Submitted: Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 16:19
sub
hi .just wondering what air compressor in the cheaper price range would the
forum recommend.It is not for me as I already a happy blue tounge owner but as a xmas pressie daughter is wanting to buy for boy friend who has just picked up his brand new hi lux. any of the shops got specials on?
thanks in advance
merry christmas to you all.
Reply By: johnny - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 19:59
Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 19:59
hi its a bit like houses
people spend hundreds and thousands on there house and still sweat it out in the heat because they will not spend a little extra to put in cooling
your daughter boy friend has just brought a NEW! hi lux so why bother putting in a cheap air that he will only have to pull out and replace with a better one
put a little extra in the first time to save a lot of hassle later
thats what i think anyway(but if you must have a cheap one ebay is the way to go)
Reply By: Ozrover - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:09
Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:09
Hi sub.
I've got four compressor in two vehicles.
#1 is an ARB compressor that runs two air lockers & tyre inflation,
#2 is an older ARB compressor fitted to the ute for tyre inflation only.
2007 catalogue price is $380 for the portable unit in a case, with accessories.
#3 is a Snake racing 3cfm compressor with air
tank, cost $600 plus fitting, tyre inflation only. (don't bother!)
#4 is a superworks 72l/min compressor from supercheap, in a bag with accessories cost $175 about twelve months ago. (ok for a cheapie!) looks like a bushranger one.
I'd go the ARB kit as you can fit it in car later to run air lockers if you need to!
Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:59
Thursday, Dec 07, 2006 at 21:59
Hi Sub,
like the previous post I have a arb portable air compressor which I bought in '96.
comes with hose, tyre pressure gauge, in it's own box(like a fishing box),point is I chose quality,once, and it still goes, can be fitted to vehicle, it's never let me down If you can spare the coin get quality.
Shane
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 08:30
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 08:30
Shane,
Another good thing about the ARB unit is that it is rebuild able, I inherited the older ARB compressor when I bought a 94 Series 1 Discovery 8 years ago, it starter to take too long to pump tyres up so I asked the guys at ARB about buying a replacement, they advised me just to rebuild it.
$40.00 for a rebuild kit, new cylinder piston etc..
$9.00 for a new air
tank.
$55.00 if I wanted a new motor, which I didn't.
Should be able to keep it going forever! 8 )>
Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:32
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 09:32
I got a Bushranger Max Air and its great picked it up at a show special $269.00 last year. I used it at Mt Mee a bloke needed air and his NEW ARB first trip out the compressor shi^ itself after two tyres.
Don't know why it died but he was not very happy. I guess he just got a bad one and simply unlucky, as a lot of people seem to run the ARB one without issues.
Bushranger Max Air for me :)
Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 12:57
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 12:57
Pick up the phone and ring the 4WD accessories stores....
Personally all 4WD accessories should be the best money can buy, not something cheap that you may really need to rely on one day.
Imagine how you'd feel if your daughter's boyfriend needed a realiable compressor, but the one you buy packs it in and they are stranded 100s of km from civilisation....and you bought it for him..
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 13:19
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 13:19
Question 1: What is the limit of her budget. then people will know what to say...
Lower pice range to Roachie is $1000
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:06
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:06
Yep , but even Roachie does not cart a $1000 compressor around , don't he have 2 ,1 bushranger and a bushranger copy ,
Reply By: Moose - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:41
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:41
G'day sub
Many on this site rubbish anyone wanting something that isn't top of the range - don't listen to them. As Truckster indicated a price range would have helped get you better replies. Mate I've owned a real cheap job (probably from SuperCheap) that worked OK as long as I wasn't in a hurry (still going but gathering dust at home). Then I bought one that cost about $150 a few years ago and it's still going strong - not as quick as the bigger, dearer units, but good enough for me.
I reckon that if the unit is going to be used extensively then try to get a better quality one (i.e. more expensive). For occasional use a cheaper unit will probably last for years. Most can be had with a reasonable warranty, although that isn't much use when stranded
miles from another air source.
For a cheaper unit try a Don Kyatt store (Sunshine State 4WD in
Brisbane), Big W, SuperCheap etc.
Also do a search on this site because air compressors have been extensively covered in the past.
Cheers from the Moose
Reply By: V64Runner - Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:17
Saturday, Dec 09, 2006 at 00:17
Two years ago , bought my son a Mega Grunt compressor for his first 4x4, from a very reputable 4x4 accessory
shop here in
Perth. Cost me $230. It failed after six months and was duly given a replacement under warranty - no questions asked ! Some months went by and I bought myself a 4x4 so that Father and Son could work towards mending a damaged relationship. He had just come off his P plates. So decided I needed a compressor as
well. Went to my local Auto Pro
shop and I`ll be damned, there sitting on the shelf, was not one but half a dozen Mega Grunt compressors. Only difference it didnt have the Mega Grunt label on it. The carry bag was the same, everything down to the the smallest detail was exactly the same as the compressor I paid $230 for. The one at Auto Pro was $120. Rang around to a couple of mates and with an hour all six on the shelves had been sold. So are we being taken to the cleaners again , or just paying for the name?????. Also had an experience with Snake Racing on the sons 4x4. Theorignal Idler arm kept doing the bushes,and as the wife is in the industry we kept buying three new ones at $65 as against Toyota`s $280. Anyway, son buys a Snake Racing Idler arm and it looked no different to the original. Lasted 8 months until to day when I removed the bushes , only to find they were made of rubber( Same as the Toyota`s ). Went to my local Coventrys branch and bought two sets of Nolathane bushes. The irony is that one bush is a few mm smaller then the other one - hence the reason for buying two different sets. The large one goes in the bottom of the spindle. Make sure it has plenty of good grease on them. The smaller one fits on the top of the spindle. Its a bit fiddly, but after some mucking around , got the washer back on tightened the the lock nut and replaced the metal cap that fits over the lock nut. Also packed the metal cap full of grease to keep the
water out. Truck handles as good as new. $160 or there abouts from Snake Racing for the same part that you can get from an after market accessory auto
shop. Just packed in a different box. Then learned that you don't have to throw the idler arm away providing the arm isn`t bent , but replace the rubber bushes with Nolathane and problem solved once and for all. The vehicle concerned is a 3.0 litre turbo diesel Surf that had 48,000 K when we went to have a look at it. The mods that have been done are to long to mention in this post. Now done 98,000 in the past two years , and due to have the timing belt and all hoses and drive belts changed - before they break. The bushes can be replaced with the idler arm in situ. No need to remove from chassis. So am reluctant to buy anything sight unseen
Have a good Christmas to one and all.