10c/L off petrol instead of 4c at Coles

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 09:06
ThreadID: 40140 Views:4519 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
Coles announced a new promotion starting today - spend $80 on groceries and get 10c/L off fuel at Shell. Presumably the $30/4c deal still stands. Not sure if it's just a Christmas promotion, or a permanent one.

Plus if you spend $2 in store you get another 2c/L off - which really just means a free Kit Kat or something if you're buying ~100L. Not hard with jerrycans :-)

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:21

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:21
Don't know about you but where we live Coles is the dearest supermaket around. Wouldn't have anything to do with making up for "cheap" petrol would it? ;-p

Standard fill for me is around 70LT. That means a "saving" of $7 at the pump (usually $2.80 when it's only 4c). Missus saves more than that on the weekly shop by shopping at the local IGA store......
AnswerID: 209117

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:46

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 10:46
Not only the coles ,woolies does the same general rippoff ,not only on the groceries but also on the qty of fuel delivered from the bowser ,and before someone says "impossible "due to checks by weights and measures explain this ,,wifes 92 camry has 52lt tank,last thursday filled at local woollies station and bowser proclaimed 55lt ,wife complains to manager ,manager says no way ,wife stands ground and refuses to move vehicle until something done , manager gets 5lt fuel tin [brand new] fills same to very top ,bowser reads 5.8lt ,refunds wife $7.00 and puts sign "out of order"on pump ,, how long and how often does the rippoff go on for at a time , will continue untill all independant stations are out of buisness and the big 2 cancharge what they realy want.
FollowupID: 469131

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:52

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 11:52
I'll second that - Safeway fuel station at Rowville has managed to get 96 litres of Lpg into a 90 litre LPG tank. Wasn't worth arguing for $2.00 or so, but this type of theft is prevalent.

If Coles can give 10c off, they have managed to inflate the price by 6c during the recent past high prices.

They put 4 cents onto the wholesale price within days of buying the Shell outlets, and now another 6 has stayed on.

Thanks Honest John for allowing a system where this can happen, and flourish.
FollowupID: 469141

Follow Up By: The Explorer - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:52

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:52
If you have no choice or it is convenient at the time getting a discount on fuel is certainly better than no discount at all. I do find it hard to believe that you will always pay more when shopping at the big chains - it obviously depends what you choose to buy..my guess, worst case - sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. IMHO discount fuel is a good thing and if you are getting ripped off as some suggest, in the long term it would amount to diddley squat.

FollowupID: 469148

Follow Up By: Member - Red60 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:06

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:06
Now you've really got me wondering!!
When I fill up tomorrow I'm gonna take a trusty 20 litre jerry and fill that first. I often thought my fueltank must have been part of the Tardis in another life.
FollowupID: 469162

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:24

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:24
MrBitchi,

-and does your wife take a fuel docket with her??

Spend $30.oo min, give the fuel docket and have another 4c per litre taken off your grocery bill, up to a max of 80lt.

Check it out, every little helps said the old lady etc etc.......

Michael
FollowupID: 469163

Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:54

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 15:54
Yes she does :-)
FollowupID: 469165

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:25

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:25
YES YES YES Mr Alloy CT
you are about the first I have come across here who sees similar to me.
see my post further down.
FollowupID: 469195

Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 23:56

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 23:56
Quote: "Not only the coles ,woolies does the same general rippoff ,not only on the groceries but also on the qty of fuel delivered from the bowser ,and before someone says "impossible "due to checks by weights and measures explain this ,,wifes 92 camry has 52lt tank,last thursday filled at local woollies station and bowser proclaimed 55lt ,wife complains to manager ,manager says no way ,wife stands ground and refuses to move vehicle until something done , manager gets 5lt fuel tin [brand new] fills same to very top ,bowser reads 5.8lt ,refunds wife $7.00 and puts sign "out of order"on pump ,, how long and how often does the rippoff go on for at a time , will continue untill all independant stations are out of buisness and the big 2 cancharge what they realy want."

What seems to be forgotten in this example is that fuel cans are NOT meant to be filled right to the top. There ought to be some room left for fuel expansion.
So, a 5 litre tin should hold 5 litres and NOT be full to the very top.

I would imagine the same holds true for fuel tanks, it is not a good idea to fill her up until it runs out of the filler spout IMO.
Klaus
FollowupID: 469213

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:17

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 12:17
Well the Coles (Shell) and Woolies (Caltex) around here are on par or cheaper than other fuel outlets with their base price. The docket discount is a real discount and some would say meaningful when filling up 100ltr or more tanks. Of the supermarkets here Aldi is the cheapest but doesn't stock everything. The next is Coles and that is where we do most of our grocery shopping.
Swings and roundabouts I reckon.....and of course there is always those whose views are clouded by that old 'conspiracy theory'.......:-)
AnswerID: 209130

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:53

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 13:53
That old conspiracy theory ,, then please explain how a large group of publicans can "offer" another 4c a lt off any fuel purchase if you produce the fuel reciept when purchasing $40+ worth of alcohol , easy as ,,raise the price of ALL stock by only 1c , redemption rate of the offer is less than 5% of all sales , ,same as the supermarkets ,no such thing as a free lunch or a TRUE discount ,any and all discounts are factored in the inflated price to begin with , just for a laugh next time you go to your local liquor barn or bottle shop lift the tempory tag marking the "special" ,then lift /look under that tag ,you might just be supprised to see that the "special "price is in fact 1 or 2c more than last weeks normal price.
FollowupID: 469156

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 18:57

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 18:57
Nothing 'conspiratorial' about what you are saying here Alloy....that is nothing other than 'marketing'....whatever the marketing approach ie TV advertising, newspapers etc it all cost money and it all ADDs to the cost of goods to the consumer...petrol/diesel is no different - but it might be a bit more emotive.
FollowupID: 469181

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:01

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:01
I have never had a problem with either Coles or Woolworths at all. When i can put 115 lt of lpg in that ten cents wil make me $11 richer. Some of my best ever economy has come from their fuels so spare me the crap about poor quality and wrong measures. For some people the glass is always half empty.
AnswerID: 209186

Follow Up By: Junior - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:38

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 20:38
yep
FollowupID: 469341

Reply By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:21

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:21
Well peoples, think about this.
When the discount fuel schemes came in here, diesel was around 90c a litre (roughly 5% at 4c a litre)
As the price of fuel inevitably creeps up you 4 cents is less and less of a discount.
4cents of $1.50 is only 2.5% discount.

There is also the fact that the supermarket fuel prices were very competitive at first in order to cultivate support.
For those who are not smart enough to work out for themselves where this is leading here is an explanation.

The discount will fade to next nothing around the time the Independant Fuel outlets are gone. Then you will be paying whatever they want, and be grateful for it as well.

Here in the WA Midwest Coles diesel is $1.34 and you get 4cents off.
Gull is $1.27 for B20

SUPPORT INDEPENDANTS OR DONT WHINGE IN THE FUTURE WHEN YOU ARE BENT OVER THE BOWSER BY COLES GETTING REAMED OUT BY A BOWSER HANDPIECE.

and no I do not have ANY financial interest in fuel sales besides the obvious.
AnswerID: 209190

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:33

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 20:33
Quote"When the discount fuel schemes came in here, diesel was around 90c a litre (roughly 5% at 4c a litre)
As the price of fuel inevitably creeps up you 4 cents is less and less of a discount.
4cents of $1.50 is only 2.5% discount. "

When the discount scheme came in my car held 115 litres which wiould have saved me $4.60 at the bowser with the 4c off.
Since the price of fuel has risen my car still holds 115 litres which surprise surprise still saves me $4.60 at the bowser with 4c off.
Heck i always shop around and its not very often i fins it cheaper than woolies or coles and thats without the 4c off.
FollowupID: 469189

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:23

Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:23
and when it costs you $250 to fill your 115 litres, $4.60 is 5/8ths of F...all.
especially when there is no competition to force them to make sure that the $250 you are paying is competitive.

I'm sad that so few people seem to be able to see the inevitable. Not really suprized though as these huge companies spend millions to find out how stupid people are and how to exploit it.
If QANTAS was the only airline allowed to carry people in Australia, why would they offer cutprice specials that they make the bare minimum profit on?
If Woolies were the only company selling milk in Aus, why would they bother to discount it (unless they were overcharging for it anyway)
Ditto Bakers Delight and bread.

Have a look at the situation with (for example) the Potato Marketing Board.
The only legal outlet for potatoes. You get one variety of potato at a set price and rarely a couple of others. When there are dozens of variety that are great for different applications, but they are only available to big corporations like McDonalds and McCains, not to Joe Average.
FollowupID: 469194

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 01:55

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 01:55
If QANTAS was the only airline allowed to carry people in Australia, I would buy QANTAS shares. Same goes for Coles - you can buy shares in them and "share" in the profits.

Either way, they are cheaper than my local alternative (Foodworks), and Shell gives me some of the best efficiency figures of all the alternatives I've tried (Caltex, BP, United).
FollowupID: 469215

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 02:24

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 02:24
I haven't read any of the above, but a very wise man once said: "a man and his money as soon parted"....

Caveat emptor........................
AnswerID: 209221

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 09:55

Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 09:55
Have not read all the posts but as I see it coles and other supermarkets for that matter have not given Sh*t to you, YOU have just payed more for your food to start with.

My local (private) supermarket has now the same thing going spend $30 get 4cents off as I shopped there most of the time anyway no biggie. However now the cost there is rather high and I now go elsewhere when i'm out and about.

Mobil says spend $5.00 in shop get 4cents off ...... cool ........ go to buy 2litre coke $5.00 hmm only $3.50 at shop over road used to be $3.50 maybe $4.00 at most.

All in all you get nothing and infact I believe we are paying much much more now that what we get back. The only winners are the SHOPS.

But in the end I have to buy food etc so am a captive of the rip off.

Maybe its just me but I have less available monies now than I did 10 years ago even with so called pay rises.

Winge over

AnswerID: 209250

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:50

Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 18:50
LMAO !!

geez, am i the only one who noticed that the world crude price is still falling -YET last week fuel went from 1.08 to 1.24 !!! and about 4 days later the 2 biggest fuel retailers in the country announce 10c discounts WOO - HOO yep give a discount and make more margin at the same time !!

whatta they think we are d..heads or what ??

( yes i support local butcher / greengrocer etc and buy bp fuel)
AnswerID: 209492

Reply By: gqpat - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:32

Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 21:32
I myself have shopped at Coles,Safeway BI Low, Iga and in my opinion BILOW and IGA are no cheaper than Coles or safeway unless you buy their own brand "Crap" has anyone tasted the food in BILOW packets it is Crap and not worth the saving you get from it inmy area all the petrol retailers are the same price inc all the idapendants so the 4-10 c i save is fantastic i challenge people buy brand name products at IGA and BILOW and tell me if they save any money i bet it costs more than coles or safeway...
AnswerID: 209856