Submitted: Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:13
KWL
We also had a bad experience with our Pathfinder towing a Jayco
Penguin Outback camper trailer. Prior to travel to the mainland we took advice and fitted Hayman Reese leveling bars, certainly lifted the back of the vehicle up. By the time we got to
Darwin the springs had sagged and the bars were falling off. With advise from TJM accessories we fitted stronger rear springs and were on our way again. 2,500km later I noticed the towbar "sagging" and on inspection found the bolts loose and 1 broken, another followed before we could get to a Nissan agent who assured us this was an isolated case. We went to TJM
Maroochydore who looked at the Nissan bar, was not impressed and suggested he ring Hayman Reese to enquire of a better option. In front of me he repeated their comment "Nissan are having troubles with their towbars". We had a H/R towbar fitted at a cost of $438.63 and travelled home to Tassie with no further trouble. On return I complained to our dealer who confirmed no knowledge of the problem or advise from Nissan. He advised "a chap from Nissan will phone me". After 4 weeks and numerous followups I got a call with assurance
mine was an isolated case, "what are you seeking?" I advised 2 issues: 1/ concern that an apparently unsafe item was on the road and Nissan should take immediate steps to advise all users, and 2/ that I believe financial compensation appropriate. I was asked to write to Nissan explaining my issues. I then received unsolicited calls from 2 people who had experienced these problems, and was told of a van coming away from a Pathfinder in
Broome. When I phoned the Nissan chap he agreed "there are others" but still no issue of getting these bars off the road. He said "you will get a letter soon, so we can put the matter to rest". A week later I received a Nissan bank cheque for $438.63, no letter or comment of any kind, then a week later a "Dear John" letter confirming the payment and thanking me for my interest in the matter. No mention of the soft rear
suspension which must be questionable when related to 3,000kg tow weight and 300kg ball weight. Our vehicle now performs the tasks we purchased it for, but has cost a lot, plus extreme anxiety, to get there, our dealer has been cooperative from the outset but we have a very low opinion of the concern for safety (which should be paramount) shown by Nissan. From the outset I have been concerned that a bad accident may occur as a result of the Nissan towbar connected to leveller bars on a Pathfinder.
Reply By: Moggs - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:31
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:31
I reckon you have a valid gripe re: the Nissan towbar - but the
suspension is a non-issue. Just about all 4wds need
suspension upgrading for towing.
It doesn't surprise me that Nissan don't care. Not sure, but I reckon if it was a Toyota problem it would be handled better (from my experience with them anyway).
Good luck with it.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:50
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:50
If they didn't care, why would they make the reimbursement?
Seems they wasted their money, as they got bad publicity anyway.
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:46
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 14:46
This is not an isolated incident!!!
HERE'S PROOF
Could also check out post 37377
Rip it up em.
Trevor.
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 15:52
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 15:52
Well I am gobsmacked!
I just cannot believe such a happening with a NISSAN 4WD.
Maybe Roachie, Truckster or BONZ could shed some light on such an occurrence.
I mean, if this really is the case then your mind would be working overtime with the fear of what else was going to go wrong.
Imagine having a caravan 'drop off' - was thinking of getting one some time in the future, but not now. Never ever.
Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:06
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:06
Better be careful there Lucy... You may
well find the vortex created by all the stirring will suck you to the bottom of the bowl... ;-))
P.S. Thanks for the laugh again... :-))
Follow Up By: Bilbo - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:20
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:20
Lucy,
There is a serious issue with PATHFINDER towbars. The subject is all over the caravan forums.
BUT - there ain't no problem with Nissan bars on Mavericks or Patrols I can assure you.
I used to pull a 5 tonne bobcat and trailer with the ute tray loaded up to the gunwhales through the bush (and on the road - Blushing here) when I was a professional prospector. Never had a problem.
That TD42 ute was a veritable beast in the bush. It would go anywhere, anytime, any load. I still don't understand how it's still in one piece!
Bilbo
Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:02
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 16:02
All of that is no surprise. Unless you come across a dealer/sales person who is a four wheel driver there is not much hope of getting
well rounded advice. I am not blaming them at all, they just do not understand the requirements. They sell the vehicles, that is their job, most of the time they have no idea how to operate them. It is often funny watching them try to explain what different things are for. The word 'thingy' usually gets used a lot. We have had a Jack and currently have a landcruiser. To give the Holdern dealership credit, the original salesman was honest enough to say he knew nothing about the vehicle and got someone who did. It was interesting that both sales people were 4x4 nuts and both advised (off the record) to get accessories fitted by Hayman Reese for towbars and a 4wd
shop for the rest. Maybe they were trying to say something without actually dropping themselfs in trouble.
Reply By: hoyks - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:43
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 18:43
Have a look here, about 1/2 way down the page. They just don't look up to the job. A lot of leverage being applied to those bolts.
pcoa.org.au/forumtemp/viewtopic.php?t=508
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:04
Friday, Dec 08, 2006 at 22:04
That's the same guy involved in the link I posted above also. Good to see this story went through as many channels as possible to warn potential victims of another Nissan shifty (they provide too many shifties to get any future dollars out of me).
Trevor.
Reply By: FZJ 80 - Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 19:26
Sunday, Dec 10, 2006 at 19:26
KWL,
I can imagine that Nissan may eventually start fitting the Hayman Reese towbar in house as their dealer fit accessory and do away with the current towbar. Certainly eliminate the future safety/liability problems that may occur with the current one. Only time will tell.
Reply By: pelbo - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:33
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 08:33
KWL,
I am the chap that lost his van at
St George when the genuine Nissan Pathfinder towbar snapped off.
Nissan's response to this has and still is woefull. It took two letters from me to the Minister for Transport to take action before Nissan moved to attempt to 'fix' the problem. Altering their web site spec sheet and issuing a sticker stating you cannot use a LL Hitch with the genuine Nissan towbar DOES NOT FIX the problem.
Nissan's response has been just short of criminal on this. They should issue a total recall and replace all Nissan bars with a Hayman Reese towbar.
It is up to all Nissan owners to demand this action and to contact appropriate authorities and demand action.
I wouldn't have another Nissan if you gave me one. And I tell every possible buyer the storey when they come to look at my vehicle. Nissan has lost at least 10 new car sales from this and my warning buyers off.
I would sell this vehicle today and buy a Toyota to pull my van, but I am retired and cannot afford to.
Reply By: Dion - Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:45
Monday, Dec 11, 2006 at 09:45
When I first put the tow bars on the back of my 7x4 and dads 7x4 trailers, I pulled them around, plus the third trailer (6x4) fully loaded with redgum for an all up weight which would have exceed 4t with a monoque VB commodore. The VB took it in it's stride and didn't present any problems with the towbar.
Sometimes traction was a problem (still good viewing on video), but no structual problems.
Dion.