up By: Member - Ozdyssey (QLD) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:08

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:08
Sounds like it happens quite a bit there No 1.
FollowupID: 468977

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 16:58
The cops will pick you up if you're going too SLOW - they figure you're up to no good :-)))
AnswerID: 208969

Reply By: Diver1 - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:18

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 17:18
and while they're checking you out I go flying past and get away with it...thanks!!!! (i wasnt really there but if Ipswich happened to be in nowra yest. that woulda been me!)

too old.....yeah....why not... age has gotta have a good side at some stage!!
AnswerID: 208976

Reply By: Footloose - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:19

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:19
I wasn't going too slow, or too fast according to the digi readout. The only scary thing apart from me in the car was the numbers on the analogue speedo...at the end stop.
Maybe they saw the car, person in cap and thought right , stolen or just a hoon ? Or maybe they wanted me to do a runnerso they could have some fun.
Or maybe I exceeded the 60 limit for one nonosecond downhill.
AnswerID: 208992

Follow Up By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:53

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:53
Maybe they thought it was your son. LOL
FollowupID: 468988

Reply By: Exploder - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:56

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 18:56
I spotted an Old lady probably late 70’s yesterday driving a VX Commodore SS Ute with the Gen3 V8, LOL Good on her I say.
AnswerID: 209004

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:34

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 20:34
You got it all wrong Exploder, it was actually a 21 yr old male ratbag like you and me used to be, except he was smarter by dressing himself up to look like a 70yr old Nanna so that after one look the cops would just let him continue on, LOL.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 469020

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:19

Wednesday, Dec 06, 2006 at 22:19
Dunno aboput you blokes.

I have only been stopped 3 times in 16 years.

1990 NT...Please blow in the bag Sir...... Yeh No worries.... Oh chit....bugga!
1999 QLD...Roadblock outside Augathella
2000 NSW...Please blow in Bag Sir.... No worries... Thankyou Sir.... Good Day Sir!

Before that only since 1980 when I did a U turn into some unsuspecting traffic in Darwin. I ended up in hospital....LOL
AnswerID: 209060

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:46

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:46
You certainly live life on the edge Willem

FollowupID: 469122

Reply By: Member - Rotord - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:39

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:39
Couple of years ago in Port Hedland , a wife called boyfriend to come and reason with husband . Husband finished up dead , so at two o'clock in the morning they put him in the back of the ute and headed out of town to give him a quiet funeral . As luck would have it , or perhaps it was the ute , they were pulled over for a Random Breath Test . The policeman had a look in the back of the ute . Up here the RBT is now refered to as the Random Body Test .
AnswerID: 209138

Follow Up By: Footloose - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:47

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:47
I'd just finished writing this bit elsewhere:

Many see the outback as a threatening and dangerous place to be. Often these people live in cities, where they are far more likely to meet far more violence than anything that happens in remote areas. But precisely because they are remote areas, such incidents are usually widely reported.
The truth is that most people are far safer in the bush than they are in their own homes. They are certainly much safer than on the roads.
Every year thousands of people travel through some of the most remote country that Australia has to offer, without incident.

So......ummm...errr.....thanks :))))))))
FollowupID: 469154

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:19

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 14:19
Ive had a few people asking questions when I tell them about camping. The first question is who do you go with and the second is dont you get scared? out by yourself - Um nup why?
FollowupID: 469157